Meath vs Kildare 5th February

Replying To royaldunne:  "Totally agree, Andy is dismantling the last 5 years. It will take time to build and maybe every player needs to be reconditioned. The focus for Andy has to be division one. And every resources must be made available to him, it will take time and patience to get this right, we must be patient, untold damage must be rectified, not even God himself could do that in 2/weeks in obc . I think it will take 5 years for Meath to be even in top 5 or 4. And genuine contenders. Andy is the man to do that, this is not a progression , it's a total rebuild starting at the very bottom with players who are mentally scarred and physically well off the pace. Patience is a virtue."
Royal dunne I would think you could be a great snooker player. Your safety play is exceptional.....you are covered in your comments even if we finish up in Div.4.....your TRUMP card is you call others negative.....10/10 for your loyalty to YOUR hero Graham. I dont doubt your love of Meath football. Your blind loyalty to the cause and to the 2 Grahams is amusing...Its a while now since you mentioned the other Graham
I agree with you on a lot of things.....Finally, just one question : Is it not fair to say that last Sunday you saw more of the same from the previous administration...mickey mouse football of which i shared your views in the last 3 years. Ah yes unfortunately there is a massive difference beteween how we would like things to be, and the reality even at this early stage. AN Mhi ABU especially for our hurlers!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 24/01/2017 16:01:01    1948466

Was at game Sunday. We were very poor no scoring forwards. Players are just not there at the moment I would give Andy time as i do believe he will get us organised and fit but being able to beat a man and kick points with out looking at the posts in I think a natural talent. I have tried to think of our best team and no forward is an automatic starter who is our star forward. Keoghan was brilliant again on Sunday all the others should watch and learn from him he is our best player

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 24/01/2017 17:19:06    1948501

This team when everyone is fit Burlington
Mc Gill. Keoghan curran
Ford o brien

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 24/01/2017 17:33:11    1948510

This team when everyone is fit Burlington
Mc Gill. Keoghan curran. Ford . Tobin. harnan. menton Flanagan. Kennelly. c o Sullivan newman. Wallace. paddy o rourke graham Reilly maybe shane Mc for curran

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 24/01/2017 17:41:12    1948514

Replying To nobull456:  "Royal dunne I would think you could be a great snooker player. Your safety play is exceptional.....you are covered in your comments even if we finish up in Div.4.....your TRUMP card is you call others negative.....10/10 for your loyalty to YOUR hero Graham. I dont doubt your love of Meath football. Your blind loyalty to the cause and to the 2 Grahams is amusing...Its a while now since you mentioned the other Graham
I agree with you on a lot of things.....Finally, just one question : Is it not fair to say that last Sunday you saw more of the same from the previous administration...mickey mouse football of which i shared your views in the last 3 years. Ah yes unfortunately there is a massive difference beteween how we would like things to be, and the reality even at this early stage. AN Mhi ABU especially for our hurlers!"
Of course last Sunday was disappointing, however I think people views have to be tempered with the fact that hey trained all week, and We had challenge match less than 24/ hr previous in which some of the definite starters played. , and I really think too Much is been read into a game that was worthless and meaningless, I feel people views are been affected cause it was Louth, don't care myself as I don't have any dislike of louth. There will be a more set team out v Kildare with a style of play in action, and I really think people should wait until at least end of league before rushing to any judgement on where we are, or where we heading.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2017 17:55:11    1948516

When fit team. Hannigan .McGill. Keoghan .Curran. (Mcentee) Harnan .Tobin. Ford. Mention. Flanagan. Kennelly. C.O.Sullivan. M Newman. E .Wallace. Paddy O Rourke. G.Reilly was at game on Sunday we had no one around the square to kick the ball to corner zforwards could do well playing off a target man and paddy would cause havoc in around. The square. Give biggy freedom to go anywhere going on Sunday and last year he is pulled down or fouled everytime he tries to run with the ball further upthe pitch these frees could be more scoreable we need to try something .having afew more big men around middle of pitch is needed aswe don't have a good fielder of the. Ball there at the moment

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 24/01/2017 22:50:24    1948588

I'm surprised some of the waffle on here gets by the moderator, less then a month of competitive management in mcentees tenure and the knives are out, I predict a very poor year for Meath, and anybody with any common sense should be predicting the same, it takes a year or more to clean up a mess and stamp your own authority on things, and that's when you have a really good panel, which we don't, so it could take mcentee longer, but he needs to be persisted with cause let's face it, I know he's a very good manager with a v good track record but there are no alternatives, NONE. So give up your p**sing and moaning and try to understand it takes time and especially with an average bunch, time for some common sense and perspective fellas

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 25/01/2017 06:33:32    1948607

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I'm surprised some of the waffle on here gets by the moderator, less then a month of competitive management in mcentees tenure and the knives are out, I predict a very poor year for Meath, and anybody with any common sense should be predicting the same, it takes a year or more to clean up a mess and stamp your own authority on things, and that's when you have a really good panel, which we don't, so it could take mcentee longer, but he needs to be persisted with cause let's face it, I know he's a very good manager with a v good track record but there are no alternatives, NONE. So give up your p**sing and moaning and try to understand it takes time and especially with an average bunch, time for some common sense and perspective fellas"
I somewhat agree, think some people gone v over the top about a game in obc.
I also would say Andy will need time,, he has no magic wand. There is no one better and we have to be thankful that he took the job knowing the state the Senior team was in, I said it before and say it again. It will take him 5 years to have everything right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2017 14:54:14    1948724

Looks Like Nally is not a happy bunny he asked Ben Brennan and Graham Reilly not to play.
https://ibm.biz/BdsAti

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/01/2017 17:14:10    1948764

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Looks Like Nally is not a happy bunny he asked Ben Brennan and Graham Reilly not to play.
https://ibm.biz/BdsAti"
Strange decision from both management and players. With such an important club game coming up.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 25/01/2017 17:36:53    1948773

Replying To seadog54:  "Strange decision from both management and players. With such an important club game coming up."
I'm not sure it's that strange a decision from the management. Their job is to do what is best for the Meath senior team - anything else comes secondary to that. They obviously felt that it better served the Meath senior team for the two players to play with them rather than rest up for the club game. And they were probably correct in that. It was obviously not best for St. Colmcilles, but that's not Andy McEntees problem. As I am not from St.Colmcilles, I have no issue with the decision, and welcome that level of ruthlessness. If I was from St.Colmcilles though, I would be furious.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 25/01/2017 21:51:24    1948824

Regarding earlier posts about money being wasted on the Meath Senior team, it is worth pointing out that in 2015 (the 2016 figures are not available yet), Meath spent the 5th LOWEST amount on their county teams out of all the teams in Ireland. Only Fermanagh, Leitrim, Louth and Wicklow spent less than we did. Giants of the GAA such as Carlow, Longford Sligo and Cavan (none of whom spends much on their hurling teams) all spent more than we did. So whatever the problems are in Meath GAA (and there are plenty), overspending on the county team is not one of them.

In fact I would disagree with Colm O'Rourke that the real problem is counties spending too much on their county teams. The real root of the problem is the huge imbalance in income between the different counties, which allows some counties to spend large sums on their main county teams and have plenty left over for football/hurling development within the county, while other counties effectively have to choose one or the other.
County teams are expensive to run, there is no other way around it. And I personally don't have a problem with that. Why should a player from a weaker county who dedicates a large part of his life to his county team not have a proper trainer, or a physio, or be fed after games, or be paid his travelling expenses, or refunded his medical expenses, or get a holiday at the end of the year, when another player born 30 miles up the road has all of those things. And all of those things cost money.
If we want to retain the current county structure (and I certainly do), then the GAA has to find a way that all of the counties can offer roughly the same benefits to the players, while also ensuring that all counties can afford to develop players properly. The money is there in the GAA, it just needs to be spread around properly.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 25/01/2017 22:08:46    1948829

Replying To anfearbeag:  "Regarding earlier posts about money being wasted on the Meath Senior team, it is worth pointing out that in 2015 (the 2016 figures are not available yet), Meath spent the 5th LOWEST amount on their county teams out of all the teams in Ireland. Only Fermanagh, Leitrim, Louth and Wicklow spent less than we did. Giants of the GAA such as Carlow, Longford Sligo and Cavan (none of whom spends much on their hurling teams) all spent more than we did. So whatever the problems are in Meath GAA (and there are plenty), overspending on the county team is not one of them.

In fact I would disagree with Colm O'Rourke that the real problem is counties spending too much on their county teams. The real root of the problem is the huge imbalance in income between the different counties, which allows some counties to spend large sums on their main county teams and have plenty left over for football/hurling development within the county, while other counties effectively have to choose one or the other.
County teams are expensive to run, there is no other way around it. And I personally don't have a problem with that. Why should a player from a weaker county who dedicates a large part of his life to his county team not have a proper trainer, or a physio, or be fed after games, or be paid his travelling expenses, or refunded his medical expenses, or get a holiday at the end of the year, when another player born 30 miles up the road has all of those things. And all of those things cost money.
If we want to retain the current county structure (and I certainly do), then the GAA has to find a way that all of the counties can offer roughly the same benefits to the players, while also ensuring that all counties can afford to develop players properly. The money is there in the GAA, it just needs to be spread around properly."
Excellent post.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 26/01/2017 02:40:36    1948850

Replying To anfearbeag:  "Regarding earlier posts about money being wasted on the Meath Senior team, it is worth pointing out that in 2015 (the 2016 figures are not available yet), Meath spent the 5th LOWEST amount on their county teams out of all the teams in Ireland. Only Fermanagh, Leitrim, Louth and Wicklow spent less than we did. Giants of the GAA such as Carlow, Longford Sligo and Cavan (none of whom spends much on their hurling teams) all spent more than we did. So whatever the problems are in Meath GAA (and there are plenty), overspending on the county team is not one of them.

If we want to retain the current county structure (and I certainly do), then the GAA has to find a way that all of the counties can offer roughly the same benefits to the players, while also ensuring that all counties can afford to develop players properly. The money is there in the GAA, it just needs to be spread around properly."
Where does money for senior county team expenses come from?

I seen the GAA and GPA agree a new deal last year that increased fuel allowances, a nutrition expense, gear quotas etc. so surely the GAA facilitate these increased allowances through allowances to the various county boards?

If Meath have say 70 intercounty players between hurling and football, all claiming mileage, nutrition, playing gear etc. how is Dublins spending that much greater(exactly €1million) than Meaths if they have the same number of adult intercounty players?

Or maybe compare a similar county like Armagh, who's spending is €900,000, double what Meath spent. Who have two adult teams at the same level (Meath gone up in hurling since). Where are they pulling that money from?

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 26/01/2017 10:38:06    1948888

Spot on,nothing more to add :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/01/2017 11:42:12    1948908

Replying To begining:  "Where does money for senior county team expenses come from?

I seen the GAA and GPA agree a new deal last year that increased fuel allowances, a nutrition expense, gear quotas etc. so surely the GAA facilitate these increased allowances through allowances to the various county boards?

If Meath have say 70 intercounty players between hurling and football, all claiming mileage, nutrition, playing gear etc. how is Dublins spending that much greater(exactly €1million) than Meaths if they have the same number of adult intercounty players?

Or maybe compare a similar county like Armagh, who's spending is €900,000, double what Meath spent. Who have two adult teams at the same level (Meath gone up in hurling since). Where are they pulling that money from?"
id say most of the money comes from sponsorship and suppliments from the gaa. so it depends on the kindest of your sponsors. obviously the more successful you are the greater chance of more sponsorship money. obviously the county board has resources from clubs from affliation and the renting of pitches in dunganny. but bulk of it would be through sponsorship so the more successful a team is the greater chance of sponsorship money increasing. well thats my thinking and could be completely wrong

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 26/01/2017 12:10:31    1948918

Great post An Fear,

Think its time a system of capping the spend on county teams is brought in. And a wider spread of sponsorship money is given to the lesser counties. Otherwise the strong only get stringer through the continued financial doping which exists at present.

There's a reason Dublin and Kerry are so succesful. They've more money than most other counties combined.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 26/01/2017 13:26:02    1948937

Replying To brian:  "Great post An Fear,

Think its time a system of capping the spend on county teams is brought in. And a wider spread of sponsorship money is given to the lesser counties. Otherwise the strong only get stringer through the continued financial doping which exists at present.

There's a reason Dublin and Kerry are so succesful. They've more money than most other counties combined."
Yeah I agree to. I think money should be evenly dealt out as well. Its alright saying but how do you do it practice ? So Dublin get 1.5 million a year in sponsorship and the cap in 1 million, And the the .5 is divided up with smaller counties with less population ie leitrim. That means Dublin are losing out population wise. Personally I think something should what I am not sure. years ago there wasn't near as much money around GAA. So I think its a bigger problem these days. But Listen we where not complaining where Kepak where bringing lads to training in helicopters and a fridges full of stakes and wanting for nothing. I think we need to look closely at ourselves first before we start complaining. And if its a case that we have get to decent level.And we are still lacking, then we can complain. Look at Donegal how come we are not up to standard of them for example ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 26/01/2017 14:46:08    1948965

Whats the craic with Joey Wallace? Is he making progress?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/01/2017 20:50:26    1949066

Seems a couple of good inside forward on u21 anyone think any of them could be drafted in later on?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2017 21:36:51    1949074