Down v Meath

Maybe RoyalClass should get his facts straight - Keoghan decided not to be captain as he has a busy year studywise etc.
Yet again keyboard warriors thinking they know everything

royallady (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 25/02/2017 23:26:38    1960730

Why was O'Sullivan subbed at half time?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 25/02/2017 23:31:57    1960731

All the football tonight was played by Down, when they went five up in second half they tried to hold on to what they had and let us back into game. If they had pressed on they would have won pulling up. POR has come in for critism for his kickouts but apart from two clean catches (one in each half in full forward line) we did not field any ball, not one clean catch! Who does he kick it out to? Midfield completly non existant and wide open once again down the middle. Compared to Down we were slow and ponderous when attempting to switch from defence to attack.
Dread to think what the better teams will do to us.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 26/02/2017 00:16:33    1960744

Replying To downtothecore:  "We got the expected reaction from out team tonite given all the recent bad press. We are not great but I know now we will be a match for any teams we play in this league from now on."
Down should be good enough to get a win against Derry and that might be enough to keep you up, we nearly sneaked a very unlightly draw tonight which would have been robbery.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 26/02/2017 00:22:33    1960748

Replying To rossie72:  "This has been coming down the tracks for a number of years. Anyone with any cop on would admit as much. A bunch of players came on the scene in the mid to late 2000s and set meath football back to the stone ages with their attitude and carry on. I pity andy mc entee to be honest. Banty was ran out of meath yet got that team to within 2 points of Dublin in a Leinster final, some acheivment when you see what has happened since."
May be best to keep your pity for Kevin Mac

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 26/02/2017 00:24:49    1960749

Okay before the crap hits the fan this week with fans slating the team let me say this:
Yes Meath were bad and are not good enough to win while not playing at their best.
Down played their best game for 2 years but we were still bad and allowed them to do it.
Any breaks going Down got them.
Meath are not as bad as we looked against down now as good as we looked against Derry.
The crossbar stopped us getting a draw which probably was not deserved.
Galway is a must win game and I really think we can win it. We struggle always against ulster teams and think Galways more traditional style will suit us better.
I still think we should not have played O Reilly this evening. His head didn't look in the game. Brian Sheridan is still a work in progress but think it became predictable that we would just kick it to him. Lenihan showed well. O Sullivan wasn't himself, Toher again played the better of our 2 midfielders.
The early goal Down got spooked is and we never recovered.
A bad night for Meath where we showed again we have no consistency.

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 26/02/2017 00:43:17    1960754

Great win for us the night but I thought Meath were going to give us a tougher night than that. Down have a long way to go though and will be lucky to stay in division 3 but with performances of grit and determination they just might sneak a reprieve . Derry next for us.....

EIREANNACH (Down) - Posts: 241 - 26/02/2017 01:23:49    1960757

This is not a building job any more . After tonight's result it's a rescue job, if at all . I hope it does turn around. With the Super 8 around the corner now , (after suited twits )giving it the nod . Meath could sink deeper into the quagmire than ever before ......Were not even in the top 14 in the country now.
I wonder did the Meath delegates give it the nod....

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 26/02/2017 02:54:04    1960768

Ho ho ho! Won't be throwing many stones this year on the way to Div 3!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 26/02/2017 07:05:06    1960777

Replying To royallady:  "Maybe RoyalClass should get his facts straight - Keoghan decided not to be captain as he has a busy year studywise etc.
Yet again keyboard warriors thinking they know everything"
Yep and and another one wants to give it back to him even though he doesn't want it. Btw Donal is vice capt . bit as well have said. Never let facts get in way of a agenda

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 07:52:19    1960783

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Why was O'Sullivan subbed at half time?"
Got hit in face with a stray elbow, actually it looked accidentally, how did he break his nose (looked like broken nose mask) in the first place ? Does anyone know?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 07:55:18    1960784

Bad week for the royals I honestly think they look like a team that are over trained loads of injuries plenty of players that look fed up just like what Kildare were under mcgeeney, very sad to see for neutrals as Meath always put it up to the likes of Dublin a million miles away now unfortunately

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 26/02/2017 07:57:26    1960785

Replying To Meathmen:  "Okay before the crap hits the fan this week with fans slating the team let me say this:
Yes Meath were bad and are not good enough to win while not playing at their best.
Down played their best game for 2 years but we were still bad and allowed them to do it.
Meath are not as bad as we looked against down now as good as we looked against Derry.
Galway is a must win game and I really think we can win it. We struggle always against ulster teams and think Galways more traditional style will suit us better.
I still think we should not have played O Reilly this evening. His head didn't look in the game. Brian Sheridan is still a work in progress but think it became predictable that we would just kick it to him. Lenihan showed well. O Sullivan wasn't himself, Toher again played the better of our 2 midfielders.
A bad night for Meath where we showed again we have no consistency."
What's this? A common sense post? that won't go down well with the usual suspects on here. Btw well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 07:59:29    1960786

Replying To Meathmen:  "Okay before the crap hits the fan this week with fans slating the team let me say this:
A bad night for Meath where we showed again we have no consistency."
Stop stop stop stop, embarrassing yourself and other meath fans, we have done and tryed everything manager wise/ different styles,, nothing we have absolutely nothing,, look at the players all decent lads but no where near good enough,, we are just bad an except that,, like watching that game last night was painful

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 26/02/2017 08:35:56    1960792

Replying To Richieq:  "Sitting in KFC car park in Omagh eating a bucket of chicken, the only part of the evening that's proving enjoyable mind you some of the waffle from the Louth and Fermanagh scribes has given me a much needed laugh. Meath were awful tonight simple as, and now we face Galway, barring a major improvement I will be eating KFC next Sunday too...."
Ahh a bucket of KFC always helps. Eating our feelings away.
Don't worry me auld friend we will be having celebration KFC soon.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 08:39:38    1960793

Do people still believe it's management's fault ? The Messiah is there now and still we are as bad as before. All the abuse Micko got but at least he didn't have his son on the side

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 26/02/2017 09:22:24    1960800

1) The two man forward line is not NOT working, Leinhan played well last night but he is not consistent enough Plus we don't get enough man in to that area quick enough to win breaking ball.

2) Why are kicking high balls in sheridan ? at least 6 balls what did we get in return maybe 1 free if at all, Down are poor but even they did'nt resort to that. We look like junior B team that's what they do.

3) Where is the attack plan ? Is it to kick high ball in to sheriadan ? Maybe if it was Micheal Murphy I might understand. We get to there 40 yard line where freeze nobody running off the shoulder to intensity. And then we resort looping it in the square ?? Come on we should be better than than.

3) Substitutions COS should not have played clearly he was right and that was clear 10 mins in bad call to play him. Why was Joey Wallace not on sooner ? he was probably one of the reasons we won against Derry hindsight he should of actually started.

4) why cant we not break forward with pace and do what Down did yes they players back but this in modern football we should be surprised by it. They cut is open time and time again in second half.

We are not in good shape lads, we are in serious trouble we are fast becoming the whipping boys ourselves. I cant see things improving I hope I am wrong. the only light I can see is maybe if Haran and D Tobin come back in and if we get on the blower and get Harry Rooney back otherwise its div 3 and short run in the championship also. positives the defense stood up well at different times but we just ended up running down blind alleys and losing the ball ourselves. A number of players are just not up to it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 26/02/2017 10:06:13    1960813

Replying To Meath_True:  "This is not a building job any more . After tonight's result it's a rescue job, if at all . I hope it does turn around. With the Super 8 around the corner now , (after suited twits )giving it the nod . Meath could sink deeper into the quagmire than ever before ......Were not even in the top 14 in the country now.
I wonder did the Meath delegates give it the nod...."
Of course they did. They were one of the ones to actually speak at conference in support. Quid pro quo for pt refurbished project my Dempsey was all in favour of it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 10:09:04    1960815

Replying To pauk123:  "Micko was hunted for this? No ideas from the sideline no plan for attack and no fire in the belly. I said before the win or D3. What are the management team doing with these lads at training? Total joke."
I doubt we will be relegated, 2 wins in an 8 team league you would imagine usually would be enough. I think Meath will get another win or 2. Disappointing thing for me is so far this season is we seem to be similar to most recent seasons, very inconsistent. Most seasons we seem to have some performances like this. I think we will finish in our usual position for many years, mid table of division 2. I was hoping with Andy we might see some signs of consistent improvement but not yet.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1357 - 26/02/2017 10:13:45    1960816

Replying To Analyst:  "Do people still believe it's management's fault ? The Messiah is there now and still we are as bad as before. All the abuse Micko got but at least he didn't have his son on the side"
Micko had 4 years and you giving out after 3 games ? Pathetic. Andy has inherited a mess, and you want him to fix 6 years of going backwards in 3 games? Yeah good man.. It will take at least another year for Andy to undo the mess that he was left. Btw your comments on Shane been his son is nothing short of disgraceful, I would have expected better from you.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 10:15:26    1960817