Meath V Dublin

Replying To Aloblack:  "
Replying To CastleBravo:  "That's not really how it works. The GAA publishes a revised guide every year containing all the rules. While it's forgivable that you don't read the entire thing cover to cover, you can't then turn around and say the fact you personally don't know the rules means that they're up in the air.

It'd be like waiting for the Gardaí to personally inform you about every single law before obeying them."
What are you on about. Clearly theres confusion as there has been varying opinions on whether we can or cannot play Laois and offaly. Im not saying The GAA will decide this week if we can or cannot. Im saying they may have changed the rule at the start of the year and as you said most people were unaware because we didn't read the revised rules guide from cover to cover. And expecting them to inform us of every single rule change ??? When did anyone mention that. And when did anyone mention not obeying the GAA . There has been between 5-8 people on here some saying we can some saying we can't play them so im saying lets wait to until the GAA confirm one way or another. Or else you go off there and read the revised rules from cover to cover and come back to us and let us all know. Thanks"
Those saying we can draw Laois or Offaly are wrong.
Those saying we can't draw Laois or Offaly are right.

The fact some people don't know this doesn't change the reality. The GAA rules aren't based on public perception, they're written down in the GAA guide.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 25/06/2019 15:19:23    2200673

Replying To royaldunne:  "You see we can agree. I actually think you hit nail on the head re what went wrong in year one of mod, too much change and no experience left to gel the younger lads into team. .
That been said we are where we are. One game away from every goal achieved this year."
Do you hear yourself RD , 1 game away from every goal achieved this year.... Who set the goals ? ........

Get to DIv 1 , - Objective 1 Brilliant

Beaten in Div 2 Final - Objective 1 -Achieved

Beaten in Leinster Final - Badly - But we got to the final -Objective 2-Achieved

Play in Qualifier's and if we win to get into the Super 8s - Objective 3

How far have we fallen - when we are happy with that lot ..........

"lads go out there an give it your best and give a good performance because your not good enough to beat them" ------ this is Dublin after all ......
I'm just reading between the lines here , but that's all I heard in the last 2-4 weeks I wouldn't say that would do the teams confidence any good would you . .....And I believe it showed , both on the pitch and on the line

you know what they say , keep telling the dog it's a duck , and eventually you will hear it quack

However tell a pussy cat it's a lion , and you will then hear it roar . .. An Mhi Abu

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 25/06/2019 15:59:35    2200702

Replying To Chaisleain_Abu:  "Do you hear yourself RD , 1 game away from every goal achieved this year.... Who set the goals ? ........

Beaten in Leinster Final - Badly - But we got to the final -Objective 2-Achieved

"lads go out there an give it your best and give a good performance because your not good enough to beat them" ------ this is Dublin after all ......
I'm just reading between the lines here , but that's all I heard in the last 2-4 weeks I wouldn't say that would do the teams confidence any good would you . .....And I believe it showed , both on the pitch and on the line

you know what they say , keep telling the dog it's a duck , and eventually you will hear it quack

However tell a pussy cat it's a lion , and you will then hear it roar . .. An Mhi Abu"
How far we have fallen. Have you been following Meath for the last number of years? We can't just become a good team overnight. We need to make progress and from what I have seen this year we are making progress.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/06/2019 17:29:07    2200759

I think it doesn't matter whether we can or can not draw Laois/Offaly. Fact is we will get Tyrone as we almost always draw the northern team and I think Mayo might have too much for Armagh!

But no bad thing. If we want a big performance and a confidence boosting win next day out then we should be looking for the bigger teams! Bring it on.

Personally I would love to be playing Mayo, the Craic would be mighty.

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 25/06/2019 18:23:57    2200787

Watched the game again last night and as I thought up there why did we keep trying the same thing when it wasn't working .
We had 50% of the play but continued to try and create opens out the field our half forwards really struggled to make any inroads but never changed .
Fitzsimons had one of his easiest days in a Dublin Jersey we never tested him which was madness when plan A wasn't working we needed to change something Dublin had us shooting from where they wanted us to shoot from .
We only won 11 of our 23 kickouts it's great to watch the movement of the Dublin players when Cluxton picks up the ball they have a plan and it works they very seldom have to scrap for a ball from their own kickout we have to scrap for everyone of ours and thats energy sapping it's not all Colgans fault but we seriously need to sort it out .
We done a lot of good things Sunday and every player gave 100% we do need a couple of big forwards hopefully this winter Mcentee might find a couple.
If this Meath team needs a lift sit them down and let them listen to Pat Spillanes analysis of Meath on Sunday and prove him wrong the next day .
Must give Cieran Whelan credit you can give honest opinions about teams without going out of your way to insulting them and as a Dub he was very fair .
I look forward to the next day I just hope who ever we draw it's on Sunday the 7th I'm away until that morning

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 25/06/2019 18:26:09    2200792

Replying To Chaisleain_Abu:  "Do you hear yourself RD , 1 game away from every goal achieved this year.... Who set the goals ? ........

However tell a pussy cat it's a lion , and you will then hear it roar . .. An Mhi Abu"
Totally agree ! RD acceptance of mediocrity is a constant theme . No doubt he/she is a huge supporter but no point in being blind to the obvious
That is that we are a very poor team at the moment
and the facts don't really bear out any real progress in the last few championships...the league is the league and no doubt is a highlight of progress for some . I haven't missed a championship match in the last 23 years and believe me this is a leaderless
Operation at present

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 25/06/2019 18:31:35    2200795

Management ,county board, and every member of the panel have stated the goals this year, to get promotion to division one first time since 06, to reach Leinster final first time since 14, and to get into super 8s. You mustn't have been following the team that much if you didn't know those were the stated goals of EVERYONE involved in Meath football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 19:19:18    2200814

Replying To noluso:  "Totally agree ! RD acceptance of mediocrity is a constant theme . No doubt he/she is a huge supporter but no point in being blind to the obvious
That is that we are a very poor team at the moment
and the facts don't really bear out any real progress in the last few championships...the league is the league and no doubt is a highlight of progress for some . I haven't missed a championship match in the last 23 years and believe me this is a leaderless
Operation at present"
Hahaha. Now that is the funniest thing I have read in long long time

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 19:20:47    2200817

Graham Reilly

"I think this team is different, it's a different group. I really believe that no matter who we get we're going to put it up to them, that we'll be ready," the St Colmcille's clubman told The Irish Sun. "We'll forget about this loss. It's going to hurt for a couple of days but we know we have to be ready for whoever we draw in Round Four

"We'll sit down during the week and look at the video. Obviously the first thing that's going to come up is the missed chances. In the first half, we had 11 shots, got one point. Dublin had nine shots, got five points. That's the difference between All-Ireland champions and a Division Two side.

"I know that we're in Division 1 now but we've got to be able to step up to that level. If we have 11 shots, we've got to be able to take five or six scores. It's as simple as that."

Can't ask for more than that.
One chance to put it right. No matter who we draw

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 19:26:26    2200823

Replying To meath1977:  "
Replying To CastleBravo:  "The original poster quoted from the offical guide, which has on the front page "Effective from March 23rd 2019 "

So he's right in saying we can't draw Laois or Offaly."
over that rule it says 2018 so I would not be that sure. the gaa makes the rules up as they go along so it's depending how they feel on the day"
Chapter 6 Games & CompetItIon S976.28 organisation The Championships shall be organised as follows: (A) All-Ireland Senior Football Championship (2018, 2019 and 2020)

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 25/06/2019 19:28:29    2200826

Replying To mmc:  "Watched the game again last night and as I thought up there why did we keep trying the same thing when it wasn't working .
We had 50% of the play but continued to try and create opens out the field our half forwards really struggled to make any inroads but never changed .
Fitzsimons had one of his easiest days in a Dublin Jersey we never tested him which was madness when plan A wasn't working we needed to change something Dublin had us shooting from where they wanted us to shoot from .
We only won 11 of our 23 kickouts it's great to watch the movement of the Dublin players when Cluxton picks up the ball they have a plan and it works they very seldom have to scrap for a ball from their own kickout we have to scrap for everyone of ours and thats energy sapping it's not all Colgans fault but we seriously need to sort it out .
We done a lot of good things Sunday and every player gave 100% we do need a couple of big forwards hopefully this winter Mcentee might find a couple.
If this Meath team needs a lift sit them down and let them listen to Pat Spillanes analysis of Meath on Sunday and prove him wrong the next day .
Must give Cieran Whelan credit you can give honest opinions about teams without going out of your way to insulting them and as a Dub he was very fair .
I look forward to the next day I just hope who ever we draw it's on Sunday the 7th I'm away until that morning"
I have to agree with you, as much as I don't like to admit it I think Ciaran Whelan was very solid in his analysis. He's very calm and collected unlike Spillane who I feel is talking drivel for the sake of talking. I know TV like to have people with outgoing personalities on but having Spillane on there puts me off watching the show, constantly shouting and interrupting people. Whelan was correct in saying Meath would run out of steam in the 2nd half and that it was wrong to leave Conlon in there on his given his stature/experience.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/06/2019 20:06:37    2200851

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham Reilly

"I think this team is different, it's a different group. I really believe that no matter who we get we're going to put it up to them, that we'll be ready," the St Colmcille's clubman told The Irish Sun. "We'll forget about this loss. It's going to hurt for a couple of days but we know we have to be ready for whoever we draw in Round Four

"We'll sit down during the week and look at the video. Obviously the first thing that's going to come up is the missed chances. In the first half, we had 11 shots, got one point. Dublin had nine shots, got five points. That's the difference between All-Ireland champions and a Division Two side.

"I know that we're in Division 1 now but we've got to be able to step up to that level. If we have 11 shots, we've got to be able to take five or six scores. It's as simple as that."

Can't ask for more than that.
One chance to put it right. No matter who we draw"
In fairness what else is he going to say !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 25/06/2019 20:26:48    2200865

Replying To grahamc9897:  "In fairness what else is he going to say !"
But we can't ask for more than that .
All any of us want is a reaction. He's convinced this Meath panel over others he has played with has that reaction.
I'm gonna go out on a limb , I want either mayo or Tyrone should both progress. We apparently can't get one grouping and while a potential winner of the other game would give me great personal joy to beat. I want mayo or Tyrone.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 20:44:42    2200881

Replying To royaldunne:  "But we can't ask for more than that .
All any of us want is a reaction. He's convinced this Meath panel over others he has played with has that reaction.
I'm gonna go out on a limb , I want either mayo or Tyrone should both progress. We apparently can't get one grouping and while a potential winner of the other game would give me great personal joy to beat. I want mayo or Tyrone."
Time will tell ! While Im convinced this Meath team is on the rise I think V mayo or Tyrone will be the same old story ! We will get over powered in the end ! Maybe with a few additions and experience in Division 1 next year we will take a big step up again !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 25/06/2019 21:16:31    2200903

Replying To grahamc9897:  "In fairness what else is he going to say !"
It's a lot better attitude than what Andy said after the game when responding to do you think meath can bounce back the next game with "I don't know".. fair play to Graham for his positivity

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 25/06/2019 21:45:26    2200932

Replying To royaldunne:  "But we can't ask for more than that .
I'm gonna go out on a limb , I want either mayo or Tyrone should both progress. We apparently can't get one grouping and while a potential winner of the other game would give me great personal joy to beat. I want mayo or Tyrone."
no I can't agree with that. we need to get a win under our belts and the best chance is West Meath Clare Laois offaly. we need a bit of luck in the draw this time. it would be great for the team to have a trip to Donegal Galway and Kerry at home

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 25/06/2019 22:22:55    2200964

A link to Peter Cavanans analysis below of Sundays match, worth a read

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/pundits/news/30553/11748698/peter-canavan-column-meath-are-being-unfairly-criticised

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 28/06/2019 06:05:32    2201980

3 years ago in leinster final Westmeath scored 6 points v Dublin. So thats the second tims in 4 years teams have scored very low scores v Dublin in leinster final eg Meath 4 points in this years final and Westmeath 6 points 3 years ago in leinster final . Dublin have an aura about them now in Croker were teams are beaten before they enter the field.

2 Wet days do be low scoring days. It didnt effect Dublin but Dublin are the greatest team in the history of the sport. There has been only being 5 wet leinster final days in last 40 years all had teams scoring low scores

2019 Meath 4 points Wet leinster final
1994 Dublin 1 - 9 Meath 1- 8 Wet leinster final
1996 Meath 0- 10 Dublin 0- 8 Wet leinster final
1986 Meath 0- 9 Dublin 0- 7 Wet leinster final
1985 Dublin 0- 10 Laois 0 - 4 Wet leinster final.

They are the only 5 wet leinster finals of all the last 40 years. 4 of them are lowest scoring leinster finals of the last 40 years. The only team to have a massive score on a wet leinster final in last 40 years is the greatest team ever. I thought the rain might lead to a dogfight. Meath did do allot of things right. But I was wrong rain doesnt suit this Meath teams style of play. Dublin adapted to conditions better because Dublin have the best footballers in the country.

3 Other low scoring games off top of my head
In 2011 All Ireland semi final
Dublin 0 - 8 Donegal 0- 6.

Very low scoring semi final. And the amazing thing is Dublin 0 - 5 they scored on Sunday in the first is the lowest Dublin have scored in a first half championship in 8 years , basically since that game that game in 2011 v Donegal. Sundays first half v Meath is the lowest Dublin have scored in the championship v opposition since 2011 All Ireland semi final v Donegal.

It does show u Meath did do things right. Defensivly Meath did well. Keoghan kept Kilkenny very quite. McGill and lavin and Gallagher did well on all. their men. Up to 50 min Meath defence was doing a good job on Dublin forwards. But the Meath forwards did nor have their shooting boots and each miss was knocking stuff out of the teams confidence. And of course in the last 15 or 20 mins game the genius of this Dublin team is they take teams to cleaners in the last 15 mins.

The average loss in leinster final in last 6 years is 15 points. Meath lost by 16. Meath defence did well. Meath defence is why Meath were promoted this year. Meath have been shakey at the back for years. Meath are defensively good at the moment. But the forwards while can score well v div 4 div 3 and div 2 teams. Meath do lack real top class quality upfront . Meath with defenders like Keoghan , McGill , lavin, Gallagher , Ryan , Harnan and Kane have a division 1 defence. But Meath have division 2 forward line.

Meath had the best defence in div 2 this year. Most years Meath have had one of the skakey defences in div 2. But Meath had maybe 4th or 5th best forwards in div 2. Donegal, Kildare, Armagh and maybe Tipp had better forwards then Meath. Meath have good quality forwards but they lack a really top class forward like a Murphy , McBreaty , Clarke , Dan Flynn or Quilvan..Hopefully some of these young talented forwards coming thru can develop into top class forwards. But Meath do have div 1 defence. That why we were promoted, that why we went toe to toe with Donegal twice and Tyrone in last 12 months and kept Dublin to 5 points in the first half on Sunday. kerry would not have as good a defender as keoghan. Galways full back would not be as good as McGill. But kerry and Galway would have a much much superior forwards then Meath. They have div 1 forwards , Meath dont.

But it must be said Meaths best forward Donal lenihan is travelling this year and Meaths best young prospect from last years under 20 team a player with more potential then young Conlon , Shane Walsh , the best full forward in the county at age 18 , was finishing his studies next year. If Meath can get lenihan, young Walsh , Alan Forde and possibly other young talents like Trims Aaron Lynch and Dunshaughlin duo of Mathew Costello and luke Mitchell on to the seniors next year. If 2 or 3 of them were to step up that wud be massive. Meath are short 3 or 4 years players , another midfielder and 2 or 3 top class forwards.

It must be said , the forwards everything went wrong for them. They are much better then they showed on Sunday. They wouldnt have beaten Armagh by 6 points in the league and went toe to toe twice with Donegal this year if they were poor forwards. Sullivan , Newman , McMahon , Conlon and Reilly are quality but really lack a top notch player like a Callaghan or McBreaty in the forwards. Every went wrong for the forwards almost in q freakish way. Hitting the post 3 times , two freetakers having an off day , Dublins aura all led to this kind of low scoring score.

4 Another low scoring game ftom opposition
All Ireland semi final 2001
Meath 2 - 15 Kerry 0 - 5
That was lowest kerry scored in championship match in 100 years. On that great kerry team of 00s which would 5 All Irelands, on that day when kerry scored 0 - 5 in an All Ireland semi final were forwards like Dara Cinneade , Johnny Crowley , Mike Frank Russell and possibly the most naturally gifted forward of all time Maurice Fitzgerald.

5 Another low scoring.
4 points is not lowest Meath have scored in Croke Park in recent times. Meath scored 3 points in Croke Park. And the opposition scored 6 points.
On that day the forwards that played for Meath were Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty, Ollie Murphy and Evan kelly. It was a national league division 1 semi final in Croke Park v Cork. Cork would beat Dublin in the final afterwarda. The year was 1999 the year Meath last won an All Ireland and amazingly those two teams who scores 0 - 3 0- 6 in Croke Park in April 1999. Would later play each other in September All Ireland final in 1999.

Now Im not saying Meath will reach All Ireland final soon. But I am saying teams hitting low scores in Croker has happened before. Everyone expected Meath to be hammered so its not a real shock and with Dublin hammering every team in leinster by an average of 15 points in last 6 years, beating louth by 26 points with 14 men and kildare by 15 points in the semi final and Meath by 16 points in the final. Meath being hammered by Dublin should not be any surprise. The main point is Dublin hammered Meath like they have hammered every team in leinster for 6 years and they have even comprehensivly beaten every top team in the country in last 6 years. Mayo Tyrone kerry have all been beaten by massive figures by Dublin.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 28/06/2019 06:11:31    2201981

Replying To Furlong1949:  "3 years ago in leinster final Westmeath scored 6 points v Dublin. So thats the second tims in 4 years teams have scored very low scores v Dublin in leinster final eg Meath 4 points in this years final and Westmeath 6 points 3 years ago in leinster final . Dublin have an aura about them now in Croker were teams are beaten before they enter the field.

2 Wet days do be low scoring days. It didnt effect Dublin but Dublin are the greatest team in the history of the sport. There has been only being 5 wet leinster final days in last 40 years all had teams scoring low scores

2019 Meath 4 points Wet leinster final
1994 Dublin 1 - 9 Meath 1- 8 Wet leinster final
1996 Meath 0- 10 Dublin 0- 8 Wet leinster final
1986 Meath 0- 9 Dublin 0- 7 Wet leinster final
1985 Dublin 0- 10 Laois 0 - 4 Wet leinster final.

They are the only 5 wet leinster finals of all the last 40 years. 4 of them are lowest scoring leinster finals of the last 40 years. The only team to have a massive score on a wet leinster final in last 40 years is the greatest team ever. I thought the rain might lead to a dogfight. Meath did do allot of things right. But I was wrong rain doesnt suit this Meath teams style of play. Dublin adapted to conditions better because Dublin have the best footballers in the country.

3 Other low scoring games off top of my head
In 2011 All Ireland semi final
Dublin 0 - 8 Donegal 0- 6.

Very low scoring semi final. And the amazing thing is Dublin 0 - 5 they scored on Sunday in the first is the lowest Dublin have scored in a first half championship in 8 years , basically since that game that game in 2011 v Donegal. Sundays first half v Meath is the lowest Dublin have scored in the championship v opposition since 2011 All Ireland semi final v Donegal.

It does show u Meath did do things right. Defensivly Meath did well. Keoghan kept Kilkenny very quite. McGill and lavin and Gallagher did well on all. their men. Up to 50 min Meath defence was doing a good job on Dublin forwards. But the Meath forwards did nor have their shooting boots and each miss was knocking stuff out of the teams confidence. And of course in the last 15 or 20 mins game the genius of this Dublin team is they take teams to cleaners in the last 15 mins.

The average loss in leinster final in last 6 years is 15 points. Meath lost by 16. Meath defence did well. Meath defence is why Meath were promoted this year. Meath have been shakey at the back for years. Meath are defensively good at the moment. But the forwards while can score well v div 4 div 3 and div 2 teams. Meath do lack real top class quality upfront . Meath with defenders like Keoghan , McGill , lavin, Gallagher , Ryan , Harnan and Kane have a division 1 defence. But Meath have division 2 forward line.

Meath had the best defence in div 2 this year. Most years Meath have had one of the skakey defences in div 2. But Meath had maybe 4th or 5th best forwards in div 2. Donegal, Kildare, Armagh and maybe Tipp had better forwards then Meath. Meath have good quality forwards but they lack a really top class forward like a Murphy , McBreaty , Clarke , Dan Flynn or Quilvan..Hopefully some of these young talented forwards coming thru can develop into top class forwards. But Meath do have div 1 defence. That why we were promoted, that why we went toe to toe with Donegal twice and Tyrone in last 12 months and kept Dublin to 5 points in the first half on Sunday. kerry would not have as good a defender as keoghan. Galways full back would not be as good as McGill. But kerry and Galway would have a much much superior forwards then Meath. They have div 1 forwards , Meath dont.

But it must be said Meaths best forward Donal lenihan is travelling this year and Meaths best young prospect from last years under 20 team a player with more potential then young Conlon , Shane Walsh , the best full forward in the county at age 18 , was finishing his studies next year. If Meath can get lenihan, young Walsh , Alan Forde and possibly other young talents like Trims Aaron Lynch and Dunshaughlin duo of Mathew Costello and luke Mitchell on to the seniors next year. If 2 or 3 of them were to step up that wud be massive. Meath are short 3 or 4 years players , another midfielder and 2 or 3 top class forwards.

It must be said , the forwards everything went wrong for them. They are much better then they showed on Sunday. They wouldnt have beaten Armagh by 6 points in the league and went toe to toe twice with Donegal this year if they were poor forwards. Sullivan , Newman , McMahon , Conlon and Reilly are quality but really lack a top notch player like a Callaghan or McBreaty in the forwards. Every went wrong for the forwards almost in q freakish way. Hitting the post 3 times , two freetakers having an off day , Dublins aura all led to this kind of low scoring score.

4 Another low scoring game ftom opposition
All Ireland semi final 2001
Meath 2 - 15 Kerry 0 - 5
That was lowest kerry scored in championship match in 100 years. On that great kerry team of 00s which would 5 All Irelands, on that day when kerry scored 0 - 5 in an All Ireland semi final were forwards like Dara Cinneade , Johnny Crowley , Mike Frank Russell and possibly the most naturally gifted forward of all time Maurice Fitzgerald.

5 Another low scoring.
4 points is not lowest Meath have scored in Croke Park in recent times. Meath scored 3 points in Croke Park. And the opposition scored 6 points.
On that day the forwards that played for Meath were Trevor Giles, Graham Geraghty, Ollie Murphy and Evan kelly. It was a national league division 1 semi final in Croke Park v Cork. Cork would beat Dublin in the final afterwarda. The year was 1999 the year Meath last won an All Ireland and amazingly those two teams who scores 0 - 3 0- 6 in Croke Park in April 1999. Would later play each other in September All Ireland final in 1999.

Now Im not saying Meath will reach All Ireland final soon. But I am saying teams hitting low scores in Croker has happened before. Everyone expected Meath to be hammered so its not a real shock and with Dublin hammering every team in leinster by an average of 15 points in last 6 years, beating louth by 26 points with 14 men and kildare by 15 points in the semi final and Meath by 16 points in the final. Meath being hammered by Dublin should not be any surprise. The main point is Dublin hammered Meath like they have hammered every team in leinster for 6 years and they have even comprehensivly beaten every top team in the country in last 6 years. Mayo Tyrone kerry have all been beaten by massive figures by Dublin."
I think your right we need to have patience we are building. Maybe the weather had something to do with But not as much as your suggesting. The reasons I see for poor scoring.

1) Good Dublin defense very hard to break though the middle when you do they drag you down block runners ( and mostly get away with it)
2) Conlon alone inside didn't work and the ball in to was so bad it was actually hard to watch.
3) No pace in the attack we played similarly to Offaly game attack wise no pace very easy to defend against.
4) Too nervous never to the right options.

We never did ourselves justice last Sunday. But hopefully we will have learned lessons I not sure will will though. I think its time for a shake up in the forwards maybe the likes Devine and Campion are worth a shot the next day

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 28/06/2019 10:23:33    2202016

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I think your right we need to have patience we are building. Maybe the weather had something to do with But not as much as your suggesting. The reasons I see for poor scoring.

1) Good Dublin defense very hard to break though the middle when you do they drag you down block runners ( and mostly get away with it)
2) Conlon alone inside didn't work and the ball in to was so bad it was actually hard to watch.
3) No pace in the attack we played similarly to Offaly game attack wise no pace very easy to defend against.
4) Too nervous never to the right options.

We never did ourselves justice last Sunday. But hopefully we will have learned lessons I not sure will will though. I think its time for a shake up in the forwards maybe the likes Devine and Campion are worth a shot the next day"
Some good points there.

I think we also need a consistent free taker and have options from both sides. The missed frees had a real destabilising affect on the team and contributed to a lack of confidence and panic shooting.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 28/06/2019 11:12:03    2202031