Down v Meath

Replying To pauk123:  "Couldn't agree more. I'm reading the posts here and it's either the players who are not good enough (although many of the same posters put the blame on Micko) or it's the fans demand for traditional football!

I know Andy is not in the job long but it did not seem like there was a plan for that game simple as that. Normally, even if it was a poor performance, you can see what the players are trying to do, not last night. Others are saying we'll win one or two more games, when you've just been hammered by a team that hasn't won a game in 2 years I don't know where these wins are coming from."
There was a plan last night.

Big toe the ball long to Brian Sheridan and hope for the best. That was the plan.

No plan b

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 26/02/2017 13:12:36    1960920

Anyone who goes to club games in meath will no the players are not there no manager can make a player better if the basic skills are not there to begin with. I am a neath supporter but there is very little to be positive about.i don't want to single out players but it's clear to see we have no midfield what so ever none. No one can field a ball around the mid 8 .our fullforward line is week no accurate foot passer on the team or in the county that I've seen .if there are under 21players that will add something I'd bring them on if your good enough your old enough .having seen louth kildare derry and down games we need to try something else as we wer hammered by louth kildare and down younger lads with no fear may be an improvement after last night don't think we could get much worse the fact I have noticed over the last three years is the very basic skills ie catching kicking solo running handpassing marking are very poor.if these skills are not worked on seriously it is pointless doing weights having diets and strength and cond coach lettuce never kicked the ball over the bar it's going to be a long road back if ever we needed the never say die attitude it's now

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 26/02/2017 14:14:36    1960943

Replying To Analyst:  "Do people still believe it's management's fault ? The Messiah is there now and still we are as bad as before. All the abuse Micko got but at least he didn't have his son on the side"
Couldn't agree more. I'm reading the posts here and it's either the players who are not good enough (although many of the same posters put the blame on Micko) or it's the fans demand for traditional football!

I know Andy is not in the job long but he did not have a plan for that game simple as that. Normally, even if it was a poor performance, you can see what the players are trying to do, not last night. Others are saying we'll win one or two more games, when you've just been hammered by a team that hasn't won a game in 2 years I don't knoe where these wins are coming from.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 26/02/2017 14:36:39    1960951

Replying To royaldunne:  "Micko had 4 years and you giving out after 3 games ? Pathetic. Andy has inherited a mess, and you want him to fix 6 years of going backwards in 3 games? Yeah good man.. It will take at least another year for Andy to undo the mess that he was left. Btw your comments on Shane been his son is nothing short of disgraceful, I would have expected better from you."
Meath beat Down twice and Kildare twice under Micko's management and it was made out to be the darkest period in Meath football. How do you "fix" a problem by doing worse than before? Are you honestly trying to say that McEntee losing to Down and Kildare is an improvement on MOD beating Down and Kildare? I think even the most brainwashed North Korean would call that some far fetched and unbelievable propaganda.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 26/02/2017 14:37:40    1960953

Replying To matthematx:  "Anyone who goes to club games in meath will no the players are not there no manager can make a player better if the basic skills are not there to begin with. I am a neath supporter but there is very little to be positive about.i don't want to single out players but it's clear to see we have no midfield what so ever none. No one can field a ball around the mid 8 .our fullforward line is week no accurate foot passer on the team or in the county that I've seen .if there are under 21players that will add something I'd bring them on if your good enough your old enough .having seen louth kildare derry and down games we need to try something else as we wer hammered by louth kildare and down younger lads with no fear may be an improvement after last night don't think we could get much worse the fact I have noticed over the last three years is the very basic skills ie catching kicking solo running handpassing marking are very poor.if these skills are not worked on seriously it is pointless doing weights having diets and strength and cond coach lettuce never kicked the ball over the bar it's going to be a long road back if ever we needed the never say die attitude it's now"
matthematx..........agree 100% basic skills not being attended to as you say. Difficult to understand why real coaching is so poor in the county.....we read a lot of waffle about coaching . but where are the results? Andy has an impossible task to progression from here. Maybe he is not the man anyway,but he doed need the material to work with for a start . I simply do not understand how the powers that be......whoever they are. dont shout stop the lights we are going nowhere ...worse we are getting . Lets go back to basics .have a look at the minor team...what objective assesment is done ? by whom? etc. It would be easy to blame the co board and say too much politics etc. In fairness i dont think that is the case....They seem to be at sea as regards coaching standards and objective assesment of same. Or just maybe players in Meath could not be bothered anyway. Old fogies like this one find that hard to accept.... Anyway crises it is now for sure. Is there a will to use that word, because if there is maybe we have a chance....Otherwise keep doing the same thing ,and expect a different outcome.....now thats stupidity!! But then i was one of the stupid ones to believe the 3 wise men had a mission to address matters. Waffle??

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 26/02/2017 14:56:48    1960963

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Meath beat Down twice and Kildare twice under Micko's management and it was made out to be the darkest period in Meath football. How do you "fix" a problem by doing worse than before? Are you honestly trying to say that McEntee losing to Down and Kildare is an improvement on MOD beating Down and Kildare? I think even the most brainwashed North Korean would call that some far fetched and unbelievable propaganda."
Well if you take that in 4, YES FOUR YEARS.
we won the second half against two different counties the mighty Wicklow and the almighty Wexford, Andy has already equalled that record in 3 matches v Down and Derry (who we let beat us twice after building up significant leads) under micko. You neglected to say that, BTW Sean boylan lost to down 91 and Kildare too, jasus micko was better in your view and comparison to the great man. But micko will always hold 3 records anyway first ever loss to Tyrone first ever loss to Armagh and the.cherry on top 133 years to get beat by Westmeath. What a great proud Meath man he was. Not!!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 15:06:15    1960967

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well if you take that in 4, YES FOUR YEARS.
we won the second half against two different counties the mighty Wicklow and the almighty Wexford, Andy has already equalled that record in 3 matches v Down and Derry (who we let beat us twice after building up significant leads) under micko. You neglected to say that, BTW Sean boylan lost to down 91 and Kildare too, jasus micko was better in your view and comparison to the great man. But micko will always hold 3 records anyway first ever loss to Tyrone first ever loss to Armagh and the.cherry on top 133 years to get beat by Westmeath. What a great proud Meath man he was. Not!!!"
The last part of your post is not called for. Whatever Mick O Dowds failings are he put 4 years into managing Meath which I'm sure took up most of his life. There's no question he is a proud Meath man. Truth is this problem is not his and it's easyour to see now underage has been neglected for years and the result where we are now. It's extremely frustrating given our population size and tradition. I think we'll struggle to beat Louth should it be them we meet come championship. It won't be Andy Mcentees tO blame either for that matter. Players are just not there and they've gotten into a habit which is in their heads now

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 26/02/2017 15:23:50    1960974

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well if you take that in 4, YES FOUR YEARS.
we won the second half against two different counties the mighty Wicklow and the almighty Wexford, Andy has already equalled that record in 3 matches v Down and Derry (who we let beat us twice after building up significant leads) under micko. You neglected to say that, BTW Sean boylan lost to down 91 and Kildare too, jasus micko was better in your view and comparison to the great man. But micko will always hold 3 records anyway first ever loss to Tyrone first ever loss to Armagh and the.cherry on top 133 years to get beat by Westmeath. What a great proud Meath man he was. Not!!!"
Those "records" seem only to matter to you really. The Westmeath one was a disaster alright, but you seem to let it get to you more than anyone else. I've heard nobody go on about it more than you, even Westmeath folk. It seems to have utterly consumed you and made you a repetitive bitter fanatic against MOD.

Results like "first loss vs. XYZ" are irrelevant when you've only played them 2 or 3 times in all of history. Eamon O'Brien achieved our first ever wins vs. Limerick and Waterford but I've never seen anyone make a deal of it. Similarly I've never seen "records" like "First Celtic manager to lose to Molde" "First Man United manager to lose to Basel" "First Ireland manager to lose to Namibia" written anywhere because nobody cares about the first loss vs. a team you've only played twice in 130 years.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 26/02/2017 15:43:34    1960979

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Those "records" seem only to matter to you really. The Westmeath one was a disaster alright, but you seem to let it get to you more than anyone else. I've heard nobody go on about it more than you, even Westmeath folk. It seems to have utterly consumed you and made you a repetitive bitter fanatic against MOD.

Results like "first loss vs. XYZ" are irrelevant when you've only played them 2 or 3 times in all of history. Eamon O'Brien achieved our first ever wins vs. Limerick and Waterford but I've never seen anyone make a deal of it. Similarly I've never seen "records" like "First Celtic manager to lose to Molde" "First Man United manager to lose to Basel" "First Ireland manager to lose to Namibia" written anywhere because nobody cares about the first loss vs. a team you've only played twice in 130 years."
Ahem who mentioned records first, I merely refreshed your memory of mickos records. And you mustn't speak to many within either Meath or Westmeath gaa if that match doesn't get mentioned to you.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 16:00:28    1960992

Replying To Royalace:  "The last part of your post is not called for. Whatever Mick O Dowds failings are he put 4 years into managing Meath which I'm sure took up most of his life. There's no question he is a proud Meath man. Truth is this problem is not his and it's easyour to see now underage has been neglected for years and the result where we are now. It's extremely frustrating given our population size and tradition. I think we'll struggle to beat Louth should it be them we meet come championship. It won't be Andy Mcentees tO blame either for that matter. Players are just not there and they've gotten into a habit which is in their heads now"
I said many times mod should never have been appointed, that was not his fault. But he and those around him kept going on about proud Meath man. However I felt he should have taken that pride and resigned immediately following that horror show v Westmeath, it's all well and good been passionate etc however it's better to know your own limitations and know when you have abysmally failed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 16:06:26    1960998

Derry just beat Kildare wide open division, anyone could go up or get relegated, suddenly our win against Derry is very relevant

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 16:08:29    1961001

Replying To royaldunne:  "Derry just beat Kildare wide open division, anyone could go up or get relegated, suddenly our win against Derry is very relevant"
We seem the two teams that will b relagated last nite.it's a shambles again.is por the best keeper in the county.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 26/02/2017 16:19:51    1961017

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahem who mentioned records first, I merely refreshed your memory of mickos records. And you mustn't speak to many within either Meath or Westmeath gaa if that match doesn't get mentioned to you."
Well, you brought them up, I didn't mention records once in my original message. I just said MOD had the measure of Down and Kildare and was called a failure, yet so far McEntee has lost to them both.

You responded with strange claims that it's OK because we're winning the second half of matches, and then started going on about MOD holding records about Armagh and Tyrone, which are fairly irrelevant.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 26/02/2017 16:23:30    1961021

Replying To royaldunne:  "Derry just beat Kildare wide open division, anyone could go up or get relegated, suddenly our win against Derry is very relevant"
Losses to Louth Kildare and down dunner teams we handled over last few years. Time to cop on and remember it's not the manager but it seems we just ain't got the players and all you who slated MOD should hang their heads in shame

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 26/02/2017 16:24:02    1961023

Btw your comments on Shane been his son is nothing short of disgraceful, I would have expected better from you.

Fair enough give Mc Entee time. But his son is not good enough to play for meath. Neither are a few others as well

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 26/02/2017 16:28:22    1961026

Replying To royaldunne:  "I said many times mod should never have been appointed, that was not his fault. But he and those around him kept going on about proud Meath man. However I felt he should have taken that pride and resigned immediately following that horror show v Westmeath, it's all well and good been passionate etc however it's better to know your own limitations and know when you have abysmally failed."
Whether he should have or shouldn't have got the job is immaterial now its blatantly obvious we have not got enough players of a decent inter standard to compete consistently at the level required so its not Mick O Dowd's fault the quality of player he was working neither is it Andy McEntee's with so in fairness to the man its time to cut him a bit of slack again this falls back on the neglect over many years with underage football I'm blue in the face calling for proper coaching structures to be put into the schools to widen the net compete with other sports and work on skill development but the co board know better 3 or 4 coaches county wide won't fix this either time to take our head out of the sand and actually DO something that might work down the road rather than lurching from one crisis to the next

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 26/02/2017 16:31:45    1961030

Replying To Brownepat:  "Losses to Louth Kildare and down dunner teams we handled over last few years. Time to cop on and remember it's not the manager but it seems we just ain't got the players and all you who slated MOD should hang their heads in shame"
Hang our heads in shame? No only one person should do that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 17:05:15    1961052

Replying To Kc77:  "We seem the two teams that will b relagated last nite.it's a shambles again.is por the best keeper in the county."
Who else will Derry beat? End in same points they will g down due to head to head. Just interested how did we beat a team guarantee of staying in division by 15 points?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 17:08:39    1961054

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Well, you brought them up, I didn't mention records once in my original message. I just said MOD had the measure of Down and Kildare and was called a failure, yet so far McEntee has lost to them both.

You responded with strange claims that it's OK because we're winning the second half of matches, and then started going on about MOD holding records about Armagh and Tyrone, which are fairly irrelevant."
So mention records against Kildare and Down is not same as mentioning records against other teams?...???? Got ya.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 17:11:00    1961055

When Banty became manger and was relegated to division 3 on Easter Sunday he said he in inherited a mess !

When Mod became manger he said he inherited a mess left by Banty !

When Andy Mac became manger he never said he in inherited a mess left by Mod ...Did he ? or will he say it in two years time when i goes pear shape ?...then the next manger can say he inherited a mess left by Andy Mac !

Poor Eamonn O'Brien and Sean Boylan would blame themselves when things went wrong !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 26/02/2017 17:15:36    1961059