No Navan club players on the team?

Replying To Analyst:  "The point you made was no north meath club won the keegan in last 20 years. Wolfe Tones won it and they are a North Meath club. I can assure you also that they are not a Navan club. Every player on their senior team has played underage with club and are from the area unlike most town teams"
I'll give you Tones, however Simonstown are Navan. Again though if you stick to the context it's not overly important. Your point about underage is nonsense as well, any transfers are an exception, not the norm, so 99.9% of Keegan winners will play underage with their club, it's not North Meath exclusive. More fantasy.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 06/06/2017 13:23:45    1995561

Somebody is obviously confused- If you have a quick look at the map of Meath you will find that the Tones and indeed Simonstown are both in North Meath (that's if you divide the county in two) and by what logic can anyone say that the Tones is a Navan club. Is Blackhall Gaels a Dunboyne club I think not. every club in the county adjoins at least another club and in some instances as many as maybe 5 different clubs.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 06/06/2017 13:42:30    1995580

Replying To dunboynelad:  "I'll give you Tones, however Simonstown are Navan. Again though if you stick to the context it's not overly important. Your point about underage is nonsense as well, any transfers are an exception, not the norm, so 99.9% of Keegan winners will play underage with their club, it's not North Meath exclusive. More fantasy."
That percentage will take a fair tumble if Dunboyne win it this year. And a vast number of O Mahoneys keegan winning sides did not play underage with them. Bective have a lot of Keegan cup medals you know

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 13:44:26    1995583

Replying To browncows:  "Somebody is obviously confused- If you have a quick look at the map of Meath you will find that the Tones and indeed Simonstown are both in North Meath (that's if you divide the county in two) and by what logic can anyone say that the Tones is a Navan club. Is Blackhall Gaels a Dunboyne club I think not. every club in the county adjoins at least another club and in some instances as many as maybe 5 different clubs."
I don't split the county in two, that is for the lunatics who think there is some ongoing Anti North Meath agenda. Simonstown to me are a Navan club, not that it bothers me in any way. If you are saying they are a 'North Meath Club', it backs up my point again as I cannot remember the last Meath team with no Simonstown representatives. Tones are a club outside Navan who have also had players on our county team which has reflected their club success, which if you stick to the point I was making shows the post I was responding to, which I've still had no reply to, is nonsense.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 06/06/2017 14:22:39    1995625

Replying To Analyst:  "That percentage will take a fair tumble if Dunboyne win it this year. And a vast number of O Mahoneys keegan winning sides did not play underage with them. Bective have a lot of Keegan cup medals you know"
How many have bective.I think ull find your wrong.bective players might have medals not for Keegan cup in bective.strange your point is.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 06/06/2017 14:31:39    1995634

Replying To Analyst:  "That percentage will take a fair tumble if Dunboyne win it this year. And a vast number of O Mahoneys keegan winning sides did not play underage with them. Bective have a lot of Keegan cup medals you know"
Name the players that played in finals for I mahonys and didn't play underage please.intrested to know.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 06/06/2017 14:33:10    1995636

My god, now were gone into bective/ O' mahonys talk,, this could go anywhere now...Feels like were in a time-wrap...I heard South Meath people don't even have to pay into PTailteann these days,, any truth to this?

Jimmycricket (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 06/06/2017 14:34:16    1995638

Replying To Kc77:  "Name the players that played in finals for I mahonys and didn't play underage please.intrested to know."
O coilean, Darragh Smith, Rory maguire

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 14:55:27    1995653

Listen we would all love to see players from our own Club on the Meath team, I remember the celebrations in our wee club when one of our own brought Sam for a visit in 87 & 88. It was a very proud night for everyone involved in the club. You travel anywhere in Ireland and tall to GAA folk and mention any county players from your club it does give you a sense of pride. But in reality when a team take to any pitch wearing a Meath jersey then they have my full support. When they win I am very proud. Naturally you would question why any club would have 5 - 6 players on a Meath team especially if they haven't won a the league or Keegan Cup in a number of years. But when the same players go out and give 100% for Meath and Meath win then in reality it isn't a issue. Since the foundation of the county board it has always appeared that for a player from North of Navan to make it on to the Meath panel they have to be exceptional and many of them have been; Martin O Connell, PJ Gillic, Brian Stafford, Jody Devine, Ollie Murphy, Dathi Regan, Cian Ward, to name but a few and I think that is the grip many North Meath people have weather justified or not is a different issue.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 06/06/2017 14:58:31    1995655

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Haha Jesus Christ, I had tried to stay out of this thread as some of the logic used is too daft to even try and argue with, but I can't let this one go.

Are you aware of where the McEntees come from?

On what basis are Kells the best forward unit in the county?

Who are these Kells/North Meath forwards that should have lined out against Louth, in place of our current batch that racked up 27 points?

From what part of the county has our main forward of recent times until injury this year come from?

You are aware that our players generally come through from our underage teams with plenty of North Meath involvement,
and aren't plucked out of thin air or by winning an annual South Meath raffle to tog out for the seniors?

Is it down to politics as well that no North Meath club have won the Keegan Cup in over 20 years?"
My argument is you need to get a fair rattle at getting a run place on team.have no problem with any Dunboyne ratoath lads on team 8 from ratoath 4 from Dunboyne I think.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 06/06/2017 15:24:02    1995682

Replying To Reco:  "My argument is you need to get a fair rattle at getting a run place on team.have no problem with any Dunboyne ratoath lads on team 8 from ratoath 4 from Dunboyne I think."
do you know how silly you sound
It is childish stuff , not every club have a player good enough to be on panel and some have more
Ratoath have 7 on panel but if you ask a ratoath club man they wish they didn't as it is killing our club senior team
We have to trust in the management to do their best with picking the best players available and that's that
Stop second guessing them the fact that the biggest population in meath is in south meath and it is no surprise the team reflects that

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 06/06/2017 16:16:52    1995729

I'm not from ashbourne so iv no bias but I certainly think they have 2 or 3 defenders that should be on the Meath panel, Conor carton Shane melia darragh McGovern all are easily good enough particularly when you look at the lack of defensive options on our bench

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 06/06/2017 17:20:01    1995788

Out of curiosity, what clubs are "North Meath" clubs. Kells is generally accepted as North Meath. How far south of that does it go? Kilmainham? Cortown? Slane

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 06/06/2017 17:39:06    1995804

Replying To Jimmycricket:  "My god, now were gone into bective/ O' mahonys talk,, this could go anywhere now...Feels like were in a time-wrap...I heard South Meath people don't even have to pay into PTailteann these days,, any truth to this?"
'You can't win derbies with donkeys' as the great man Babs said himself.
There's a pool of talent untouched in the navan clubs. I didn't realise only south Meath players were up for selection too. I was startled when I first heard the panel....The writing will be on the wall soon enough....

drum.git (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 06/06/2017 19:12:58    1995896

Replying To drum.git:  "'You can't win derbies with donkeys' as the great man Babs said himself.
There's a pool of talent untouched in the navan clubs. I didn't realise only south Meath players were up for selection too. I was startled when I first heard the panel....The writing will be on the wall soon enough...."
Is this crap still going on? F the clubs, the vast majority in Meath are crap anyway as has been seen in Leinster since Dunboyne won it, the annual embarrassment of the Meath senior championship winner been humiliated by a club with less Tha a catchment of a few hundred is one we can do without thank you very much. Anyone ask themselves why the only two players who would walk onto any county team in country are from intermediate clubs? (1 be senior next year) there's your answer, Andy McEntee has picked the best in county, over 60 players tried out now be it through injury or not been good enough not one that is on Meath team is non deserving and those who are not are not deserving to be on team either. End of discussion. Get behind your county, and don't give a rats ass if they from your most hated club rival, we are all Meath, not navan kells or whatever, cop on and support county. And forget about clubs they from.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2017 19:29:52    1995914

Most times I would think all this stuff is just a wind up, but then I have to endure listening to a man well into his 70's spouting the most awful shite whilst sitting behind me in the stand last Sunday. According to this mature and learned man a lot of our play last Sunday resembled juvenile or Junior B football, McEntee took off the wrong players, of course there is a bias to south Meath clubs and this elderly dude knew for a fact that a vendetta was out on some players from certain clubs, in fact the only time this fella opened his trap was to give out, I never actually once heard him praise or celebrate a score or good play, it was utterly remarkable and but for his age he would have got a calming puck to the jaw or at least a sound verbal ticking off but I don't have a habit of elder abuse so despite all I just bit my lip and focussed on the game. I've said it before but sometimes our own so called supporters amaze me, when I travel down to a match it's certainly nice to hear positive or encouraging talk from supporters but Christ lately a lot of supporters seem to have gone very ratty and peevish with this club thing seemingly on the top of a lot of people's agendas. Suck it up lads and either support the team, squad and management that's there or don't bother, if there was never a Ratoath or south Meath man on the panel it wouldn't effect me, I support the county whether the majority of players are north, south, east or west, once the men there are willing to bust themselves in a Meath jersey that will do me, and I hope that mature gent behind me last Sunday learns to enjoy his football and the teams efforts before he shuffles off into the sunset.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/06/2017 20:47:28    1995997

Replying To Richieq:  "Most times I would think all this stuff is just a wind up, but then I have to endure listening to a man well into his 70's spouting the most awful shite whilst sitting behind me in the stand last Sunday. According to this mature and learned man a lot of our play last Sunday resembled juvenile or Junior B football, McEntee took off the wrong players, of course there is a bias to south Meath clubs and this elderly dude knew for a fact that a vendetta was out on some players from certain clubs, in fact the only time this fella opened his trap was to give out, I never actually once heard him praise or celebrate a score or good play, it was utterly remarkable and but for his age he would have got a calming puck to the jaw or at least a sound verbal ticking off but I don't have a habit of elder abuse so despite all I just bit my lip and focussed on the game. I've said it before but sometimes our own so called supporters amaze me, when I travel down to a match it's certainly nice to hear positive or encouraging talk from supporters but Christ lately a lot of supporters seem to have gone very ratty and peevish with this club thing seemingly on the top of a lot of people's agendas. Suck it up lads and either support the team, squad and management that's there or don't bother, if there was never a Ratoath or south Meath man on the panel it wouldn't effect me, I support the county whether the majority of players are north, south, east or west, once the men there are willing to bust themselves in a Meath jersey that will do me, and I hope that mature gent behind me last Sunday learns to enjoy his football and the teams efforts before he shuffles off into the sunset."
Excellent post Richie. I wish they would just not go to games. And be assured that old whinger and many other like him will be the ones that demands tickets if we go long way this year or next. It was a Long time from a member of one of my clubs to get on Meath senior panel. Yet I went and actually it never crossed my mind what club gg, Giles, Murphy, orurke, Stafford were from.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2017 21:11:05    1996027

if north meath clubs developed better players it would be great for the county,but we currently have the best players in meath on the panel.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2017 21:27:48    1996044

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "do you know how silly you sound
It is childish stuff , not every club have a player good enough to be on panel and some have more
Ratoath have 7 on panel but if you ask a ratoath club man they wish they didn't as it is killing our club senior team
We have to trust in the management to do their best with picking the best players available and that's that
Stop second guessing them the fact that the biggest population in meath is in south meath and it is no surprise the team reflects that"
Stop second guessing thought this a forum for free speech.mick odowd was ridiculed from pillar to post here by most of the posters on Here.he had same team as Andy damn all change as far I can see.I'm voicing my opinon that's all same as ye.not make f..k all difference to how Meath goes this year.I support my county same as anyone if I disagree with something I say it same praise it.mcentee has brought an intensity to our game the man deserves his 3 years or wotever he gets.but to hear lads say f the clubs is sickening.there the supporter that we all know shouting pure muck at lads doin there best for Meath with no idea the commitment there making.one bad game and its go home you useless this that have beside plenty them don't even know names of most the players.leave it at that enjoy the football for however long we last.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 07/06/2017 00:13:27    1996140

Replying To Reco:  "Stop second guessing thought this a forum for free speech.mick odowd was ridiculed from pillar to post here by most of the posters on Here.he had same team as Andy damn all change as far I can see.I'm voicing my opinon that's all same as ye.not make f..k all difference to how Meath goes this year.I support my county same as anyone if I disagree with something I say it same praise it.mcentee has brought an intensity to our game the man deserves his 3 years or wotever he gets.but to hear lads say f the clubs is sickening.there the supporter that we all know shouting pure muck at lads doin there best for Meath with no idea the commitment there making.one bad game and its go home you useless this that have beside plenty them don't even know names of most the players.leave it at that enjoy the football for however long we last."
Lay off the sauce. That post is barely intelligible.
You're the only one here criticising our manager for apparently not picking enough north Meath men and intimating that it's only because he's from south Meath (y'know, despite him living in Nobber in the past).

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 07/06/2017 08:43:25    1996181