Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from bananapublican

Leitrim GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
Square B by an even minded view of where Leitrim are this year I can think of 6 positives; 1) Far better buy in from the best players to the squad. 2) conditioning on some of the players is far better than last year(doesn't necessarily legislate an improvement of a players impact) 3) a lot of players tried out. 4) youth and future seems to longterm thinking in the selection. 5) up to aftermath of London game, extremely positive vibe from the camp (which unfortunately came a cropper with a certain players individualistic outlook) 6) we went toe to toe for 20 minutes against oms of the stronger teams, other years game was gone from us at that stage. 7) the tradition of 1 v1 is gone in the GAA even now in hurling. Andy has played around with different sweepers but there was a much stronger sense of an attack plan added this year even if results were mixed. Patience I stress is lacking in our county. We have an exaggerated sense of our standing within the sport. Most counties if asked to rank us would place us between 26th and 28th in Ireland. To expect a sudden transformation within 6 months from Andy Moran or any coach is making the same mistake we have done over and over again. U17s draw gives optimism as did the fighting spirit of u20s but not a conveyor belt of Clifford's coming through. Next years League and Championship is really when we can judge Andys impact. Give the man a chance and have realistic targets for him.

bananapublican (National) - 11/05/2022 13:52:50

Leitrim GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
1. Darren Maxwell sustained injury against London and had not recovered in time to be considered. 2. First 20 mins yesterday Leitrim were excellent all over the field. 3.if management are to be faulted (which overall I think they are bringing a team into the modern game, some taking to it faster than others) I would say was lack of patience with their own plan. The switch of Ciaran Cullen on Molloy was working very well overall then hauled him off and certainly Molloy became a huge menace to Leitrim. Donal Casey's obvious bad injury and being left on surely didn't help. Keith Beirne coming on brought nothing to it. If he doesn't buy into the collective, let him out to pasture. Lots of good lads trained all winter to not even get a seat on the bus yesterday. Those calling for Andy Moran's head will always be expecting instant results. This is not hair dye. No quick fix. We need to be patient and give this team time to grow. Tailteann Cup is a great competition for teams to throw off the shackles and get a trip to Croke Park at the end. If that doesn't give lads an incentive then they shouldn't be playing sport.

bananapublican (National) - 09/05/2022 15:42:51

County Panel 2019 - 3 Like(s)
A lot of positives; Paddy MaGuire, Aidan Flynn before his injury, Fergal McTague in the second half, Shane Moran if he could move the ball quicker, Pearse Dolan, Sean McWeeney sweeping, Conor Reynolds second half, Jack Heslin's angle of running even if his finishing didn't match, Evan Sweeney's debut, Shane Quinn's work rate and our use of the bench being highlights of a rather useful run out for the team. Domhnall Flynn while he tried didn't contribute a whole pile, Mark Plunkett likewise, worked hard for the team. But I thought overall Ray Mulvey brought us something different, with a more settled back 6 he is only going to get better. He is in serious shape, thinks fast and his speed is a huge asset that we have been lacking for years. Terry and his selectors are lucky compared to previous managers in the sense that they have the best players making themselves available. The aim should be to build on today and aim to have at least 6 points after 4 games and be in the hunt for promotion. A good league would augur well for the lads going into the championship. Well done to the lads today. They renewed my hope and showed a fighting spirit to come from so far behind to almost snatch an improbable win.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 06/01/2019 20:12:39

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Great response to a scurrilous remark with no foundation about Keith Beirne. Yesterday was the his best day with his accuracy but I saw a player that left everything on the field. He caught some great ball and harried defenders all day, some leading to turnovers. The 2 County Finals remark is from someone who wasn't there to appreciate how bloody good he was and kept Mohill in the hunt when others went missing. He was double marked yesterday like most days which leads to the question why no snide remarks against the free player, who really should be shining when Keith is being held by 2 players. Also a common trait amongst Leitrim supporters is to celebrate the flash player who never committed and bemoan the players who give it their all. Maybe that's the reason we continue to fall short. Time to appreciate these great players who give so much to give us great afternoons like yesterday. That resurgence in the second half sends us to NY with a lot more hope than we had 20 mins in to the 2nd half. That takes the culmination of spirit and belief as well as physical endeavours and skill. Our lads have it. Keep it up. The results will come.

bananapublican (National) - 27/03/2023 15:02:49

Championship 2018 - 2 Like(s)
County Board must now decide whether to keep present management team or not, not 12 weeks time. Get new manager now if they decide to end Benny's tenure so that he actually might watch club championship games. Harsh as this may sound but Benny could do with stepping back, learn more by going back with a club and like Declan Bonar come back a better manager and make a difference. Best thing for Leitrim football is a new man with a bit of charisma and a track record of turning around the fortunes of a team.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 02/07/2018 13:15:08

Connacht Championship - 2 Like(s)
Last few posts have balance to them, Emlyn certainly was a great servant as was a Gary. The problem I see it is the management hit on a winning formula in the rounds of the league prior to the final, then decided to tweak it, far too much in my mind but then again easy to say when you are not privy to what goes on in training. The lack of S&C development is a red herring, lads that can run will run, Shane Moran wasn't found lacking physically and he had a year out and don't think he has much more done in the gym than a lot of them. Things we knew prior to Sunday; Aidan Flynn and Jack Heslin are dynamic type of players who evade tackles when carrying the ball like Micheal McWeeney, Paddy McGuire and Ray Mulvey, their speed is sufficient for them to open up space and put teams on the back foot yet those first two didn't start. Fergal McTague transformed into a good full back last year. He has been hampered with injury since early February and not going well with club. And he is started at midfield. He was the sacrificial lamb. The day was a hot day, a day for fit and fast runners yet we started three very slow players. Passing was poor coming into the game from key players especially from the boot and that continued on Sunday giving Ryan little or no chance to shine. Prior to Croke Park we had a team united on and off the field and how in the space of over a month the whole thing has gone to shreds. Losing Conor and Dara was bad but losing more since is careless. These are the future of Leitrim's only chance to shine and this year leaves a sour taste in what started off so well. This all sounds negative towards Management but read it right, it was their selection that got players back wearing the green, it was them who got belief into the players, it was them who ensured we got promoted and made the final. That's a lot of right decisions that they must be credited with. Where I think they have made a mistake is trying too soon to improve things, seeking perfection not realizing their original selections were as good as it gets with maybe blooding a few younger lads gradually. Our full back line was our best line in the league yet our half back line could have done with building up. Full back line is the foundation and if that's shaky it makes for an unsteady team. All management has to do now is review all the things they got right in the main and tweak a few spots where pace is a problem and we could have 3 games in the qualifiers. All is not lost.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 17/05/2019 19:25:24

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
Congrats to the team and management on gaining promotion to div 3 with 2 games to spare. While yesterday was celebrated like it was 1994 again if I was to be honest yesterday the team were poor. Just like Limerick only Aiden Flynn and Ray Mulvey played near their best with Paddy McGuire, Michael McWeeney and Seán McWeeney all coming into it well. Gary scored 2 points but 1-3 from play from our backs against 0-4 from our forwards is not a team that is progressing. Nerves and weather conditions yesterday played their part and to be fair with 15 minutes to go the team did look solid and good enough to see it out. It's been a great campaign but one has to worry about Ryan's lack of scoring, Darragh's lack of form and in general lack of goal chances since Jack went off against Antrim. We need to remedy this. Derry are beatable and for momentum we should try to win both remaining games giving a few fringe players experience. Let's all get behind the team in the remaining games and see you all in Croke Park.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 04/03/2019 20:01:24

Connacht Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Your terrible league was in Div 1, where ye were well beaten in 2 games out of 7, won one and were in the rest right til the end so not buying that. Your underage development has been better than ours so anything less than a strong 8point plus victory should be looked at as a poor result. If you want to whine about players ye lost have a look at the turnover of players leitrim have suffered since the recession.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 01/06/2017 00:58:46

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
Unearthing these players, they were all the best players in their club. Unearthing sounds like he sculpted them, this Benny did not. As for praising the underage structures, 2 recent minor teams being the exception, the team that won the minor league and the team the year after, the rest have produced nothing except for the occasional player. There are very few who weren't in Croke Park on the panel good enough to make a difference.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 02/04/2019 14:46:10

National League 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Peircep you have only surfaced recently, you and a few other posters seem to be spindoctors for a failed management team! Trump like tactics with misdirection being used to avoid discussion about the real issues. 1) there is little or no justification for the dropping of two very popular members of the squad. 2) winning v Limerick while welcomed doesn't disguise the fact that we were soundly beaten with 20 mins remaining in the 3 games previous to that. 3) the shuffling around of the team means that realistically only goalie full back and full forward are the only nailed down positions on the team after a season and a half of football. That surely can't inspire confidence in the other panel members. 4) €50 tickets for a poor prize pool in the supporters club draw and pressure placed on already strapped clubs to sell 50-100 each is very unjust as only 300 turned up last Sunday to support the team. The knock on effect of bad decisions by the county board is having huge repercussions for every club. A levy on clubs would be a more honest way of collecting funds and leave those outside the county board to run the supporters club as it was before. 5) would love to know in advance how many co board officials will go all expenses paid on the New York jaunt.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 27/02/2018 18:37:15

New Leitrim Manager - 1 Like(s)
Agree with previous poster, the suggested management team is window dressing. John O Mahoney didn't do a lot with Mayo last time around, Benny Gickian has an awful record, Colin Regan is unproven, Now give Moyles the job or at least a minor/U21 panel as he has pedigree and same with Rooney or Gary Donohoe. They have been parts of successful teams. Don't sell ourselves short again. That suggested team has too many chiefs to succeed, Cody puts quiet men around him as has all winning managers in the past. A consultation with Declan Darcy has to be done before any appointment is made.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 19/08/2016 11:06:59

Championship team of the year 2017. - 1 Like(s)
After last weekends action, a few players must come in to the reckoning, the absence of any real threat from Wrynn and O Rourke is worrying from a county point of view. The Willies were well and truly beaten by a mix of youth and wily campaigners from Manor. Worrying is how few teams can not yet handle James Glancy. You'd expect Evan Sweeney and Paddy MaGuire to shine as they are in form but Glancy has been deemed past it by most observers in recent years yet I have seen him 4 times in the Championship and he is rolling back the years. This points to an ever lowering of standards and a lack of any real dominant force in Leitrim football especially the trouble Mohill encountered from Drumreilly. St Marys just about got over the line against a Melvin Gaels team devoid of serious hitters and Sean O Heslin's while talented have not been tested. All things as they are county final will be between Mohill and Manor. Can't see any club's outside the county quaking in their boots come Connacht club championship.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 22/09/2017 12:54:18

Tough year ahead for Leitrim - 1 Like(s)
In all reality this is where we are at, our club results at senior club level have surely been a barometer where we are at. Sean O Heslins run in Intermediate should be seen for what it was, 3rd or 4th best club in county playing against teams well down the pecking order from the other counties and yet well beaten by Westport. The present crop of u21s are the only bright light on the horizon but nothing bar Dara Rooney from last years minors to excite the most optimistic fan. The short term plans of co boards is what is killing us. To manage a development squad in Leitrim doesn't seem to difficult. Surely the executive can head hunt great coaches and have a system that will bear fruit for ten years in a row rather than endless praise for producing a team that can be competitive. This is where we are at. No better than anytime in past 5 years. Fact

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 15/01/2017 19:50:28

Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
I am truly astounded by the brilliance of each man earlier in Pairc Sean, a few pints later and I am still on a high from that great result. I honestly didn't see it coming. There was luck involved in our goalies mistake in making the team have to play with freedom to chase the lead, the sending off (it was a red card) but it depended on Louth having an indisciplined player and also the squad losing Keith Beirne, who I rate but the limited game plan we had when he was there had to be abandoned due to his self imposed exile. Now to praise Benny and his management team, they picked the right team today, rewarded the form players, trusted them when some of there shooting early on was wayward and allowed them to express themselves in a manner that I have felt all along they had in them as a group. This was the first signs of progress. And while its late coming its great to see it. This worked because there was a huge work ethic, the players looked relaxed and seem to gain strength from each other with their tackling, shooting and some excellent fielding. Regardless of who we draw next I really hope that we don't change anything much. Leitrim people are battlers, we are a simple race of people who like defying the odds from time to time. No new fangled systems seem to work, just a team that battles, keeps their head up and sweats for the cause like today will keep the die hard fans happy and will see a new wave of supporters come out and cheer on this young bunch of players. Moran, Rooney, O Rourke and Heslin today were immense. They covered ground, bounced back after some hard tackles and just gained huge confidence as the game went on. Our captain today finally fulfilled his undoubted talent with a huge effort, no wonder he had to go off with cramp. His contribution was immeasurable. I hope Colin Regan follows up his last article with another rabble rousing piece in the Observer this week because all the things he talked about were evident today. Hopefully this can be the start of something beautiful. Lets get behind this squad in the next game. Let the opposition know we are Leitrim and that we are never beaten. We have nothing to lose.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 24/06/2018 00:44:47

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
This result while hard to take isn't the shock it seems to be in some people's eyes. NY have been doing superb work getting away from the old import a few stars model from years ago and their first win was inevitable, unfortunately against us. Our goal chances and missed points chances put pay to what should have been a win but these things happen. This is what makes sport so compelling. There are no foregone conclusions as much as some people would have you believe but our 94 success, Leicester winning the Prem League and Connacht winning that year also means that the underdog will have their day and rather than sulk about it or finger point, ask yourself could you have done more to prevent it,be it play,coach or an administration role. If the answer is yes then I am afraid you have no business coming on a forum slagging off those who put themselves in the line of fire because if abuse such as a smile in a photo (split second) can target you for abuse, then why would any player or coach bother especially for our county. Now for the Roy Keane judgement on everything we must forget that it is sport, I ask you to go back to your clubs and apply the high standards you seek and from there everyone will prosper. Only one thing if everyone ends up doing everything right, chances are with our population our county will even win less than they already do. Just on the team photo issue, I watched Ruari Canavan for Tyrone march behind the band in Pairc Sean last year before All Ireland U20 final having the craic with his team mates, walked backwards for most of it. Played well after but that puts pay to the smile means not playing well theory.

bananapublican (National) - 13/04/2023 08:56:27

When we were younger we all had dreams, only so much hard work and encouragement can help you fulfill those dreams. The path your life takes either gets you to your destination or all the hurdles along the way that you didn't quite negotiate along the way quenches the dream and reality sets in, you give up and settle for something else.
Well looking in at Benny Guckian, those hurdles were thrown in his path, he never quite negotiated them successfully as a coach and everyone knows that. I can only admire his resolve and determination to get the job but you'd question his logic as a Leitrim man to see a better coaching unit discarded for his coaching team looked ok on paper but nothing great, as in it did not have one on the management team that had enjoyed success in recent years.
Now roll on 18 months, this dream team has become a nightmare. And whoever steps in can not be prepared for the task ahead. Players self belief is low, confidence in management has evaporated and where a new management team could build on what's there at the moment he would be starting from scratch.
From my perspective either of these two things should happen;
1: Benny steps down immediately or
2: Co Board should get rid of him and the entire management team.

Leadership required, no more acceptance of well meaning people with little pedigree for the important jobs, no more cronyism in underage management selections and finally no more clubs nominating managers. Sub committtee of former players with a current player should be tasked with headhunting co manager. Several good ones available within our own county and the surrounding counties.
Time to change! No more settling for poor standards.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 15/02/2018 08:31:54

Leitrim Football 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Carrick and Ballinamore areas have won all Ireland titles, we have players who make Sigersoj teams, we had a team that defeated Galway in the Under 21s and we have a Connacht League Minot team winning the competition. As talent coming through this is as good as it gets. We never had it so good. Disingenuous to suggest that the players are to blame. In the right hands and with club teams looking on at a great management team getting the best from this crop would have such a positive effect on the entire county. We lack ambition, end of!

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 28/10/2017 17:37:11

Could the GAA go professional? - 1 Like(s)
I would love if the GAA would do a very patriotic thing to curb the outflow of our young people from this country. It could at least do a feasability study on having a professional league in Hurling and football. Now before the die hards get on my back, the present form of 32 counties wouldn't work, I know. But 16 regional teams would. Dublin and Cork would be fit to have 2 teams. Amalgamations would be needed with weaker counties. Hurling possibly could have an 8 team pro league. The age old argument is it has always been amateur but everything else has moved on, why not trash this out. Unfortunately the county boards, littered with a lot of oldies won't give this the research such a subject merits. A good professional league would also stop the mess that now is the club scene, it would give a certain season and a better structure to the year. I have 2 young sons who love the game but face the grim possibility of emigration if we don't think radically. It is hard to keep expecting them to train hard for a sport with no real prospects when if they put as much into another sport there is a chance of making a living and staying at home.

bananapublican (National) - 07/04/2012 13:32:20

Club Championship 2019 - 1 Like(s)
While it's annoying that our club matches are fixed at a time when huge games are being televised the games must go on and unless all clubs play 12.00pm abd 1.30pm on Sunday which would be huge test on referee resources there is no other way to do it. Last weekend the shadowboxing continued, all clubs know what needs to be done to get out of their respective groups. Some results looked like shocks but there is a certain amount of deceit in them. Some clubs look better than they are through having to go to the max to ensure they get the points while others are in second or third gear. The big 5 Mary's, Manor, Mohill, Sean O Heslins and Aughawillan all guaranteed already quarter final berths. Like the league get the senior champ down to 8 teams, each team plays 3 games in 1st rd in two groups of 4, top 4 go to semis bottom 2 relegated. Means every game will have huge consequences. Think realistically it's the only way standards improve. Every team has minimum of 3 championship games. 5 games to win championship.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 08/08/2019 14:07:15

Conor Cullen was in the same boat all along but now deemed surplus to requirements. Surely having him in the squad availing of the expertise of the Physio's and S&C team would exlediate his recovery seeing he was part of the squad a few weeks ago. He is definitely one of the most talented players in the county and hopefully he is not put off by this decision. Emlyn Mulligan has been a great servant, that is without question.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - 01/03/2018 09:14:35