Club Championship Delay?

Replying To Crinigan:  "Hurling is not the same sport as football. Physical demands of football are much greater - for example, a lot more running in football."
you clearly never played hurling at a decent level to come out with something like that

different kind of fitness , both games hard on the body in different ways

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 20/07/2019 19:02:17    2213619

Replying To hurlit:  "you clearly never played hurling at a decent level to come out with something like that

different kind of fitness , both games hard on the body in different ways"
They are not even close in terms of conditioning and fitness. I'm not even going to bother arguing with you. Hurling folk are as nearly bad as rugby folk for their blind fanaticism.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 20/07/2019 21:16:13    2213700

If a player thinks hurling demands fitness and stamina, He might want to leave out playing football, Otherwise he would want a Month to recover.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 22/07/2019 12:56:37    2214657

Replying To Crinigan:  "They are not even close in terms of conditioning and fitness. I'm not even going to bother arguing with you. Hurling folk are as nearly bad as rugby folk for their blind fanaticism."
Football folk are not fanatical? Different types of games, so different types of conditioning and fitness required. Obviously. Interesting requirement for football now is the fascination with possession and getting 15 men behind the ball. If you were to have a critique of football now, as was illustrated in abundance over the super eights and championship so far, most of the running is sideways and backwards, remove the ability to move from attack on the opponents 20m line to your own goal keeper, as in basketball (where most of the possession bit comes from) and then you force teams top be inventive and attack minded. In all honesty, running in circles and backwards does not require high skill levels. Bring the contest back into football.

3feetoftimber (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 22/07/2019 13:10:02    2214667

Replying To Crinigan:  "They are not even close in terms of conditioning and fitness. I'm not even going to bother arguing with you. Hurling folk are as nearly bad as rugby folk for their blind fanaticism."
Iv played both at a decent level and thats my experience
I could explain the differences but i dont think theres much point

Both sports require huge fitness levels these days and both require recovery time for different reasons
Hurling 15 years ago you could rely on just skill , not anymore

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 22/07/2019 14:09:43    2214716

Oh brilliant just what the hs needs, another forum with the basket ball followers trying to run down Hurling. Sure let's go now and "burn the hurls" and be done with this nonsense Hurling carry on, its only an inconvenience.

hurlinglad15 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 23/07/2019 05:54:50    2215063

Actually in pointing out that Football is far more demanding than hurling I was comparing the Leinster Championship Football with Christy ring Hurling.
In fairness Leinster Championship hurling would be much closer to Championship football in physical demands. But still not at the same level.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 23/07/2019 15:17:54    2215307

If the fitness levels of the Meath footballers are what they're been made out to be a 7 day turnaround to play a 60min match on a club pitch shouldn't be an issue.

This snobbery coming from the football section of the county is laughable. Meath absolutely fluked getting to the Super 8's, beating Offally, Carlow (with 14 men), Laois and clare.
Played 3 games v div 1 opposition in the championship and have been beaten by a combined total of 35 points. If there was a Tier 2 for football Meath would be in it.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 23/07/2019 16:14:36    2215325

Replying To begining:  "If the fitness levels of the Meath footballers are what they're been made out to be a 7 day turnaround to play a 60min match on a club pitch shouldn't be an issue.

This snobbery coming from the football section of the county is laughable. Meath absolutely fluked getting to the Super 8's, beating Offally, Carlow (with 14 men), Laois and clare.
Played 3 games v div 1 opposition in the championship and have been beaten by a combined total of 35 points. If there was a Tier 2 for football Meath would be in it."
What point are you making

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 24/07/2019 10:17:51    2215626

I see no reason why matches can't be played on a week by week basis. Possibly adding some midweek games in the summer (to even the spread or to suit certain exceptional situations, if needed), with breaks when the county are playing (literally just the weekend that they play, not the week before and/or after), and then some week breaks if possible for holidays/rest.

Dual players are choosing to play both sports and fair play to them, but with that they have to know they have a busy schedule ahead of them each year. It's tough but they shouldn't be taken into account when planning fixtures.

meathgaa91 (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 24/07/2019 13:08:14    2215715

This wkd in the jnr 3rd rojnd teams will b depleted with lads on holidays they thougth which wS issued by co board 10th of aug last week this changed players took a break thinking 10 august.this cant keep happening its demoralising small and even big clubs.when will clubs stand up for themselves thid puzzles me can anyone put some light on this??

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 24/07/2019 13:24:15    2215721

Yes it's a disgrace. Sadly the football calendar runs from January to mid December in Meath and players are expected to sacrafice everything else for these months. No wonder why we lose so many young players

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 24/07/2019 14:47:17    2215783

In fairness, the original planner had this weekend down as a Championship weekend. There was never a guarantee that Championship was going to be moved to the 10th of August. so people should have been cautious with their holidays and can't be complaining. It was easy knowing the first 3 weeks of July were the best times for holidays.

meathgaa91 (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 24/07/2019 16:14:04    2215830

Replying To meathgaa91:  "In fairness, the original planner had this weekend down as a Championship weekend. There was never a guarantee that Championship was going to be moved to the 10th of August. so people should have been cautious with their holidays and can't be complaining. It was easy knowing the first 3 weeks of July were the best times for holidays."
I can tell you aug 10 in email on wedmesday by sunday all jnr teams up to play 26th 27th how is that fair

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 24/07/2019 16:26:19    2215839

Replying To Borderroyal:  "I can tell you aug 10 in email on wedmesday by sunday all jnr teams up to play 26th 27th how is that fair"
Ah, apologies, I didn't know there was email confirmation. That's incredibly unfair and an absolute joke. For us, we were told their was a good chance it'd be the 10th Aug, but still a slight chance of being played end of July, so to hold off on any plans. But still, I agree it's a joke if you got an email on it.

meathgaa91 (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 24/07/2019 16:40:58    2215849

Replying To meathgaa91:  "Ah, apologies, I didn't know there was email confirmation. That's incredibly unfair and an absolute joke. For us, we were told their was a good chance it'd be the 10th Aug, but still a slight chance of being played end of July, so to hold off on any plans. But still, I agree it's a joke if you got an email on it."
Dunno what ye looking at Janurary planner had Fottball Championship for 26/27th July most recent one has same but specifys Junior

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 24/07/2019 22:30:41    2216051

The fixture situation in meath this year has hit rock bottom. Talk about make it up as you go along comes to mind. Four to five days notice for games and no communication from the fixtures committee.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 25/07/2019 16:46:52    2216402

Replying To Brownepat:  "Dunno what ye looking at Janurary planner had Fottball Championship for 26/27th July most recent one has same but specifys Junior"
Ye for group c 27 28 new planner out 7 july.by 14th it was changed to group a b lads took hols on that basis if that is fair to you then fair enuf you have nothing better to do but wait for footbsll.think you need go get a life dude

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 25/07/2019 22:35:21    2216562

Replying To Brownepat:  "Dunno what ye looking at Janurary planner had Fottball Championship for 26/27th July most recent one has same but specifys Junior"
Yes had it for group c play 26/27 july.got that 7th by 14th changed to group a/b play them dates.told lads when got second planner take hols now.then got cccc email stating play 26/27 how is that fair.no way is that on.pure disregard for people.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 26/07/2019 08:55:04    2216629

Is senior championship fixed the weekend of the 10/11 or 17/18? Seems to be a lot of mixed messages going around

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 28/07/2019 18:34:15    2217762