No Navan club players on the team?

Replying To Meath_True:  "Go away outta that BigJoe , can you tell me where Seamie Mattimoe comes in here . He's been tormenting Senior teams for the last 2-3 years for Kells . And done the same at Intermediate level for years before , I don't see him on the panel now . What's that about .I go to matchs and see who the real players are . Token players from the regions is not what its about .
Look at the Ratoath/Dunboyne bias , what's that about . half the County team is supplied by 2 clubs in the county .
Its a number of years since Dunboyne won the Championship . But they have a solid representation . DUNBOYNE.
Navan O Mahony's won the title in the last 3 years and who have they on it ........ Smell the coffee .
The Meath Juniors are managed by Conor O Donoghue , what club is he with/ from DUNBOYNE
The 2 recent debutants on the Meath Squad for the championships are from what Club DUNBOYNE
A player who is currently playing with a Senior Club ( but who no one has heard off outside of a particular club ) , came on as a sub in Meaths Junior Championship Leinster Match recently , what Club is he from DUNBOYNE .
Now I don't have a chip on my shoulder about this or any other thing in relation to GAA , but please don't tell me this is co-incidental .
Oh I forgot , what club did the current Meath Senior manager played football with and lives in DUNBOYNE

Smell the Coffee . BigJoe and the rest of the County"
No chip on your shoulder more like a bag of spuds

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 02/06/2017 21:50:34    1993726

Replying To MillerX:  "There were no Navan players on the 1967 All Ireland winning team and none from Kells either and they were SFC winners in '66. So we don't always need Navan players to be successful and by the way the entire half forward line was made up of Intermediate and Junior club players that year."
Lads I couldn't give a Donald where players are from either so long as we win.
The question was asked simply because i couldn't remember ever seeing a championship side without one.
As has been posted the 1967 team was one example, and the 1970 team that was beaten in the final is another.
Can anyone come up with more recent suggestions ?

BoynesideBlue (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 02/06/2017 22:02:05    1993733

They are Meath not nom, trim, kells . It makes no difference. Its Meath.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/06/2017 22:06:02    1993736

Replying To Barney123:  "
Replying To Meath_True:  "Go away outta that BigJoe , can you tell me where Seamie Mattimoe comes in here . He's been tormenting Senior teams for the last 2-3 years for Kells . And done the same at Intermediate level for years before , I don't see him on the panel now . What's that about .I go to matchs and see who the real players are . Token players from the regions is not what its about .
Look at the Ratoath/Dunboyne bias , what's that about . half the County team is supplied by 2 clubs in the county .
Its a number of years since Dunboyne won the Championship . But they have a solid representation . DUNBOYNE.
Navan O Mahony's won the title in the last 3 years and who have they on it ........ Smell the coffee .
The Meath Juniors are managed by Conor O Donoghue , what club is he with/ from DUNBOYNE
The 2 recent debutants on the Meath Squad for the championships are from what Club DUNBOYNE
A player who is currently playing with a Senior Club ( but who no one has heard off outside of a particular club ) , came on as a sub in Meaths Junior Championship Leinster Match recently , what Club is he from DUNBOYNE .
Now I don't have a chip on my shoulder about this or any other thing in relation to GAA , but please don't tell me this is co-incidental .
Oh I forgot , what club did the current Meath Senior manager played football with and lives in DUNBOYNE

What players would you like to be starting?

And Mattimoe has been inconsistent at best in club football over the last few years and doesn't work as hard as some of our other half forwards but he is a good prospect and that's why he has been kept on the panel. And him being injured for the O'Byrne Cup and nearly all of the league didn't help his chances."
I believe mattimoe will be in 26 on Sunday

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 02/06/2017 22:08:07    1993739

Replying To Brownepat:  "
Replying To Barney123:  "[quote=Meath_True:  "Go away outta that BigJoe , can you tell me where Seamie Mattimoe comes in here . He's been tormenting Senior teams for the last 2-3 years for Kells . And done the same at Intermediate level for years before , I don't see him on the panel now . What's that about .I go to matchs and see who the real players are . Token players from the regions is not what its about .

And Mattimoe has been inconsistent at best in club football over the last few years and doesn't work as hard as some of our other half forwards but he is a good prospect and that's why he has been kept on the panel. And him being injured for the O'Byrne Cup and nearly all of the league didn't help his chances."
I believe mattimoe will be in 26 on Sunday"]Are you sure? Thought he was on the u21 2 or 3 years ago?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 02/06/2017 22:17:07    1993743

Replying To BoynesideBlue:  "Lads I couldn't give a Donald where players are from either so long as we win.
The question was asked simply because i couldn't remember ever seeing a championship side without one.
As has been posted the 1967 team was one example, and the 1970 team that was beaten in the final is another.
Can anyone come up with more recent suggestions ?"

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/06/2017 22:39:01    1993751

Replying To Barney123:  "
Replying To Brownepat:  "[quote=Barney123:  "[quote=Meath_True:  "Go away outta that BigJoe , can you tell me where Seamie Mattimoe comes in here . He's been tormenting Senior teams for the last 2-3 years for Kells . And done the same at Intermediate level for years before , I don't see him on the panel now . What's that about .I go to matchs and see who the real players are . Token players from the regions is not what its about .

I believe mattimoe will be in 26 on Sunday"]Are you sure? Thought he was on the u21 2 or 3 years ago?"]He's not on the 26 for sunday

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 03/06/2017 00:31:17    1993780

Subs are.....
Big joe
Toher
Newman
O'Caoileann
Douglas
Conlon
Thomas o'reilly
Cian O'brien
Sean tobin
Adam Flanagan

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 03/06/2017 00:36:13    1993781

For all your moaning about Dunboyne I think you'd need to be reminded what the last Dunboyne man in charge of the team did. But sure he was only a hurling lad

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 03/06/2017 01:47:22    1993792

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Subs are.....
Big joe
Toher
Newman
O'Caoileann
Douglas
Conlon
Thomas o'reilly
Cian O'brien
Sean tobin
Adam Flanagan"
Sure tell us who all the navan players were then from 98 to 2003.... there were many years from 88 onwards where there was no navan men on meath championship teams. Ridiculous post.

TheGrunt (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 03/06/2017 02:34:03    1993796

you seem to have a thing about Dunboyne maybe you should go on your holidays there

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 03/06/2017 09:43:46    1993827

Best Meath manager of all time from dunboyne

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 03/06/2017 10:31:28    1993842

Head4theblackspit

Plaudits , honors where their due , your statement is correct , he was the best Manager of the Meath team ever. He got the best out of players that some said were beyond their best before date. but what has the past got to do with the present . And why the current bias

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2017 12:40:43    1993889

Replying To meath1977:  "

you seem to have a thing about Dunboyne maybe you should go on your holidays there"
I don't have a Dub jersey in my wardrobe

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2017 12:55:45    1993892

Replying To meath1977:  "

you seem to have a thing about Dunboyne maybe you should go on your holidays there"
Joking , I love generating debate , or giving some of the blinkered fraternity something to focus on

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2017 12:56:47    1993895

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "

For all your moaning about Dunboyne I think you'd need to be reminded what the last Dunboyne man in charge of the team did. But sure he was only a hurling lad"
LeutrimRoyal , my point exactly . What's the bias . History is history . We dwelled there too long and thus is where we now are .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2017 13:03:04    1993899

Your dead right you definitely don't have a chip on your shoulder anyway!!!! By far and away the most outrageous post I've ever seen on this forum. I'll address each 'point' you made..
1. Senior club championship winners are irrelevant to the county senior panel. Dunboyne were knocked out by the eventual winners the last two years in a row by narrow margins so could easily have won it. Plus, Conor Nash, Shane O Rourke and Podge McKeever (Players from last years championship winners) would all be pushing for starting places on the Meath team had they have been able to commit.
2. Conor O Donoghue seems to be a good manager to brought Dunboyne from a team who couldn't get out of the group to bookies favourites to win the championship this year and last, after a couple of group games. They are genuine contenders.
3. So what if the two debutants are from Dunboyne. Ronan Jones has been the best midfielder at club level in Meath since he was u17 and playing with the Meath Minors. People have been crying out for him to play, then when hes named to make his debut your giving out. As for Shane Mc, maybe a questionable inclusion at the start of the league but I think his performances since have merited this start. Who would you have ahead of him???
4. The player 'no one has heard of' with the Meath juniors is Ronan Jones older brother, who has been away playing soccer the last few years and could never commit to football. Fair play to the juniors for giving him a chance and if he's half the talent his younger brother is Meath would be lucky to have him

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 03/06/2017 15:01:12    1993926

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "

Your dead right you definitely don't have a chip on your shoulder anyway!!!! By far and away the most outrageous post I've ever seen on this forum. I'll address each 'point' you made..
1. Senior club championship winners are irrelevant to the county senior panel. Dunboyne were knocked out by the eventual winners the last two years in a row by narrow margins so could easily have won it. Plus, Conor Nash, Shane O Rourke and Podge McKeever (Players from last years championship winners) would all be pushing for starting places on the Meath team had they have been able to commit.
2. Conor O Donoghue seems to be a good manager to brought Dunboyne from a team who couldn't get out of the group to bookies favourites to win the championship this year and last, after a couple of group games. They are genuine contenders.
3. So what if the two debutants are from Dunboyne. Ronan Jones has been the best midfielder at club level in Meath since he was u17 and playing with the Meath Minors. People have been crying out for him to play, then when hes named to make his debut your giving out. As for Shane Mc, maybe a questionable inclusion at the start of the league but I think his performances since have merited this start. Who would you have ahead of him???
4. The player 'no one has heard of' with the Meath juniors is Ronan Jones older brother, who has been away playing soccer the last few years and could never commit to football. Fair play to the juniors for giving him a chance and if he's half the talent his younger brother is Meath would be lucky to have him"
Excellent post

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2017 18:15:21    1993987

Meath_True- You are not supposed to give your opinion on this tread. The herd (who are the real experts in case you do not know) are very offended judging by all those copy and paste posts. Good to see Keoghan at CB and I wish the best of luck to all tomorrow and hope the weather keeps up.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/06/2017 18:51:33    1994000

Replying To browncows:  "Meath_True- You are not supposed to give your opinion on this tread. The herd (who are the real experts in case you do not know) are very offended judging by all those copy and paste posts. Good to see Keoghan at CB and I wish the best of luck to all tomorrow and hope the weather keeps up."
You're not allowed give your opinion when it is bias and BS. Some people on this forum want a team which is only made up of players north of Navan. Sure who cares if they can play football once they are hardy hardy men who can lay into the Dubs. The days of punching lads in the nose and lumping in high ball are over. It doesn't work anymore. As for the comment about Dunboyne being Dubs well it's just standard. I think people from a border town tend to have the most hatred towards their neighbours

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 03/06/2017 20:51:05    1994064