Dubs celebrate on the double at RTE Sport Awards

December 15, 2019

Dublin's John Small, Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny celebrate

Dublin’s All-Ireland SFC five in-a-row heroics was recognised with the Team of the Year award at last night’s RTE Sport Awards while Jim Gavin was crowned Manager of the Year.

Legendary former Dublin player and manager Tony Hanahoe presented Gavin with his award and, earlier in proceedings, the Round Towers clubman told presenter Joanne Cantwell that he’s looking forward to supporting the team from the stands in 2020.

“I’ve given it my all for as long as I could and I’ve a responsibility, not only to the team, but all of Dublin GAA to ensure the team do grow again,” he remarked.

“I think it’s in the best interests of everything from my family to my work in aviation and indeed for the team itself, it’s best to hand on. I’m looking forward to seeing the guys growing again in 2020.”

Ciaran Kilkenny, Brian Fenton, Paul Mannion and Brian Howard were on hand to accept the Team of the Year accolade and Kilkenny, who described Gavin as a ‘father-figure’, commented: “We’re going to miss him but we’re really excited about the new challenge.

“A lot of us have played under Dessie (Farrell) before so we’re really excited for the next chapter.”

On Farrell’s appointment as Gavin’s successor this week, midfielder Fenton added: “The three of us (Fenton, Kilkenny and Mannion) know Dessie quite well, having been with him when we were under-21s.

“We’ve a lot of respect there for him and he comes with a nice pedigree as well.

“We’re looking forward to it, a huge challenge, obviously Jim brought so much to the table.”

Most Read Stories