SFC Final

A novel pairing in this years final. What way do ye think it will go?

dona (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 18/10/2016 14:56:35    1927271

Replying To dona:  "A novel pairing in this years final. What way do ye think it will go?"
The Keegan cup won't be leaving town....

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 18/10/2016 19:26:16    1927383

Replying To dona:  "A novel pairing in this years final. What way do ye think it will go?"
I said whoever won the quarter final between Simonstown and Dunboyne would take beating and I'll stick to that, albeit without much conviction. Donaghmore Ashbourne have a right chance here but I have a gut feeling Simonstown will carry the day.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/10/2016 22:50:47    1927416

Honestly could go either way,D/Ash know the task they face,be a great day for either side to win,but hopefully Ash can do it.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/10/2016 09:07:31    1927448

I would like to see Simonstown win it but i said from the start i thought Don/Ash and i still think they will. I think they will be missing 2/3 of their top players so i think it will be tight game with them just getting over the line.

rightthere (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 19/10/2016 09:20:12    1927450

Two teams who have faltered at the crunch end in championships before. Will be interesting. I think Simonstown will do it however.

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 19/10/2016 10:06:30    1927467

My head is torn on this one. When we met Ashbourne in the last group game I expected to meet again, I fancied our lads to do it all year but had them as the danger. As a fan that was my most satisfying win of the season as it backed up what I thought in that we had the match of our danger. Without hindsight I also said Simonstown will have a big say in the championship, just not as big as I had hoped!

Dunboyne didn't click how they can on the day, but despite that it was a last kick of the game from Simonstown to force ET after throwing away two big leads, it really was a mad game. But Simonstowns players, fans and management were a credit to them that day. However after such a big performance I expected a drop in the semis as is so often the case and by all accounts it happened and they just scraped over the line. Ashbourne by all accounts weren't overly impressive either, so you could say both teams arrive in to this one on level form.

Simonstown have some serious class in O Rourke and Nash at midfield, and Conlon having such a good year at chb. My worry for them would be Ashbourne have decent strength all across the park with no real big weakness. I've no idea on Tobins situation but to have him out there would be a massive boost just to take some of the pressure off McKeever and give Ashbourne more to think about.

It'd be brilliant to have a new name on the cup, some recognition for how good a manager Colm O Rourke is, and to have Kenny and SOR get their hands on a Keegan would raise a smile with a lot of Meath fans. Ashbourne are knocking on the door though, and it'll be years of hard work through underage coming to fruition if they get over the line on Sunday week, no one could begrudge them this one either and I'd be congratulating a lot of good friends down that way.

The betting is 1/2 Ash, 6/4 Simonstown which is about right for me. I don't buy in to hunger in any final, no one will want it less so my head tells me the team with better players from 1-20, even if marginal will win, which is why I'll go Ashbourne here. I don't think they'll take for granted the talent Simonstown possess in some areas, especially after somehow scraping past them in the Feis cup, or how well they're playing as a unit either, but for me they'll come up just short if I had to make a prediction.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 19/10/2016 20:57:52    1927712

Replying To dunboynelad:  "My head is torn on this one. When we met Ashbourne in the last group game I expected to meet again, I fancied our lads to do it all year but had them as the danger. As a fan that was my most satisfying win of the season as it backed up what I thought in that we had the match of our danger. Without hindsight I also said Simonstown will have a big say in the championship, just not as big as I had hoped!

Dunboyne didn't click how they can on the day, but despite that it was a last kick of the game from Simonstown to force ET after throwing away two big leads, it really was a mad game. But Simonstowns players, fans and management were a credit to them that day. However after such a big performance I expected a drop in the semis as is so often the case and by all accounts it happened and they just scraped over the line. Ashbourne by all accounts weren't overly impressive either, so you could say both teams arrive in to this one on level form.

Simonstown have some serious class in O Rourke and Nash at midfield, and Conlon having such a good year at chb. My worry for them would be Ashbourne have decent strength all across the park with no real big weakness. I've no idea on Tobins situation but to have him out there would be a massive boost just to take some of the pressure off McKeever and give Ashbourne more to think about.

It'd be brilliant to have a new name on the cup, some recognition for how good a manager Colm O Rourke is, and to have Kenny and SOR get their hands on a Keegan would raise a smile with a lot of Meath fans. Ashbourne are knocking on the door though, and it'll be years of hard work through underage coming to fruition if they get over the line on Sunday week, no one could begrudge them this one either and I'd be congratulating a lot of good friends down that way.

The betting is 1/2 Ash, 6/4 Simonstown which is about right for me. I don't buy in to hunger in any final, no one will want it less so my head tells me the team with better players from 1-20, even if marginal will win, which is why I'll go Ashbourne here. I don't think they'll take for granted the talent Simonstown possess in some areas, especially after somehow scraping past them in the Feis cup, or how well they're playing as a unit either, but for me they'll come up just short if I had to make a prediction."
I think Ashbourne are tighter at the back,so I am hoping this might tip it in our balance.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/10/2016 21:38:01    1927730

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I think Ashbourne are tighter at the back,so I am hoping this might tip it in our balance."
Looking forward to this one. It has the makings of a great final I wouldn't bet against a draw.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 20/10/2016 10:38:06    1927794

Going to be oh so close. Can see Simonstown just tipping it

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 29/10/2016 18:36:07    1930067

Best of luck to both sides tomorrow. Hopefully we get a cracking match.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 29/10/2016 19:20:01    1930074

Really looking forward to this game tomorrow, it will be interesting to see how Simonstown perform. Anytime I went to see them play I enjoyed the game, they are playing good football. If you were to go by form Simonstown would be winners but I can see Ashbourne winning. I would have took Simonstown at 2/1 though.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 29/10/2016 19:25:43    1930076

Few things permitting I will hop over to see this. Hard to call. Bit ill plump for siminstown just. Dont really care either way. Just hope whoever wins will have a good run in Leinster.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/10/2016 20:07:59    1930085

Best of luck to Don/Ash tomorrow.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 29/10/2016 20:08:55    1930086

Yeah best of luck to D/Ash,hopefully we can do it and we will have a bit of craic on Sunday night! :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/10/2016 21:32:16    1930104

What will the admission prices be today lads?

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 30/10/2016 10:57:09    1930141

Replying To flyer:  "What will the admission prices be today lads?"
15 euro

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/10/2016 11:54:29    1930150

Replying To flyer:  "What will the admission prices be today lads?"
I'd imagine €15 but you never know. Anyone know if Deegan will be able to start for Ashbourne today?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 30/10/2016 12:12:03    1930152

Best of luck to Simonstown today!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 30/10/2016 12:20:46    1930157

Well that went completely against all expectations. Domination from 1-60!

Had only seen Simonstown a couple of times but very impressed by their full forward line. Them Ashbourne lads marked out Joe Sheridan and Paddy O'Rourke in the knockout stages.

County lads let Don/Ash down I felt.

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 30/10/2016 16:41:16    1930196