Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from Kingofthehill100

Mayo Ladies Walk Out - 9 Like(s)
Cora and Martha Carter wernt happy with their reduced roles and not being allowed to control the set up like under previous weaker managers. They responded by attempting to oust the manager. They were influential enough to bring club mates and a couple others. So selfish as they players have long futures. Then when the rest of the panel were strong and united they became trapped. Hiding behind player welfare and mental health is shameful. If these are issues they have not been caused by management. Only specifics given were being called lazy and uncommitted. Neither of these are a problem and any manager is well entitled to express this. 12 who left should be advised that the public is against them and they should drop this or give valid reasons for such accusations (doubt there are any). Embarrassing stuff for all involved and does nothing for the ladies game. Although the remaining panel and manager cannot be blamed!! Hopefully doesn't stop other men getting involved in ladies football in the future. Hopefully Peter Leahy gets success very soon.

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 18/09/2018 14:31:28

Kerry V Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Be a tight blood and thunder game i think similar to our last visit to Tralee. Either team could shade it but wont be by much and a draw is probably were the smart money may be. Not sure the result will be telling one way or the other. Any Dublin could turn up really, with a very cobwebby Dublin playing 75% of game time so far, but we have quality so you never know. Wouldn't mind seeing youth get it fling, as i expect lads on both sides to be leaving the game missing lumps so i would be tempted to give the majority of the young panel players the experience. Looking forward to seeing Sean O Shea in the flesh, i made a bold statement last year that i thought he was a more influential and talented player to Kerry then young Clifford and to be honest hes backed my faith in him, looks absolute quality. Looks like a lot of focus in initial games has been on Kerry's defensive system and you can understand that given the last couple of years, i think they may be trying to develop a counter attacking system over all, so be interesting to see how it all pans out. Whats Tralee like for parking for games lads? any tips? Im driving down to this one and probably rock up about mid afternoon and might go onto Killarney or further after the game and do a couple of days down in the South West got the train the last time."
Id advise getting the luas mate

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 05/02/2019 15:07:17

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Soy milk Almond milk Rice milk Coconut milk Etc"
breast milk?

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 07/02/2019 16:46:44

Tyrone Vs Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "I know we are... wont argue.. and what's worse is its 2015 since ye bet us.. God help you when Kevin steps down next year and we start playing ball. Best of luck in the league, that was some win over Tyrone, I'd say you will win the league and Connacht and Sam as well. Unbelievable display away to the mighty Tyrone"
This type of sarcastic message is pathetic really. Give your opinion lad and listen to others. Mayo great performance, good win. Gives the faithful optimism for the coming weeks. Galway in grand position too

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 05/02/2019 14:50:46

Mayo Ladies Walk Out - 2 Like(s)
A manager is entitled to call a player lazy if he feels they are? Commitment isn't showing up to training it is giving your all when you are there. Few players couldn't deal with a managers honest opinion. If this is player welfare then sport as we know it is no more. Would not encourage males to get involves in ladies football if this is a trend.

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 18/09/2018 11:22:13

Mayo Ladies Walk Out - 2 Like(s)

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can anyone explain what happened from start to finish and why?? You read everywhere on Facebook people making comments then saying "I'm saying no more about it." It's very frustrating"
I'm saying no more about it

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 23/08/2018 15:57:35

Tyrone Vs Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "Lol.. in fairness you can see Mayo are flying it.. peaking for March.."
Here's hoping mayo can match Galway's one win in croke park this decade :)

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 06/02/2019 11:33:39

Team To Play Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To mayomanic:  "Any thoughts on the team to face Tyrone. Do we try out a few new lads or stick with the old brigade Here's my selection Hennelly O'Donaghue Harrison Higgins Boyle Plunkett Durcan o'shea Vaughan O'Connor Keegan Boland/McDonagh Doherty Reape Diskin I'd be using Vaughan, O'Shea, Keegan and O'Connor as a middle four. Would like to see Osin Mcloughlin get a run at some stage, liked the look of him during last years u20 championship. Does anyone know anything about James Carr who has been on the development squad for the past 2/3 years? don't think he's played a game of any description."
Keegan is not a forward. This has been tried. He is an exceptional half back. No need to mess with that

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - 04/02/2019 12:10:59

Mayo Ladies Walkout - 1 Like(s)

Replying To number_1:  "When this comes out I'll be surprised if you come back onto the forum..."
I told you I'd come back. No issues just a failed coup. Coranacon!!!

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - 10/09/2018 12:55:05

NFL Division 4 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "This is a huge weekend for Leitrim. If they beat Antrim, they have an excellent chance to go up. Hope they do it - I have always had a soft spot for them."
Best of luck to Leitrim. Don't think theres a county in in Connacht that wouldn't like to see them climb from Div 4

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 08/02/2019 16:32:29

2 of the carnacon 8 shown straight red cards at the weekend. Discipline and not getting their own way seems to be a huge issue? Although easily won and will fancy there chances of going a long way

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - 15/10/2018 12:55:33

Noelle Healy Transfer - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Rosineri1:  "I am suggesting more counties set up divisional teams for senior championship"
This is the best solution I feel. To me the GAA is about representing your parish. Not moving to the club that will give you glory with strangers. 1 big win with your home parish would always mean so much more. The Kerry solution gives the best of both worlds

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 14/02/2019 12:57:59

The power struggle between management and the ego's of a couple of players has cost a lot of ladies their season. Sellfish beyond belief from these few players!!!!

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - 23/08/2018 11:19:37

Hand Pass Rule Common Sense Prevails - 1 Like(s)

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Wexford made a total of 35 handpasses in succession in a 3 minute period of holding possession against Antrim last Sunday in Wexford Park. If the handpass rule had stood they would have had to kick the ball 11 times in that period. Wexford were three points in front Antrim were defending deep Wexford went from the Antrim 21 the whole way back to their goalkeeper twice during the passage of play. Absolute puke football to watch."
Then Antrim should have pushed up no? The onus is on them to come out of their defensive shell

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 05/02/2019 14:55:15

Good to hear. Player power at its worst has been crushed and its great to see. Huge respect to the manager who didn't have room for egos.

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - 22/08/2018 17:05:28

Andy Moran retires - 1 Like(s)

Replying To valley84:  "Greatest player to never even play for his own county"
Managed to win a Mayo county title though with his club Ballaghdareen :)

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 29/08/2019 12:00:01

New TG4 TV Show Ar Gclub - 1 Like(s)
Really excited by the sounds of this new show starting Thursday. Knowing TG4 it will be excellent. Really hope that RTE can get on board in the coming years with some extra GAA content. The audiences for it are there. Shows based around clubs, club members, Croke park behind the scenes, GAA abroad and maybe the mayo curse haha would all be welcome.

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 05/02/2019 17:29:19

Footballer Of The Year - 1 Like(s)
My 3 top picks for Footballer of the year in this order. 1. Andy Moran (no need to explain) 2. Tom Parsons (because it makes me feel warm inside) 3. James Nallen

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 29/08/2019 12:02:49

Mayo Vs Roscommon - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "Hard luck to our players and management last night, the competitive performance was delivered and we just came up short by one point from getting at least a point out of that game last night. The awful weather conditions suited a stronger and more physical team which was clearly Mayo but we didn't back down and kept fighting until the end which was very encouraging. Of course when you lose a game by the narrowest of margins you will tend to look back at where we could have won this game as the winning of it was there. 1st half clearly was that and to score only 5 times from 14 attempts on goal was a killer and huge bonus to Mayo. On another night Cathal Cregg with his experience would have taken that goal with his eyes closed. As been mentioned on here already it made little sense as to why Enda Smith was given the responsibility to take all frees last night when we had 5 better or more natural free takers than him. Donie Smith was a lucky boy and for the same incident another ref would have sent him and Higgins off. If we are to lose what could be our top scoring forward for a long time it will be huge blow to our chances of staying up. I didn't notice it at the time but having watch it back since how was that Mayo goal allowed to stand last night? and they failed to score for the remaining 12 minutes of the games which shows it was a game of inches last night. We need to bring the same guts and determination into the remaining games and more competitive performance like last night and we will be on the right side of the result. Best for me last night was Killoran,Compton,N Daly and Hussey on his league debut. Hopefully in the weeks ahead our injury list will get shorter, Mullooly,Murray,Devaney are close to a return we are down to the bare bones at the moment as shown with giving 6 players their Div 1 debut last night."
How would you possibly think Higgins could have been sent off after he was eye gouged. All he did in response was stand up and get in his face.

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 28/01/2019 09:52:37

Best Young Players In The Country - 1 Like(s)
David Clifford Kerry Brian Howard Dublin 2 decent prospects

Kingofthehill100 (National) - 24/01/2019 11:53:12