Meath V Dublin

Replying To FrankAnnyalla:  "Good to see the improvement in Meath this season and Div 1 will be a help next year. However at this time they are no where near ready to go out and challenge Dublin. Can't see anything other than a 15 point plus Dub win . Reality is that Meath were very poor against a poor Laois side but got away with that. Young Conan whose father is a Monaghan man won't be scoring 5 points this weekend and will called ashore after 45 minutes. Best a neutral can hope for is that Meath try and stay in the game in the first half."
ah now. Meath were far superior to Laois and the scoreboard wasnt wrong. You dont know what you are talking about. They were content to sit back and let Laois piddle around with the ball for long periods, that doesnt mean Meath were poor. It was a very effective performance from Meath, in spite of the multitude of mistakes they made. I will be intersted to see how Conlon gets on tomorrow. I hope he can cause problems, If he gets the service, which is a big doubt tbf.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 22/06/2019 21:28:01    2198708

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I think we are going to do it. I cant put my finger why. Dublin are way better in nearly every department. I have positive feelings about this game as it gets closer. Come on the royal county !!!"
At home now jerseys all lined up ready for tomorrow, we have had some people call this years division 2 poor. Look at Armagh, look at corks performance, look at Clare (albeit against a division 4 team) look at donegal, we topped the bloody league. Now none of them have faced what we face tomorrow, but by Jesus we are ready and rearing to go. WE CAN DO THIS
HON THE ROYAL.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2019 22:38:18    2198758

Replying To royaldunne:  "At home now jerseys all lined up ready for tomorrow, we have had some people call this years division 2 poor. Look at Armagh, look at corks performance, look at Clare (albeit against a division 4 team) look at donegal, we topped the bloody league. Now none of them have faced what we face tomorrow, but by Jesus we are ready and rearing to go. WE CAN DO THIS
HON THE ROYAL."
Hear hear

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 22/06/2019 22:55:15    2198764

Replying To royaldunne:  "At home now jerseys all lined up ready for tomorrow, we have had some people call this years division 2 poor. Look at Armagh, look at corks performance, look at Clare (albeit against a division 4 team) look at donegal, we topped the bloody league. Now none of them have faced what we face tomorrow, but by Jesus we are ready and rearing to go. WE CAN DO THIS
HON THE ROYAL."
Fair play Dunner. I'm praying for a few referring decisions that got us the 2010 title. A robbery like that would do me. Mcentee and the lads are doing great. Roll on 4 o clock so we can see if our lads are as tough as the papers are making them out to be

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 23/06/2019 07:57:17    2198822

Replying To Furlong1949:  "We did it in 1945 beat an unbeatable Dublin team
We did it in 1964 beat an unbeatable Dublin team
We did it in 1975 beat an invincible Dublin team
We did it in 1986 beat an invincible Dublin team
We did it 1996 beat an unbeatable Dublin team
We did it 2010 hammer a Dubin team that would soon become invincible.

Yes the rain probably doesn't suit our team style of play. But we need a local derby dogfight. And thr three lowests scoring leinster finals of the last 45 years were the wettest leinster finals. Its nearly alway dry hot weather for leinster final..The last 3 dreadful wet leinster final eg 1986 , 1994 , 1996. Two of them 1986 and 1996 are not only greatest leinster final victories for Meath in leinster finals ever , but the two biggest shocks in leinster final s ( along with Offaly in 97 ) in last half century.

Rain can lead to low scoring games , dogfights, anf yes Dublin could turn on the style in the rain , their lowest scoring All Ireland win in this decade was a very wet Croker in 2015 v kerry where Dublin scored 0 - 12 to win Sam. It was one of the wettest championship games Dublin played in this decade and possibly lowest scoring Dublin championship game since 2011. Even a great team like Dubin can be effect by wet dirty day.

And while our style of play doesnt suit the rain , in the league v kildare in a dreadul snow storm conditions this Meath team showed the old Meath dogfight never say die spirit. So for me for us to put it up to Dublin and yes even beat them we needed rain and muck. We have now rain and muck. Now all we need is 15 Meath men to play the Meath way v Dublin, we need 15 Meath men in the rain and muck to play like 15 possesed Meath men willing to go through brick walls to get the ball in.the rain and muck.If that happens Dublin will not beat us by double digits , if that happens Meath will put it up to Dublin and if Meath get enough breaks keep Dublin goaless another famous Meath victory v the invincible unbeatable Dubs will.again happen.

Basically a 6th generation of Meath footballers will have beaten an unbeatable invincible Dublin team in Croke Park. Its in our dna , it in our blood, its our heritage, its our tradition and its our culture. Its our past present and future. While every other team throws in the towel v Dublin, Meath are the one county who always shout stop, STOP to Dublin..We have always done it. We will always will do it. Just believe Royals, Believe.

And McEntee seems to be able to motivate his teams to perform in big matchs when they r massive underdogs. He did it with Meath minors in 2012 quarter final v Tyrone and semi final v Mayo. He did it in Dublin senior club championship quater final semi final and final.with Ballyboden. And he has done with Meath seniors in the last two years v Galway , Roscommon, Tyrone and Donegal in 3 games. This manager teams always up their game in big matchs v best teams, this current team always ups their game in big matchs v the best teams. Meath football in the past always upped their game v strong opposition. Being an underdog who no one gives a chance, Meath football sucess was built on this notion. We wouldnt want it any other way.

So best of luck to Andy and the boys and to all the great Meath men and women on this forum like Royaldunne, Htaem , Young_Gael, Bert09 , Meath 1977 , Usernameinvalid , bobkarlgees , longroadback , the joeshow, Barney123 , leitrimroyal 99 , overthehill 72 , Reco , Crinigan , thelutch , northsidegaels , seadog54 , greenfield, Royal.legend, Aloblack, redser 123 , southmeathgael and even the bold Jack _Goff and many many more . And when that ball is thrown in 4.00 look to the hill everyone of youse and think two things and two thing only . Firstly think we are going to beat this shower today and secondly think u can never ever right of the royals. Thats what I will be think at 4.00 on 23rd June 2019 in wet rainy Croke Park tomorrow. We might have the odd barney on this forum but there is no doubting we all have an unreal passion for Meath football , we are proud Meath to the core and we all want the best for Meath football. And hopefully tomorrow will join 1991 as one of the greatest sporting days of our lifes. Believe Royals Believe."
Great post Furlong, put a lad in right form for the match.

Belief is hugely important, nothing else matters if you don't believe. We have a good team and a good manager, we're playing mighty team with a mighty manager, but the mighty have fallen before.

If all our players play their abilities and the Dubs aren't at their best then this is possible.

Ps, don't worry about the rain, I'm actually looking forward to it, makes doing a Klinsmann a lot easier :-)

UP DA ROYALERS!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2019 09:00:02    2198831

HON THE ROYAL."
Good stuff. Kildare Loais Clare and Armagh (beat Monaghan) Cork ran kerry close last night. Its all falling in to place :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/06/2019 09:03:34    2198832

Yes the rain probably doesn't suit our team style of play. But we need a local derby dogfight. And thr three lowests scoring leinster finals of the last 45 years were the wettest leinster finals. Its nearly alway dry hot weather for leinster final..The last 3 dreadful wet leinster final eg 1986 , 1994 , 1996. Two of them 1986 and 1996 are not only greatest leinster final victories for Meath in leinster finals ever , but the two biggest shocks in leinster final s ( along with Offaly in 97 ) in last half century.

Rain can lead to low scoring games , dogfights, anf yes Dublin could turn on the style in the rain , their lowest scoring All Ireland win in this decade was a very wet Croker in 2015 v kerry where Dublin scored 0 - 12 to win Sam. It was one of the wettest championship games Dublin played in this decade and possibly lowest scoring Dublin championship game since 2011. Even a great team like Dubin can be effect by wet dirty day.

And while our style of play doesnt suit the rain , in the league v kildare in a dreadul snow storm conditions this Meath team showed the old Meath dogfight never say die spirit. So for me for us to put it up to Dublin and yes even beat them we needed rain and muck. We have now rain and muck. Now all we need is 15 Meath men to play the Meath way v Dublin, we need 15 Meath men in the rain and muck to play like 15 possesed Meath men willing to go through brick walls to get the ball in.the rain and muck.If that happens Dublin will not beat us by double digits , if that happens Meath will put it up to Dublin and if Meath get enough breaks keep Dublin goaless another famous Meath victory v the invincible unbeatable Dubs will.again happen.

Basically a 6th generation of Meath footballers will have beaten an unbeatable invincible Dublin team in Croke Park. Its in our dna , it in our blood, its our heritage, its our tradition and its our culture. Its our past present and future. While every other team throws in the towel v Dublin, Meath are the one county who always shout stop, STOP to Dublin..We have always done it. We will always will do it. Just believe Royals, Believe.

And McEntee seems to be able to motivate his teams to perform in big matchs when they r massive underdogs. He did it with Meath minors in 2012 quarter final v Tyrone and semi final v Mayo. He did it in Dublin senior club championship quater final semi final and final.with Ballyboden. And he has done with Meath seniors in the last two years v Galway , Roscommon, Tyrone and Donegal in 3 games. This manager teams always up their game in big matchs v best teams, this current team always ups their game in big matchs v the best teams. Meath football in the past always upped their game v strong opposition. Being an underdog who no one gives a chance, Meath football sucess was built on this notion. We wouldnt want it any other way.

So best of luck to Andy and the boys and to all the great Meath men and women on this forum like Royaldunne, Htaem , Young_Gael, Bert09 , Meath 1977 , Usernameinvalid , bobkarlgees , longroadback , the joeshow, Barney123 , leitrimroyal 99 , overthehill 72 , Reco , Crinigan , thelutch , northsidegaels , seadog54 , greenfield, Royal.legend, Aloblack, redser 123 , southmeathgael and even the bold Jack _Goff and many many more . And when that ball is thrown in 4.00 look to the hill everyone of youse and think two things and two thing only . Firstly think we are going to beat this shower today and secondly think u can never ever right of the royals. Thats what I will be think at 4.00 on 23rd June 2019 in wet rainy Croke Park tomorrow. We might have the odd barney on this forum but there is no doubting we all have an unreal passion for Meath football , we are proud Meath to the core and we all want the best for Meath football. And hopefully tomorrow will join 1991 as one of the greatest sporting days of our lifes. Believe Royals Believe."
I think one of the reasons why we are not liked we get this confidence arrogance even that there could be a upset against this great Dublin and they are a great no question. No other leinster team comes close to having this. But why would they no leinster team has the same history. Your right its a DNA. It may be misplaced in recent times but its there.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/06/2019 09:26:50    2198844

Come on Meath , we can do this , lets tear in to them and have a right go .

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 23/06/2019 09:52:13    2198854

Well said furlong. Well said.
I will do both of those things. We all don't agree, but we all agree what a brilliant performance and win would do for the county.
I've had fun on the main forum over the past 2 weeks. But today is serious, it may be misplaced loyalty but I truly believe we can do this , there's no sense or reason to that , just plain old Meath doggedness, refusing to accept defeat no moral victories, I just want victory.
Best wishes to all traveling today, and of course to Andy Brian Donal and all the players and backroom team.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/06/2019 10:46:53    2198879

First time poster...be gentle. Massive die hard Meath supporter.

Heading up to Croker with all the family for the Junior match and was there yesterday too for the hurlers, here's hoping for a 3 part return to glory/redemption story this weekend.

Have a lot of Dublin fans on the other side of the relatives and really want to end their dominance of Leinster today.

Was there in 91, 96, 99, 01 and 10 and we weren't meant to do it then either. Something tells me that today is going to be that day and I'll be glad my kids were there to witness history!

This is a fantastic team and bunch of lads with great time for the fans led by Andy, so whatever happens today I'll always be proud to be Meathman.

HON THE ROYALS!!!!!!!!!!!!

RoyalSteel (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 23/06/2019 12:09:55    2198900

I'm hearing Biggy and S McEntee are likely to be in for Flanagan and McCoy from the start.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 23/06/2019 12:10:31    2198901

Thanks for the comments Royaldunne, Htaem, Young_Gael and Bobkarlgees. 4 hrs til kick off and Im feeling very nervous. Best of luck to the juniors also. Come on Meath.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 23/06/2019 12:23:29    2198907

Very best of luck to the lads today. I've given my opinions on how i think it will go today but make no mistake i sincerely hope im wrong and would love nothing better to be on here later and the likes of RD on to me telling me they told me so! Hon the Royal

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 23/06/2019 12:24:01    2198908

Best of luck to Andy Bryan Donal and all the lads. Incredibly nervous now the day is upon us! Come on Meath!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 23/06/2019 12:54:27    2198919

Furlong = Meath legend.

Good luck to all today and fair play to the Meath faithful making the trip to croker today.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 23/06/2019 13:00:17    2198921

Ben Brennan turned up for the wrong game.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 23/06/2019 17:00:41    2199065

Working really hard but we're out of our depth, tho most teams will be against them

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 23/06/2019 17:17:20    2199081

Extremely wasteful and tiring now, against a Dublin side at 60%. Avoid an Ulster side in the qualifiers and we should be okay.

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 23/06/2019 17:19:45    2199088

The tunnel we are facing into is very very black.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 23/06/2019 17:40:01    2199122

Embarrassing performance. God help us but we have still no forwards.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 23/06/2019 17:53:12    2199137