New Managers

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Don't agree. Tones are over the hill with that side . Wards all getting on and they are very predictable if ye ask me. Can't see them winning or getting close to a championship, new manager or not"
Some statement, Caolan ward is 20, Fiachra around 25 , Cian Ward was best Tones player this year. Tones will have 10 players under 23 on Senior side next year and will not be carrying anyone who is over the hill. With the exception of Ratoath ,Tones are as good as anything in the county on their day

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 07/11/2019 07:21:20    2248211

Replying To boeder:  "Think he was only there for 2 years. Who's to say the work he did over the previous 2 years did not contribute to them winning the championship in some way? Have you an issue with him? You seem to go out of your way to comment every time he is mentioned? Did he turn down the Bracks or something!!??"
No No, Just my opinion, that is all.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 07/11/2019 07:37:24    2248212

With regards to the Tones new manager i'm hearing from a source close to Ramor that he was on €18,000 a year "expenses" there? Is that the going rate these days for Senior Clubs to cover?
I am also wondering will he be pick his own selectors from within the club? Will they be appointed by the club? Or will he bring his own selectors with him (at that money surely they would be covered?)

Dalriada (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 07/11/2019 13:33:05    2248296

Replying To Dalriada:  "With regards to the Tones new manager i'm hearing from a source close to Ramor that he was on €18,000 a year "expenses" there? Is that the going rate these days for Senior Clubs to cover?
I am also wondering will he be pick his own selectors from within the club? Will they be appointed by the club? Or will he bring his own selectors with him (at that money surely they would be covered?)"
I think butlersbridge paid some of that €18k!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 09/11/2019 13:03:44    2248751

Replying To GenderNeutral:  "I think butlersbridge paid some of that €18k!"
I would really question what a club is all about that pays any manager that kind of money, money that would be far better invested in proper underage structure/coaching (GDO) and facilities within the club. Paying an outside manager big sums of money to 'manage' a club side is just short term solution solving. Invest in developing top coaches within your club and you won't need to keep trauling around the country for journey man managers who are only interested in themselves.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 09/11/2019 13:36:44    2248758

Have Dunboyne filled the position of Senior Manager yet? I notice they have got a recent cavan forward to transfer to them, making an already strong team stronger.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 27/11/2019 13:05:55    2251780

Davy Nelson back with Navan O'Mahonys

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 27/11/2019 13:22:20    2251785

Davy Cahill in charge of Syddan for next year, seems like a good appointment for them as he's a manager who has a track record of winning championships

Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 132 - 27/11/2019 16:01:31    2251816

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I would really question what a club is all about that pays any manager that kind of money, money that would be far better invested in proper underage structure/coaching (GDO) and facilities within the club. Paying an outside manager big sums of money to 'manage' a club side is just short term solution solving. Invest in developing top coaches within your club and you won't need to keep trauling around the country for journey man managers who are only interested in themselves."
Which senior clubs don't pay their managers? I completely agree with your point but when you see a lot of senior clubs doing it clubs feel they have to as well to keep up when as you say money would be much better spent on underage and facilities.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 27/11/2019 17:08:43    2251831

Replying To Barney123:  "Which senior clubs don't pay their managers? I completely agree with your point but when you see a lot of senior clubs doing it clubs feel they have to as well to keep up when as you say money would be much better spent on underage and facilities."
Wouldn't think there are any senior clubs that don't pay their managers but it must be tough financially on dual clubs at senior level having 2 sets of expenses for outside managers .

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 28/11/2019 12:23:31    2251935

Replying To Dalriada:  "With regards to the Tones new manager i'm hearing from a source close to Ramor that he was on €18,000 a year "expenses" there? Is that the going rate these days for Senior Clubs to cover?
I am also wondering will he be pick his own selectors from within the club? Will they be appointed by the club? Or will he bring his own selectors with him (at that money surely they would be covered?)"
Pat Flanagan and Liam Kearns will be getting between 25-30 grand for managing clubs in Roscommon next year.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 28/11/2019 12:50:57    2251941

Any new appointment made recently?

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 01/12/2019 21:44:55    2252577

Mick Deegan and Michael Butler ratified as Don/Ash Senior football and Intermediate hurling managers

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 02/12/2019 07:44:18    2252598

Blackhall gaels have ratified Eugene ferris and kit toole to manage their intermediate team next season

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 02/12/2019 09:39:10    2252609

Replying To Selwyn:  "Mick Deegan and Michael Butler ratified as Don/Ash Senior football and Intermediate hurling managers"
Will Deegan Jnr be making his way back to Ashbourne??

braxton_hicks (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 02/12/2019 09:55:46    2252614

Replying To bobjaffacake:  "Blackhall gaels have ratified Eugene ferris and kit toole to manage their intermediate team next season"
Think BHG will freefall in the not too distant future. Seem to be regularly taking heavy beatings in the bottom divisions of the U21 and minor competitions.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 02/12/2019 10:18:09    2252623

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Think BHG will freefall in the not too distant future. Seem to be regularly taking heavy beatings in the bottom divisions of the U21 and minor competitions."
Couldn't field a team in u21 and had to put out of competition in the end.very badly run club in my opinion

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 02/12/2019 10:41:58    2252627

Replying To braxton_hicks:  "Will Deegan Jnr be making his way back to Ashbourne??"
Yes he is.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 02/12/2019 10:56:30    2252632

It will be interesting to see if Deegan can bring a Keegan cup to Ashbourne. Anything less will be disappointing. Have Ashbourne much coming through the ranks at 18/19 years of age?

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 02/12/2019 14:12:33    2252700

Replying To Jackpot:  "It will be interesting to see if Deegan can bring a Keegan cup to Ashbourne. Anything less will be disappointing. Have Ashbourne much coming through the ranks at 18/19 years of age?"
They won the Div 1 minor in 2018, so those lads are turning 19 next year. Not sure have any of them stepped up to senior

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 02/12/2019 19:01:01    2252761