Meath U20 2019

Replying To Crinigan:  "Anyone know why Shane Walsh isn't on the named team for the match tomorrow night?

I hope its because Andy wants him for Clare at the weekend..."
If anything he should be given another year at u20 level in my opinion, senior is a big step up. Considering Walsh was playing minor for his club only two years ago. He's a super talent but why not let the lad excel at underage, give him confidence and then have a good go at the senior panel. I'd love to see him play against Clare but do we really think he'll play after not training all year, Meaths most important game in years with lads with much more experience in his position all year. He'd be a shoe in to start on the u20s team though.

Dunsh03 (USA) - Posts: 11 - 01/07/2019 15:18:31    2203655

Replying To Crinigan:  "Anyone know why Shane Walsh isn't on the named team for the match tomorrow night?

I hope its because Andy wants him for Clare at the weekend..."
If anything he should be given another year at u20 level in my opinion, senior is a big step up. Considering Walsh was playing minor for his club only two years ago. He's a super talent but why not let the lad excel at underage, give him confidence and then have a good go at the senior panel. I'd love to see him play against Clare but do we really think he'll play after not training all year, Meaths most important game in years with lads with much more experience in his position all year. He'd be a shoe in to start on the u20s team though.

Dunsh03 (USA) - Posts: 11 - 01/07/2019 15:18:38    2203656

Replying To Dunsh03:  "If anything he should be given another year at u20 level in my opinion, senior is a big step up. Considering Walsh was playing minor for his club only two years ago. He's a super talent but why not let the lad excel at underage, give him confidence and then have a good go at the senior panel. I'd love to see him play against Clare but do we really think he'll play after not training all year, Meaths most important game in years with lads with much more experience in his position all year. He'd be a shoe in to start on the u20s team though."
I take your point but Donegal seem to have no problem successfully throwing lads into the senior setup at 18/19 years and Walsh is a big lad. We are short of forwards so why not get him involved I say - apart from Newman, he's as good as any of our forwards. I'd like to see your club man Costelloe involved as well by the way although he's not as developed physically as Walsh is.

I'd also like to see Cian McBride involved as we're very short in midfield as well and we may as well throw him in to give him a taste before the Aussies take him.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 01/07/2019 15:42:13    2203677

Replying To Dunsh03:  "If anything he should be given another year at u20 level in my opinion, senior is a big step up. Considering Walsh was playing minor for his club only two years ago. He's a super talent but why not let the lad excel at underage, give him confidence and then have a good go at the senior panel. I'd love to see him play against Clare but do we really think he'll play after not training all year, Meaths most important game in years with lads with much more experience in his position all year. He'd be a shoe in to start on the u20s team though."
Thought he was on the senior panel of 36?? Must recheck the program from last day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2019 17:30:05    2203769

Replying To Crinigan:  "I take your point but Donegal seem to have no problem successfully throwing lads into the senior setup at 18/19 years and Walsh is a big lad. We are short of forwards so why not get him involved I say - apart from Newman, he's as good as any of our forwards. I'd like to see your club man Costelloe involved as well by the way although he's not as developed physically as Walsh is.

I'd also like to see Cian McBride involved as we're very short in midfield as well and we may as well throw him in to give him a taste before the Aussies take him."
Yes I have to say donegal do integrate young players into they're panel very well and I assume this is what Andy is also trying to do. The players you mentioned are all very talented and I've seen them at club level for a couple of years now. They're all in their first year of u20s though and are all eligible next year. You could say if they're good enough they're old enough but I feel they develop better playing out there u20 years at that level. Dublin have dominated u21 level the past few years and we all know how their senior team is doing. After winning minor last year I feel this u20 team could be very strong and many of them will be seniors in years to come hopefully.

Dunsh03 (USA) - Posts: 11 - 02/07/2019 15:26:13    2204345

Well done on win tonight, early goal got us othe line

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 02/07/2019 21:28:57    2204583

Listened to this on the radio fair play to meath for digging out the win in a very tight game, allot of the team seem to be coming of the minors of last year if so it might be a year to soon for this meath team, laois up next which should be tough as they knocked out kildare and westmeath.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 02/07/2019 22:05:47    2204620

Very happy to get out that. The ref let absolutely everything go which lead to a very physical game (fair enough he was consistent). I was happy to see us match the physicality as we had 4 under 18's and 4 under 19's starting so it's a young team but they stepped up to it physically. Have to up the skill level and up the support play big time for Laois in the next round. They have already beaten Kildare and Westmeath so are good and we have them away. Just need to up it but we are well capable

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 02/07/2019 22:41:49    2204658

Good result. Well done all involved

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 02/07/2019 22:59:42    2204668

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Very happy to get out that. The ref let absolutely everything go which lead to a very physical game (fair enough he was consistent). I was happy to see us match the physicality as we had 4 under 18's and 4 under 19's starting so it's a young team but they stepped up to it physically. Have to up the skill level and up the support play big time for Laois in the next round. They have already beaten Kildare and Westmeath so are good and we have them away. Just need to up it but we are well capable"
Thought this was a proper Meath performance . Some really good footballers ,superb fielding and passing and
Aggressive in the tackle . Funnily enough both teams showed more tenacity than their insipid senior counterparts ! Dug out a victory in the end and can look forward with confidence to the next round . Byrne ,mcbride ,Martin ,and mgGowan were superb , but all put their shoulder to the wheel . Altogether a much more enjoyable experience than watching the senior lads , as they appear to be allowed to express themselves , show no fear of the opposition ,and have an edge to them .
Well done . Looking forward to the next match .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 03/07/2019 08:29:31    2204734

Good win last night in what was a very dificult game for us. Also good to see so many of last years minors play well.

Thought Cian McBride was very good and Oisin Martin got on a lot of ball and used it well. Liam Byrne and Mitchell were good on the frees. I know we were kicking a lot of high ball in but I think they should try and keep Ahearne in the full forward line, he has pace, strength and is deadly in front of goal.

Look forward to Laois next week.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 03/07/2019 09:23:27    2204751

Good win last night in what was a very dificult game for us. Also good to see so many of last years minors play well.

Thought Cian McBride was very good and Oisin Martin got on a lot of ball and used it well. Liam Byrne and Mitchell were good on the frees. I know we were kicking a lot of high ball in but I think they should try and keep Ahearne in the full forward line, he has pace, strength and is deadly in front of goal.

Look forward to Laois next week.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 03/07/2019 09:24:10    2204752

Replying To noluso:  "Thought this was a proper Meath performance . Some really good footballers ,superb fielding and passing and
Aggressive in the tackle . Funnily enough both teams showed more tenacity than their insipid senior counterparts ! Dug out a victory in the end and can look forward with confidence to the next round . Byrne ,mcbride ,Martin ,and mgGowan were superb , but all put their shoulder to the wheel . Altogether a much more enjoyable experience than watching the senior lads , as they appear to be allowed to express themselves , show no fear of the opposition ,and have an edge to them .
Well done . Looking forward to the next match ."
Wow. Not sure if your more interested in praising this team or criticising the senior team in this post.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 10:39:33    2204788

Replying To noluso:  "Thought this was a proper Meath performance . Some really good footballers ,superb fielding and passing and
Well done . Looking forward to the next match ."
Wow. Not sure if your more interested in praising this team or criticising the senior team in this post.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 11:30:41    2204812

It was a great result in a very tough game - I don't think the boys will be overly happy with the amount of turnovers they conceded but it gives them something to work on! I liked the way the management moved lads around - they get lots of work out of lads but also give them a chance to recover! The full back line (including the keeper) did really well not to concede a goal - we seemed to have an extra gear - every time Offaly got close we seemed to have enough to pull away! It is a good mix of 18 and 19 years olds with a few 20 years olds as the experienced heads! Hopefully we can go all the way!

The Ref did let things go - both sets of supporters were giving out equally about him! Usually a sign that he did well!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 03/07/2019 13:07:38    2204881

Replying To Aloblack:  "Wow. Not sure if your more interested in praising this team or criticising the senior team in this post."
Both

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 03/07/2019 13:32:14    2204901

I wouldn't be overly impressed by the performance last night. Yes we won but coughed up too many turnovers some unforced as well as allowing Offaly alot of scoring opportunities. And if they were more clinical upfront we would have been troubled more. Alot to work on, but great to still be involved and have chance to work on things.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 03/07/2019 20:47:39    2205124

I never post here during the game but that the worst half of Meath underage football I have ever seen. 0 intensity what so ever. Shambolic

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 09/07/2019 20:09:05    2208623

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I never post here during the game but that the worst half of Meath underage football I have ever seen. 0 intensity what so ever. Shambolic"
Why was McBride taken off at half time? I'm half hoping McEntee has him ear marked for the seniors in coming matches...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 09/07/2019 20:50:24    2208647

Replying To Crinigan:  "Why was McBride taken off at half time? I'm half hoping McEntee has him ear marked for the seniors in coming matches..."
He was in full forward when we couldn't win a ball. Whether management told him or he done that himself it was a shambles

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 09/07/2019 20:55:20    2208653