2019 Club Championship.

I was fairly impressed with Curraha yesterday. I think they'll take a few scalps in that group. Much improved on last year

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 07/04/2019 15:19:09    2177965

Replying To Aloblack:  "Rataoth 7-16 Longwood 11 Points. Wow u know your stuff lad. Some fireworks from Longwood."
Well said . You'd think a man from a club with so many keegans would know his stuff . Must be another blow-in. Fairly bad when I'm being called a blow-in and could even see ratoath with a good few missing win so handy

Mayoman84 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 07/04/2019 18:35:20    2177974

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Just so I'm clear, you think it's "criticism" to say that Ratoath and Donaghmore/Ashbourne are Dublin clubs? That they should compete in the Dublin championship (that was another gem from the poster in question in a deleted thread of his)?
To me, that's insulting to two clubs who have had a huge number of players on Meath teams at all levels in the last 5 or 10 years.

I have no problem with criticism of Ratoath. We have not been anywhere near good enough to be talked about as KC contenders and, indeed, I've never met anyone in the club who has given us a good chance of winning it (despite what some obsessed posters here seem to think). But if someone basically insults my club, you're damn right I'll call them on it. As would you I'm sure if someone posted something similar about Simonstown.

Anyway, we did what we had to do today and we can't take anything from the result. I'd be astonished if Longwood manage to stay up."
The ashbourne comment is fair in my opinion after they ran a bus to a Dublin game they can expect plenty of slagging about that. Suppose your right everyone has to stick up for their club and ratoath are producing some of our best county players so never understood the problem there with some people. However the vitriol directed towards me after ratoaths exit last year was beyond belief, posters stopped reading who was posting what and directed anger at anyone who said anything about ratoath and that's where my "shoe is on the other foot" comment came from.

Anywho some scoreline from ratoath especially considering the players they are missing maybe the underage talent is starting to come through properly. Skryne game was poor with very little quality whilst cilles looked very disappointing I was impressed with na fianna. Ashbourne and the hill was a proper senior championship game with ashbourne looking much improved from last year

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 07/04/2019 19:16:36    2177977

Replying To Mayoman84:  "If anyone would like to talk about another team in Meath that would be fantastic. If they have better things to pay attention to that is tremendous perhaps you should do the same ? I wrote a preview consisting of the 18 teams. It was one line in a preview please get over yourself I think it's sad how youse want to talk about lads having or not having Dublin accents . 1. You wouldn't see likes of a Sean Tobin roaring down the pitch in a Dublin accent where as you'd see Bobby O'Brien if he was still playing with youse.2. Just shows how far they are away when none of youse want to talk about them in terms of winning a Keegan. We can ignore my comments on the accent. But the fact is they have a townie mentality and will beat Longwood but won't be near winning the Keegan due to them caving in when a team has a go at them. If you don't want to see critiscim and praise dont read this forum people are entitled to an opinion. Ratoath are a midlin team but you take the focus"
Just by the by - I thought your initial championship forecast was funny
But a point to note Bobby O'Brien is a Meath man - I played underage with him! His family are from Meath! You picked the wrong Ratoath man to say he has a Dublin accent!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 07/04/2019 21:29:52    2177993

Saw a few of the games this weekend

Curraha did better than I thought against the holders! Could have been closer but they seemed to to run out of legs in the end! Gave McCarthy a bit too much room too!

Ashbourne look the real deal! Maybe Banaghan has added something - they should win that group now!

Na Fianna made goals count - Cilles back line don't match their forwards - good win for the Enfield men!

Ratoath had it easy in the end against Longwood although it was tight enough for the first 20 minutes! Looked like a young Ratoath team. Longwood will learn a lot from the game.

Not much excitement at the skryne pats game! Pats look likely to go down in my opinion!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 07/04/2019 21:41:26    2177995

Replying To Mayoman84:  "Preview of senior :

Group A :

Senchelstown vs navan : The Mountain men vs the town boys
If Kevin Reilly is having an impact like zidane as a a club legend at navan then mcconville is like mourinho playing a negative brand of football with star striker joe Sheridan occupying the number 6 jersey . I fancy navan to have too much fire power brothers David and Stephen , brady going for their 5th Keegan rings.

Verdict Navan by 5+

Skryne vs St. Pats

This game should be tight considering skryne are in terrible form and pats are terrible at football. I fancy there to be plenty of space for skryne forwards such as dara campion and battersby due to paddy orourke being treble marked with one man on paddy himself and 2 men trying to hold him down.

Verdict skryne to win by 3

Dunshaulin vs kells

Possibly the nicest team to play against vs the meanest. The one man in the dunshaulin team who wouldnt fit into the nice category is Ben Duggan who is described by locals in dunshaulin as a brawler who gets himself dragged into football matches Kells have marty Barrett to spoil duggans game of being rough as Duggan can not handle the the type of man barrett is. his ruthlessness knows no end barrett the type of man who'd plug out your life support machine to charge his phone will prove too much for Duggan . They also have Brian hannlon up top who goes against kells mentality of playing septic football hannlon commonly known as ' Mr. Bean ' is one of the best club forwards in Meath and I expect him along with the pace of cormac mattimoe to cause too much to handle for the dunshaulin defence .

Verdict kells by 3

Group B
Moynalvey vs rathkenny.
The tightest game to call. This will see the 2 most intelligent Men in Meath to come up against each other in the form of cillian ' bunman ' O'Sullivan coming up against donal keoghan. You'd normally fancy moynalvey to win this game by around 6 points but due to Conor 'sesh ' Harnan leading the quieter lads. The likes of your John duggans and Adam Murphy and they could pay the price next Saturday . After the Meath game drinking session I think this will be a 5 point handicap to moynalvey . Hence why I think this will be tight

Verdict : moynalvey by 1

Longwood vs ratoath

Longwood a town that the razor has not reached yet vs the men from Dublin. Ratoath who have chosen to compete in Meath this year will be hot favourites here and being realistic if you can see a Longwood win . I'll have what you're smoking . The only way I can see Longwood winning is if Mickey burke can find a white jersey as accurately as he did in the Meath vs kildare game this year however I can't see this happening

Verdict Ratoath : by 10+

Ashbourne vs summerhill

Ashbourne are a real people's club and the fact they are running a supporters bus from finglas this weekend shows the fans are expecting big things . They come up against a rejuvenated summerhill . Summerhill will be hoping that there defence can be as tight as Cavan native declan McCabe who succeeds Summerhills own john lyons who was spared the death penalty but was exciled to Johnstownbridge for his crimes of losing summerhill 2 county finals in 2017 and 2018 . The key battle in this game will be between Andrew tormey and eamo pudgies. Ashbournes answer to gonzalo higuain will have a tough job to cope with the presence of pudgies who is shaped like a young Richard Dunne and this could prove the deciding factor along with summerhills key men upfront being to powerful such as Ronan ryans twin and Barry dardis . Also summerhill with a lack of townies will prove a great asset .

Verdict summerhill by 4

Dunboyne vs curraha will see the county champions open there account versus one of the weaker teams in Meath. I can see dunboyne winning this by a landslide with fire power in the form of Shane mcentees little brother and mixy Dunne I can't see Curraha standing a chance.

Dunboyne by 10+

Na fianna vs st. Colmcille
I think this is a tough game to call . Colmcilles have great forwards and have a good defence structure likewise na fianna. However as the old saying goes nothing is won without a farmer . This is where I think anto neary and seanie Martin will step up and be the difference .

Verdict : na fianna by 2

Wolfe tones vs simonstown

This result will depend on what simonstown team shows up . If niall kane isn't working as a post Malone impersonator and is available for selection I can see his attacking runs being too much for the Wolfe tones . Wolfe tones do however have cian ward who is the best striker of the ball in Meath history since Vincent of baconstown. Both sides will be up for it but simonstowns superior fitness and fire power of Sean Tobin crouchy and mckeever will prove too much for tones

Verdict: simonstown by 6"
Look I have nothing against any club, I for the most part keep out of club predictions or chats. Said be fore and say again don't care where a player is from once they play for Meath and are good.
However this post is one of the wittiest things I have read on here in a long long time, the bus from Finglas lol. Razors haven't reached Longwood:). Keep it up, I can't wait till the next round. Reading that was hilarious.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2019 07:31:07    2178003

Replying To Mayoman84:  "Well said . You'd think a man from a club with so many keegans would know his stuff . Must be another blow-in. Fairly bad when I'm being called a blow-in and could even see ratoath with a good few missing win so handy"
First of all ,Well done Ratoath , a great win . . my neighbours from Longwood wont be happy , could be a short stint in Senior
Was impressed with Ashbourne yesterday , moved the ball very well
BUT no championships are handed out in April

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 08/04/2019 09:15:16    2178009

Robert McCarthy of Dunboyne running riot again.

Any of Dunboyne lads know if he'd be interested in playing for Meath? I know hes a Dub originally but I've have no issue with him playing for us. Him and Newman in a two man full forward line would be awesome to see...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 08/04/2019 12:32:54    2178037

Replying To Crinigan:  "Robert McCarthy of Dunboyne running riot again.

Any of Dunboyne lads know if he'd be interested in playing for Meath? I know hes a Dub originally but I've have no issue with him playing for us. Him and Newman in a two man full forward line would be awesome to see..."
Club and county football two different animals. Would not have the pace for it I think and would not get half the room to shoot at county level as he does at club. Still though without him Dunboyne would seriously struggle upfront as he gets 90% of there scores and he is there most natural consistent scorer by a mile.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 08/04/2019 12:58:57    2178042

Brian Hanlon Mattimoe flying for kells no problem with those and Mcarthy in there.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 08/04/2019 13:19:09    2178044

Went to a couple of games over the weekend.
Always feel you cant read too much into the 1st round as teams can be cagey.

NOM V Seneschalstown - First 20 mins thought Navan were going to walk this, looked far more athletic than the furze men. Didnt really cop the sending off but im told it was harsh, That gave sench a life-line and the crept back into the game. Young keating in the corner caused NOM some problems.
NOMs front 6 look very dangerous and O'Coillean to come back yet , they all link up well and play a nice brand of ball. Stephen Bray is ageless.
There back 6 however look like they can be got at it and may lack pace.
NOM definitely the better team but sench could have robbed something near the end and with Joe and finnegan to come back they will improve.

DON/ASH V Summerhill - As someone already said this was real championship football, played at a good pace and plenty of hits. Don/ash started slow but once they settled i thought they were always the better side and were unlucky to ever be behind.
Don/Ash seemed to have a really really good running game , alot of powerful men running straight down the middle ( Menton,Melia, the mcgoverns) and then when needed the nippy lads inside (brady and carton) were a good outlet. Early days but looked a real good side. Thought Colgans kickouts were good too.
Summerhill Never really got going,But sumerhill being summerhill they gamely stayede in the game. the daltons inside were quiet and Dardis had to drop deep to get on the ball , altough he kicked two brilliant scores in the 1st half.
Mcdonnells kickouts were uncharacteristically poor.
Summerhill need a few more scoring options i think.

Didnt get to any other games but wouldnt read a whole lot into any of them,

Dunboyne be happy enough to get over the Ha , if they had hammered them the hype machine would have cranked up , theyll be happy to just tip along.

Impressive from ratoath missing so many. but longwood must be poor.

Good win for moynalvey too thought that would be closer.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 08/04/2019 13:52:17    2178054

Replying To Reco:  "Brian Hanlon Mattimoe flying for kells no problem with those and Mcarthy in there."
Don't think Hanlon would suit inter county football. Mattimoe was in before and didn't impress but in fairness he has improved and looks impressive since last year. Better than the lad they currently have with the county.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 08/04/2019 16:42:35    2178074

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look I have nothing against any club, I for the most part keep out of club predictions or chats. Said be fore and say again don't care where a player is from once they play for Meath and are good.
However this post is one of the wittiest things I have read on here in a long long time, the bus from Finglas lol. Razors haven't reached Longwood:). Keep it up, I can't wait till the next round. Reading that was hilarious."
What did you think of your Cillies at the weekend RD?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 08/04/2019 16:46:08    2178076

Replying To Barney123:  "What did you think of your Cillies at the weekend RD?"
Nothing won in April. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/04/2019 06:32:53    2178137

Replying To Barney123:  "Don't think Hanlon would suit inter county football. Mattimoe was in before and didn't impress but in fairness he has improved and looks impressive since last year. Better than the lad they currently have with the county."
Wouldn't suit explain please he does the same as Mcarthy scores 90 pcent of kells scores. Where is the difference.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 09/04/2019 06:40:08    2178138

Replying To Reco:  "Wouldn't suit explain please he does the same as Mcarthy scores 90 pcent of kells scores. Where is the difference."
But McCarthy isn't on the Meath panel. How many of his scores come from frees.

I'm not saying Beano isn't good, he has been Kells most consistent player in the last number of years

Peader Byrne had a great year at club level last year but does that mean he should have been on the county panel?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 09/04/2019 09:48:09    2178156

Replying To Barney123:  "But McCarthy isn't on the Meath panel. How many of his scores come from frees.

I'm not saying Beano isn't good, he has been Kells most consistent player in the last number of years

Peader Byrne had a great year at club level last year but does that mean he should have been on the county panel?"
Indeed Barney, McCarthy isn't on the Meath panel hence my post asking if he would want to be on it to our Dunboyne posters.

He scored 1-4 from play at the weekend and 5 points from frees (left footed). He's the best forward on the best club team in Meath (I'd argue he's as effective as Lenihan who isn't playing at the moment) and is a big man but agile. I'm not saying he will be good enough necessarily at inter county level but I'd like to see him given a shot given the fact that we need a few more options in the forwards.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 09/04/2019 10:16:27    2178162

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nothing won in April. :)"
Nothing won anytime if you don't fix up that fullback line, very vulnerable to the high ball. But then that is not surprising because if your training sessions reflect the short passing more backwards than forward that you employed on Sunday then your defenders are not being exposed to dealing with the old fashioned "hoof into the square". Cost you two goals last day.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 09/04/2019 10:33:43    2178168

Just wanted to post well done to the PRO and county board on the programme at the weekend. Great idea if your going to a few games. Think every team bar one had the correct jerseys on.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 10/04/2019 07:31:00    2178312

Replying To Barney123:  "Just wanted to post well done to the PRO and county board on the programme at the weekend. Great idea if your going to a few games. Think every team bar one had the correct jerseys on."
Yes - it was very well done

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 10/04/2019 09:09:04    2178316