Down v Meath

Micko was hunted for this? No ideas from the sideline no plan for attack and no fire in the belly. I said before the win or D3. What are the management team doing with these lads at training? Total joke.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 25/02/2017 20:42:05    1960624

Well done to Down, they were the better team and deserved to win. We are still a bit of shambles though, not blaming McEntee by any means for that, he'll need a lot more time with this team and even at that nothing is guaranteed.

We were so poor in possession it was criminal, giving away pass after pass and coughing up the ball with the tamest of ease. But ultimately it was the early goal that done us, that's the saddest part of the all, we gave the game away with in 2 minutes.

I honestly didn't realize Down hadn't won a game in 2 years, well no better team than Meath to play if you're looking for a win! You can safely say promotion is gone, now it's about not getting relegated, and that will be tough!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/02/2017 20:43:00    1960627

That was horrendous, are we going backwards or sideways. ...I can figure out anymore.

HonestView (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 25/02/2017 20:43:06    1960628

That was one of the worst Meath performances I've ever seen. It was terrible stuff. Very few players performed tonight, Lenihan played well and finished with 0-7 to his name. We have no midfield, we were non existant there and won little or no kickouts. Carry and McEntee are simply not up to this level while our tactic of hitting high aimless ball in to Sheridan didnt work apart from a couple of occasions. Huge work needed from players and management. It's looking like Division 3 is our level unfortunately.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 25/02/2017 20:44:25    1960629

pathetic, an absolute disgraceful performance

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 25/02/2017 20:47:09    1960631

This has been coming down the tracks for a number of years. Anyone with any cop on would admit as much. A bunch of players came on the scene in the mid to late 2000s and set meath football back to the stone ages with their attitude and carry on. I pity andy mc entee to be honest. Banty was ran out of meath yet got that team to within 2 points of Dublin in a Leinster final, some acheivment when you see what has happened since.

rossie72 (Roscommon) - Posts: 63 - 25/02/2017 20:50:52    1960634

"Down priced at 2/1 is big odds for a team at home against an inconsistent Meath team. The Meath team of the last 4 -5 years would lose this game, lets see if lessons have been learnt and improvements are being made early in Andy McEntees tenure"

That is what I wrote before the team announced, the same thing keeps happening every year. We are probably going to get relegated and this year will be a write off but hopefully Andy stays, we need stability. I would start Brian Conlon in the next game, he was immense in last years club championship and played well for the u21's. It might be a bit unfair to throw him into the deep end at such a young age but I think he's better than one or two of the players starting.

We will probably pick up points unexpectedly but I still don't think it will be enough to save us from relegation.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/02/2017 20:51:35    1960636

Another typically Meath performance. This team is just not athere the standard to be looking towards promotion. Honestly can't see where we will get the results now to stay up. I wasn't Micko's biggest fan but I can see now the players are just not there presently. Dead certs for division 3 after that.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 25/02/2017 20:55:51    1960641

Thats the end of Downs run of 14 successive defeats..kinda tells were Meath are in football when you think of it !Down won't win another game this year,hard to know if we will win any either !

Just try and stay in Division 2 and i would be delighted and so would every meath fan with a realistic view !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 25/02/2017 21:02:38    1960646

That performance wouldn't win u many matches in division 4 don't mind division 2.The team lacked structure and had no kick out strategy. There was no attacking plan and we kept hitting long balls even tough it wasn't working. The biggest thing from this game was Graham Reilly's lack of leadership, not sure he should be captain of Meath.
Here are my ratings out of 10:
Paddy o rourke - 4
Donal keoghan - 6
Conor Mcgill - 5
O coilean - 5
William carry - 5
Brian power - 6
Shane Mcentee - 5
Toher - 6
Menton - 5
O brien - 4
Sullivan - 4
Forde - 5
Reilly - 4
Sherdian - 5
Lenihan - 7

Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 132 - 25/02/2017 21:02:56    1960647

Replying To Jinxie:  "We have no leaders at all apart from Keoghan. Forde tries but discipline becoming an issue. Graham Reilly needs a serious shake up. Captaincy should be returned to Keoghan and tonight's game clearly showed that. Time for someone else to get a shot in goals too."
Keoghan was largely anonymous tonight and also in the first 2 league games and made no impact with the captaincy under O'Dowd. Do you not remember the collapses? the lack of fight? the throwing in the towel in the 2nd half of games? Throwing away a 10 point lead against Westmeath and losing by 4 in a leinster semi final? Keep Graham Reilly as captain he has proven his capability with St. Colmcilles this year.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 25/02/2017 21:04:39    1960648

Replying To Meath4Sam2020:  "That performance wouldn't win u many matches in division 4 don't mind division 2.The team lacked structure and had no kick out strategy. There was no attacking plan and we kept hitting long balls even tough it wasn't working. The biggest thing from this game was Graham Reilly's lack of leadership, not sure he should be captain of Meath.
Here are my ratings out of 10:
Paddy o rourke - 4
Donal keoghan - 6
Conor Mcgill - 5
O coilean - 5
William carry - 5
Brian power - 6
Shane Mcentee - 5
Toher - 6
Menton - 5
O brien - 4
Sullivan - 4
Forde - 5
Reilly - 4
Sherdian - 5
Lenihan - 7"
id give the 3 half backs all 4 out of 10, as well as alan forde and ruairi o'caoilean

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 25/02/2017 21:10:59    1960653

Firstly lgreat to see the usual suspects back after a defeat, and probably watching sitting at home or in a pub, not a sign of them after Derry game but out in force tonight.
Anyway the game itself was very poor all round. Por giving away the usual easy scores. Graham kicked two fantastic points and was back defending after Donal got turned over, showing why he is ideal capt, that been said you could see the last 7 days had taken their toll. Brian was good in first half but should have been taken off sooner. Eamon Wallace is no longer IC material neither is O'Brien, carry had a bad night but is only starting out. Promotion may not be available however Andy has a huge mountain to climb and a lot of damage to undo, certainly won't be done with a flick of a wand, serious damage has been done to those players by folded arms and it will take time to rectify that. Lenihane was Meath best player , anyway long journey back , the joys of been A REAL supporter

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2017 21:12:49    1960655

Replying To redser123:  "pathetic, an absolute disgraceful performance"
Pathetic in every respect. Unfortunately suspected with this mentally fragile team this could happen with the overconfident approach to the game coupled with Down,s early goal. The suggestion that the captain should be RESTED says it all. I understand this suggestion came from a very well placed supporter. For the first time in many many years this travelling supporter wont be travelling to look at this shambles. I expect some players will decide to walk also.. Who could blame them? Andy might do the same unless he believes in miracles.... As the man on LMFM says " BYE BYE NOW"

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 25/02/2017 21:14:01    1960656

It was very depressing, and if i'm honest, one of the most depressing things is after 6 months in the job, the managers main attack option is to hit high long balls into a full forward who cannot win these kind of balls in my opinion. tho in fairness, its not his fault that he is put in that position . The whole half back line are really not up to inter county football in my opinion and I really don't see the logic behind playing a lad as a half forward ,when he wasn't good enough for midfield. I fully appreciate that all the players are giving their best and put there lives on standstill to be part of the squad but surely the manager has serious questions to answer as to how he is using the available resources.

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 25/02/2017 21:15:58    1960658

Replying To Jimin10:  "Keoghan was largely anonymous tonight and also in the first 2 league games and made no impact with the captaincy under O'Dowd. Do you not remember the collapses? the lack of fight? the throwing in the towel in the 2nd half of games? Throwing away a 10 point lead against Westmeath and losing by 4 in a leinster semi final? Keep Graham Reilly as captain he has proven his capability with St. Colmcilles this year."
Ahh truth, don't let that get in the way of agenda's

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2017 21:16:53    1960660

Replying To Royalace:  "Another typically Meath performance. This team is just not athere the standard to be looking towards promotion. Honestly can't see where we will get the results now to stay up. I wasn't Micko's biggest fan but I can see now the players are just not there presently. Dead certs for division 3 after that."
Sorry --- but Meath management team need to take some flack for this.

What was the kick out strategy?
What lessons have been learnt over the last few games?
What was plan b?
Why were some players left on the pitch so long when it was clear they were not at the races?
Why are our players soft?

It's a complete joke. There can't be any excuses...At the very least you would expect to see a bit of fight, a game plan and improvement over games.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 25/02/2017 21:18:57    1960663

It's the hope that kills ye :0(

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 25/02/2017 21:24:57    1960666

Replying To nobull456:  "Pathetic in every respect. Unfortunately suspected with this mentally fragile team this could happen with the overconfident approach to the game coupled with Down,s early goal. The suggestion that the captain should be RESTED says it all. I understand this suggestion came from a very well placed supporter. For the first time in many many years this travelling supporter wont be travelling to look at this shambles. I expect some players will decide to walk also.. Who could blame them? Andy might do the same unless he believes in miracles.... As the man on LMFM says " BYE BYE NOW""
well said, not a hope i'll be driving down to Clare or Cork to watch that sh**e

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 25/02/2017 21:28:01    1960668

We have been poor since obyrne cup beating a poor derry team that was missing 5 or 6 players gave us some hope but we just dont have the players in the county. 7 years since last leinster title and that was dodgy . These young lads we have are used to getting beaten by teams like westmeath . Louth etc and getting hidings from the dubs cant blame these lads for not bothering anymore.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 25/02/2017 21:28:45    1960669