Club Hurling Fixtures

So here's one I haven't seen before, but County Boards really do like to have the craic, so I shouldn't be surprised. Ratoath have 3 adult teams entered in the Hurling championship for the first time ever. Something to be admired you would think...

Meath County Board.....We're going to arrange so that all 3 teams have to play 2nd round of the Championship at the same time on the same evening.......

Really lads?!?! REALLY?!?! FFS, some craic!!

Whoknows79 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 01/07/2019 22:14:52    2204009

Replying To Whoknows79:  "So here's one I haven't seen before, but County Boards really do like to have the craic, so I shouldn't be surprised. Ratoath have 3 adult teams entered in the Hurling championship for the first time ever. Something to be admired you would think...

Meath County Board.....We're going to arrange so that all 3 teams have to play 2nd round of the Championship at the same time on the same evening.......

Really lads?!?! REALLY?!?! FFS, some craic!!"
Wow, things have really gotten bad if that's true! Who even makes hurling fixtures anymore in this county?!

Redsalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 02/07/2019 00:00:30    2204067

Replying To Redsalltheway:  "Wow, things have really gotten bad if that's true! Who even makes hurling fixtures anymore in this county?!"
Kildalkey

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 02/07/2019 11:42:28    2204226

From Looking At Some Of These Posts People Seem To Think That Kildalkey Have A Say With Fixtures ,Venues And Referees I Would Love To Know Where Yous Get Your Information As Im Sure This Cannot Be The Case

Sliotar84 (Dublin) - Posts: 12 - 02/07/2019 13:09:20    2204273

Fixtures now changed from sunday to saturday at a few days notice.
You could not make it up

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 02/07/2019 13:18:45    2204278

If you are entering 3 teams you should have the numbers for 3 teams. No point in complaining. Big town plenty of numbers. Great facilities.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 02/07/2019 13:54:16    2204303

jackpot thats a stupid argument. No matter how big a club is you cant expect 3 teams to play at the same time in 3 different venues. What about selectors and trainers, club physio etc. Parents bringing sons who are on different teams.
Trying to provide umpires and linesmen.

On a separate note amazing how kildalkey weren't fixed to play in 3 different venues at the same time. I'm shocked they don't get to play their championship matches at home

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 02/07/2019 14:25:41    2204320

Don't see what club is fixed for 3 different venues at same time

Second round of fixtures

Dunboyne v Killyon Tuesday 9th July 7.45pm Trim
Blackhall Gaels v Navan O'Mahonys Saturday 6th July 7:00pm Ratoath
Boardsmill v Trim Saturday 6th July 7:00pm Kildalkey
Kildalkey v Ratoath Friday 5th July 7:45pm Navan
Longwood v Kiltale Monday 8th July 7:45pm Rathmolyon
Na Fianna v Kilmessan Monday 8th July 7:45pm Trim

Intermediate Hurling Championship
Donaghmore/Ashbourne v Drumree Saturday 6th July 5:30pm Ratoath
Clann na Gael v Bhulf Tón CLG Thursday 4th July 7:45pm Kilskyre
Gaeil Colmcille v Dunderry Saturday 6th July 7:00pm Athboy
Trim v Kilmessan Saturday 6th July 5:30pm Kildalkey
Kilskyre/Moylagh v Kiltale Tuesday 9th July 7:45pm Athboy
Rathmolyon v Kildalkey Tuesday 9th July 7:45pm Boardsmill

Junior Hurling Championship
Navan O'Mahonys v Clan na Gael Wednesday 10th July 7:45pm Kildalkey
Killyon v Rathmolyon Friday 5th July 7:45pm Longwood
Ratoath v St.Peters Dunboyne Saturday 6th July 5:00pm Dunshaughlin

Junior Hurling 2
Ratoath v Bhulf Tón CLG Monday 8th July 7:30pm Ratoath
Kiltale v Kilskyre/Moylagh Thursday 4th July 7:45pm Kiltale
Boardsmill v Dunderry Wednesday 10th July 7:45pm Boardsmill
Kildalkey v Longwood Thursday 4th July 7:45pm Kildalkey
Trim v Drumree Thursday 4th July 7:45pm Trim
Na Fianna v St.Patricks Thursday 4th July 7:45pm Baconstown

On another note - what ever happened with the Kildalkey v Rathoat HL game as in suspensions - fines etc ?????

ALLGAA32 (Meath) - Posts: 64 - 02/07/2019 16:20:52    2204378

Replying To hurlit:  "Fixtures now changed from sunday to saturday at a few days notice.
You could not make it up"
My God, people will blame the County Board for anything.

1. Hurling games originally fixed for this Sunday were moved to other days to accommodate people wanting to support our county football team on Sunday afternoon. The Meath - Clare fixture was only confirmed yesterday so the hurling fixtures were updated at next available opportunity

2. I see two Ratoath games on Fri (not 3) and one on Sat. It's the Seniors and the JHC 2 teams which are clashing on Friday so there aren't going to be any players on both panels. It's an odd one having the games clash and not letting Ratoath members support their senior team - Kildalkey playing Ratoath seniors too, classic Kildalkey fixture making :)

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 02/07/2019 16:25:20    2204381

Replying To Belt:  "My God, people will blame the County Board for anything.

1. Hurling games originally fixed for this Sunday were moved to other days to accommodate people wanting to support our county football team on Sunday afternoon. The Meath - Clare fixture was only confirmed yesterday so the hurling fixtures were updated at next available opportunity

2. I see two Ratoath games on Fri (not 3) and one on Sat. It's the Seniors and the JHC 2 teams which are clashing on Friday so there aren't going to be any players on both panels. It's an odd one having the games clash and not letting Ratoath members support their senior team - Kildalkey playing Ratoath seniors too, classic Kildalkey fixture making :)"
1 - there should be no hurling championship fixed for weeknd there is county football champ

2 - the 3 games were fixed for same night , the junior has now been moved , so glad common sense has won over

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 02/07/2019 17:42:15    2204431

Replying To Foley91:  "jackpot thats a stupid argument. No matter how big a club is you cant expect 3 teams to play at the same time in 3 different venues. What about selectors and trainers, club physio etc. Parents bringing sons who are on different teams.
Trying to provide umpires and linesmen.

On a separate note amazing how kildalkey weren't fixed to play in 3 different venues at the same time. I'm shocked they don't get to play their championship matches at home"
Oh yes they do, all Divisional games in the junior 2 championship are home/away this year.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 02/07/2019 17:42:29    2204432

Replying To Belt:  "My God, people will blame the County Board for anything.

2. I see two Ratoath games on Fri (not 3) and one on Sat. It's the Seniors and the JHC 2 teams which are clashing on Friday so there aren't going to be any players on both panels. It's an odd one having the games clash and not letting Ratoath members support their senior team - Kildalkey playing Ratoath seniors too, classic Kildalkey fixture making :)"
i asked this before about who makes the fixtures, i looked up the CCC today and this is what i found, John Daly Walterstown, Oliver Cudden Duleek, Niamh Regan Rathmolyon, Damien Griffin Na Fianna, Gene Smiyth Nobber, John Gilmartin Dunboyne, Peter Collions Moynalvey, Frank Gallogy Dunshaughlin.
Dont see where the Kildalkey influence is here but maybe there is some that i cant see. Any thoughts anyone else.

StickFan (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 02/07/2019 18:24:52    2204456

Now look up the referees committee.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 02/07/2019 19:58:36    2204506

100% All 3 fixtures were fixed for Friday at 7.45, Senior in Navan, J1 in Dunshauglin, J2 in Ratoath. This time yesterday that was how it was shown on the Meath GAA website. Ratoath had to write to the county board to request the change. Only confirmed with the fixture update this morning. So at least some sense has prevailed.
Still begs the question of who came up with the plan in the first place. They shouldn't be let anywhere near a fixture list again!!!

@ Jackpot, your comment on numbers is one of the most idiotic comments I've ever seen on this site, have you ever heard of substitutes?? Seeing as it's possible that you may need to use all 5 in a game really you need 60 players.
Some teams in Meath will struggle to get 15 hurlers out this weekend, and you think Ratoath should be able to get 60 in a county that would not necessarily have hurling as it's top priority?!?! Really?!?!

Whoknows79 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 02/07/2019 20:49:53    2204545

Replying To hurlit:  "1 - there should be no hurling championship fixed for weeknd there is county football champ

2 - the 3 games were fixed for same night , the junior has now been moved , so glad common sense has won over"
So if Meath beat Clare Sunday, you'd have the 2nd round of hurling championships delayed till mid August? And then try play 7 rounds of hurling and 6 rounds of football in the 9 weeks before Halloween (when the Leinster club championships start), while giving dual teams no breaks and having them play more than once a week?!

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 02/07/2019 23:21:48    2204686

C.C.C.C.

Chairperson: John Daly (Walterstown)

Secretary: Jimmy Henry (Clann na nGael)

Referee's Administrator: Frank Gallogly (Dunshaughlin)

Gene Smith (Nobber), John Gilmartin (St. Peter's, Dunboyne), Peter Collins (Moynalvey)

Oliver Cudden (Duleek-Bellewstown), Damien Griffin (Na Fianna)

Niamh Regan (Rathmolyon)

County Hearings Committee

Chairperson: Michael Mullally (Blackhall Gaels)

Secretary: Paddy O'Dwyer (Dunshaughlin)

Francis Owens (Kilmainhamwood) Liam Kerrane (O'Mahony's)

John McMahon (Ratoath)

Brian Rennick (Dunderry) Brendan Lynch (Moynalty)

Fixture Analysts

Oliver Keegan (Gaeil Colmcille) John Andrews (Trim)

County Planning, Physical Development & Safety Committee

Chairperson: Jason Plunkett (Clonard)

Anne McDonnell (Summerhill) Peter Mooney (Slane)

Cyril Creavin (Dunshaughlin) Oliver Harrington (Skryne)

County Finance Committee

Chairperson: Jim Mullery (Slane)

Secretary: Francis Flynn (Seneschalstown)

Paddy Kelly (Kiltale) Anne McDonnell (Summerhill)

Martin O'Halloran (Rathmolyon) Conor Tormey (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)

Tony McEntee (Curraha), Pat Smyth (Navan O'Mahony's)

John McMahon (Ratoath) Dessie Murtagh (St. Ultan's)

Peter O'Halloran (Drumconrath) John Kavanagh (St. Ultan's)

County Health & Wellbeing Committee

Chairperson: Andy Fahy (Ratoath)

Brian Carberry (St. Vincent's) Liz Lacey (Moynalty)

Sean Downey (Na Fianna) Andy Ogle (Trim) Gillian Duffy (Duleek-Bellewstown)

James Kelly (St. Colmcille's) Sean Dolan (Moylagh) Mary Meade (Syddan)

Eunice Murtagh (Navan O'Mahony's) Jim Mulery (Slane) Maria O'Neill (Dunderry)

County Referee's Administration Committee

Chairperson: Frank Gallogly (Dunshaughlin)

John Delaney (St. Peter's Dunboyne) Dominic Reilly (Kiltale)

Seamus McCormack (Walterstown) Raymond Finnegan (Gaeil Colmcille)

Sliotar84 (Dublin) - Posts: 12 - 03/07/2019 08:59:19    2204748

All the conspiracy theorists are quiet since the make up of the various sub committees were put up for everyone to see. The complainants have have plenty within their own clubs to ask questions off so off you go now and find the answers by asking your own representatives. It's not so nice when you have to put the knife in your own back is it!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 03/07/2019 19:36:57    2205090

Replying To Sliotar84:  "C.C.C.C.

Chairperson: John Daly (Walterstown)

Secretary: Jimmy Henry (Clann na nGael)

Referee's Administrator: Frank Gallogly (Dunshaughlin)

Gene Smith (Nobber), John Gilmartin (St. Peter's, Dunboyne), Peter Collins (Moynalvey)

Oliver Cudden (Duleek-Bellewstown), Damien Griffin (Na Fianna)

Niamh Regan (Rathmolyon)

County Hearings Committee

Chairperson: Michael Mullally (Blackhall Gaels)

Secretary: Paddy O'Dwyer (Dunshaughlin)

Francis Owens (Kilmainhamwood) Liam Kerrane (O'Mahony's)

John McMahon (Ratoath)

Brian Rennick (Dunderry) Brendan Lynch (Moynalty)

Fixture Analysts

Oliver Keegan (Gaeil Colmcille) John Andrews (Trim)

County Planning, Physical Development & Safety Committee

Chairperson: Jason Plunkett (Clonard)

Anne McDonnell (Summerhill) Peter Mooney (Slane)

Cyril Creavin (Dunshaughlin) Oliver Harrington (Skryne)

County Finance Committee

Chairperson: Jim Mullery (Slane)

Secretary: Francis Flynn (Seneschalstown)

Paddy Kelly (Kiltale) Anne McDonnell (Summerhill)

Martin O'Halloran (Rathmolyon) Conor Tormey (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)

Tony McEntee (Curraha), Pat Smyth (Navan O'Mahony's)

John McMahon (Ratoath) Dessie Murtagh (St. Ultan's)

Peter O'Halloran (Drumconrath) John Kavanagh (St. Ultan's)

County Health & Wellbeing Committee

Chairperson: Andy Fahy (Ratoath)

Brian Carberry (St. Vincent's) Liz Lacey (Moynalty)

Sean Downey (Na Fianna) Andy Ogle (Trim) Gillian Duffy (Duleek-Bellewstown)

James Kelly (St. Colmcille's) Sean Dolan (Moylagh) Mary Meade (Syddan)

Eunice Murtagh (Navan O'Mahony's) Jim Mulery (Slane) Maria O'Neill (Dunderry)

County Referee's Administration Committee

Chairperson: Frank Gallogly (Dunshaughlin)

John Delaney (St. Peter's Dunboyne) Dominic Reilly (Kiltale)

Seamus McCormack (Walterstown) Raymond Finnegan (Gaeil Colmcille)"
Is that definitely this years? I see at least 2 names who live abroad now so I'm wondering how they are on the committees. Either that or they did so little anyway that nobody notices they're gone!!

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 03/07/2019 23:36:11    2205236

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Is that definitely this years? I see at least 2 names who live abroad now so I'm wondering how they are on the committees. Either that or they did so little anyway that nobody notices they're gone!!"
CastleBravo yes its looking like the most up to date one as its the only one that's showing up

Sliotar84 (Dublin) - Posts: 12 - 04/07/2019 08:17:01    2205277

Replying To MillerX:  "All the conspiracy theorists are quiet since the make up of the various sub committees were put up for everyone to see. The complainants have have plenty within their own clubs to ask questions off so off you go now and find the answers by asking your own representatives. It's not so nice when you have to put the knife in your own back is it!"
there has been one huge change to the fixtures panel this year that was well documented on here , that will see alot of these problems stop

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 04/07/2019 10:32:03    2205328