No Navan club players on the team?

Pretty sure mattimoe will make 26

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 04/06/2017 10:05:49    1994261

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "
Replying To Meath_True:  "Go away outta that BigJoe , can you tell me where Seamie Mattimoe comes in here . He's been tormenting Senior teams for the last 2-3 years for Kells . And done the same at Intermediate level for years before , I don't see him on the panel now . What's that about .I go to matchs and see who the real players are . Token players from the regions is not what its about .
Look at the Ratoath/Dunboyne bias , what's that about . half the County team is supplied by 2 clubs in the county .
Its a number of years since Dunboyne won the Championship . But they have a solid representation . DUNBOYNE.
Navan O Mahony's won the title in the last 3 years and who have they on it ........ Smell the coffee .
The Meath Juniors are managed by Conor O Donoghue , what club is he with/ from DUNBOYNE
The 2 recent debutants on the Meath Squad for the championships are from what Club DUNBOYNE
A player who is currently playing with a Senior Club ( but who no one has heard off outside of a particular club ) , came on as a sub in Meaths Junior Championship Leinster Match recently , what Club is he from DUNBOYNE .
Now I don't have a chip on my shoulder about this or any other thing in relation to GAA , but please don't tell me this is co-incidental .
Oh I forgot , what club did the current Meath Senior manager played football with and lives in DUNBOYNE

Smell the Coffee . BigJoe and the rest of the County"
For all your moaning about Dunboyne I think you'd need to be reminded what the last Dunboyne man in charge of the team did. But sure he was only a hurling lad"
LeutrimRoyal , my point exactly . What's the bias . History is history . We dwelled there too long and thus is where we now are .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 04/06/2017 14:45:53    1994440

Maybe if there were more players from Navan and dropped a few lads from Dunboyne we might have been a bit better today. Probably would have won by 15 :D

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 04/06/2017 19:09:01    1994591

Replying To ziggy32001:  "they are already at it on facebook..."
My favourite line is "meath need that north meath toughness back"

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 05/06/2017 14:49:00    1995042

Where did this idea that North Meath men are tougher and superior to the rest of us come from? I never heard it 15/20 years ago when we were winning things. I've never heard it said about Brian Stafford or Ollie Murphy that they're "tough North Meath players", they were just very good North Meath players. You'd swear North Meath is a windswept desert where only the toughest survive, or some himalayan uplands producing strong mountain men.

I reckon it's a response to population changes in the last 20 years or so. The massive growth in south and east Meath has naturally swung the representation on county teams towards those places, and away from North Meath. Understandably people in the north of the county don't like this, so have to make up a reason why their players should be overrepresented on county teams (relative to population). That's how we get the myth that north Meath lads are pound for pound better players than their central/southern counterparts.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1647 - 05/06/2017 16:24:11    1995088

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Where did this idea that North Meath men are tougher and superior to the rest of us come from? I never heard it 15/20 years ago when we were winning things. I've never heard it said about Brian Stafford or Ollie Murphy that they're "tough North Meath players", they were just very good North Meath players. You'd swear North Meath is a windswept desert where only the toughest survive, or some himalayan uplands producing strong mountain men.

I reckon it's a response to population changes in the last 20 years or so. The massive growth in south and east Meath has naturally swung the representation on county teams towards those places, and away from North Meath. Understandably people in the north of the county don't like this, so have to make up a reason why their players should be overrepresented on county teams (relative to population). That's how we get the myth that north Meath lads are pound for pound better players than their central/southern counterparts."
People in north Meath,tell me when someone from north Meath has been selector coach manager of any Meath team lately.this in my book speaks loudly about no representation of our players.kells as a forward unit have best in Meath.s mattimoe is there only making up the numbers.now mickey Newman is seen as useless to requirements.unless you have someone from your area fighting your corner forget it.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 05/06/2017 19:14:22    1995203

Replying To Reco:  "People in north Meath,tell me when someone from north Meath has been selector coach manager of any Meath team lately.this in my book speaks loudly about no representation of our players.kells as a forward unit have best in Meath.s mattimoe is there only making up the numbers.now mickey Newman is seen as useless to requirements.unless you have someone from your area fighting your corner forget it."
Mattimoe has been injured for most of the year, probably injured for most if not all of the league games and then he made the panel for yesterdays game which shows Andy rates him when you look at some of the players who didn't make the panel.

I'm not sure what the story is with Newman but Andy has been easing players back after injuries. Harnan played 3 or 4 games for his club before he even made the bench earlier in the year so maybe Andy is subjecting him to the same treatment which is fair in my opinion.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 05/06/2017 21:57:46    1995286

Replying To Reco:  "People in north Meath,tell me when someone from north Meath has been selector coach manager of any Meath team lately.this in my book speaks loudly about no representation of our players.kells as a forward unit have best in Meath.s mattimoe is there only making up the numbers.now mickey Newman is seen as useless to requirements.unless you have someone from your area fighting your corner forget it."
Total and utter horseshite

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 05/06/2017 22:23:48    1995295

I am from Kells myself and I don't care one bit where players are from they are all meath men and that is all that counts. if Kells players were good enough they would be on I would say if you don't want to follow the meath team then stick with the club scene then

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 05/06/2017 23:11:00    1995313

Haha Jesus Christ, I had tried to stay out of this thread as some of the logic used is too daft to even try and argue with, but I can't let this one go.

Are you aware of where the McEntees come from?

On what basis are Kells the best forward unit in the county?

Who are these Kells/North Meath forwards that should have lined out against Louth, in place of our current batch that racked up 27 points?

From what part of the county has our main forward of recent times until injury this year come from?

You are aware that our players generally come through from our underage teams with plenty of North Meath involvement,
and aren't plucked out of thin air or by winning an annual South Meath raffle to tog out for the seniors?

Is it down to politics as well that no North Meath club have won the Keegan Cup in over 20 years?

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 06/06/2017 00:40:07    1995346

It is a minority (albeit a vocal one) but there really seems to be a chip on the shoulder of a number of North Meath people regarding south Meath clubs (especially the likes of Ratoath and Don/Ash). I clearly remember the phrase "Dublin c***s" being used very frequently during our time in the Intermediate championship.
Lads, how about you put more effort into getting more North Meath players up to intercounty standard rather than whinging about a different area of the same feckin county.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 06/06/2017 08:56:47    1995372

I couldn't give a flying f**k what clubs the players come from once the team is playing well and winning.
If we won an All-Ireland some posters on here would find a grievance with it.

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 06/06/2017 08:57:27    1995373

Just to point out , I know all about Ronan Jones , exceptional underage talent , who carried that potiental onto Minor and third level success along with Daniel O Neill of W.T, unfortunate to be injured for most of the U21 Season .one of my nominees for MOTM , yesterday , Added a dynamism to the MF that may have been missing in the last few years . Confident going forward , and knows his job. Handed a number of brilliant scoring opportunities to Biggie and co when he could have gone himself . So understands his job .
Put in some good tackles. His movement to support was exceptional ....... Ronan Jones could slot into a number of positions on the field .
the point that I was making earlier is that the opportunities appear to be clustered around the one area . I am not questioning the Calibre of Ronan Jones .So don't even go there ......
The brother thing is a different thing all together ......Travelling on coat tails in a Inter-county set up , always raises questions . !

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 06/06/2017 09:46:01    1995389

Mattimoe was not listed among subs .....on match day.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 06/06/2017 09:52:22    1995397

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Haha Jesus Christ, I had tried to stay out of this thread as some of the logic used is too daft to even try and argue with, but I can't let this one go.

Are you aware of where the McEntees come from?

On what basis are Kells the best forward unit in the county?

Who are these Kells/North Meath forwards that should have lined out against Louth, in place of our current batch that racked up 27 points?

From what part of the county has our main forward of recent times until injury this year come from?

You are aware that our players generally come through from our underage teams with plenty of North Meath involvement,
and aren't plucked out of thin air or by winning an annual South Meath raffle to tog out for the seniors?

Is it down to politics as well that no North Meath club have won the Keegan Cup in over 20 years?"
Simonstown ? Wolfe Tones ?

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 10:13:54    1995411

Replying To Analyst:  "Simonstown ? Wolfe Tones ?"
I consider both as Navan clubs myself, you'd also do well to remember the last time we didn't have any county senior representative from either club so not overly relevant to the case either.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 06/06/2017 12:10:44    1995502

Replying To dunboynelad:  "I consider both as Navan clubs myself, you'd also do well to remember the last time we didn't have any county senior representative from either club so not overly relevant to the case either."
The point you made was no north meath club won the keegan in last 20 years. Wolfe Tones won it and they are a North Meath club. I can assure you also that they are not a Navan club. Every player on their senior team has played underage with club and are from the area unlike most town teams

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 12:30:57    1995517

Replying To meath1977:  "I am from Kells myself and I don't care one bit where players are from they are all meath men and that is all that counts. if Kells players were good enough they would be on I would say if you don't want to follow the meath team then stick with the club scene then"
Meooowwe

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 06/06/2017 12:37:44    1995526

Replying To meath1977:  "I am from Kells myself and I don't care one bit where players are from they are all meath men and that is all that counts. if Kells players were good enough they would be on I would say if you don't want to follow the meath team then stick with the club scene then"
Prob from someone who wouldn't know a lot bout club scene.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 06/06/2017 12:39:06    1995527

Replying To dunboynelad:  "I consider both as Navan clubs myself, you'd also do well to remember the last time we didn't have any county senior representative from either club so not overly relevant to the case either."
The point you made was no north meath club won the keegan in last 20 years. Wolfe Tones won it and they are a North Meath club. I can assure you also that they are not a Navan club. Every player on their senior team has played underage with club and are from the area unlike most town teams

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 12:54:59    1995541