Meath Minor Footballers 2019

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Very disappointing that our journey ends today. Had chances to win. Our team just wasn't as talented or as physical as the last two 17's team. But still some decent players like Carolan, Bell, Finnerty hopefully have a bright future and then 3 or 4 lads off this team be minor again next year"
I cant agree with that.i think this team was just as talented if not more then last years but questions have to be asked of managements team selections and substitutes

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 01/06/2019 18:56:47    2189660

Replying To bobjaffacake:  "I cant agree with that.i think this team was just as talented if not more then last years but questions have to be asked of managements team selections and substitutes"
Not long back from game. Very disappointing with the overall performance, sideline seemed at a loss at times.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/06/2019 19:07:22    2189663

This is a decent minor team but management seemed to go exclusively with last years Gerry O Reilly team to the exclusion of all others. Surely other players around the county could have made big steps in terms of football and size and could have made an impact on the panel. 15 to 17 is when young players can undergo massive changes in terms of ability and confidence.

woodside (Wexford) - Posts: 10 - 01/06/2019 21:11:21    2189680

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not long back from game. Very disappointing with the overall performance, sideline seemed at a loss at times."
Game Management terrible in Meath Minor game. Losing lads to black cards lost us the match.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 01/06/2019 22:37:06    2189693

Minor is all about bringing players on and giving them good experience. We're only ever going to get a max of 2/3 players from a minor team onto a senior team unless it's an exceptional bunch.

I personally don't think minor success equates to a whole lot. Trevor Giles minor team won an All Ire yet he was only one to go on to play senior for example.

Hard luck to the players. If they have the right stuff, this disappointment will be the making of many of them. The structures are in place. Best of luck to them.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 01/06/2019 22:42:46    2189695

Replying To woodside:  "This is a decent minor team but management seemed to go exclusively with last years Gerry O Reilly team to the exclusion of all others. Surely other players around the county could have made big steps in terms of football and size and could have made an impact on the panel. 15 to 17 is when young players can undergo massive changes in terms of ability and confidence."
I'm not saying you are wrong because I don't know this age group at club level at all. But can you name lads that should have played that didn't ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 01/06/2019 23:05:40    2189698

Disappointing campaign from the minors but then again we have seen this from well regarded minor teams many times in the past. Only a few years Colm Coyle had a very promising team who won the leinster league but lost their first 2 games in the leinster championship and got dumped out of the championship.

Having seen this group win the GOR tournament last year I expected them to do well and reportedly they had been going well in challenges before the championship started but its very thin margins and they just never seemed to click in the championship. Its not fair to point fingers as a massive effort was put in by management since these lads first got together 3 years ago and I believe they had the best squad of players available around the county.

Meath only had one survivor from last years squad where as most other counties had a few and maybe this experience was missing from the squad.

A few players who were the cornerstone of the GOR success didn't feature prominently in this campaign but no doubt they will bounce back as better players. Josh Carolans absence for extra time and a fortune westmeath goal in extra time were meaths undoing in a tight match.

There is loads of talent in this squad and although their championship is over it is critical that these players are continued on a strength and conditioning programme and a development plan so that they don't fall away from the game. A lot of these players are capable of making the step up to the county U20 panel next year or in the couple of years afterwards.

U-17 is only a small step on a long journey and there are players who haven't even featured in this squad that will surface at u-20 level.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 467 - 02/06/2019 08:45:08    2189714

I thought the black card was a turning point. Vety harsh considering he had a westmeath player away with a rugby tackle earlier in ghe match.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 02/06/2019 09:05:01    2189717

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I'm not saying you are wrong because I don't know this age group at club level at all. But can you name lads that should have played that didn't ?"
As someone said this team seemed to be based on the winning gerry o reilly team which to me is a fair enough call. Not sure if the management did any trials or looked at any club games for minor level, maybe somebody could clarify. Players came on board from the under 16 team also and were very good. But I don't know why the players taken off yesterday were brought back on again and reused while others remained on bench.

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/06/2019 10:58:32    2189738

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Game Management terrible in Meath Minor game. Losing lads to black cards lost us the match. Management Team all at sea at times on the line. Have to wonder what experience these managers have."
Yeah. Look I didn't want to be too hard on the management, but you got to wonder how we lost that game, these are kids and kids will do silly things in games.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/06/2019 13:24:25    2189769

Replying To Bear10:  "As someone said this team seemed to be based on the winning gerry o reilly team which to me is a fair enough call. Not sure if the management did any trials or looked at any club games for minor level, maybe somebody could clarify. Players cam"
No trials were held this year. They just carried on with last years Gerry Reilly winning squad which is hard to understand

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 02/06/2019 14:31:34    2189780

Don't like criticizing management at underage because they put in a lot of effort for a number of years on a voluntary basis but I also thought the game management was poor yesterday.

Thought Frayne was very impressive though, excited to see him again at Minor next year. Anyone have any idea who will be managing them next year? I presume it's this years u16 but who is that?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 02/06/2019 14:42:12    2189786

Replying To bobjaffacake:  "No trials were held this year. They just carried on with last years Gerry Reilly winning squad which is hard to understand"
Yep trial games certainly should have been held but then a lot of the better young lads playing in the county are not interested in these training regimes for 16 and 17 year olds. But fair play to the young lads who commit. We might get a couple out of this minor team for senior ranks. Thought Management lost the game yesterday.

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/06/2019 15:15:11    2189794

Replying To Barney123:  "Don't like criticizing management at underage because they put in a lot of effort for a number of years on a voluntary basis but I also thought the game management was poor yesterday.

Thought Frayne was very impressive though, excited to see him again at Minor next year. Anyone have any idea who will be managing them next year? I presume it's this years u16 but who is that?"
John McCarthy is over the U-16's this year.

Has been involved with them since U-14.

Conor O'Donoghue took over this years minors at U-15 level after Anthony Monaghan from Castletown was ousted. Monaghan had been over them at U-14.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 02/06/2019 17:10:48    2189839

Replying To Bear10:  "As someone said this team seemed to be based on the winning gerry o reilly team which to me is a fair enough call. Not sure if the management did any trials or looked at any club games for minor level, maybe somebody could clarify. Players came on board from the under 16 team also and were very good. But I don't know why the players taken off yesterday were brought back on again and reused while others remained on bench."
Do you honestly think the management weren't out watching minor games all over the county this year? Don't be ridiculous of course they were . Don't know anything about this particular age group as in who should be on the panel and not on the panel but there's no way the management weren't out watching games looking for new additions. Bottom line is its all about opinions. If me and you were asked to pick our meath senior panel of 30 tomorrow we would probably agree on 20/25 and then could have 5 to 10 different lads in depending who we think is good and not good . If the management had of picked these lads who people are saying should have been picked ud have other lads on here saying why is this lad or that lad not being picked.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 02/06/2019 18:01:50    2189854

Replying To Aloblack:  "Do you honestly think the management weren't out watching minor games all over the county this year? Don't be ridiculous of course they were . Don't know anything about this particular age group as in who should be on the panel and not on the panel but there's no way the management weren't out watching games looking for new additions. Bottom line is its all about opinions. If me and you were asked to pick our meath senior panel of 30 tomorrow we would probably agree on 20/25 and then could have 5 to 10 different lads in depending who we think is good and not good . If the management had of picked these lads who people are saying should have been picked ud have other lads on here saying why is this lad or that lad not being picked."
Maybe you are right you never know but can't understand bringing back on and off lads again and on again as they did in another game this year when they were not playing well. Surely if they have a large panel they don't need to do this .

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/06/2019 18:27:48    2189869

Replying To Bear10:  "Maybe you are right you never know but can't understand bringing back on and off lads again and on again as they did in another game this year when they were not playing well. Surely if they have a large panel they don't need to do this . Losing the plot !!!"
Agree with you 100% on bringing lads back on after taking them off. With a large panel that's very dangerous for morale. If they've done it a few times they obviously didn't have too much faith in their extended panel . and rightly or wrongly didn't feel any other player in the county would add anything more to the panel .

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 02/06/2019 19:04:19    2189896

Replying To Aloblack:  "Agree with you 100% on bringing lads back on after taking them off. With a large panel that's very dangerous for morale. If they've done it a few times they obviously didn't have too much faith in their extended panel . and rightly or wrongly didn't feel any other player in the county would add anything more to the panel ."
Yes agree with that and well done to all on the panel this year and hopefully next year we will improve our management structures . Maybe we were spoilt with last year's team

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/06/2019 20:34:00    2189961

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I'm not saying you are wrong because I don't know this age group at club level at all. But can you name lads that should have played that didn't ?"
I am not going to individually name players but having seen quite a few spring league minor games and u16 league games I have seen some really talented young players who are definitely of county standard. Maybe some of these lads were asked and didn't commit but I am led to believe that the management limited themselves to the Gerry O Reilly squad. If that is the case they may have missed some talent that could have made a difference.

woodside (Wexford) - Posts: 10 - 03/06/2019 23:32:34    2190362

Replying To woodside:  "I am not going to individually name players but having seen quite a few spring league minor games and u16 league games I have seen some really talented young players who are definitely of county standard. Maybe some of these lads were asked and didn't commit but I am led to believe that the management limited themselves to the Gerry O Reilly squad. If that is the case they may have missed some talent that could have made a difference."
Gerry Reilly has no bearing on Minor. Dublin half the time send their B team to it. An underwhelming tournament if ye ask me. If ye listen to the noise this Minor team were beating and had beaten all in Leinster in friendliesetc and yet the did not beat DUBLIN, struggled to beat Offaly and got knocked out by Westmeath. Gerry Reilly form from last year does not stack up at all.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 05/06/2019 00:51:12    2190725