Down v Meath

Replying To royaldunne:  "Who else will Derry beat? End in same points they will g down due to head to head. Just interested how did we beat a team guarantee of staying in division by 15 points?"
The same way as we couldnt beat a team last nite who hadnt won in years.u Said u go to the games.if u do ull figure out quick why we will b relagated.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 26/02/2017 17:25:31    1961066

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "When Banty became manger and was relegated to division 3 on Easter Sunday he said he in inherited a mess !

When Mod became manger he said he inherited a mess left by Banty !

When Andy Mac became manger he never said he in inherited a mess left by Mod ...Did he ? or will he say it in two years time when i goes pear shape ?...then the next manger can say he inherited a mess left by Andy Mac !

Poor Eamonn O'Brien and Sean Boylan would blame themselves when things went wrong !"
Of course Andy wouldn't say that. The man has class in abundance. Plus everyone knows he inherited a mess. But Andy has too much respect for himself to say it publicly.
He will get things sorted but it will take probably 2 maybe 3 years. Until then we back the best manager since eob

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 17:26:59    1961068

Replying To royaldunne:  "So mention records against Kildare and Down is not same as mentioning records against other teams?...???? Got ya."
Slightly more relevant, can you tell me what the manager's game plan was last night because to me the most worrying think is that there was plan and it was to pump long balls into full forward and when it didn't work plan b was to keep at it. Surely that's not good enough from a manager at any level

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 26/02/2017 17:29:41    1961071

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Hearing a lot about the demise of Meath football, allow me to offer this thought. I was 6 months old when Meath last won Sam, 2 when we were last in a final. For people of my age profile we are just used to losing, especially to Dublin. For people my age there is a huge lack of interest in Meath football. The worst part is I don't know how you fix it, I suppose winning at underage might change it, but that is also easier said than done"
They always had a problem in Meath thinking they were actually better than they really were!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 26/02/2017 17:31:57    1961073

Replying To royaldunne:  "Of course Andy wouldn't say that. The man has class in abundance. Plus everyone knows he inherited a mess. But Andy has too much respect for himself to say it publicly.
He will get things sorted but it will take probably 2 maybe 3 years. Until then we back the best manager since eob"
I agree with you that Andy has class in abundance and won't blame Mod...So you are Blaming Mod for everything do you have class in abundance :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 26/02/2017 17:45:57    1961088

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "They always had a problem in Meath thinking they were actually better than they really were!"
Never had that problem in Cavan thankfully, as you are always have been and always will be utter s###e

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 17:47:00    1961090

Replying To Footnote:  "Slightly more relevant, can you tell me what the manager's game plan was last night because to me the most worrying think is that there was plan and it was to pump long balls into full forward and when it didn't work plan b was to keep at it. Surely that's not good enough from a manager at any level"
Actually been at match I could see a plan, it was multi faceted, yes long ball in was part of it but no runners came in to receive ball, same with punching down ball in middle no one to get it, the hand passing was to hold possession however again no runners were making themselves available, just cause it was poorly executed doesn't mean there was no plan. And you could see an hear the frustration with Andy. Quite clearly there were problems with lads actually doing what they should have been doing and looking around for Graham or cillian to do the running.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 17:53:10    1961099

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I agree with you that Andy has class in abundance and won't blame Mod...So you are Blaming Mod for everything do you have class in abundance :)"
Well said.god help Ireland

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 26/02/2017 17:55:44    1961104

Replying To Kc77:  "The same way as we couldnt beat a team last nite who hadnt won in years.u Said u go to the games.if u do ull figure out quick why we will b relagated."
In 40+ years I have missed a total of 9 games in O'Byrne cup league championship back door , so yeah I will judge for myself, been around long enough now not to jump on a bandwagon either way. I back my county like all real supporters should. I have seen us been beat by Longford in first Rd of Leinster with JJ McCormack as capt and Jody gunning as the ref in Cusack park in Mullingar, I was on hill 16 when Graham geraghty got a free and took it quickly to finish in a goal that won us all ire , I was at first match v dubs in 91 when PJ gillick ball hopped over bar to draw first game v dubs and I was there a month later to witness Foley's goal. I have seen it all , the highs and the lows. And trust me we have been worse than we are now, particularly with a new exciting manager.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 18:03:37    1961111

Lads--whatever about the losses and records of the past...The simple fact is the past few performances have been a shambles.

I wouldnt mind so much losing if we had put in a few decent performances and there were signs of improvement.

Sick of hearing the crap that we don't have the players...It's clear that they completely lack any belief in themselves or in one another.

I believe these players can do better

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 26/02/2017 18:08:23    1961117

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I agree with you that Andy has class in abundance and won't blame Mod...So you are Blaming Mod for everything do you have class in abundance :)"
Not in the slightest:)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 18:10:43    1961118

Replying To bert09:  "Lads--whatever about the losses and records of the past...The simple fact is the past few performances have been a shambles.

I wouldnt mind so much losing if we had put in a few decent performances and there were signs of improvement.

Sick of hearing the crap that we don't have the players...It's clear that they completely lack any belief in themselves or in one another.

I believe these players can do better"
I believe they can do better too. But it's 3 games into new management, Jesus Christ we have to give him time to get things right. I don't expect to see major improvement until next year, however I think green shoots will start to appear sooner.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 18:15:29    1961121

RD, less than a month ago you were professing our promotion to division 1 as a foregone conclusion. Now, all of a sudden, you don't expect any major improvement until next season?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 26/02/2017 18:41:58    1961148

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "RD, less than a month ago you were professing our promotion to division 1 as a foregone conclusion. Now, all of a sudden, you don't expect any major improvement until next season?"
Oh I still think we will get promotion, or certainly vyin for it. Bit that's the optimism in me ,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 19:01:22    1961170

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "RD, less than a month ago you were professing our promotion to division 1 as a foregone conclusion. Now, all of a sudden, you don't expect any major improvement until next season?"
Here Here !!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 26/02/2017 19:07:20    1961175

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh I still think we will get promotion, or certainly vyin for it. Bit that's the optimism in me ,"
We will show you this post at the end of the league!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 26/02/2017 19:09:27    1961180

Replying To royaldunne:  "I believe they can do better too. But it's 3 games into new management, Jesus Christ we have to give him time to get things right. I don't expect to see major improvement until next year, however I think green shoots will start to appear sooner."
I understand it's still early days RD but I thought we would have a bit more bite at this stage to be honest.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 26/02/2017 19:10:42    1961182

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh I still think we will get promotion, or certainly vyin for it. Bit that's the optimism in me ,"
Here's your anthem RD

https://youtu.be/SJUhlRoBL8M

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 26/02/2017 19:12:54    1961187

Donal Keogan dashed forward and popped over a great score from corner back. We should have players in every area of the field capable of doing likewise, throughout the course of a game. What's worrying is that most of the team do not show that kind of urgency in their play. When they were chasing the game late on, the lack of composure going for badly-needed scores was awful. I'd expect quite a few players in the team to take far more responsibility given their level of experience and play with far more intelligence.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 26/02/2017 19:28:14    1961195

Replying To royaldunne:  "In 40+ years I have missed a total of 9 games in O'Byrne cup league championship back door , so yeah I will judge for myself, been around long enough now not to jump on a bandwagon either way. I back my county like all real supporters should. I have seen us been beat by Longford in first Rd of Leinster with JJ McCormack as capt and Jody gunning as the ref in Cusack park in Mullingar, I was on hill 16 when Graham geraghty got a free and took it quickly to finish in a goal that won us all ire , I was at first match v dubs in 91 when PJ gillick ball hopped over bar to draw first game v dubs and I was there a month later to witness Foley's goal. I have seen it all , the highs and the lows. And trust me we have been worse than we are now, particularly with a new exciting manager."
I taut it was Colm Coyle that bounced the ball over the bar in 1991

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 26/02/2017 20:19:02    1961239