Meath V Dublin

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "If Dublin weren't in Leinster it would be very competitive for the rest of the counties , like every county in Leinster could beat each other on the day , I see almost every Leinster county as equal and no county is second best to Dublin in Leinster.

Dublin could do without being in Leinster , they should be given a pass to the all Ireland series , I think this would really help a lot of counties in Leinster , because getting a beating by Dublin does the confidence no good , plus it takes Dublin out of the conversation and we have a competition to look forward to ."
Same could be said for the Munster SFC - so do both Dublin and Kerry get BYES into the AI series.?

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 16/04/2024 19:53:37    2538414

Replying To seadog54:  "Have asked same question, what exactly do people want? Have various managers pinpointed areas they feel are lacking. Clubs surely have made their feelings known, are CB refusing requests? Again I doubt this. Dublin are professional in all but name, however, the question is asked and rightly so how come counties outside Leinster don't have our problems? If they had to face Dublin every year, just to win a proviential would their outlook or success be different. Our recent success at minor has been built around the team with few individual's standing out as future star's. Enda McGinley takes a different view to the "get your house in order" one on the RTE football podcast, makes some good points."
Id like to know what happened as a result of the last review in terms of planning for improvement .actions taken etc??
What plans were put in place to deal with repeated basic mistakes on the playing field.?
What development took place for key people in critical roles?
How were development needs established?
What are the plans in place for succession planning for all management roles ?
What measures are in place to ensure value for money?
Is quantity used instead of quality as measurement of training sessions.
Dublin have a professional approach as required but forget Dublin ...why can we not compete with so many other counties where we at least were competitive?
Dramatic increase in training costs for team for last year were well publicised. why did it only give that statistic?
Why the increase ?what are /were the benefits of the increase in terms of on field performance
No doubt the " meathness" in some will dismiss this as gobbledegook
Yet when Dublin take the same business approach to improvement its called proffesional and not gobbledegook
When do we stop using excuses for our shortcomings?
There are many examples most annoyingly over such a long period displaying how things just happened to us like the floodlights in Navan and Parc Tealteann itself.
Not popular to be saying these things but then i am not going for elections anytime soon
On the other hand maybe just continue in keeping it simple ,and dont rock the boat
Just keep her lit keep doing the same thing and maybe we might find a better outcome No thanks !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 16/04/2024 19:56:15    2538415

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "If Dublin weren't in Leinster it would be very competitive for the rest of the counties , like every county in Leinster could beat each other on the day , I see almost every Leinster county as equal and no county is second best to Dublin in Leinster.

Dublin could do without being in Leinster , they should be given a pass to the all Ireland series , I think this would really help a lot of counties in Leinster , because getting a beating by Dublin does the confidence no good , plus it takes Dublin out of the conversation and we have a competition to look forward to ."
I agree there is not much between the rest of the counties in Leinster but would it be the same if you didn't have Dublin in it?I mean say it happens next year and we win it,wouldn't mean as much as past leinsters in my opinion.You would have to name it differently like the o Byrne cup etc!I know it cant go on like it is but it's up to us to get better.If Derry can go from divison 4 to winning divison 1 beating Dublin(on penos I know)then why cant any team?We simply dont have real belief that we can beat Dublin or other top 6 teams.I mean Kildare gave Dublin a real scare last year(possibly should've won)and yet we lose again by 16 points.I wonder do we need to get the lads some sort of help to overcome the mental block we seem to have.It would be great to see us do well in All Ireland but its going to really hard as we're 4th seed.Ive been in o Rourkes corner from the start but the next 3 games are massive,need to see serious improvement if we are to have a chance of winning a game or 2.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 16/04/2024 20:51:12    2538427

A lot of mixed feelings after Sunday. Some positives and many more all too familiar negatives. It's hard to put too much blame with the players. And I don't like singling out individuals in an amateur sport
The first 15-20 minutes was very good except for a few too many aimless balls lobbed in to the full forward line. One of which ultimately led to the first goal. Our defensive shape early on was impressive and we had a good return off kickouts. Unfortunately things got all too predictable once Dublin got the goal and they got into their stride.

The usual questions about competition structures, funding, underage approach and coaching will be asked and rightly so. Sticking purely to the action on the field for now, ultimately we know our year won't be defined by how we do against Dublin. We are essentially into a new championship now, with three high standard games to look forward to.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1992 - 16/04/2024 21:15:25    2538433

Replying To nobull456:  "Do you not remember what happened when we looked for a manager. ALL the high profile managers had no interest.One high profile man used it as a media gig for himself but no budge. Yes progress is very slow no argument there. I am prepared to give COR the time he requested to try to bring improvement. I also believe in his integrity and i believe he will walk himself if he cannot deliver. Whats wrong with that? I also believe that ANY manager even the best will not be made to measure straight away. I believe Colm needs to make adjustments and maybe bring in some help.I believe that will happen also...Colm o Rourke is not the problem alone. The problem is bigger than any one individual........Just read your post again and ask yourself "What happened a short time ago when we looked for a manager " Who were the suitable applicants? Was there a Q ? So you know the answer to your own question. Give Colm A CHANCE to do what he said he would try in the time.Fair is fair ."
Ok, ive no idea who we looked for and who said no, so on the interest of fairness. Who were those big names we looked for and who said no?..and dont come back with this i heard non sense...you seem to know for definite?

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 17/04/2024 12:19:25    2538567

Replying To Ed2010:  "Ok, ive no idea who we looked for and who said no, so on the interest of fairness. Who were those big names we looked for and who said no?..and dont come back with this i heard non sense...you seem to know for definite?"
You know it was well publisised Eamonn Fitzmaurice got good media mileage out of it without taking the gig. Malachy o Rourke .to begin with. I think you know as well as i do the list of runners. Another ex Meath player was in the mix also having managed the u20 team. Newspapers gave it plenty of coverage so i am surprised any Meath supporter would not have all that info.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 17/04/2024 14:12:01    2538618

From what I remember Flynn wanted teh job and was coming in with a very good coaching ticket. I believe Rocheford was one of them on the ticket at the time.
So it wasn't a case that nobody wanted the job so lets give it to COR!
I've said it all along......people have bees in their bonnets about needing this new development plan in place that will take 100 years!!!
We are at a stage now where a lot of young lads dreams are to play rugby, soccer, AFL instead of representing their county because they know its a waste of their time and dont want to be part of a losing setup. If they are talented enough they could play for leinster or get a chance in England or Oz to play professional sports.

So this development "plan" wouldn't even attract the best prospects!

Only way it becomes healthy is if Meath starts winning competitions again! Then young lads will dream of an All Ireland medal again!
And the only way to do that is to source the best management / coaching staff we can to start teaching this Meath team how to play modern football and become as fit as the best teams. And start getting to Div 1 and moving forward.
Under current setup we are still going backwards!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 17/04/2024 16:21:45    2538660

Replying To JonnieG:  "From what I remember Flynn wanted teh job and was coming in with a very good coaching ticket. I believe Rocheford was one of them on the ticket at the time.
So it wasn't a case that nobody wanted the job so lets give it to COR!
I've said it all along......people have bees in their bonnets about needing this new development plan in place that will take 100 years!!!
We are at a stage now where a lot of young lads dreams are to play rugby, soccer, AFL instead of representing their county because they know its a waste of their time and dont want to be part of a losing setup. If they are talented enough they could play for leinster or get a chance in England or Oz to play professional sports.

So this development "plan" wouldn't even attract the best prospects!

Only way it becomes healthy is if Meath starts winning competitions again! Then young lads will dream of an All Ireland medal again!
And the only way to do that is to source the best management / coaching staff we can to start teaching this Meath team how to play modern football and become as fit as the best teams. And start getting to Div 1 and moving forward.
Under current setup we are still going backwards!"
I would take what Bernard Flynn said with more than a pinch of salt. He said he had Rochford as part of his ticket, he then subsequently deleted that tweet and then low and behold Rochford is part of Kevin McStay's ticket with Mayo. Would Rochford really have taken a second in command job behind Bernard Flynn over a second in command job with his own native county who are a division 1 county and had been in 2 all ireland finals in the 3 years previously? Highly doubt it, Flynn might have been able to get Rochford if he wasn't part of the winning Mayo ticket but that didn't happen

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1463 - 17/04/2024 18:06:35    2538687

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I would take what Bernard Flynn said with more than a pinch of salt. He said he had Rochford as part of his ticket, he then subsequently deleted that tweet and then low and behold Rochford is part of Kevin McStay's ticket with Mayo. Would Rochford really have taken a second in command job behind Bernard Flynn over a second in command job with his own native county who are a division 1 county and had been in 2 all ireland finals in the 3 years previously? Highly doubt it, Flynn might have been able to get Rochford if he wasn't part of the winning Mayo ticket but that didn't happen"
I'm not sure Bernard Flynn would have the staying power that O'Rourke has given the set of circumstances and the fact he didn't stick out with the U20s. I get it that he was wronged but perhaps should have stuck around for the sake of the players involved. Given where we are, let's see if there is progress come end of year and start making plans for next year. This is about improving existing young team and all the underage teams below given everyone the best chances they can get. County board needs to increase support for clubs in developing underage teams and insuring talent is supported.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 17/04/2024 21:28:13    2538719

Replying To nobull456:  "You know it was well publisised Eamonn Fitzmaurice got good media mileage out of it without taking the gig. Malachy o Rourke .to begin with. I think you know as well as i do the list of runners. Another ex Meath player was in the mix also having managed the u20 team. Newspapers gave it plenty of coverage so i am surprised any Meath supporter would not have all that info."
More bull. Can you confirm who went for it or who was asked/turned it down for definite? Not newspaper non sense. If you dont know that is fair enough. Just say so

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 18/04/2024 10:19:43    2538779

Replying To Ed2010:  "More bull. Can you confirm who went for it or who was asked/turned it down for definite? Not newspaper non sense. If you dont know that is fair enough. Just say so"
Got good milage, does that mean he went or was asked???

Also EF is a principle down in dingle and said he would have to retire to think about joining kerry again due to work load. So he was never an option imo but i dont know who was asked?

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 18/04/2024 10:27:40    2538781

Replying To Ed2010:  "Got good milage, does that mean he went or was asked???

Also EF is a principle down in dingle and said he would have to retire to think about joining kerry again due to work load. So he was never an option imo but i dont know who was asked?"
Not going to follow your agenda any further other than to say ...I was not on the interview panel. You know the normal communication channels ..newspapers. I did not phone them to confirm anything. If you did any research you will know via news reports How else? Colm ruled himself out initially,and according to reports was approached again. Then you dont believe in reports as you say. As far as i am concerned Colm took the job with little or no opposition and i fully support him in his efforts.Maybe thats the bit thats bothering you.....Over and out!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 18/04/2024 10:53:17    2538791

Replying To nobull456:  "Not going to follow your agenda any further other than to say ...I was not on the interview panel. You know the normal communication channels ..newspapers. I did not phone them to confirm anything. If you did any research you will know via news reports How else? Colm ruled himself out initially,and according to reports was approached again. Then you dont believe in reports as you say. As far as i am concerned Colm took the job with little or no opposition and i fully support him in his efforts.Maybe thats the bit thats bothering you.....Over and out!"
So you have no idea. Thanks for confirming and please stop spouting non sense unless you have confirmation. I will leave my first question about what improvements have been made in the 18 months cor is here but you don't like backing up your no bull so i will leave that be aswell.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 18/04/2024 11:17:05    2538800

Replying To Ed2010:  "So you have no idea. Thanks for confirming and please stop spouting non sense unless you have confirmation. I will leave my first question about what improvements have been made in the 18 months cor is here but you don't like backing up your no bull so i will leave that be aswell."
In fairness to No bull unless he/she was on the interview panel or high up on the county board how else would you get info? newspapers/media etc like the majority of us on here.I do agree with you though dont think EF was ever a runner for the job or MOR think that was a box ticking exercise.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 18/04/2024 12:35:22    2538829

Any sight or sign of Royaldunne lads? Conspicuous by his absence from commentary not to mention controversy . I hope he is doing ok?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 19/04/2024 14:10:18    2539039

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Any sight or sign of Royaldunne lads? Conspicuous by his absence from commentary not to mention controversy . I hope he is doing ok?"
Welcome to him on Kildare forum.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 19/04/2024 15:19:07    2539061

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Any sight or sign of Royaldunne lads? Conspicuous by his absence from commentary not to mention controversy . I hope he is doing ok?"
Was wondering that myself.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 19/04/2024 15:21:43    2539064

Replying To Proudroyal:  "In fairness to No bull unless he/she was on the interview panel or high up on the county board how else would you get info? newspapers/media etc like the majority of us on here.I do agree with you though dont think EF was ever a runner for the job or MOR think that was a box ticking exercise."
I agree, but newspaper talk is not fact. So if we dont know essentially, can we please stop making statements of fact when discussing who we were supposed to have chased and who turned us down and stop making out like cor never wanted the job and is some saint for taking it.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 20/04/2024 10:46:22    2539179

Sligo and cork very competitive against Galway and kerry today, and less of a surprise, donegal beating Derry, highlighting further how dissapointing we were last week and have been against teams ranked higher then us in the last year or 2 (and longer). Really pathetic and braindead stuff to be honest, not a glove laid as usual, over and over again no lesson learned, you stand off Dublin and they beat you by 16 points. Whatever about ability, we know we are outclassed in that regard, but at least get in their face and have a go at them as sligo and cork did for alot of the games today. 2 very young teams too , but didn't see that as being an issue until close to the end. Seems we just accept our faith these days, and I'm fully expecting 3 hammerings in the all Ireland series if that attitude continues. We dont have to be world beaters to be competitive and stay in games for longer then 15/20 mins, but I fear for them in may/june

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 20/04/2024 22:45:52    2539401

Having listened to a local podcast during the week, one of the contributors argued that Colm O'Rourke is really only in his first year in the job, as last year doesn't really county as it wasn't his team and he had to do a clear out, so this is really his team and year one of his tenure. Jesus wept. Just look at Donegal tonight. That's a properly coached team that fully buys into what they are doing and every single players knows their job.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 20/04/2024 22:49:10    2539403