Meath v Clare

We have had a centre back problem since Enda McManus retired. I thought Brian Menton Donal Keoghan and Padraig Harnan would all solve this centre back problem. But all the above are more effective as wing backs.

All the top teams recently have had strong half back line eg McCarthy Sullivan McCaffrey ( Dublin) Harte Gormley Jordan ( Tyrone), Lacey ( Donegal), T O Se Brosnan O Mahony ( Kerry) and Keegan Vaughan Boyle ( Mayo). Some of the best players in Ireland now play in the half back line. 20 years ago the best players played in the half forward libe eg Giles Donnellan. Now there is little room for half forwards on the half forward line. Half backs can start attacks more on the half back line. To be a sucessful team now you have to have a top class half back line. The last time we had a top class half line was Foley Harnan O Connell. We also had a great half back line in the 60s with Collier Cunninghan and Reynold Snr.

We now have two centre backs. Two different type of centre backs. Conlon is a more an attacking centre back with Atleticism. Power is a more a holding centre back. Conlon is centre back more in the style of Cian Sullivan . Power would be more similar in style to Ger Brennan.

I would play both with Power at 6 and Conlon at 7. Conlon has all the attributes to become a top class number 7. Conlon is a more eye catching player. Bombing forward with the ball. But an holding centre back is not as eye catching. They dont attack up the field and score great points. A holding centre back holds the middle and has great positinal sense, which Power has. You miss a holding centre back when heis gone. The centre of you defence is more weaker.

Lavin has allowed Keoghan to mive to wing back. He is wasted at corner baxk. I think if he is left at number 5 for a couple of years he would become one the best wing backs in the country. A keoghan Power Conlon half back line has huge potential. S McEntee will become a quality effective wing back . His attitude is terrific and he works and works and works. Hes just learning the game at inter county level in the half back line at the moment. We do have options here we haven't not had for a while in the centre back line.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 30/01/2018 15:11:41    2072429

One criticism I would have of Andy is he has gone a bit defensive since the kildare game in the championship. I think he was shocked with the performance and whats to make sure we are not as open at the back again. And since that game we have not being taken to the cleaners. But I think we need to be a bit more adventurous. When we cut loose v Derry Clare Fermanagh and louth last year we played some good attacking football. With players coming off the shoulder. Its all about getting the balance and it will take Andy and the player another 24 months to get to grips with the new tactics in gaa. Get the the mix and balance right. It will take time. But a county like ours, I think attack suits our mentality better then defensive blanket defences. Yes We need to have a modern defensive plan. But we just need to get balance right between attack and defence. Make sure there is runners supporting the attack. It will take time to tweak and sort out.

But 1 thing Im feeling positive is our backs. We have had defensive problems for a while. And we do have a great tradition of producing some of greatest defenders ever to play the game eg Paddy O Brien, Mick O Brien, Jack Quinn, Noel Collier, Pat Reynolds snr, Mick lyons, Robbie O Malley, Liam Harnan, Martin O Connell, Darren Fay, Mark Reilly.

I think Andy brought in 7 or 8 new defenders onto the panel and it has worked. Lavin has been very good so far this season. His excellent form has meant we can push Keoghan up the field. Mickey Burke has been a proper warrior for us in recent years. But he is coming to the end of his career rst5her then the start. We need new young tigerish man marking corner backs. Lavin has stepped up. While Gallagher Glynn and O Neill look like options to replace Burke in the future. Keoghan Power Conlon and McEntee are good defenders also.

The form of McGill has been great to see. He took over from Reilly very well. And last year he gave a Fayesque type of performance v Donegal. This year he has improved more. And he seems like a player who will keep imlroving. I think he is 23. So his best days are ahead of him. I think it could be fair to say he could be one of the best full backs in the country at the moment. I dont see many quality full backs in the game.

I dont see many good defenders in the game also. Dublin and Mayo have the best defenders in the country. After that the standard of defending is poor. The art of defending is dying. Blanket defences and sweepers have led to poorer defenders. If you slip now its ok you have two sweepers to cover you. 20 years ago if you slipped or made a mistake the forward was in on goals. You had to be a good defender or your forward would destroy u. It was a time of great defenders eg O Malley Fay Curran Barr McGeeney Ryan Moyihan Lockart Scullion Mannion. Today Dublin have all the best defenders.

Take Gakway they have top class forwards. But their full back is very weak. Take Tyrone when Dublin got inside their blanket defence they looked very poor defensivly last year. Even kerry who have a conveyor belt of forward talent, look shakey at the back.

We have some good young defenders. Who can defend well eg McGill Lavin Gallagher Conlon Power O Neill Keoghan McEntee Keoghan. Over the next few years as these players develop and we get the right mix at the back I think we could have a divsion 1 defence. And maybe better then some division 1 defences. Sucessful Meath teams have always been built on strong defences.

With the loss of good intercounty defenders like Harnan and Toibin this year. I was worried about our defence. But the emergence of lavin and Conlon and cameos from O Neill Glynn and Gallagher gives me great hope for the future for our defence.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 30/01/2018 15:46:03    2072443

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Exactly what I meant ad in he's had 5 or 6 years since he's been"
Not sure how many players we need bombing forward!!! What with dropping some of teh forwards back to defend I would far prefer to have a holding Centre Back on my team than one who is very good and very disposed to getting forward! As to the personalities, I think both Power and Conlon have something to offer and I think we should find a spot for both! Power at 24 is hardly over the hill and I don't agree he has had plenty of time to settle in. I think what some of the lads need is a consistent run in the team to get comfortable with how the team plays and how the management want them to play! I think this is true for Brian Conlon too. What I hope is that Andy knows roughly the best team he wants on the pitch and that he picks that team as much as possible. At least then if somebody isn't working he will properly know and be able to make the change. I think there has been lots of chopping and changing over the past 24 months - time to settle down and just get what you think the best team is on the pitch! He has gone in teh right direction in my view with Menton - hopefully the trend will continue against Clare!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 30/01/2018 15:58:31    2072450

What do people think of us finishing game strongly under McEntee. His minor team when we reached the final finished strongly in the quater final v Tyrone and semi final v Mayo finished very strongly and made very good comeback. When he won the Dublin senior title with Boden they won the quater final ,semi final and final with gritty 1 point wins v superior opposition and finished all games strongly like a train. It seems to be characteristic of the teams he manages. They never give up and have a good spirit.
With the exception of 2 kildare games we have finished every game strongly

In last years league
We finished very strongly v Derry
We finished very strongly v Fermanagh
We finished very strongly v Clare
We finished very strongly v Galways ( where 5 points down 15 mins to go and we won the game)
We finished very strongly v Cork ( 9 points with over 20 mins to go and we still draw the game).
And even though the Down game was a disappointment we did finish strong and we could have nicked a draw.

In the championship
We finished very strongly v Louth ( 7 points in row scores coming up to full time , giving us a massive 27 points )
We finished strongly v Sligo. Not a great performance. But we still upped our game in the final 15 mins.
We finished strongly v Donegal. ( Going into injury time the game was in the balance and Mcbreaty and Murphy struck ).

This years
We finished strongly v Carlow Wicklow longford and Roscommon ( 6 points down with 20 mins to go and we end drawing the game ).

This is great to see. Yes we fecked up with the late goal v Roscommon. But that is experience in how to close a game. But this is definatly something we can build on for the future . In how in the final quater we seem to nearly always up our game. Thats what Boylans teams used to do so sucessfully.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 30/01/2018 16:12:41    2072461

Replying To ratlag:  "Absolutely no truth in that at all!! Firstly Power is only in the Senior team about 4 years as he is only 24 yeas old now. Power is quite good at breaking forward when the opportunity is there as shown against Roscommon last week when having a shot saved on the line and Clare last year when scoring agoal at the end of a great team move!! Conlon is a great potential don't get me wonrg but was completely exposed at CB against Longford when he spent more time out of position leaving massive gaps down the middle and needlessly gave the ball away which aloowed Roscommon to break down the field and win the penalty.

I f you don't like Power then just come out and say it as everyone has their own personal opinions on players but basing it on lies is laughable."
I don't Base anything on lies and knew exactly what age power was before posting anything so you can excuse yourself there. He has had 5 going on 6 years out of minor to make an impact while conlon has had 1. I have no problem with power as you suggest I just think conlon is a better player. For some reason because conlon is a big strong centre back people forget his age, people here are quick to grant the silky forward o reilly more chances when playing badly yet conlon is younger and flying yet Rd even suggests s McEntee is better!! It's unusual to see a 19 year old have such impact on games as he did against sligo and donegal last year. Lastly you also suggested you'd have Mcmahon starting, now I was always brians biggest biggest fan but he is not playing well enough to be near the team and hasn't played well for meath in a long while. I don't need to be a genius to guess your from out the ratoath way

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 30/01/2018 17:10:09    2072485

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "I don't Base anything on lies and knew exactly what age power was before posting anything so you can excuse yourself there. He has had 5 going on 6 years out of minor to make an impact while conlon has had 1. I have no problem with power as you suggest I just think conlon is a better player. For some reason because conlon is a big strong centre back people forget his age, people here are quick to grant the silky forward o reilly more chances when playing badly yet conlon is younger and flying yet Rd even suggests s McEntee is better!! It's unusual to see a 19 year old have such impact on games as he did against sligo and donegal last year. Lastly you also suggested you'd have Mcmahon starting, now I was always brians biggest biggest fan but he is not playing well enough to be near the team and hasn't played well for meath in a long while. I don't need to be a genius to guess your from out the ratoath way"
No just to clarify, I didn't say he was better. I said at this moment mcenetee is better cause he is not coming off the back of a injury, which I was told Conlon is/was. Therefore I thought rather than risk Conlon (imo one of the finest prospects in Meath in a long time) to ease him back in, as I think is mcenetee thinking, let me be clear I would take a fully fit Conlon ahead of a fully fit mcenetee (Shane) but at this time I feel Conlon is guaranteed 35 mins last day, perhaps more on Sunday, by league end I expect him to play full game.
That is what I meant by Shane been better now,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/01/2018 17:31:04    2072491

Replying To Furlong1949:  "What do people think of us finishing game strongly under McEntee. His minor team when we reached the final finished strongly in the quater final v Tyrone and semi final v Mayo finished very strongly and made very good comeback. When he won the Dublin senior title with Boden they won the quater final ,semi final and final with gritty 1 point wins v superior opposition and finished all games strongly like a train. It seems to be characteristic of the teams he manages. They never give up and have a good spirit.
With the exception of 2 kildare games we have finished every game strongly

In last years league
We finished very strongly v Derry
We finished very strongly v Fermanagh
We finished very strongly v Clare
We finished very strongly v Galways ( where 5 points down 15 mins to go and we won the game)
We finished very strongly v Cork ( 9 points with over 20 mins to go and we still draw the game).
And even though the Down game was a disappointment we did finish strong and we could have nicked a draw.

In the championship
We finished very strongly v Louth ( 7 points in row scores coming up to full time , giving us a massive 27 points )
We finished strongly v Sligo. Not a great performance. But we still upped our game in the final 15 mins.
We finished strongly v Donegal. ( Going into injury time the game was in the balance and Mcbreaty and Murphy struck ).

This years
We finished strongly v Carlow Wicklow longford and Roscommon ( 6 points down with 20 mins to go and we end drawing the game ).

This is great to see. Yes we fecked up with the late goal v Roscommon. But that is experience in how to close a game. But this is definatly something we can build on for the future . In how in the final quater we seem to nearly always up our game. Thats what Boylans teams used to do so sucessfully."
Think its mainly a mental thing . a we can do it thing. In fairness you need a fairly settled team to do that . Andy really has largely laid his foundation at this stage. I would think he has settled on about 12 of his best players [one injured.] I imagine he wants to play with these in each match now to develop greater understanding and attitude.
Boylan was exceptionally strong on attitude and motivation after some years in the job .But then he had some exceptional men to work with for a lot of his time . Virtually every line in the team had a natural leader . Will take time ,

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 30/01/2018 17:33:15    2072493

Look what this team needs is just that bit of cuteness. When power was passed the ball for the near goal he should have just flicked it in, well that's what I thought from stand, but he caught it and tried to kick it.
Same with wallace when he had chance to either fist over bar at end or lay off for a certain goal. Neither happened plenty of more examples so by no means singling out these two. Cuteness is not something you can teach as a manager, it's something that is learned with time. The few lads who might have it burke and Reilly were both poor on Sunday, the others ? E wallace should have it by now as should cos , menton obviously has, but the rest? It will take time and unfortunately lessons like Sunday to instilling it in players

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/01/2018 17:41:38    2072496

Replying To royaldunne:  "No just to clarify, I didn't say he was better. I said at this moment mcenetee is better cause he is not coming off the back of a injury, which I was told Conlon is/was. Therefore I thought rather than risk Conlon (imo one of the finest prospects in Meath in a long time) to ease him back in, as I think is mcenetee thinking, let me be clear I would take a fully fit Conlon ahead of a fully fit mcenetee (Shane) but at this time I feel Conlon is guaranteed 35 mins last day, perhaps more on Sunday, by league end I expect him to play full game.
That is what I meant by Shane been better now,"
That's fair enough man does anyone know how long lenihan is out for?

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 30/01/2018 18:21:03    2072510

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "I don't Base anything on lies and knew exactly what age power was before posting anything so you can excuse yourself there. He has had 5 going on 6 years out of minor to make an impact while conlon has had 1. I have no problem with power as you suggest I just think conlon is a better player. For some reason because conlon is a big strong centre back people forget his age, people here are quick to grant the silky forward o reilly more chances when playing badly yet conlon is younger and flying yet Rd even suggests s McEntee is better!! It's unusual to see a 19 year old have such impact on games as he did against sligo and donegal last year. Lastly you also suggested you'd have Mcmahon starting, now I was always brians biggest biggest fan but he is not playing well enough to be near the team and hasn't played well for meath in a long while. I don't need to be a genius to guess your from out the ratoath way"
Well the way the original comment read was that he had 5-6 years in the senior set up to make an impact which was untrue, 5-6 years out of minor is different so we can put that down to a misunderstanding of your comment. Conlons age has nothing to do with it for me, my Mantra is if your good enough your old enough but from what he has shown with the seniors is that he is excellent at carrying the ball and going forward but has been exposed a number of times defensively which is why I see him as a better wing back than Centre back. He is better than McEntee in my opinion as as mention by another poster (Furlong I think) a half back line of Keoghan Power and Conlon is our strongest.

With regards McMahon, I suggested if fit then I would start him yes as Biggy and Thomas O Reilly have been poor so far in every game I've seen them (both played more than McMahon and Biggy I think could be excellent sprung from the bench against a tired defence much like E Wallace was against Roscommon). Brennan also hasn't set the world alight and played more than McMahon, he has drifted in and out of games and while showing glimpses of quality has not sustained it for ful games. This year McMahon only played the second half against wicklow (no socres) and 70mins roughy against lonford (0-04 1f). So on that basis its a bit harsh to say he hasn't played well in a long time. LAst year he didn't set the world alight but he was stil in our best 6 forwards imo.

Me being from Ratoath has nothing to do with it, as I haven't named E Wallace in any possible line ups this year as I don't think he deserves it. Who would your starting 6 forwards be out of curiosity?

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 30/01/2018 18:28:59    2072516

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "That's fair enough man does anyone know how long lenihan is out for?"
Not sure at all.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/01/2018 19:15:21    2072530

Replying To ratlag:  "Well the way the original comment read was that he had 5-6 years in the senior set up to make an impact which was untrue, 5-6 years out of minor is different so we can put that down to a misunderstanding of your comment. Conlons age has nothing to do with it for me, my Mantra is if your good enough your old enough but from what he has shown with the seniors is that he is excellent at carrying the ball and going forward but has been exposed a number of times defensively which is why I see him as a better wing back than Centre back. He is better than McEntee in my opinion as as mention by another poster (Furlong I think) a half back line of Keoghan Power and Conlon is our strongest.

With regards McMahon, I suggested if fit then I would start him yes as Biggy and Thomas O Reilly have been poor so far in every game I've seen them (both played more than McMahon and Biggy I think could be excellent sprung from the bench against a tired defence much like E Wallace was against Roscommon). Brennan also hasn't set the world alight and played more than McMahon, he has drifted in and out of games and while showing glimpses of quality has not sustained it for ful games. This year McMahon only played the second half against wicklow (no socres) and 70mins roughy against lonford (0-04 1f). So on that basis its a bit harsh to say he hasn't played well in a long time. LAst year he didn't set the world alight but he was stil in our best 6 forwards imo.

Me being from Ratoath has nothing to do with it, as I haven't named E Wallace in any possible line ups this year as I don't think he deserves it. Who would your starting 6 forwards be out of curiosity?"
I know it's not aimed at me. But I would love to see these six firing on all cylinders.
10 cillian O'Sullivan
11 podge mckeever
12 graham Reilly
13 joey wallace
14 Donal lenihane
15 Ben Brennan

With subs Brian McMahon, Eamonn wallace and sean Tobin
Now I'm talking about them at their best.
Can you imagine that, we would even give the dubs socks.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/01/2018 19:47:09    2072536

Replying To ratlag:  "Well the way the original comment read was that he had 5-6 years in the senior set up to make an impact which was untrue, 5-6 years out of minor is different so we can put that down to a misunderstanding of your comment. Conlons age has nothing to do with it for me, my Mantra is if your good enough your old enough but from what he has shown with the seniors is that he is excellent at carrying the ball and going forward but has been exposed a number of times defensively which is why I see him as a better wing back than Centre back. He is better than McEntee in my opinion as as mention by another poster (Furlong I think) a half back line of Keoghan Power and Conlon is our strongest.

Me being from Ratoath has nothing to do with it, as I haven't named E Wallace in any possible line ups this year as I don't think he deserves it. Who would your starting 6 forwards be out of curiosity?"
Look fair enough maybe I was being a bit rash there I hope Bryan can get playing as well as he can as he's a class act. Id love to see lenihan and mckeever in the full forward line together I'd also definitely start McEntee and o sullivan in the half forward line. The other 2 places would be whoever is playing best out of biggy, brennan, the 2 wallaces, tobin, o reilly and Mcmahon although isolating lenihan and mckeever inside in a 2 man full forward line and playing an extra man around the middle could be worth looking at. For this weekend I'd go McEntee, o sullivan, tobin, biggy,mckeever and o reilly/j Wallace. Not sure about j Wallace as an inside forward maybe you can shed light on that? I'd play tobin wing forward this week as he can kick points from distance and clare could set up defensively

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 30/01/2018 22:18:45    2072612

Ratlag just on McMahon

He did score 0-4 v Longford and I believe was our top scorer on the day but he was very very poor and wasteful.

You will recall v longford his three points from play were coming off the shoulder on the end of an attack and popping the ball over to finish. All were team efforts in my opinion to work the score.

However, he missed a glaring goal chance where it was harder to miss than it was to score - side footed at the keeper. He also got caught with possession when through on goal at end of first half instead of laying it off to the free man for a tap/fist into the net.

I do like him and think when he is giving quality, quick ball he can turn defenders inside out.

For that, I would include him on my team and I'm sure he will get league time. I recall someone saying he was ill before the game? Who knows.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 30/01/2018 22:37:15    2072622

Replying To Royalio11:  "Ratlag just on McMahon

He did score 0-4 v Longford and I believe was our top scorer on the day but he was very very poor and wasteful.

You will recall v longford his three points from play were coming off the shoulder on the end of an attack and popping the ball over to finish. All were team efforts in my opinion to work the score.

However, he missed a glaring goal chance where it was harder to miss than it was to score - side footed at the keeper. He also got caught with possession when through on goal at end of first half instead of laying it off to the free man for a tap/fist into the net.

I do like him and think when he is giving quality, quick ball he can turn defenders inside out.

For that, I would include him on my team and I'm sure he will get league time. I recall someone saying he was ill before the game? Who knows."
He woke up with the flu on Sunday, and had to phone Andy straight away, only reason I know this is cause I got into conversation prior to game with a family member of his, I was actually unaware how many serious injuries he had sustained, back, collarbone, groin , etc. And then had flu on morning of league, he would have been brought on only for that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/01/2018 07:51:36    2072673

Replying To royaldunne:  "I know it's not aimed at me. But I would love to see these six firing on all cylinders.
10 cillian O'Sullivan
11 podge mckeever
12 graham Reilly
13 joey wallace
14 Donal lenihane
15 Ben Brennan

With subs Brian McMahon, Eamonn wallace and sean Tobin
Now I'm talking about them at their best.
Can you imagine that, we would even give the dubs socks."
McKeever has been playing his best football in close to goal yet you have him on the 40?

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 31/01/2018 11:20:27    2072725

As things stand and based on performances this year, Biggy is not worth his place on the team, certainly not writing him off but anyone that was in the Hyde last Sunday could see a whole new level of energy on the team once he was replaced, big call not to pick him but think it needs to be done for the next day. Is Lenihan injured? If he is not available I would play O'Sullivan and McKeever as the inside forwards the next day and make sure they stay in there. O'Sullivan can be frustrating but also has the spark and he always tries to be positive to make something happen.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 31/01/2018 11:32:25    2072733

Replying To meathforsam09:  "McKeever has been playing his best football in close to goal yet you have him on the 40?"
Yep. Better option outside

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/01/2018 14:07:44    2072785

Replying To longroadback:  "As things stand and based on performances this year, Biggy is not worth his place on the team, certainly not writing him off but anyone that was in the Hyde last Sunday could see a whole new level of energy on the team once he was replaced, big call not to pick him but think it needs to be done for the next day. Is Lenihan injured? If he is not available I would play O'Sullivan and McKeever as the inside forwards the next day and make sure they stay in there. O'Sullivan can be frustrating but also has the spark and he always tries to be positive to make something happen."
Bit harsh to say Biggys not worth his place on the team, i just think he needs to step up. I think he should get a shot this weekend and maybe if no improvement put him on the bench as an impact sub against Cavan see how he gets on. O'Sullivan is very frustrating and he needs to buck himself up aswell. All this new young energy is really showing up our older players. Alot of them need to step it up a gear.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 31/01/2018 14:15:54    2072788

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Bit harsh to say Biggys not worth his place on the team, i just think he needs to step up. I think he should get a shot this weekend and maybe if no improvement put him on the bench as an impact sub against Cavan see how he gets on. O'Sullivan is very frustrating and he needs to buck himself up aswell. All this new young energy is really showing up our older players. Alot of them need to step it up a gear."
I dont mean drop him from panel and have no doubt that he will be in our 15 come championship, I mean for the next game. The way we are trying to play requires constant motion from 5,7,10 and 12, he doesnt look fresh at the moment and feel he could benefit not starting

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 31/01/2018 14:45:38    2072803