Cork V Meath

Team expected? With Flanagan returning from injury the presume he will partner menton with Shane slipping in to James role

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2019 09:21:22    2167080

Replying To David:  "One change Adam Flanagan in for injured James McEntee. Probably swop with Shane McEntee. Cant imagine Flanagan would start wing back.

Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Ronan Ryan; Adam Flanagan, Donal Keogan, Niall Kane; Bryan Menton, Shane McEntee; Ethan Devine, Ben Brennan, Darragh Campion; Bryan McMahon, Michael Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

Subs: Michael Burke, Gavin McCoy, Shane Gallagher, Graham Reilly, Eoin Lynch, Barry Dardis, Cillian O'Sullivan, James Conlon, Sean Curran, Daniel Quinn."
When u look at that bench you got to say this year that's the strongest bench we have had in many many years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2019 10:31:03    2167088

Best of luck to the lads this evening. Huge game hitting the road for cork around lunch time. Hope to see a good support down there. Up the Royals.

royalfollower (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 23/02/2019 11:06:26    2167096

Weather not great, heavy showers and a good breeze. Another important game for us. Picture in Div 2 should be a bit clearer by tomorrow evening. But wont be surprised if there is another couple of draws.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 23/02/2019 11:16:16    2167101

Gonna miss this one due to work getting in the way but hope all travelling have a good weekend in Cork, expect a tough battle here as Cork know if they loose they are essentially cut adrift at the bottom of the division but I feel our momentum and confidence are good and despite missing James McEntee I expect us to pick up two more points. Anyone staying down make sure to wander to Larry Tompkins pub on the quay, between St Patrick's Bridge and Christy Ring Bridge, grand boozer with some interesting photos on the wall, and if he's there himself no better man to chat.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/02/2019 11:50:26    2167111

I went in to Larrys pub once about 12 years with me Meath 88 Jersey on. He wasn't impressed.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 23/02/2019 12:29:23    2167118

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Ollie did have a very good team in 90s. Only for McNally goal v Dubs , Dowds brillance in 98 and Geraghty moment of magic in 02 , there r three games Louth came so close to beating Dublin and Meath.
Louth have always had really good footballers. Great players like Seamus O Hanlon Stefan White Brian Keenan JP Rooney Colin Kelly.

When I talk about Meath unique traits and characteristics Im sure people say here he goes again. But every county has unique characteristics and traits , there own traditions and great teams and players. Louth also have unique identity as a county. Like Meath louths identify was built around a great era. Meaths is built around 80s and 90s. Louth was built around the great louth teams of 40s and 50s. The golden age of leinster football when Meath Dublin louth kildare Wexford Laois Carlow all won leinster titles and Meath Dublin and louth won Sam.

Meath v louth rivalry in late 40s is one great leinster rivalries when you had two All Ireland contenders on each other borders. Only the kildare v Dublin rivalry of 1920s , Dublin v Offaly rivalry of early 80s , Meath v Dublin rivalries of 80s and 90s , and Meath v kildare rivalries of late 90s would have come close to louth v Meath in late 40s and 50s. Also Cavan had a great team also. It meant in that period Meath louth and Cavan were three All Ireland contenders on each others border.

Of course Louth greatest moment wud come in 57. One of the great leinster teams , Louth the smallest county beat Cork largest county. To this day that team is loved and talked about in such high esteem in louth. Those men are the standard bearers of louth football. Louths greatest team. And one of the greatest All Ireland wins by any leinster team.Louth of course like Meath has counties bordering it from two proviences , Ulster and leinster. This gives both counties unique characteristics that other leinster counties dont have.

In terms of the future I think both counties can look forward to a positive future. GAA have invested in Meath louth kildare and Wicklow in east GAA project in last 6 months . In response to Dublins sucess. I think all 4 counties are receiving 300000 to 400000 euros and 25 full time coachs are being spilt between 4 counties. It doesnt seem much compared to the 50 to 60 full time coachs the Dubs have had for 15 years. It still will greatly help all the above counties. The 25 new full time coachs began work in last 6 months so in the coming years this will help. With a growing population in all the above eastern counties the gaa need to focus on these counties. I always felt GAA should do more for county louth which has strong gaa tradition great clubs and great gaa folk. Of course soccer is very strong louth with Dundalk town and Drogheda Utd and Steve Stauton Gary kelly Ian Harte etc. But that can be good thing if louth GAA could tap into Dundalks winning mentality.

I am in the minority but I believe we will see more competitive leinster championship in years to come. I know that seems unlikely now. But the only time we had teams dominating GAA in hurling and football, the following period was very competitive. Kerry dominated football for 11 years along with Dublin. In 12 years Dublin and kerry won 11 All Irelands. In the following 12 years 1986 to 1998 8 different counties won Sam in 12 years. In hurling kilkenny were dominating hurling for years. Kilkenny and Tippearey dominated hurling from 2006 to early part of this decade. Yet Clare Galway and limerick have won liam in last 6 years, this was unthinkable 10 years ago. So after kilkenny and kerry dominated hurling and football you had very competitive periods. In hurling now you have potentialy 8 contenders for an All Ireland . 10 years ago you had two. In 70s and early 80s you had two contenders for Sam. Ten years later in 90s you had 8 to 10 contenders every year.

When a team dominates in the past it forces other counties to up their game. Dublin dominance has forced counties to up their game. And things like fulll time coachs on the ground in Meath and louth will definitely help football in both counties . And i expect that Meath louth kildare and Wicklow will be much stronger in next 10 to 15 years. And wouldn't be great if days of 40s and 50s happened again where Meath and louth were the two best teams in leinster and a Meath and louth championship match would decide the leinster championship . Wouldn't be great if that happened again. Heres hoping. The Dubs cannot keep dominanting forver. All counties r upping their game on the ground. This is a positive outcome. Hopefully it leads to more competitive leinster championship in 10 years time. If it doesn't, there will be no leinster championship in 10 years time."
Ah you mean Paddy Keenan? Probably one of Louth's best footballers of the last thirty years. What a footballer and a gentleman on and off the pitch.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/02/2019 18:23:19    2167216

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks Royaldunne I appreciate it. When I go off on one of my long winded messages I always hope I make sense as I have tendency to cover 16 points in 1 paragraph. Thanks for the comments.
Regards Ollie he knows his stuff. A great louth supporter. And always fair towards Meath.

Just a short point ( which means 16 paragraphs). I think Nally has been a great appointment. The role of a coach has increased dramatically in recent years. Galvin is manager , Sherlock is coach. Eamon Fitz Maurice had Cian O Neill as coach. Donie Buckley has been coach for kerry then Mayo and back to kerry again this year. Tony McEntee has been coach to Mayo in 2016 and 2017. Lally was coach for Galway last year when they had their best year since 18 years. He was also Tyrone coach when they won Sam in 03. Harte has always being manager with lally coach in 03 and Donnelly coach in 05 and 08. And Stephen O Neill is currently coaching Tyone. Look at hurling limerick coach last year who coached limerick to Liam , he was coaching Clare when they won All Ireland in 2013. All the top teams have quality coachs.

Sean Boylan and Mick Dwyer were man managers. They werent really coachs. Boylan was man manager genius. But he did very few tactics. The same with Dwyer . Susposedly this year Andy has done allot of one to one talking with players.

Im not certain but I d say Nally has done most of coaching. Nally does seem.to be out and out coach. We have being falling between two stools in recent years with a possession and kicking game. This year we look much more direct attacking. The key now is to keep Nally. There are very few quality coachs in thr country. If u find one u need to keep him. And while coachs don't always make good managers. If Meath were to make real progress over the next few year under McEntee and Nally , Nally as a future Meath manager is a runner. It seems to me he cud one best coachs in leinster. And if Meath progress in next few years with Nally aboard Nallys reputation will sore. Look at how Donie Buckley is so highly thought of.

As I said if we get promotion and keep improving over this year and next year. It is essential to keep Nally part of the set up. Rodgers also seems to be great choice. Our kickout strategy and breaking ball has improved this year. We are far from the finished article, but we r going in the right direction and we are seen real progress and real improvement. Promotion this spring could be pivotal. For me the three most important things for Meath football this year are the seniors to gain promotion. The minors to win leinster. And the under 20s to at least reach leinster final and then hopefully go on to win leinster. The minor and under 20 leinster championship are so important . We should be winning another minor title seen our players won Gerry Reilly cup and Dublin minors were in recent months annihilated by kerry. Of course you never know with young lads. But it those seem we have strong minor team this year

And with players with leinster minor medals in their pocket , we should definately sud be contenders at under 20. As I said I know u never know with young lads. But we need a under 20 title so badly. We need to start to see provicial sucess at under 20 titles soon. To build on our minor sucess.

For the seniors. Carlow will be tricky. But it does seem to me we cud looking at Meath v laois leinster semi final. Laois are our bogey team. And our flying at the moment. Winning game after game in last 2 years and I expect to see them in div 2 next year. That cud be a massive game. But we should beat Offaly. Carlow cud be another longford but if we continue our early season form we wud be capable of beating Carlow. But whoever win v Laois and Westmeath I think that will our big game in championship. Win and we r in leinster final for the first time in 5 years and reach leinster final we r one win away from super 8. My gut feeling is we will.win promtion reach leinster final but be beaten in back door. Overall that wouldnt be a bad season. Under Super 8 format , a young up and coming team cud be destroyed by playing possibly three top division 1 teams in 1 month. look at what happened to Roscommon last year. Reaching the super 8 next year after hopefully a spring in division 1 wud be the ideal preparation for super 8. But still if we got to Super 8 and won promotion I think we wud all agree that wud be a great season and a huge improvement.

Beating Cork is so important. Cork always up their game v Meath. They never forgave for beaten them in 4 All-Ireland finals in 50 years. We were their bogey team up to 2000. But since 2000 as far as I can see we have failed to beat them. There was 2007 semi final. Two league game recently. There was at least two league games in 00s which were all.Cork wins. And even in 99 they defeated us in national league div 1 semi final when in the worst game I ever saw Cork beat Meath by 0-6 to 0-3. By the end of the year both teams were in an All Ireland semi final.

If the score is Meath 0-2 Cork 0-1 on Saturday I wouldnt really care. The result is paramount. But if Cork again are not firing on all.cyclinders then Meath should make sure to go full throttle and really hit Cork early and make sure their confidence stays low. A big Meath win could be a possibility. A Meath loss cud also happen. But if we r improving and Cork are in disarray we should really go for a comprehensive Meath win. I hope that doesnt jinx us and I wud take 1 point win. But this is what a team that whats to play in Division 1 wud do to Cork. Look at what Kerry Tyrone and Clare have done to Cork recently.

If we see something like that from Meath it would set us up for basically a promotion decider in Navan versus the old rivals kildare. Whoever wins that cud have one foot in div 1. We r improving and going in right direction. But we need to finish the league the way we started it. If we do we have a mighty chance of promotion.

Heres hoping Dublin will be Navan and we will be going to Castlebar and Tralee and Clones next spring. That would be brilliant for this young team. And for the Meath supporters. I can safely say without a doubt everyone here would agree with this. Meath football is sick to the teeth of division 2 football. 1 year in divsion 1 you wud learn more about ur team and ur players wud learn more in 1 year in.divsion one then ten years in division 2. Hopefully the 13 year long wait since we were promoted to div 1 and 21 year long wait since we played in 8 team division 1 is nearly at an end. Meath Division 2 champions 2019. I would celebrate that. We all.wud. Heres hoping it will become reality. It is 20 years since we won a national title. The year 9 is always good one for Meath. All Ireland champions in 1949 and 99. And our last All Ireland semi final was in 2009. Hopefully 2019 will be another great year for Meath football with the number ending with 9."
Thanks Furlong for your kind words and best of luck to Meath against Cork tonight.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/02/2019 18:24:53    2167217

Seats taken in pairc Ui rinn , parking bit of a nightmare , but the long journey home will be great once we win. Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2019 18:41:48    2167220

Got to say uninspiring first half. Cork packing defense, hopeful with what has to come on. Won't be easy. Cannot gave that drive after a defeat.
Hon the royal o

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/02/2019 19:48:03    2167232

Great result! Some bad patches throughout the game but got the scores when it mattered, back-line top drawer again

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 23/02/2019 20:38:41    2167247

Delighted with the win! Why did we play Dardis as a GK when he scored such a crucial goal?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 23/02/2019 20:41:26    2167250

Great win for us. Anyone know why Dardis got a black card at the end ?

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 23/02/2019 20:49:06    2167255

Good win, puts us in a great position and we can sit back and see what happens tomorrow. Huge game in Navan next weekend, shooting boots need polishing, it's the one thing causing concern this year so far that we are missing some decent chances, our defence is excelling and midfield more than decent but we just need to sharpen up front, looking forward to a big crowd in PT now next weekend

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/02/2019 20:49:09    2167256

Massive win for the Royal. Should be 4 wins from 4 but somehow lost to donegal. Huge match against Kildare in navan next week. This is our all Ireland final so hopefully meath fans turn out in big numbers.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/02/2019 21:04:52    2167265

Very good away win, promotion is now a possibility. I was not there but was in keyboard land, in other words glued to March Tracker and one thing stood out. The Division 1 teams, (Dublin & Tyrone) once they got ahead resolutely stayed there, held their lead and added to it. We gave Cork a sniff of a comeback twice so we still have a bit to go, in rugby speak, as per Brent Pope, "never give a sucker a chance" the Dublins, Tyrones of the hard successful world just put you to the sword once the opportunity presents itself. How do they do this? I would to be able to give a definitive answer but to my mind we MUST once ahead build on it gradually, without leaving the backdoor open, absolutely eliminating basic mistakes, again, tonight we needlessly gave away a shot a goal by claiming a mark, then fisting the ball to a colleague, not allowed. This seem to be a Meath thing, and a few other counties who play an off the cuff game, but never the clinical ones, like Dublin, Down, Kerry, Cork etc, who drop like flies, not half dead but 99% dead at the slightest touch, remember Gouch at the Canal End literally going down like he was shot to get the penalty, for God's sake if he was that weak he would not be able to negotiate the back garden not to mind the playing fields of Kerry, but technically he was fouled and Lady Luck did not catch up with him. Years ago when players were first allowed to take a sideline kick from the hands we were regularly penalised by taking the kicks from the field of play, more than the teams that we were playing against. This should not happen, as it could turn a tightly balanced game away from us. So lads brush up on the rules, you can turn them to your advantage. To deal with this I suggest that at the start of League and Championship our Management Teams should have a session on the rules with our referees who are on the intercounty panel and the entire squad, no shows not tolerated.
P.S. It is not the Meath way to dive or feign injury and never should be but do not hand away the initiative by not knowing the rules, especially the new ones, life gets tougher in Division 1.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 23/02/2019 21:35:54    2167301

Replying To OLLIE:  "Thanks Furlong for your kind words and best of luck to Meath against Cork tonight."
No problem Ollie. Good win for Meath tonight. We are going in right direction.
Best of luck to the men from the Wee county. Hopefully but counties will be promoted at the end of the spring. And its onwards and upwards for both counties.
PS Paddy Keenan was a great midfielder. But for me best louth midfielder and best louth footballer I saw was Seamus O Hanlon, he was proper warrior and always gave 110%.. A great footballer.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 23/02/2019 21:54:47    2167317

Replying To MillerX:  "Very good away win, promotion is now a possibility. I was not there but was in keyboard land, in other words glued to March Tracker and one thing stood out. The Division 1 teams, (Dublin & Tyrone) once they got ahead resolutely stayed there, held their lead and added to it. We gave Cork a sniff of a comeback twice so we still have a bit to go, in rugby speak, as per Brent Pope, "never give a sucker a chance" the Dublins, Tyrones of the hard successful world just put you to the sword once the opportunity presents itself. How do they do this? I would to be able to give a definitive answer but to my mind we MUST once ahead build on it gradually, without leaving the backdoor open, absolutely eliminating basic mistakes, again, tonight we needlessly gave away a shot a goal by claiming a mark, then fisting the ball to a colleague, not allowed. This seem to be a Meath thing, and a few other counties who play an off the cuff game, but never the clinical ones, like Dublin, Down, Kerry, Cork etc, who drop like flies, not half dead but 99% dead at the slightest touch, remember Gouch at the Canal End literally going down like he was shot to get the penalty, for God's sake if he was that weak he would not be able to negotiate the back garden not to mind the playing fields of Kerry, but technically he was fouled and Lady Luck did not catch up with him. Years ago when players were first allowed to take a sideline kick from the hands we were regularly penalised by taking the kicks from the field of play, more than the teams that we were playing against. This should not happen, as it could turn a tightly balanced game away from us. So lads brush up on the rules, you can turn them to your advantage. To deal with this I suggest that at the start of League and Championship our Management Teams should have a session on the rules with our referees who are on the intercounty panel and the entire squad, no shows not tolerated.
P.S. It is not the Meath way to dive or feign injury and never should be but do not hand away the initiative by not knowing the rules, especially the new ones, life gets tougher in Division 1."
The reason Tyrones Dublins Mayo get a lead hold onto it is two word why. Division One.
They have been playing division 1 football year in year out. Playing division 1 football means you are playing the best teams. If you are staying in div 1 , you must not make mistakes learn to control games better. If u dont u wouldnt survive in div 1.

Playing in div 2 you get into bad habits. You make mistakes , you r not punished. If Meath were to get promoted and stay in divsion 1 for a couple of seasons. The issues you mentioned above would disappear slowly but surely. 13 years since we were promoted to div 1. 22 years since we were two seasons in a row in divsion 1. Its very simple. Get promoted and stay in divsion 1 and playing Dublins Kerrys Mayos and your team will improve. The reason Donegal beat us twice in the last 2 years and Tyrone last year , was we went toe to toe with these top teams for 70 mins. But they had the knowhow and the knowledge and experience to see out the match. Thats because they have years of experience in divsion 1. If Meath get promoted and stay 3 or 4 seasons in div 1 the improvement for this Meath team would be massive and striking. Division 1 football is essential for any team to be sucessful.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 23/02/2019 22:04:13    2167320

Good to win in Cork albeit a poor game. I have seen it before but never ceases to amaze me how poorly Cork are supported although the geography of the county doesnt help.

Meath are in a strong position now and should be favourites to be promoted given the way the fixtures are scheduled but they will need at least 2 wins from the remaining 3 games and I think they should achieve that as a minimum.

It would be a great boost if they could get to Division 1 and they need to if they are to continue to progress.

Cork are in real trouble and they do not look as if they will be able to turn their fortunes around in the short term.

I wonder will a call go out to Billy Morgan? Internal politics may have to be put aside first.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 23/02/2019 22:08:36    2167323

Replying To Furlong1949:  "The reason Tyrones Dublins Mayo get a lead hold onto it is two word why. Division One.
They have been playing division 1 football year in year out. Playing division 1 football means you are playing the best teams. If you are staying in div 1 , you must not make mistakes learn to control games better. If u dont u wouldnt survive in div 1.

Playing in div 2 you get into bad habits. You make mistakes , you r not punished. If Meath were to get promoted and stay in divsion 1 for a couple of seasons. The issues you mentioned above would disappear slowly but surely. 13 years since we were promoted to div 1. 22 years since we were two seasons in a row in divsion 1. Its very simple. Get promoted and stay in divsion 1 and playing Dublins Kerrys Mayos and your team will improve. The reason Donegal beat us twice in the last 2 years and Tyrone last year , was we went toe to toe with these top teams for 70 mins. But they had the knowhow and the knowledge and experience to see out the match. Thats because they have years of experience in divsion 1. If Meath get promoted and stay 3 or 4 seasons in div 1 the improvement for this Meath team would be massive and striking. Division 1 football is essential for any team to be sucessful."
No, no I don't entirely agree, or maybe you are not getting my point. Certain counties have a different philosophy towards the game, Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone and Down always squeeze the most out of most situations and are always alert to situations. You cannot include Mayo in this group, for God's sake how many times have they managed to obtain defeat out of a winning situation.

You would hardly ever see a Dublin, Tyrone, Down or Kerry footballer take a free from the wrong place, a sideline from the pitch or fist the ball having claimed a mark (this is new but as an auld fellow I knew that the ball must be KICKED following the mark) why do we make those mistakes? I am at a complete loss. A number of years ago we had a situation where a referee brought a 45 forward following dissent in a County Final, a complete no no but yet it happened, luckily the linesman retrieved the situation but it should not have happened in the first place.

What I am pointing out is that we are on the verge of Division 1 football and we must not let it slip through silliness. All that squad must be brought up to speed on the rules now. How do we do that? We are one of the counties that have, is it three, referees on the inter county panel, so why not use them to coach our players on the current rules, particularly the new ones? Management please note. No stone must be left unturned to achieve promotion and to hold on to it next year.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 23/02/2019 23:13:10    2167343