Meath vs Kildare 5th February

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Have to agree. 2 or 3 is fine. But playing 5 is what got us into trouble under MOD. Have to ease them in I think. I also think it is huge to focus on 21's to get a successful team. All off the top county teams had success at underage it is the recipe"
Oh no I agree,leave them with the U21's but I feel 3 or 4 of them are good enough to make the senior side.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/02/2017 20:45:55    1952381

Would live to have being proved wrong but Brian Sherdians performance today proves my concern that we are scratching the bottom of the barrell when it comes to unearthing emergeny talent.Did someone mention that I had not seen him play latley and another that he would score at least four points. Have seen three games this year and looks to me like we have went bavkwards from last year, defence non existant and no method of play going forward. Just can,t undetstand ehat goes on in training.

Royaldevil (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 05/02/2017 21:03:04    1952398

On a positive note we do have some very good players to come in that will make a huge difference. padraig harnan james mcentee and donnacha tobin will be back in the next few weeks hopefully. add that to brian conlon and ronan jones.plus 2 players that i cant understand are not in the squad, darragh Smyth looked really good last year and looked a better defencer then power and Douglas. Plus we need andrew tormay back on the panel.if fit he could do a job at full forward or midfield

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 05/02/2017 21:04:33    1952402

I know you cant really draw comparisons with the O'Byrne cup and league, but when you think that Kildare team where destroyed by a bunch of lads Dublin threw together while our all ireland panel where off sunning themselves in Jamaica, went to your gaff and absolutely destroyed you off the park it just goes to show how much work Andy McEntee has ahead of him. For me, The talent just isnt there. You can have Sean Boylan in charge of this Meath team, but it wouldnt make a difference as he can only work with the players within the county and they just arent good enough. I appreciate its only one league and ive no doubt that the mentality of the players can e improved with time, But you cant improve that standard of footballers in the pool Meath have to pick from over night, So, while Meath may at least compete and not fold as easily in games against teams of similar standard, If/When they come up against a team with so much experience and all ireland winning medals in their back pocket like a Dublin, or a Kerry..then you can have all the passion in the world, but the better, fitter, more experienced and skillful footballers will always rise to the top. People on here talk about promotion, For me thats ridiculous, Its expecting too much. My opinion for what its worth is that Meath should be taking small steps, learning to walk before they can jump, Consolidate your D2 spot and go from there, talk of promotion especially after todays result is just, its unrealistic

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/02/2017 21:28:23    1952424

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yea I agree, you see we can agree on something :)"
Apart from the master stroke :) only joking and I'm a seneschalstown man and had Joe as a coach and played with him! I always stuck up for him! Anyway I think we can only be positive no point in being negative

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/02/2017 21:29:42    1952426

This is what the great Andy hype machine delivered!? Even in MOD's darkest days we put on a better show at home. Promotion is a realistic goal LOL. Joke shop.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 05/02/2017 21:30:53    1952428

Replying To waynoI:  "I know you cant really draw comparisons with the O'Byrne cup and league, but when you think that Kildare team where destroyed by a bunch of lads Dublin threw together while our all ireland panel where off sunning themselves in Jamaica, went to your gaff and absolutely destroyed you off the park it just goes to show how much work Andy McEntee has ahead of him. For me, The talent just isnt there. You can have Sean Boylan in charge of this Meath team, but it wouldnt make a difference as he can only work with the players within the county and they just arent good enough. I appreciate its only one league and ive no doubt that the mentality of the players can e improved with time, But you cant improve that standard of footballers in the pool Meath have to pick from over night, So, while Meath may at least compete and not fold as easily in games against teams of similar standard, If/When they come up against a team with so much experience and all ireland winning medals in their back pocket like a Dublin, or a Kerry..then you can have all the passion in the world, but the better, fitter, more experienced and skillful footballers will always rise to the top. People on here talk about promotion, For me thats ridiculous, Its expecting too much. My opinion for what its worth is that Meath should be taking small steps, learning to walk before they can jump, Consolidate your D2 spot and go from there, talk of promotion especially after todays result is just, its unrealistic"
Very insightful

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 05/02/2017 21:33:31    1952430

Replying To waynoI:  "I know you cant really draw comparisons with the O'Byrne cup and league, but when you think that Kildare team where destroyed by a bunch of lads Dublin threw together while our all ireland panel where off sunning themselves in Jamaica, went to your gaff and absolutely destroyed you off the park it just goes to show how much work Andy McEntee has ahead of him. For me, The talent just isnt there. You can have Sean Boylan in charge of this Meath team, but it wouldnt make a difference as he can only work with the players within the county and they just arent good enough. I appreciate its only one league and ive no doubt that the mentality of the players can e improved with time, But you cant improve that standard of footballers in the pool Meath have to pick from over night, So, while Meath may at least compete and not fold as easily in games against teams of similar standard, If/When they come up against a team with so much experience and all ireland winning medals in their back pocket like a Dublin, or a Kerry..then you can have all the passion in the world, but the better, fitter, more experienced and skillful footballers will always rise to the top. People on here talk about promotion, For me thats ridiculous, Its expecting too much. My opinion for what its worth is that Meath should be taking small steps, learning to walk before they can jump, Consolidate your D2 spot and go from there, talk of promotion especially after todays result is just, its unrealistic"
very few said we would get promoted.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/02/2017 21:35:00    1952434

Couldn't have put it better

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/02/2017 21:37:05    1952436

Replying To pauk123:  "This is what the great Andy hype machine delivered!? Even in MOD's darkest days we put on a better show at home. Promotion is a realistic goal LOL. Joke shop."
In fairness have you forgotten Cavan at home under MOD in dv3?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/02/2017 21:39:54    1952438

Replying To royaldunne:  "There is a certain type of player Donal can't handle the 15 today was one of them. He roasted him time and again. However he is still a excellent player"
Yeah I agree but still really bad day for Donal gave his marker way to much space. Just making a point. Donal at his best running at teams with ball in hand.IMO

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 05/02/2017 21:44:34    1952440

Cavan lost first two games last year and we're promoted. Until it's mathematical impossible I will be aiming for promotion, if not what's the point? I did same last year and indeed last number year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2017 21:53:17    1952449

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Apart from the master stroke :) only joking and I'm a seneschalstown man and had Joe as a coach and played with him! I always stuck up for him! Anyway I think we can only be positive no point in being negative"
Exactly, no point in not been positive, I have never went to game expecting us to get beat. And the day that happens will be the day I GIve up going. Win next week and everything will be back on track.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2017 21:56:18    1952452

Where's our passion gone? We don't have the players, fair enough but we're off the pace big time. We couldn't keep up today, Lads standing around not knowing what to do or where to go. Taking you goal chances are vital in this league.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 05/02/2017 21:59:11    1952453

Lads as depressing as today was, it really serves no purpose in singling out individual players for criticism, they were, I think we all would agree, give or take, either the best available or at least deserving of a chance. While I would have a slight question about some of his actions or non actions during the game, I genuinely believe Andy Mc entee deserves a chance and our support. The point I would like to make is in relation to the perceived lack of quality footballers in the county. I believe we have given most counties a huge head start in relation to our underage structures and that it is only in last few years that we have realised the massive importance of having a joined up process in developing our young talent. I strongly believe that there should be a full time person in charge of the county in relation to underage structures and county teams,where development is monitored throughout the age groups. On a positive note I do believe that the current crop of under 21's (who have benefited from the improvement in the system) have a number of the type of players we need, i.e big strong fit ball players. They may do well this year but either way I believe that the future is not as bleak as it seems now. But let them develop

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 05/02/2017 22:10:10    1952461

Royaldevil i have to agree with your sentients. It looks like more of the same from last year .Like yourself i wonder what are they doing in training 5 or 6 times a week? Most likely we just dont have enough players at the required standard. If that is the case ANDY cannot do very much ;only do his best with what is available. I was amused with some of the mickey ouse excuses about the Louth game ..too tired....heavy training...what bull? In fairness to ANDY I think he deserves a year or so to see if he can move us forward. but i have major doubts .I dont know about Andy no more than he does himself ;seeing that he is new to senior inter county management.
To day was pathetic . COS. Reilly.Forde and Lenihan were the only players to do themselves justice..Even Keoghan was poor by his standards. Midfield wipedout, i cant recall even one possesion won from kickouts. I do recall half a dozen punched balls by Menton where Kildare won every loose ball. I wonder what was our plan to cover that ? That is fairly basic stuff ! Flanagan was out best fielder before his injury.but he is clearly nowhere near match fit. Just look at the spine of the team Full back weak; chb who? Midfield v poor; chf Reilly ( when he wants to ok0 ff . nobody. Manager... Novice at this level with very limited availabe talent...........TARGET ...maintain position in Div 2 this year We can always HOPE for better of course!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 05/02/2017 22:13:28    1952463

Replying To Diego:  "Where's our passion gone? We don't have the players, fair enough but we're off the pace big time. We couldn't keep up today, Lads standing around not knowing what to do or where to go. Taking you goal chances are vital in this league."
No leaders

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 05/02/2017 22:20:17    1952468

The drive home to Donegal felt that bit longer this evening, frustrated, angry, upset.......all those emotions and a few more thrown in. Defensively we were totally abject, if someone had told me this morning that we would score 16 points I would have been damn confident of a win but conceding 3-17 at home is unacceptable particularly when one of those goals is scored after 14 seconds, we were in the back foot straight away and despite a valiant effort in the last 10-15 minutes of the first half we needed a goal which we couldn't get despite 2 or 3 real chances. When playing at home you need to take those chances, Kildare took theirs and we didn't and essentially that was the difference on the scoreboard, certain players looked out of their depth today but the thing is there is no better right now, I heard so much crap being spoken in the stand today about the better players about the county, utter nonsense!!! How many players have been tried both under MO'D and McEntee this year? About 7 or 8 bus loads that's how many and what's there is the best we have and we must work with it, the fact that some aren't good enough is due to a period of abject failure by some County Boards and by clubs in failing to act when we started to slide after 2001, things are starting to change but it will take time, McEntee will change things but it will take time. For now our next two games against Derry and Down are crucial in fact they are must win as we need to clear that performance today out of the system, results elsewhere in the division softened the blow of today a bit but we must try and be masters of our own destiny, depending on other results in this division is not an option as there will be plenty of chopping and changing, we owe Derry a beating I hope we have the wherewithal to give them one.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 05/02/2017 23:07:12    1952489

Hard luck today lads, alot more work at underage and it will slowly turnaround.. at least thats what im hoping is happening this Kildare team.. On a side , the Meath fans around me near the end of the game that applauded Kildares N. Kelly and B. McCormack off the pitch after what they had to sit through, i taught showed real class, fairplay.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 06/02/2017 00:09:03    1952508

The drive home to Donegal felt that bit longer this evening, frustrated, angry, upset.......all those emotions and a few more thrown in. Defensively we were totally abject, if someone had told me this morning that we would score 16 points I would have been damn confident of a win but conceding 3-17 at home is unacceptable particularly when one of those goals is scored after 14 seconds, we were in the back foot straight away and despite a valiant effort in the last 10-15 minutes of the first half we needed a goal which we couldn't get despite 2 or 3 real chances. When playing at home you need to take those chances, Kildare took theirs and we didn't and essentially that was the difference on the scoreboard, certain players looked out of their depth today but the thing is there is no better right now, I heard so much crap being spoken in the stand today about the better players about the county, utter nonsense!!! How many players have been tried both under MO'D and McEntee this year? About 7 or 8 bus loads that's how many and what's there is the best we have and we must work with it, the fact that some aren't good enough is due to a period of abject failure by some County Boards and by clubs in failing to act when we started to slide after 2001, things are starting to change but it will take time, McEntee will change things but it will take time. For now our next two games against Derry and Down are crucial in fact they are must win as we need to clear that performance today out of the system, results elsewhere in the division softened the blow of today a bit but we must try and be masters of our own destiny, depending on other results in this division is not an option as there will be plenty of chopping and changing, we owe Derry a beating I hope we have the wherewithal to give them one.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/02/2017 01:04:18    1952512