Cork V Meath

Two points on the board the most important thing, mixed the good with the bad. Had total control of game with 20 minutes gone but gave away several poor turnovers that allowed Cork to break up field and score. Carried ball into tackle too often then attempting to lay off to player that was covered by two or three Corkmen. Little back up for player breaking forward. These issues were addressed in second half but our inability to excute the overhead clean catch is a concern. Defence played well all night with exception of goal. Cork were very poor, its hard to see them staying up. A good Meath crowd at game.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 23/02/2019 23:18:15    2167345

Home after a long trek, myself and the daughter very happy. Should have won by more, cork didn't play well, that been said we didn't allow them play well. Also probably our least impressive game of the campaign so far. The goals won it, and should it come down to score difference I think tonight will count for a lot.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2019 00:00:32    2167366

Replying To SheridansTry:  "Great win for us. Anyone know why Dardis got a black card at the end ?"
Dragged a fella down for a free. As cork were trying for a goal. It was a black card and in fairness anyone would have done the same thing, more cuteness today than in other games when we were ahead. Reilly moving into backs to slow game down and keep possession dardis tactical foul. Lot different from last year against Tyrone if you get what I mean.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2019 00:04:49    2167367

Does it not make very little of our player of the year award when ours isn't even on the team or a chosen sub. Embarrassing choice.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 24/02/2019 01:09:49    2167380

Great win. I think the real winning of the game in the first 5 or 10 minutes of the second half when the lads worked there rear ends of when the game was in the balance, and the got some decent hard eared scores to push 4 or 5 points ahead. We where a different team in the second half. I am tempted to lose the run of myself and say some of the defending was heroic. there was periods in the second half that reminded me of a "old meath" and a real fighting spirit. Player performance where do I start for Me Lavin Newan Keoghan real stand out. To mention a few.

Newan made a few mistakes with frees and touches. But I won a unreal amount of ball and over all played well.

Donal carried well also but a few times he had nobody in support to make full use of he brilliance to break tackles and go solo on runs.

Lavin was great again great defending getting a hand or foot. making a real nuisance. He is fast becoming not just a top defender in Meath . But he would not look out of place in a top div 1 side.

Thomas Reilly came into in the second half and carried well broke tackles similar to Armagh.

I didn't understand throwing in Mc Coy and Gallagher. The team that was originally named I would have preferred to start. It was a bit of a gamble. But as it turned out some guys got some much need game time for Mc Coy Gallagher. its refreshing to subs come on and make a real difference Included should be Devine Biggy and Daris Flanagan. We never seemed to miss James Mc Antee the way some where predicting. Maybe the fact there was a decent a mount of space I would definitely like James back for the Fermanagh game. Which I am already not looking forward to giving there defensive game...

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 24/02/2019 08:19:29    2167390

How did Shane Gallagher play last night? He was a late replacement to the team at wing back in our qualifier defeat against tyrone last year, and was excellant. Thought the league would start this year with a half back line of j mcentee keogan and Gallagher but there hasn't been much from him untill now

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 24/02/2019 08:32:51    2167394

Replying To MillerX:  "Very good away win, promotion is now a possibility. I was not there but was in keyboard land, in other words glued to March Tracker and one thing stood out. The Division 1 teams, (Dublin & Tyrone) once they got ahead resolutely stayed there, held their lead and added to it. We gave Cork a sniff of a comeback twice so we still have a bit to go, in rugby speak, as per Brent Pope, "never give a sucker a chance" the Dublins, Tyrones of the hard successful world just put you to the sword once the opportunity presents itself. How do they do this? I would to be able to give a definitive answer but to my mind we MUST once ahead build on it gradually, without leaving the backdoor open, absolutely eliminating basic mistakes, again, tonight we needlessly gave away a shot a goal by claiming a mark, then fisting the ball to a colleague, not allowed. This seem to be a Meath thing, and a few other counties who play an off the cuff game, but never the clinical ones, like Dublin, Down, Kerry, Cork etc, who drop like flies, not half dead but 99% dead at the slightest touch, remember Gouch at the Canal End literally going down like he was shot to get the penalty, for God's sake if he was that weak he would not be able to negotiate the back garden not to mind the playing fields of Kerry, but technically he was fouled and Lady Luck did not catch up with him. Years ago when players were first allowed to take a sideline kick from the hands we were regularly penalised by taking the kicks from the field of play, more than the teams that we were playing against. This should not happen, as it could turn a tightly balanced game away from us. So lads brush up on the rules, you can turn them to your advantage. To deal with this I suggest that at the start of League and Championship our Management Teams should have a session on the rules with our referees who are on the intercounty panel and the entire squad, no shows not tolerated.
P.S. It is not the Meath way to dive or feign injury and never should be but do not hand away the initiative by not knowing the rules, especially the new ones, life gets tougher in Division 1."
Yes, I agree we need to cut out a lot of mistakes, If we did ,I think we would walk this division. I would not worry about playing Dublin or Tyrone just yet. lets worry about that if it happens. I think we did slow the game down when we needed to ie after the Cork goal and other occasions too. There is evidence of us getting a little smarter. Also I think we lift our games for top opposite like Donegal Tyrone. But lets worry about when it comes and concentrate on getting promoted.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 24/02/2019 08:44:04    2167395

Anyone know was the argument was between the Meath Bench and Cork. runner Was that the Cork Manager Ronan McCarthy that was running on the pitch ? Or why was the Meath Bench giving out giving to Cork runner ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 24/02/2019 09:06:13    2167402

Another win is a great boost for this team, was worried going down that this could be a slip up. Performance was poor to be honest, lots of basic mistakes but our tackling this year has noticeably improved. We did have a good spell in the second half though.

Really have a strong panel to pick from now with good subs coming off the bench to improve things. Shane Gallagher played his first game of the league and looked impressive and Barry Dardis looked like he should get more minutes in future games. But I don't understand why Kane was dropped, I know he was poor against Armagh but everyone is allowed one bad game. He offers more than McCoy in my opinion.

Massive game against Kildare now, will be under a bit of pressure now with all the talk of promotion but lets hope we put in another good performance in Navan.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 24/02/2019 10:10:44    2167414

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Anyone know was the argument was between the Meath Bench and Cork. runner Was that the Cork Manager Ronan McCarthy that was running on the pitch ? Or why was the Meath Bench giving out giving to Cork runner ?"
I'm nearly sure it was their manager, Think Meath management were just making the point that he is not allowed to be running on the pitch. Think he was talking to the referee as well which they weren't happy with.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 24/02/2019 10:17:25    2167418

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Anyone know was the argument was between the Meath Bench and Cork. runner Was that the Cork Manager Ronan McCarthy that was running on the pitch ? Or why was the Meath Bench giving out giving to Cork runner ?"
Was far side in other stand so didn't see it. But cork had the no2 on our side. He was given verbals to our players particularly mcentee and keoghan. There was a kind of tension under the surface last night, and luckily it didn't escalate. However we got 2 black cards and I counted at least 3 for cork that weren't given.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2019 10:35:47    2167427

Replying To Barney123:  "I'm nearly sure it was their manager, Think Meath management were just making the point that he is not allowed to be running on the pitch. Think he was talking to the referee as well which they weren't happy with."
me too. if its the case that it was the Cork Manger. I think its terrible officiating from the fourth official and the referee. He made a number of trips on the pitch nearly getting in the way a few times.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 24/02/2019 10:59:02    2167435

Replying To Furlong1949:  "No problem Ollie. Good win for Meath tonight. We are going in right direction.
Best of luck to the men from the Wee county. Hopefully but counties will be promoted at the end of the spring. And its onwards and upwards for both counties.
PS Paddy Keenan was a great midfielder. But for me best louth midfielder and best louth footballer I saw was Seamus O Hanlon, he was proper warrior and always gave 110%.. A great footballer."
Great win for Meath last night. Win two of their last three matches and they should be promoted. It's sad to see Cork in a bad way considering that they won the All Ireland in 2010 and won three league titles in a row between 2010 and 2012. They also reached a league final in 2015. A year later they were relegated and they have been on the slide since. They look to be playing in Division 3 for the first time since the late sixties.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/02/2019 12:26:39    2167467

Excellent win last night even though we weren't at our most impressive. Played well in patches especially the first 15 minutes of the second half were we really upped the intensity and won the game in that period.

For me I thought Shane McEntee was man of the match really stood up to be counted when we needed him last night with his tireless running in midfield making himself available with great runs for kick outs and won a number of turn overs defensively. His best game in a Meath Jersey.

Defense played well again all had solid games. Special mention to Gallagher who looked nervy in the first half but had an exceptional second half won every ball that came his way in the 50/50 battles.

Biggy coming on and helping get our running game going did make a difference and dardis looked very impressive in the 10 mins he was on. Kicked a super point and a very composed goal to sell the keeper a dummy. Him and Newman as a 2 man full forward line look very dangerous hopefully we will see more of them together in future.

It was the cork maor foirne on the pitch when Keoghan got took down in the corner. Andy was unhappy with him been over there when Keoghan was down and shouted at the ref he shouldn't be on the pitch and then told the maor foirne to get off the pitch as he ran by that's what caused the argument.

Huge game v Kildare next week in Navan should be a big crowd and great atmosphere given what's at stake.
Hon the royals!

royalfollower (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 24/02/2019 12:26:51    2167468

Lads I don't think Shane McEntee gets enough credit. He has to play out of his skin every week for people to feel his selection is justified. If his father wasn't the manager people wouldn't be half as hard on him as they are. He's been in our top 3 best players this year IMO. Yeah, maybe midfield isn't his most natural position but he's put in 4 massive shifts so far this year and deserves huge credit. Incredibly honest

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 24/02/2019 12:49:19    2167478

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Lads I don't think Shane McEntee gets enough credit. He has to play out of his skin every week for people to feel his selection is justified. If his father wasn't the manager people wouldn't be half as hard on him as they are. He's been in our top 3 best players this year IMO. Yeah, maybe midfield isn't his most natural position but he's put in 4 massive shifts so far this year and deserves huge credit. Incredibly honest"
Was a few questions around him early last year, but along with James and Keogan our stand out players this year. Thought he put in a great shift last night and crowd seem to really appreciate his efforts.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/02/2019 14:22:43    2167495

Some win for Fermanagh today, join us on six points.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 24/02/2019 15:54:21    2167519

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Lads I don't think Shane McEntee gets enough credit. He has to play out of his skin every week for people to feel his selection is justified. If his father wasn't the manager people wouldn't be half as hard on him as they are. He's been in our top 3 best players this year IMO. Yeah, maybe midfield isn't his most natural position but he's put in 4 massive shifts so far this year and deserves huge credit. Incredibly honest"
Absolutely. Last year it was said he only been picked cause of who his father is. A honest player. And can't ask for more than that. Was very good last night. E

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2019 16:14:13    2167532

Jesus some result in Letterkenny, a win next Sunday would put us in a powerful position, no shortage of incentive for our lads now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/02/2019 16:27:33    2167538

Replying To Richieq:  "Jesus some result in Letterkenny, a win next Sunday would put us in a powerful position, no shortage of incentive for our lads now"
Next Sunday will determine our promotion credentials I feel. Don't want to be playing Fermanagh on last day needing a win to go up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2019 16:47:37    2167549