Intermediate Final

On another note I thought Kennelly was impressive at midfield for Dunderry showed great leadership,is mobile and can score a point or two.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/10/2016 20:23:37    1927084

The Dunderry contingent is very quiet here. I d love to hear their opinion on what happened.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 17/10/2016 20:45:08    1927089

Replying To sam1996:  "'Justice for Biggy' if he was fully focused on winning a championship for his club, he would have vented its frustration on the scoreboard, instead he let himself and his club down for stupidly reacting to the type of off the ball antics that goes on in any competitive championship in the country.
It's laughable that the 'best game of the year' as quoted by the hoganstand, has been overlooked and instead we're talking about a county man who couldn't keep the head.

Also this game was in no way dirty, despite the impression of pure dirty tactics by dunderry

Roll on next Saturday where two teams will go hammer and thongs to create ther or own bit of history."
Hammer and thongs......... interesting bit of a difference to the hammer and tongs

cowardlyasafox (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 17/10/2016 21:13:44    1927095

Replying To cowardlyasafox:  "Hammer and thongs......... interesting bit of a difference to the hammer and tongs"
Ahh jasus them auld thongs are horrid hard on the posterior. Lets not bring them Saturday. :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/10/2016 22:27:22    1927114

Look at the video on the colmcilles facebook page. 30 seconds and Biggy is taken out 3 times in 30 seconds. No action by referee? I hope Biggy gets the chance to play Saturday. Dunderry couldnt beat Colmcilles after playing 58 minutes with an extra man. Cant see them winning saturday.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 17/10/2016 22:53:09    1927122

I'm a neutral. Biggy shouldn't strike back, foolish of him. Only himself to blame. Any corner back worth his salt will be in a forwards face, niggling him, pulling, fouling off the ball....a corner back will always try this early to see what he can and can't get away with. Ricey for Tyrone, Philly Mc for Dublin....closer to home Niall McKeigue for NO'M, Denis Kealy for Dunshaughlin, Mark O'Reilly for Summerhill. And for me these are the tigerish, dirty corner backs any club would be lucky to have. You get nothing for being nice. The Dunderry corner back was sent out to do a job and fair play to him, he did it. Blame the referee all you like but all he saw was lads tussling as he watched the play develop. Yes the umpires may spot it but its very difficult as they're watching the play, the flight of the ball etc. Colmcilles will win the next day, but no chance Biggy should get off. And as another poster remarked earlier, Biggy is not the best forward in the county. Will only perform when things are going well or Meath are playing a Carlow or Wicklow. Never has done it consistently against the top teams

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 18/10/2016 10:08:27    1927159

Replying To db9:  "Look at the video on the colmcilles facebook page. 30 seconds and Biggy is taken out 3 times in 30 seconds. No action by referee? I hope Biggy gets the chance to play Saturday. Dunderry couldnt beat Colmcilles after playing 58 minutes with an extra man. Cant see them winning saturday."
What happens at 30 secs in the video is bad, plain and simple.
There's no way Biggy should miss the replay if his marker doesn't.

He deserved to be sent off for his reaction but the action that led to this reaction should not have gone unpunished.

There's a mindset in the game that seems to be, if you're going to target someone in a big game do it early as the ref is less likely to send you off in the first few minutes af a big game, there is plenty of evidence to support this. There is no way the officials could have missed what happened to Reilly but they clearly decided to let it go, once it became apparent to the ref that he would have to act to deal with the problem that was unfolding he obviously decided to clamp down hard on the next incident, unfortunately for Reilly it was him lashing out.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 18/10/2016 10:18:14    1927161

Blah Blah Blah the ref was terrible, Blah Blah Blah Biggie was targeted and provoked, Blah Blah Blah!! Come on now lads, what Biggie did was stupid, end of story. Every teams main men get hammered in every game: Tormey for Ashbourne, Tobin for Simonstown, Joey Wallace, Bobby O Brien & Bryan Mac for Ratoath, Lenihan for Dunboyne etc and they get hit just as hard but don't do stupid things like that!! Bottom line is we give out about the senior team not being physical and aggressive enough yet complain when it happens in club games!! They were late hits yes, off the ball yes but none of em were in anyway dangerous or life threatening to the lad!! I don't mind either way who wins the match but if we're going to keep whinging about teams being to rough then what hope have we got against the Kerry's Dublin's or any Northern team for that matter at Senior County level??!!

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 18/10/2016 10:18:29    1927162

VernonSmith - you will be banned by Royaldunne for that post. Anyway - 'hammer and tongs' next day should make it even more interesting. I've seen the corner back at hand bags previously and it looked more silly than anything else. You will win little at senior club or inter county level if you are not able to handle that stuff (pulling and dragging). That does not mean I agree with it but anyone watching the All-Ireland (with all the cameras and officials) could see that there was more going on off the ball than on the ball and its an aspect of the game that contributes little

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/10/2016 10:33:01    1927168

I have no problem with physicality in the game, there should be more of it in my opinion but for God's sake if you're going to hit someone make sure he has a ball in his hand or is at least going for the ball.
Striking someone off the ball is foolish and cowardly, a bit of physicality in a full contact sport like football (and Hurling) is often the only difference between two otherwise evenly matched opponents. You want your man looking over his shoulder every time he goes for a ball, but there's no room for off the ball handbags in any sport.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 18/10/2016 10:45:26    1927176

Lads all the best teams target big players. I would be delighted to see a Meath player target a Connolly the way Reilly was targeted at the weekend.Dunderry could not afford to let Reilly play his game and be fancy free so to speak.They had a plan and it worked.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/10/2016 10:48:44    1927179

Replying To ratlag:  "Blah Blah Blah the ref was terrible, Blah Blah Blah Biggie was targeted and provoked, Blah Blah Blah!! Come on now lads, what Biggie did was stupid, end of story. Every teams main men get hammered in every game: Tormey for Ashbourne, Tobin for Simonstown, Joey Wallace, Bobby O Brien & Bryan Mac for Ratoath, Lenihan for Dunboyne etc and they get hit just as hard but don't do stupid things like that!! Bottom line is we give out about the senior team not being physical and aggressive enough yet complain when it happens in club games!! They were late hits yes, off the ball yes but none of em were in anyway dangerous or life threatening to the lad!! I don't mind either way who wins the match but if we're going to keep whinging about teams being to rough then what hope have we got against the Kerry's Dublin's or any Northern team for that matter at Senior County level??!!"
I actually thought the physical aspect of the game was refreshing.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/10/2016 10:49:56    1927180

Once the off the ball stuff doesnt threaten to leave someone in hospital or out of work then its fair game!! It makes the match more interesting and as a player, once the match is over you can shake hands and get on with it!! Look at Lee Keegan and Connolly for gods sakes, they threw more digs at each other than Audley Harrison did against David Haye in the Boxing and after the match they shake hands and congratulate/commiserate each other and move on!! The beatings they give each other are far worse than what was done to Biggie and it makes the game better and more interesting as a spectacle!!

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 18/10/2016 11:45:55    1927201

Well cant Wai for replay . Its a pity that the best player in county wont be taking part. But cilles have way to much for dunderry

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/10/2016 12:04:56    1927207

royaldunne - Biggy is not the best player in the county. If he is, we're in way more trouble than I thought.

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 18/10/2016 13:04:49    1927228

Replying To VernonSmith:  "royaldunne - Biggy is not the best player in the county. If he is, we're in way more trouble than I thought."
He is the best and by some distance at that.
Again only player who performed at any level v dubs , either scored or was fouled for exactly 45% of our total number of scores in championship. I cant think of any other player in county to come near that at moment.
So ill repeat. Graham Reilly IS the best player in county, now if only some others could get to that level we would be in a lot better position.
But that is irrelevant to this match and the cilles team is bigger than one man and they will win with a bit to spare . Come on the blues.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/10/2016 13:41:53    1927240

royaldunne (Meath) -You are still wearing the wrong glasses- I'll get you an appointment with specsavers

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/10/2016 15:11:11    1927280

If a player is hit/pushed/pulled off the ball, It is cheating and punishable by a free and in some circumstances a card.

Going back before cards the Forward(which it usually is) could hit back and the only comment would be that the guy deserved it/brought it on himself.

Now a back can cheat by interfering with the forward off the ball. Poor officials neglect to penalise for fear of 'holding up the game'.
Then when there is a reaction they rush in to protect the back. As in this case they actually send off a top class footballer who only came to play the game.

Are people happy with this?

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 18/10/2016 15:24:17    1927288

Ah so the best player in the county is the one that scores the most is it???

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 18/10/2016 15:30:53    1927293

Replying To Ashrules:  "If a player is hit/pushed/pulled off the ball, It is cheating and punishable by a free and in some circumstances a card.

Going back before cards the Forward(which it usually is) could hit back and the only comment would be that the guy deserved it/brought it on himself.

Now a back can cheat by interfering with the forward off the ball. Poor officials neglect to penalise for fear of 'holding up the game'.
Then when there is a reaction they rush in to protect the back. As in this case they actually send off a top class footballer who only came to play the game.

Are people happy with this?"
I agree that the treatment he received from the Dunderry player was over the top and he should have gotten some help or protection from the officials but the red card he got was completely right.

There was no excuse, he caught him sweet on the chin with full intention with an elbow, lucky not to break the lads jaw.

Red card was the correct decision and should not be over turned. I have sympathy for Biggy but at the same time I don't, moment of madness and I'm sure a massive regret of his. If only he rode it out for 10mins I'm sure the Dunderry chap would have been booked and quietend down.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 18/10/2016 15:57:45    1927307