Meath Vs Galway

Replying To royaldunne:  "Same as that. The worst I've felt all year. Totally and utterly devastated.
We were the better team today. And so much for the all singing and all dancing Galway. They showed antics today that would shame any Ulster county"
very true I was actually crying leaving the ground. I have seen some great meath teams in my time but this team is very close to my heart, they never seem to get a break a bounce of a ball a bit of luck. and the amount of negative crap they have to put with thats written about them on social media .

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 01/03/2020 21:20:09    2271373

Replying To ABK67:  "Very unfortunate today. Galway definitely weren't the beautiful team that was expected but they did the cynical stuff that all good teams do when they have to.
Last ten minutes of the second half they killed Meath momentum and referee wasn't able to deal with it appropriately. Harnan needed to get in earlier. Conlan at midfield is an athlete but not enough football for this level.
Lenihan was a relief to get back and proves the need for a freetaker. While Galway Shane Walsh only scored one point from play it was a vital score and his general play with three key assists was the difference between the teams. He tormented Clarke and left McGill to try and handle a big unit like Paul Conroy who scored 4 from play.
Joyce definitely won the tactical contest considering he was without Comer.
McMahon, Banty, Menton, Keogan, Ryan, Brennan and McGill( first half) played excellently
Tough day for O Reilly who has been great until today
O Brien isn't it for me Would have liked to see O Connor or Costello in at 15"
o ' brienne is a very good player and I thought he done well again today anyway why judge a man on one day

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 01/03/2020 21:27:06    2271377

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Gutted, the most hurt after a loss that I have been for a while. Each week this meath side is getting better and better. Harnan, lenihan and Walsh made big differences and when we have Jones and Lavin and Newman and campion it will be better again.

Andy is bringing this team forward and they aren't a million miles away."
Campion wont be back anytime soon his injury sounds awful, newman is always injured, I guarantee you more lads will be injured between now and championship, we seem to be always talking about when so and so will be back we will be better, I dont know why it is but we will forever be dealing with injuries

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 01/03/2020 22:09:24    2271418

Replying To meath1977:  "very true I was actually crying leaving the ground. I have seen some great meath teams in my time but this team is very close to my heart, they never seem to get a break a bounce of a ball a bit of luck. and the amount of negative crap they have to put with thats written about them on social media ."
Totally agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 22:31:50    2271437

Our long awaited return to Div 1 has been in general a disappointing experience. Everything that could go wrong did just that. An injury list that few if any county panel could cope with, (we needed a fully fit group to have any hope) Fingers can be pointed at ref or tatics of other teams, however that is a futile exercise and will not aid us one bit going forward. If Meath are to improve then we must concentrate on what we can control. Individual mistakes in last three games have cost us dearly, lack of freetaker especially against Mayo, lack of response from sideline, the whole goalkeeper situtation did little to help our cause.Our S/C and training methods may need to be looked at in light of the long injury list, All of these are correctable. Meaths record over the years was to take our beating, no matter the circumstances, learn from it and come back a better team. Hopefully the fighting spirit we saw over last two games can give us a bit of confidence going into Dublin game.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 01/03/2020 22:53:01    2271441

Excellent gusty performance today. Development of the team is coming. Meath is building albeit slowly, but steadily.

Against Galway today, for long parts Meath were impressive. Defensively, lead by Conor McGill and Ronan Ryan the structure was solid, tough and for the most part disciplined. However, the last 8 minutes or so in the first half, the Galway forwards got away with murder and the officials allowed it. IMO, it was the period where Meath lost the match, not where Galway won it. Instead of being 8 up, we were 4 up at half time. Big difference. (For example, Adrian Varley pulled the jersey over the head of Robin Clarke who could do nothing but hold onto him without falling over, and the linesman tells the referee to book both. Crazy stuff. Also Oisin O'Brien's booking when tracking back with Jonny Heaney, was never one. Heaney pulled him to the ground, running past and then fell with him. I could go on with pulling players moving for kickouts).

Speaking of the kickouts, a strategy is 100% evolving, no matter what some people may think. Marcus Brennan was good in most aspects today. Although he went low very easily for the goal, but thats being ultra critical. Its an improvement.

Bryan Menton and Donal Keoghan lead my example again. Someone said earlier that Brian Conlon is an athlete. I would question that. But he looks like he isn't expressing himself really. Better in the middle than on the wing like he was v Mayo and Donegal.

Attack wise, Cillian O'Sullivan was excellent and drove at the defense constantly. Donal Lenihan and Shane Walsh aided the terrific efforts of the starting 6 forwards. Hard to fault the efforts.

Overall, we are developing and improving. Most importantly Meath look to be learning but at division 1 level errors and mistakes are punished ruthlessly. Look at the goal today, an unforced error/choice by looking for a cross field pass instead of the simple option of the 10m handpass. An interception and the inevitable 3 pointer punishment. The 3 goals v Donegal, the defensive slips v Mayo and Kerry clinical punished by Kevin McLoughlin and David Clifford respectively. etc etc.

Bring on Dublin in Croke Park in 2 weeks. Nothing to lose but the opportunity to learn, develop and evolve. Also, great to see Lenihan, Walsh and Padriac Harnan back in action.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 01/03/2020 23:55:58    2271464

You know things are moving the right way when the atmosphere on here its positive not overly negative ;) .

I will have a go at the team for Dublin assuming the players due back are fit etc etc.

1. Brennan
2. Ronan Ryan
3. McGill
4. Toner
5. McEntee
6. Harnan
7. Keogan
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. Devine
11. McMahon
12. O'Sullivan
13. Lenihan
14. Walsh
15. O' Reilly

That would leave us with Conlan (James and Brian), Ross Ryan, Lavin (all things going well), McCoy and a few others to come off the bench if needs be.

I have to say the difference Lenihan made when he came on was huge to me, great to see him back, bags of confidence and looking to penetrate, we have missed this, himself and Walsh could be quite the partnership

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 02/03/2020 09:04:51    2271508

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "You know things are moving the right way when the atmosphere on here its positive not overly negative ;) .

I will have a go at the team for Dublin assuming the players due back are fit etc etc.

1. Brennan
2. Ronan Ryan
3. McGill
4. Toner
5. McEntee
6. Harnan
7. Keogan
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. Devine
11. McMahon
12. O'Sullivan
13. Lenihan
14. Walsh
15. O' Reilly

That would leave us with Conlan (James and Brian), Ross Ryan, Lavin (all things going well), McCoy and a few others to come off the bench if needs be.

I have to say the difference Lenihan made when he came on was huge to me, great to see him back, bags of confidence and looking to penetrate, we have missed this, himself and Walsh could be quite the partnership"
Only change I'd make is j Conlon for O'Reilly to start. Apart from that spot on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2020 09:29:15    2271513

Replying To redser123:  "Campion wont be back anytime soon his injury sounds awful, newman is always injured, I guarantee you more lads will be injured between now and championship, we seem to be always talking about when so and so will be back we will be better, I dont know why it is but we will forever be dealing with injuries"
Exactly - I see posts on here saying how great when all the players are back and giving this long list of players.
We will be really lucky to get all those players back and up to speed without losing other players.

Unfortunately I don't see it happening.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 02/03/2020 09:48:55    2271528

Replying To royaldunne:  "Only change I'd make is j Conlon for O'Reilly to start. Apart from that spot on."
O'Reilly has been a stand out performer in the league, far better option then Conlon. Also Ryan is as solid as a centre back we have had in years, very hard to drop him

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 02/03/2020 10:46:22    2271550

Replying To southmeathgael:  "O'Reilly has been a stand out performer in the league, far better option then Conlon. Also Ryan is as solid as a centre back we have had in years, very hard to drop him"
O'Reilly has been a stand out and gives us better option running the ball, O'Reilly can come out into half forwards or middle to collect the ball, conlan is accurate and played well last two games but on balance O Reilly offers more. I have Ryan in as Corner Back here, I would not drop him but I think Harnan is a key man for this team.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 02/03/2020 11:16:53    2271567

Looking at the players available yesterday and the ones to come back, the team I would go with for championship if everyone fit and in form, I would go with:

1. Andy Colgan
2. Seamus Lavin
3. Conor McGill
4. David Toner
5. James McEntee
6. Padraig Harnan
7. Donal Keogan
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones
10. Cillian O'Sullivan
11. Shane Walsh
12. Ethan Devine
13. James Conlon
14. Micheal Newman
15. Thomas O'Reilly

I am sick to my back teeth of people saying that Kildare are a coming team and that they have more natural talent than anyone outside of Dublin in Leinster. They are second bottom in division 2 and any time I have seen them in the last three years compared to us they don't look half as fit as us, nor do they have anything close to the work rate and honesty of effort that this Meath team has. Yes they have one extremely talented player in Dan Flynn but apart from that they are bang average and we need to now start targeting a big leinster semi final against them are lay down a marker.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 02/03/2020 11:32:30    2271571

Replying To royaldunne:  "Only change I'd make is j Conlon for O'Reilly to start. Apart from that spot on."
Can't possibly be considering dropping O Reilly. He's been one of our stand out performers in the league this year . Shane Walsh didn't look 100% fit to me to be honest , looked to be still carrying an injury . Maybe by the Dublin game he will be fully fit. If not conlon in but certainly not for O Reilly.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 02/03/2020 11:37:50    2271574

Replying To meath1977:  "o ' brienne is a very good player and I thought he done well again today anyway why judge a man on one day"
Have to agree. Our starting forwards weren't scoring from play in the first few league games. Some players who I wouldn't ever single out on here are not natural forwards. O'Brien is. He was tenacious against Kerry- really up for it. Picked up a lot of ball and makes good decisions. Didn't do much wrong yesterday either and I thought he should have been left on. Himself and Conlon were making all the right runs inside early in first half and could have done damage on those galway backs as they had the run on them every time. But we were too slow to look up and give quick ball.

Have to say it was a hard loss to take but so many positives from last two games. Lenihan looks to be fit and ready -good news. Will be a strong panel come championship. Hope for a good summer.

RoyalOptimist05 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 02/03/2020 11:42:52    2271579

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Looking at the players available yesterday and the ones to come back, the team I would go with for championship if everyone fit and in form, I would go with:

1. Andy Colgan
2. Seamus Lavin
3. Conor McGill
4. David Toner
5. James McEntee
6. Padraig Harnan
7. Donal Keogan
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones
10. Cillian O'Sullivan
11. Shane Walsh
12. Ethan Devine
13. James Conlon
14. Micheal Newman
15. Thomas O'Reilly

I am sick to my back teeth of people saying that Kildare are a coming team and that they have more natural talent than anyone outside of Dublin in Leinster. They are second bottom in division 2 and any time I have seen them in the last three years compared to us they don't look half as fit as us, nor do they have anything close to the work rate and honesty of effort that this Meath team has. Yes they have one extremely talented player in Dan Flynn but apart from that they are bang average and we need to now start targeting a big leinster semi final against them are lay down a marker."
Ah, that's only Spillane trying to justify Jack O'Connor's mercenary raid on Kildare's cash, like O'Dwyer before him. I have said it before and I'll say it again now if you are looking over your shoulder and comparing yourself with Kildare you are going nowhere. We might not think it now but Division 1 has been good for Meath, we are leaving it but will simply have to bring the level of intensity displayed against Galway, Kerry, Mayo and the first half against Tyrone to ALL our games from now on and that includes next year in Division 2. If we do we will be promoted again and then I expect the team to survive for a while at least in Division 1. Of course a good run in the Championship would really be the icing on the cake. And Andy give up whinging about the officials, it is only drawing them on you. Far better to concentrate on eliminating basic errors.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 02/03/2020 12:26:06    2271603

Replying To southmeathgael:  "O'Reilly has been a stand out performer in the league, far better option then Conlon. Also Ryan is as solid as a centre back we have had in years, very hard to drop him"
Not doubting O'Reilly talent. Personal opinion but I think having a small nippy forward feeding off two big insiders could be of benefit.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2020 12:28:54    2271607

Replying To MillerX:  "Ah, that's only Spillane trying to justify Jack O'Connor's mercenary raid on Kildare's cash, like O'Dwyer before him. I have said it before and I'll say it again now if you are looking over your shoulder and comparing yourself with Kildare you are going nowhere. We might not think it now but Division 1 has been good for Meath, we are leaving it but will simply have to bring the level of intensity displayed against Galway, Kerry, Mayo and the first half against Tyrone to ALL our games from now on and that includes next year in Division 2. If we do we will be promoted again and then I expect the team to survive for a while at least in Division 1. Of course a good run in the Championship would really be the icing on the cake. And Andy give up whinging about the officials, it is only drawing them on you. Far better to concentrate on eliminating basic errors."
I agree we shouldn't be looking behind at Kildare, we are better than them at the moment of that there is no doubt, but I also get the annoyance at bs been spouted by some pundits.
I will say this though, looking at next year's league 2 there is no games I would be worried about. And the real test comes the following year when we back in division 1, that time we must stay there

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2020 12:46:05    2271619

I feel the management team complain alot even for the sake of it.. even when it is clearly the correct decision by the referee.
yesterday a meath man kicked the ball out of play and andy grabs the ball and gives it to meath man, and then gets angry at the linesman for making the correct and obvious call.
we were unlucky yesterday but 5 defeats from 5. it is clear with injuries and our level of performances. we were not up to div 1 standard. not yet anyway. this was our best of the performances i have seen this year.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 02/03/2020 13:36:22    2271648

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Looking at the players available yesterday and the ones to come back, the team I would go with for championship if everyone fit and in form, I would go with:

1. Andy Colgan
2. Seamus Lavin
3. Conor McGill
4. David Toner
5. James McEntee
6. Padraig Harnan
7. Donal Keogan
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones
10. Cillian O'Sullivan
11. Shane Walsh
12. Ethan Devine
13. James Conlon
14. Micheal Newman
15. Thomas O'Reilly

I am sick to my back teeth of people saying that Kildare are a coming team and that they have more natural talent than anyone outside of Dublin in Leinster. They are second bottom in division 2 and any time I have seen them in the last three years compared to us they don't look half as fit as us, nor do they have anything close to the work rate and honesty of effort that this Meath team has. Yes they have one extremely talented player in Dan Flynn but apart from that they are bang average and we need to now start targeting a big leinster semi final against them are lay down a marker."
Decent looking team there - hard to argue wit too many of your selections. The one I would stand up for though would be Brian McMahon. I think he has been our most consistent forward not just this year but last year too. I think he is probably our top scorer in the AFL to date this year - not bad for an 11! I still think he is a better corner forward but I think he is one of the first names on the team sheet!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 02/03/2020 14:17:22    2271669

Consistency is key, and we have had that now with 3 on the bounce once we found our feet, in spite of what personnel were available. Whatever about big losses we have had through injury, it's almost more encouraging to see the system in place can still hold it's own at this level, and no doubt we will be stronger come the summer.

People talking about losing games being a worry is a complete nonsense, Keogan said the same during the week. Going toe to toe with the Kerrys, Galways, etc. will do far more for this team than giving out our annual beating to the likes of Clare, Laois etc will ever do.

We will be back up for a better and longer crack at it I feel, and I don't think many will fancy meeting us in the summer, in contrast to other years we could have been seen as a soft touch.

The worry for some this time last year was we peaked for the league, this year I feel our best is definitely yet to come which bodes well.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 02/03/2020 14:51:07    2271679