Down v Meath

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Ho ho ho! Won't be throwing many stones this year on the way to Div 3!"
Nope. But if I were you I'd be more concerned you could end up playing us in div 2 next year. Btw how's division 1 working out for the mighty Cavan :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 10:17:27    1960819

Replying To Richieq:  "Sitting in KFC car park in Omagh eating a bucket of chicken, the only part of the evening that's proving enjoyable mind you some of the waffle from the Louth and Fermanagh scribes has given me a much needed laugh. Meath were awful tonight simple as, and now we face Galway, barring a major improvement I will be eating KFC next Sunday too...."
How did you finish up in omagh from newry on your way back to Meath?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/02/2017 10:34:25    1960827

Ok so I saw the second half live then rewatched the whole match last night

Here's my honest opinions

I said Friday if they did there best and left it all out there we could have no complaints. Unfortunately we didn't see this an we're staring down the gun at a relegation battle.

Players :
Paddy Costs us too much and in my opinion needs to be replaced. 1-1 last night and always liable to do so in games as well as pick up cards etc.
Donal - a class act,we're lucky to have
McGill - no idea what he was doing with goal, out muscled easily and it's too regular an occurrence that's happening. Not god enough for intercounty in my opinion
Rory - disn't play corner back but grew into it as he seemed to understand better what he should be doing.
Half back line - just not good enough for intercounty football. Carry was nowhere, power I had high hopes for but he's not done it, McEntee maybe deserves a few more games but I'm not confident
Menton is not a midfielder and he along with toher (bar two great scores) were out of the game at midfield.
Forde and O'Sullivan not great but we'll see how they progress
O'Brien- doesn't seem ready from r this level
Biggy - two great scores, not his best performance but hardly to blame fated there amount of football ad effort he's expended recently
Sheridan Don't see why he's in there
Lenihan now delivering at this stage.

Subs three ratoath forwards, alll similar size build and come ntributed nothing my. All far too inconsistent from game to game to be relied upon. McMahon the pick of the three. Othe s two subs didn't get much time to impress

Game plan
I've no idea what it was
Far too ponderous and laboured coming out, not moved at speed so down could get organised and build their shield at the forty five, turned over multiple times leading to down scores
Lost count of the number of times we'd three to five players getting attracted to the ball and being left for dead on the break.
The long ball into brian wasn't working and no alternative was tried
We still have no idea how to break down massed defences
The centre half back didn't hold the centre and we could get easily run at through that channel, this is a failing of our last three managers. Please sort it out, teams know to do this and they can beat us
No players were working off the shoulder to take passes at speed and often players were isolated and given no out ball

Sorry that a bit rambling but those are the thoughts I have from recall.

Andy has a lot of problems in the team that he needs to start addressing quickly or we'll be in division three and a short championship run.

For next day I'd start all being fit
Hannigan

Donal
Power played here for minors under Andy, let's see if he could be an option otherwise get Dan O'Neill in now
Rory give him another game and see how he goes in the same role. Tobin here when cleared to. Play and Rory out to wing half back

Mcentee one more game to see
Conlon let's get him in and give him the next four games and championship. No more chopping and changing
Menton is a wing back and plays there're or nowhere

Toher and Flanagan atleast give Adam a start and chance to show what he can do

Forde play deeper to attack and go forward at pace
Sully one bad game doesn't make him a bad player
Biggy back to his usual spot

Kenneally to go back out the field and be third midfielder
Newman is our best big man let's get him and do al working together
Donal obviously starts here

This won't be a starting team but let's at least start a discussion

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 26/02/2017 10:35:03    1960830

Replying To MeathOnHill16:  "Meath had numerous problems today.
1 way to narrow no width in play it's like we had no wing forwards/corner forwards
2 standing off men and trying to just filter back
3 bad shooting decisions from forwards
4 Sean Tobin is a better footballer than Sheridan
5 Mcentee won the club all Ireland with a serious club team and serious players. Meath need a manager that will just tell me to play ball no systems. Hopefully mcentee will see this and we can get the ball rooling
If not Meath won't will go down and could be a very short championship"
Just going out and playing ball with no systems is why counties like yourselves and down are in this situation.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/02/2017 10:36:11    1960831

Replying To Meath_True:  "This is not a building job any more . After tonight's result it's a rescue job, if at all . I hope it does turn around. With the Super 8 around the corner now , (after suited twits )giving it the nod . Meath could sink deeper into the quagmire than ever before ......Were not even in the top 14 in the country now.
I wonder did the Meath delegates give it the nod...."
Well regardless what way our delegates voted alarm bells should be ringing in their ears in relation to the current state of Meath Football. Bottom line is we as a proud county have recieved many a hammering over the last number of years , long before Sean Boylans departure but several county board chairman, both minor & senior, have come &;went but nothing has being done within our underage or development squads to try & improve our Senior side
Lets be honest here lads we had a conference in Knightsbrook a few year back in relation to getting Meath back on track. Can anyone recolect anything that came out of that , that has served our juvenile , minor or senior squads?? All ex all Ireland players were in attendance to listen and have their views on what we should do to move forward in the right direction So lads at the end of the day Andy ,Micko , Banty , Eamon B , Coyler , Eamon O B have all put their kneck on the block but we just aint getting the quality of players coming through anymore .I guess we badly need to restart at the very begining again , to get the likes of Johnnie Sullivan , Pat ONeill , Oliver Harding , Paul Kenny , Matt Kerrigan &;guys like these to get our conveyor belt working again

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 26/02/2017 10:37:31    1960834

Replying To Meath_True:  "This is not a building job any more . After tonight's result it's a rescue job, if at all . I hope it does turn around. With the Super 8 around the corner now , (after suited twits )giving it the nod . Meath could sink deeper into the quagmire than ever before ......Were not even in the top 14 in the country now.
I wonder did the Meath delegates give it the nod...."
they did....

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/02/2017 10:45:21    1960842

I've missed one game so far this year but in the other 5 I can't see any plan or method. It's hard enough to win games but when you hand scores on a plate like O'Rourke and Forde did last night to the opposition it makes it even harder. Was very surprised that O'Rourke didn't contest the high ball from the free (which was never a free in the first place) for the goal. When Lenehan and Sheridan did make runs in the first half in particular, players out the field were not looking up and delivering early and then giving the Hail Mary ball in. We don't have the pace or the strength to play a counter attacking game and it looks awful and frustrating when you see lads back in our Half Back line defending space. I'd rather we push up man on man regardless of whether people say that the game is not played like that these days but at least a player had a focus. How many Meath players slipped or got easily done when attempting a tackle last night. Charging in with no method or idea how to tackle and to make matters worse Most times we did make a tackle the ref blew against us. I arrived at the pitch just after 6 and Meath were already out warming up. Down didn't come out for another 20 minutes. Are we doing too much of a warm up and using up valuable energy before the game even starts. As several people have said Meath looked tired and Lethargic during the game.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 26/02/2017 10:54:41    1960848

Replying To Analyst:  "Do people still believe it's management's fault ? The Messiah is there now and still we are as bad as before. All the abuse Micko got but at least he didn't have his son on the side"
Things don't look great this morning and the moment not much seems to have changed but in fairness Micko had 4 seasons while so far McEntee has had 3 league games.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 26/02/2017 10:56:51    1960852

Replying To Richieq:  "Sitting in KFC car park in Omagh eating a bucket of chicken, the only part of the evening that's proving enjoyable mind you some of the waffle from the Louth and Fermanagh scribes has given me a much needed laugh. Meath were awful tonight simple as, and now we face Galway, barring a major improvement I will be eating KFC next Sunday too...."
Omagh seems a bit far away to go for a KFC Richie

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 26/02/2017 10:57:44    1960853

Replying To gotmilk:  "Just going out and playing ball with no systems is why counties like yourselves and down are in this situation."
Agree with that. And last night still the odd call of let it in to Sheridan was heard.
A failure to move with times has cost Meath Down severely, but supporters who often influence players and even management don't like handpassing, this is seen in clubs particularly senior grade every week . old traditional catch and kick. The supporters love it, then when they win and go into Leinster they get humiliated by everyone they play, cause they just playing ball with no system

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 11:02:11    1960857

Replying To gotmilk:  "How did you finish up in omagh from newry on your way back to Meath?"
Richie lives in Donegal if I remember correctly.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 11:12:09    1960867

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agree with that. And last night still the odd call of let it in to Sheridan was heard.
A failure to move with times has cost Meath Down severely, but supporters who often influence players and even management don't like handpassing, this is seen in clubs particularly senior grade every week . old traditional catch and kick. The supporters love it, then when they win and go into Leinster they get humiliated by everyone they play, cause they just playing ball with no system"
to be fair kildare beat us playing a traditonal game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/02/2017 11:13:41    1960870

Replying To Royalio11:  "Omagh seems a bit far away to go for a KFC Richie"
Richie doesn't live in Meath. Donegal? I think. Like myself travels long distance to support the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 11:17:46    1960874

Replying To rossie72:  "This has been coming down the tracks for a number of years. Anyone with any cop on would admit as much. A bunch of players came on the scene in the mid to late 2000s and set meath football back to the stone ages with their attitude and carry on. I pity andy mc entee to be honest. Banty was ran out of meath yet got that team to within 2 points of Dublin in a Leinster final, some acheivment when you see what has happened since."
Comparing Dublin 2012 in the Leinster championship and 2016 is comparing apples and oranges. Dublin's level of preparation (and development if young players) has moved to a different level since then. Remember 2 years before the Banty managed Meath to a 3 point defeat by Dublin (in 2012) Meath actually beat Dublin (in 2010 when O'Brien was manager.)

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 26/02/2017 11:19:13    1960876

Meath Football is at an all time low, Neither Mc Entee or any other manager in Ireland can rectify the situation. Our much talked about U21 team lost out to a very poor Westmeath. Our Much talked about Minor team is average.
The whole setup from U12 up is a total disaster, people are coming on here and talking about the good work being done at underage level. All the talk of development teams is total nonsense. 25 15 year old running their guts out on a Saturday morning is not developing anything, But rather turning young lads off. I have said for years that the county needs to have regional development teams at all ages, and instead of 25 lads training at a specific age group we need to have upwards of 30 per region. With these regional teams playing regular games against each other and other county's. There is no real work being done by the Minor or county board to address the issues we face here in the county at the moment. Yes they will point to the fact there are development panels but this is a whitewash. We will drop a lot further if something is not done to rectify it soon.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 26/02/2017 12:25:45    1960895

Replying To Analyst:  "Do people still believe it's management's fault ? The Messiah is there now and still we are as bad as before. All the abuse Micko got but at least he didn't have his son on the side"
Couldn't agree more. I'm reading the posts here and it's either the players who are not good enough (although many of the same posters put the blame on Micko) or it's the fans demand for traditional football!

I know Andy is not in the job long but it did not seem like there was a plan for that game simple as that. Normally, even if it was a poor performance, you can see what the players are trying to do, not last night. Others are saying we'll win one or two more games, when you've just been hammered by a team that hasn't won a game in 2 years I don't know where these wins are coming from.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 26/02/2017 12:26:00    1960896

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nope. But if I were you I'd be more concerned you could end up playing us in div 2 next year. Btw how's division 1 working out for the mighty Cavan :)"
We won't meet next year because your heading for div 3... it's a long way to Tipperary!! And Antrim ... and Sligo... and maybe even london!! Ye won't throw many stones in London!!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 26/02/2017 12:29:19    1960900

Replying To royaldunne:  "Richie doesn't live in Meath. Donegal? I think. Like myself travels long distance to support the royal."
All this proves is how good micko was with such bad resources.I will not slate a man for puting on a county Jersey when asked but time to b real here lads.we are no good no structure no game plan.best coner back all year shame Gallagher best keep Robbie Birmingham where were they.not good enough by management.has much changed since micko.Yea a lot a jab fallen even tithe back.but that's mickos fault.Oh and i go to the games since 85 and have seen good an bad.this is embarrising

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 26/02/2017 12:38:17    1960905

Replying To royaldunne:  "Micko had 4 years and you giving out after 3 games ? Pathetic. Andy has inherited a mess, and you want him to fix 6 years of going backwards in 3 games? Yeah good man.. It will take at least another year for Andy to undo the mess that he was left. Btw your comments on Shane been his son is nothing short of disgraceful, I would have expected better from you."
There is a trend on the last point. Its not soccer, you don't inherit a squad, you get to pick who you like. I have consistently said for years here thar we are simply not good enough but some people always blame the management. Amazing how every defeat was Micko fault

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 26/02/2017 12:43:04    1960909

Hearing a lot about the demise of Meath football, allow me to offer this thought. I was 6 months old when Meath last won Sam, 2 when we were last in a final. For people of my age profile we are just used to losing, especially to Dublin. For people my age there is a huge lack of interest in Meath football. The worst part is I don't know how you fix it, I suppose winning at underage might change it, but that is also easier said than done

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1463 - 26/02/2017 12:46:03    1960912