FL4 round-up: Saffrons and Garden County sign off with wins

March 24, 2019

Antrim's Ryan Murray and Wicklow's Mark Kenny.

Antrim claimed a third-place finish in Division Four, while Wicklow also won their Round Seven outing this afternoon.

The Saffrons defeated Limerick by 2-12 to 1-11 at Newcastlewest, Ryan Murray and Matthew Fitzpatrick netting in the seventh and 17th minutes of the second half respectively to help Lenny Harbinson's men record their third win in seven league outings.

The hosts had led by 1-7 to 0-5 at the break, Cillian Fahy their goalscorer and Jamie Lee floating over six points.

With Derry and Leitrim miles ahead and assured of promotion and a place in next weekend’s Division Four final, Antrim are one of four teams to finish on six points, their superior scoring difference meaning they come third.

Wicklow also got their third win today, and finish fifth, beating London by 0-8 to 0-6 in Aughrim. The Exiles slotted the first three points with the wind at their backs and the hosts didn’t register until the 25th minute, when Mark Kenny hit the target. Goalkeeper Mark Jackson and Gearoid Murphy (2) converted frees as the winners led by the odd point from seven at the short whistle.

Rory Finn and Anthony McLoughlin (frees) made it double scores and points from Murphy and McLoughlin got the Garden County over the line after the losers twice closed within the minimum.

Antrim - A Hasson; P McCormick, P Gallagher, J McAuley; N Delargy, D Lynch, E Walsh; M Fitzpatrick (1-2), M Johnson; K Quinn, S Beatty (0-1), P McBride (0-3f); C Duffin (0-1), R Murray (1-4, 0-2f), E Nagle. Subs: F Burke for E Walsh, R Johnston for J McAuley, J Smith (0-1m) for E Nagle, P Branagan for S Beatty, O Eastwood for K Quinn.

Limerick - D O’Sullivan; S O’Dea, G Noonan, M Donovan; B Fanning, I Corbett, T McCarthy; D Treacy, S Keeley; S McSweeney (0-2f), C Fahy (1-0), M Fitzgibbon (0-1m); J Lee (0-6, 3f), P Begley (0-1), P Nash. Subs: A Enright (0-1) for P Nash, P Scanlon for J Lee, G Brown for G Noonan, R Lynch for D Treacy, P De Brun for P Begley.

Referee - S Mulvihill.


Wicklow - M Jackson (0-1f); E Murtagh, R O’Brien, J Snell; D Devereux, S Mooney, C Healy; D Healy, P O’Toole; T Smyth, R Finn (0-1f), G Murphy (0-3, 2f); M Kenny (0-1), A McLoughlin (0-2f), P O’Connor. Subs: S Kearon for C Healy, C O’Brien for P O’Connor, C Magee for T Smyth.

London - N Maher; M Moynihan, E Flanagan, C O’Neill; P McGirr, D Carrabine, R Jones; M Clarke, L Gavaghan (0-3, 2f); M Gottsche, B Tully, L Mulvey (0-1); F McMahon, L Feerick, K Butler (0-1). Subs: L Gallagher for F McMahon, A McGarvey for M Gottsche, S Hickey for L Mulvey, C Doran (0-1) for K Butler, R Devlin for P McGirr.

Referee - S Mulhare.

Most Read Stories