New players for Meath panel

Replying To cilles man:  "Ziggy ; sorry for late reply but Colin wouldn't tell players of what individuals were of interest but I'd say Brennan , Banty, Browne , & you could take a guess of who the 4th would be ."
Is it 4 not counting Reilly one would presume?

Who is Banty?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/08/2016 10:24:24    1905217

Replying To cilles man:  "Ziggy ; sorry for late reply but Colin wouldn't tell players of what individuals were of interest but I'd say Brennan , Banty, Browne , & you could take a guess of who the 4th would be ."
Here is one for you..

If you could only have one player from Colmcilles on the Meath panel(apart from Biggy) who would it be?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/08/2016 10:26:11    1905218

Haven't seen any Gael Colmcille matches this year,but would Mattimoe be a player that could be in contention for the county panel?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/08/2016 11:35:29    1905254

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Haven't seen any Gael Colmcille matches this year,but would Mattimoe be a player that could be in contention for the county panel?"
Yes very skill full pacey forward is 6 ft so b in with shot.will give any back trouble

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 24/08/2016 13:38:53    1905321

In terms of the full back line we may see more of Daniel O'Neill next season.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/08/2016 15:11:17    1905371

Ahh I see you've read the team of the week.... Monkey face with hands over his eyes.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 24/08/2016 15:40:45    1905388

Was in Pairc Tailteann on Sunday Mattimoe Played excellently his pace would be a big help to the Meath team . The two games on show were both two good standard games something which I am glad to see happening in the county club scene

Journeyman6 (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 24/08/2016 16:29:55    1905425

James tougher from trim ? Wouldn't he be worth a shot

lordofthecrack (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 24/08/2016 18:09:33    1905465

Replying To RedMeath12:  "Ahh I see you've read the team of the week.... Monkey face with hands over his eyes."
Check the times mate..

Team Of The Week was up after my post. :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/08/2016 18:53:17    1905481

Replying To lordofthecrack:  "James tougher from trim ? Wouldn't he be worth a shot"
Think he may have been with the panel under micko before the league and was dropped. Not that, that means much.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 24/08/2016 18:56:15    1905483

Replying To Royalace:  "Think he may have been with the panel under micko before the league and was dropped. Not that, that means much."
say he picked the hurling over it to be honest as he is the hurling captain

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 24/08/2016 22:16:24    1905565

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "say he picked the hurling over it to be honest as he is the hurling captain"
Toher is a good club footballer. I am not sure if he is good enough for county. He can take some great scores but can also go missing at times, something that doesn't happen when he plays hurling. Douglas would be the most complete footballer on the Trim team and he is just about on the Meath team so it is difficult to see Toher making it at the moment anyway. It isn't a coincidence that the one game in the championship that Douglas was missing was the one they lost.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 24/08/2016 23:34:51    1905589

I know selectors / back room team were shocked when mod dropped toher but he was told several times by meath management all the way up that he will not play football for his county as long as he plays hurling, and I might add that he is as good a footballer as he is a hurler .

hurley1 (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 25/08/2016 08:18:01    1905608

Replying To hurley1:  "I know selectors / back room team were shocked when mod dropped toher but he was told several times by meath management all the way up that he will not play football for his county as long as he plays hurling, and I might add that he is as good a footballer as he is a hurler ."
Well theres only ever going to be one winner there then and cant blame him

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 25/08/2016 09:27:11    1905627

I think you are referring to the trim walterstown game , trim lost by 2 pts. Some would say the game would have been won well if trim forwards passed the ball .

hurley1 (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 25/08/2016 09:48:27    1905637

Is there many lads that featured in the All Ireland minor final a few years back on the Meath panel at the minute? I watched them play a couple of times that year and had lovely forwards, great half forward line if I remember correctly.

Are you all practicing your stone throwing for when Cavan bring the Sam back down the M3 next year?

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 25/08/2016 13:52:01    1905802

Replying To hurley1:  "I think you are referring to the trim walterstown game , trim lost by 2 pts. Some would say the game would have been won well if trim forwards passed the ball ."
I don't think Trim losing that game had anything to do with forwards not passing their full forward line caused havoc for walterstown and it was the goals at crucial times that gave Walterstown a deserving victory on the day

Journeyman6 (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 25/08/2016 14:46:40    1905842

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Is there many lads that featured in the All Ireland minor final a few years back on the Meath panel at the minute? I watched them play a couple of times that year and had lovely forwards, great half forward line if I remember correctly.

Are you all practicing your stone throwing for when Cavan bring the Sam back down the M3 next year?"
The Squad is littered with them, as far as I know on the senior squad at the moment from that team is;

Power, Harnan, Flanagan, McEntee, O'Sullivan, Rooney, Lavin and I think O'Coileáin was in the squad but either dropped himself off or got dropped.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 25/08/2016 15:18:06    1905866

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Is there many lads that featured in the All Ireland minor final a few years back on the Meath panel at the minute? I watched them play a couple of times that year and had lovely forwards, great half forward line if I remember correctly.

Are you all practicing your stone throwing for when Cavan bring the Sam back down the M3 next year?"
Please foxes_denn can you give up about that, I was actually at that game in Croke Park in 1997 and there was a lot of Meath supporters there hoping to see Cavan win and ye should have won. Like ye should have also won the Ulster final of 2001. You see genuine GAA supporters go to see what they think will be good games of football when their own team aren't playing. But back to 1997 there was wrong on both sides with Cavan "supporters" doing laps of Kells and Navan on the Saturday showing off and trying to get a rise out of the Meath Supporters. The lads i seen trowing stones would never be in Croke Park shouting for Meath or down the local pitch supporting "their club" because "their club" is the over paid Madonnas who ply their trade across the water with United, Celtic and Liverpool. Please don't insult genuine Meath supports by suggesting that they were the scum that were trowing stones that day. Similar happened to Cavan supporters going to a game in Casement park in the early 00s if memory serves me correctly but that never gets mentioned.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 25/08/2016 15:49:55    1905895

Replying To Uncle_Fester:  "The Squad is littered with them, as far as I know on the senior squad at the moment from that team is;

Power, Harnan, Flanagan, McEntee, O'Sullivan, Rooney, Lavin and I think O'Coileáin was in the squad but either dropped himself off or got dropped."
Cathal Finn too

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/08/2016 16:10:35    1905907