Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Backheel

Mayo Kerry League Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Vish:  "The sun shiner mayo fans will show up for the game 10/15 mins before kick-off, The footballing fans without rose tinted specs will be in croke park already with 1 eye on the Galway/Ross game,"
You can slag off Mayo about plenty of stuff, but they have the best support in the country bar none. Strange comment.

Backheel (National) - 03/04/2022 14:06:51

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Mickod88:  "Here here, someone told me that Galway beat Tryone in the pub and it dawned on me - for someone that'd consider himself a huge fan of the GAA, I didn't even realise the game was on and whats worse is that I honestly didn't care? This craic of putting on a hape of meaningless games and putting them behind a paywall is absolutely turning my stomach. They're absolutely flogging the players for financial gain The worst thing about the whole setup is that Mayo, Dublin and Kerry can be beat 2 or 3 times in the championship and we'll still have to look at one or both of them on All-Ireland day. The whole thing is a hiding to nothing for the likes of ourselves, Kildare, Roscommon, Derry, Armagh, Cork, Westmeath, Down, Meath, Etc... Gone are the days of a team getting on a good run and a big dog getting caught on the hop. The All-Ireland in now just like the champions league in soccer (By Design) where unless something goes drastically wrong, you'll be seeing Madrid v Barca v Bayern v EPL v PSG year in year out.. I personally couldn't care less about an All-Ireland of Kerry v Dublin this year, yeah great footballers but whats the fun in it? It'd be great for the likes of Armagh or Roscommon to win it for a change - they'd actually savour it. But no, this new money grab setup has killed the whole ethos of the game and has ensured that no matter what - the big money counties will be there on the big day. Puke."
Such nonsense this format is based on feedback and in response to players and supporters complaining about the previous format some people never happy.

Backheel (National) - 30/05/2023 09:08:23

Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Peadarw:  "genuine question how did sean o se escape a card of any sort there other teams getting straigh red for dangerous shoulders but he didnt try toe poke that in he went for it full pelt ...dangerous in my opinion ..thoughts ?"
I agree. He went for man an ball. Wreckless and dangerous play which is at least a yellow. No skin in the game. The better team won. But O Shea shouldn't have been on the pitch at the end picking up yellow in the second.

Backheel (National) - 10/07/2022 18:08:07

Late County Finals - Split Season - 3 Like(s)
Maybe I am missing something, but does the split season not offer the opportunity to play off club championships earlier. The most important club matches in almost all counties are being played in appalling conditions. Surely the opportunity to finish most championships by Mid September is a possibility.

Backheel (National) - 14/10/2022 17:05:06

Fermanagh GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To AuldGussie:  "Thank you Sean, Ryan and Conall for your years of service to our Fermanagh team. It's great to see the wisdom within them to know when to graciously bow out and make way for others to follow in their footsteps. However, a few of their teammates have yet to wake up to the fact that their best days are over having put self ego or misled loyalty as their rational for keeping their place on the gravy train."
The gravy train :)? Are you joking? You clearly have no idea what it takes to be a senior intercounty player. It certainly isn't a gravy train. Your comment is very disrespectful to the lads and ladies who put the time and commitment into pulling on the county jersey. Wise up.

Backheel (National) - 02/12/2023 14:46:26

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
I see Ryan O Rourke posting video for 50 mile challenge. Bodes well for his participation with the squad this year despite what many of the Anti Andy brigade have been saying.

Backheel (National) - 12/12/2023 21:47:31

Ulster Club Football Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Dromore won championship and fair play but Errigal would have beat Derrygonnelly. If Errigal could win next year they'll not be far off Ulster. A lot of fire power up front."
Mayo beat Dublin but Dublin would have beat Tyrone in All Ireland Final. So what. Fair play to Derrygonnelly. You sound bitter.

Backheel (National) - 19/12/2021 12:38:57

Tailteann Cup Attendances - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "Why would it mean everything tho? You can call it the "hallowed turf" etc but when kids get to play their little blitzes there as you mentioned you just know there's nothing special about it anymore."
Big county privilege. Just because it means nothing to you. It smacks of arrogance. Do you you think it's possible that other people feel differently than you about the experience of playing in croker. Leitrim senior footballers played there in 2019 division 4 final. It drew a huge crowd (relative to our population). It was a fantastic occasion for us with old friends meeting up and supporting our county there. Perhaps your attitude is indicative of why your senior team playing in a croke park with no atmosphere.

Backheel (National) - 10/06/2022 11:56:36

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To howdareu:  "Not negative at all. What makes you say that?"
I thought you were ratty too.

Backheel (National) - 29/05/2022 10:21:52

Mayo GAA Thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Gleebo:  "DOC broke through to the senior team in 2015, Paddy Durcan in 2016, they're hardly new additions in fairness! Ruane would probably have joined them back then but for injuries. None of those players can match Keith Higgins for sheer pace, and IMO we lost a bit of power around the middle when Donie Vaughan and Colm Boyle retired/became squad players. McLaughlin has speed but his poor distribution often negates it. At the moment, we are definitely lacking some pace in our forward line, though ROD coming back would improve that situation."
Lack of intercounty standard forwards rather than pace problem in your forwardline at the minute.

Backheel (National) - 16/06/2022 12:57:15

Sky Sports To Stop Showing GAA - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "BBCNI GAA coverage is excellent. As others have said you can get it in Britain if you so wish."
Bbc NI coverage is like hurling coverage can't say a bad word about the games. A bit delusional.

Backheel (National) - 25/10/2022 10:37:31

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Hi folks, hope to relocate to Dromahair in the next few years, maybe I can teach the wee St Patrick's lads how to beat Galway/Mayo etc : D Which pub should be my local?"
Stanfords lovely pub. But it won't take you too long to check them all out.

Backheel (National) - 18/07/2022 18:47:31

Replying To eoinog:  "I'm always amused when people complain about the county board like as if they are a completely different identity. The Co Board is made up of club delegates and sub cttees at co board level is also made up of club volunteers. So when the Co Board need money of course it falls back to the club's. It may not be popular but that's how it works."
The point is that the county board shouldn't be going to clubs looking for money. If the JP money wasn't there they would raise the money. The financial management of the county board is being questioned and how spending is prioritised. It isn't even February and they are going back to the same people looking for money. Clubs are also struggling and need to prioritise investing money to grass roots and not only the intercounty scene where a large percentage of the boards money goes. It is felt by many that the resurfacing on the county pitch should have been prioritised over county team expenses.

Backheel (National) - 20/02/2024 20:25:45

Attendances 2024 - 1 Like(s)
The provincial championships are meaningless. While no team goes out to loose a game and everyone is happy to win there province. It is all about prep for the championship groups. The price of tickets are more expensive than league with nothing really at stake.

Backheel (National) - 14/04/2024 17:51:04

Media Coverage For 2nd Tier Teams - 1 Like(s)
I presume every County team is recording their matches for video analysis. I would have loved to see at least the two Leitrim goals last night. They were supposed to be superb finishes. The quality of football in division one this week was putrid and had no interest in seeing any of the matches again. If Leitrim were on a highlights programme I would definitely tune in. I think this would be true to a lot of gaels from the 16 counties in division 3 and 4.

Backheel (National) - 14/03/2022 18:21:27

Knives Out For Managers - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "Is there any poster out there who believes that the manager of the Co team is the best equipt for the role and back him 100%. I ask that question because the vile that is getting posted on line nowadays is shocking. Roscommon fans can't wait to get rid of their manager even though he won a Div 2 title with them. Leitrim are basically saying that they will give Andy Moran one more chance !!!? My own county Sligo have the knives out for Mc Entee Galway in the past ran Kevin Walsh and are very undecided on P.J even though he landed a Connacht title. Kerry dumped Peter Keane. We won't mention Meath. Banty in Monaghan. Bonnar in Donegal won't see Christmas if the faceless people have their say. Mayo will shaft Horan as soon as they lose the next game because contrary to their expectations they won't land the All Ireland. Dessie Farrell?????? That's why Clare winning last night was so refreshing. Colm Collins in his eightt year. Fantastic to see him lasting that long with a team of talent but mostly hard grafters.The list is endless. Cody is the exception. He must be in the job since around the turn of the century and basically he is left alone."
Couldn't agree more, but this forum is not reflective of real supporters opinions. I have been going to Leitrim matches for 40 years. I don't know one genuine supporter that's doesn't think Andy Moran is doing a good job. There are a few "supporters" here that clearly have their own agenda for whatever reason. A lot of posters here have inflated opinions of where their county's should be.

Backheel (National) - 12/06/2022 10:46:55

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "How would we have fared against Cavan if it had been us and not Sligo last weekend?"
I think Sligo are more athletic and better conditioned than us at the minute. Think we would have struggled with Cavan this year. Hopefully another year down the road will see us improve these aspects of our game.

Backheel (National) - 23/06/2022 10:19:28

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Anyone else find it very strange that Keith Beirne wasn't with the team during the London game. I notice Jordan Reynolds, Tom Prior etc in county gear all together near bench as well as having a few pints together before game. Good to see. But noticed when the game kicked off that Beirne was standing in terrace not in county gear. Plenty of rumours flying around that there has been a falling out. Has anyone anything else to add to this story."
Due to suspension don't think he is allowed with official party. Suspended from all Gaa activity. Open to correction but possibly this is the reason.

Backheel (National) - 26/04/2022 17:56:19

Replying To howdareu:  "Oh i hope for our sake solan stays on as he is the main man there. From speaking to the lads they have more respect for him than moran."
I have heard differently Moran very hands on very much the main man and the players have the utmost respect for Moran.

Backheel (National) - 04/08/2022 14:15:15

Just came across a Facebook post with an under league table. I wonder if it is necessary for bord na nog to post score differences on under age tables. Underage games by their nature can be incredibly imbalanced with every club in the country having good and bad crops at different age groups. Very lopsided games are usually mercifully pockmarked with substitutions giving all players a run out. So score difference is in reality irrelevant. Perhaps it is time we removed score difference completely from underage tables.

Backheel (National) - 12/05/2023 19:40:11