Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from ThePowerhouse

Leitrim GAA thread - 7 Like(s)
The statement and the overwhelming response encapsulates where we are and where we'll remain. Happy to fail. If there's a need to issue a statement then it proves that they're being dishonest with themselves or not used to being told some hard truths. Was their performance poor? Yes it was. That includes shot selection and shot execution. Are they going to be told this at training or are they going to be told they're all great lads like a bunch of 9 year olds at a blitz? Was it the first game where they were lazy and complacent? No it wasn't. That's what angers me. In my opinion it's the laziness and complacency that has us stuck in division 4. That can't all be down to Andy Moran. They're old enough to have rectified these issues at this stage. Now we're a laughing stock. If you believe otherwise then you're kidding yourself. There are few shrinking violets playing at that level and it applies to our lads as well. So now they've a choice. Whinge, look for sympathy and walk away or react the right way and prove you're worthy of the jersey. Is there talent? Absolutely there is but its pointless having it if you're not going to fulfill it. Like any person involved in sport I've no doubt they follow other sports. Think of a few leaders in other sports and Gaa and ask yourselves whether this continuous complacency would be acceptable. You know the answer. At this stage I can nearly tell you where people stand or sit in Pairc Sean for every match. We have loyal supporters that keep coming back and not just to Pairc Sean. There's plenty of money put into this team and they're well looked after. We're told that we dont have big businesses to fund it so where does it come from? From us. Therefore, we expect that, on and off, the pitch there's honesty of effort. By all accounts they wanted for nothing before and after the match. We expect a positive reaction.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 12/04/2023 11:58:27

Leitrim GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
A disgrace. Let's call it as it is instead of rolling out the same tired excuses. We've heard them all at this stage. We're enabling this if we try and come up with excuses. It's what we are great at. Deluding ourselves that what we've been at for the past 25 years is good enough. Deluding ourselves that we are doing the right thing. We're not and we haven't been doing it for a long, long time. And don't bother telling me about sacrifices etc. etc. These lads are well looked after. Park that bull. I've read on this forum that the lads are very happy with management. I can well believe it. I've read people giving out about Riordan O' Rourke allegedly walking. I don't blame him if he walked because he saw through the bull. It's the same nonsense every year. Figure out too late that we could and should have been promoted. If only, if only.... The lead into the championship is either the same nonsense about New York or London, Sligo are the same level (they're not by the way) or maybe, just maybe if we play to our best and one of the big three have an off day, whisper this, we could take them. But it'll be a great experience getting hammered by them. Then it's like child birth. We lap up the sob stories and the faux sympathy and we move onto the club scene. The wounds are healing by the time we've finished that and we sit back and wait for the league to start again. And it goes on and on and on. We'll post stuff on social media about yellow hats and walking 500 miles and put up pictures about lads eating their breakfast pretending they're celebrities. Harsh but true. Earn it instead of pretending that you've achieved something. Be honest with yourselves. Should we at least have beaten New York comfortably. Yes we should. Stupid decisions that have been made throughout the league and obviously no "learnings" taken on board. Oh and don't bother with the other age old excuse of population etc etc. Look at Sligo. Rugby and soccer are massive. Look at what they're achieving. Look at Fermanagh, Monaghan, Roscommon, Clare etc. etc. We're full of excuses and great at convincing ourselves that it'll come good. It won't. Last night was no surprise.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 09/04/2023 10:40:42

Will Rugby World Cup Harm Gaa. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Low2Joe:  "Doesn't come close to the 3 sports you've named. The 3 main sports cater for people from all different areas and backgrounds across the country. Unfortunately the same can't be said for rugby. In saying that though I do enough going to the pub to watch some of the international games, like a lot of people."
Utter nonsense! You're implying that you have to be from a certain background to play rugby?? You really haven't a clue if you think that. There's a debate on here about clubs in Connacht. Ever been to Dunmore, Headford, Gort? Are you trying to say that only people from a certain background are welcome in these places along with loads of similar clubs around the country? If that was the case they simply wouldn't exist at all. The D4 types are in the vast minority in ordinary clubs around the country. In any event, whatever notions people may have are tested after a few games. Do they frequent the sidelines at Gaa and soccer matches? Most definitely. They think they're the next Andy Farrell, Dessie Farrell or Stephen Kenny. They've all the buzz words. Full kit ........ Are kids and their parents unique in dreaming about being successful? Of course they're not. That's sport. It's aspirational. You dream of being the next Henry Shefflin, Johnny Sexton, or David Clifford. You might be shite at one sport and find you're way better at another. You might be ***** at them all but you play it because you love it. I think it's great that people have a choice now instead of being dictated by geography. If you're born in a particular county its pre ordained whether you'll ever get near the top in GAA regardless of how good you are. Are some of these rugby clubs struggling for numbers? Of course they are. Is that in an issue in the Gaa as well? Of course it is. The notion that the more clubs you have the better is nonsense. It makes sense if you have huge numbers but the opposite is also true. As ever the GAA will blame other sports for their problems. Is it rugby or soccers fault that they're proposing to get rid of 5 counties from the hurling league? Maybe it's the fault of the GAA? Maybe it shows that their systems don't work or, shock horror, they couldnt care less about growing hurling outside the "homes of hurling" Maybe the GAA is open to a bit of discrimination of its own? Rugby has established a very clear pathway for talent to move into academies. They have a very good system. They are making the most of what they have. Its a different system to the club and inter County system in the GAA. Soccer has its own system and its open to debate whether theirs is working. Irish rugby is constantly identifying talent. The top schools dominate because its the system that's been in place for years and is well established but they are definitely trying to spread their reach. That doesn't necessarily mean that there will be an abundance of new clubs. Do you honestly think that Irish rugby are ignoring other talent because they didn't go to the right school or don't speak with the right accent? If you're good enough you'll get your chance. Should the GAA be worried? No it shouldn't. But it will worry and it'll try and knock others instead of improving its own product and making it more attractive. Kids will decide for themselves and they'll laugh at the notion of "playing for the pride of the parish" They have choices now. All that these stupid statements show is insecurity. Let's call a spade a spade. The only exclusion that happens is self inflicted. Lads come up with excuses as to why they don't play rugby and the easiest way to deflect from what they lack is to knock it.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 20/11/2023 11:02:32

Non-Gaa Forum - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well what did we make of events in Dublin yesterday? Shocking stuff. Hopefully the victims of the stabbing incident will make a full recovery. The physical scars may heal quicker than the pschological ones though I fear. What happened afterwards was a disgrace and an embarrassment. It has been coming though, stabbing incident or not. I'd say a combination of things, easily led young people with limited opportunities being drip fed poisonous tripe about immigrants being the root cause of their problems. It is a tried and tested method for bigoted & hateful people to stoke tension for decades, only worse in this day and age with social media. The Guards hands are tied too. They have to be so careful these days. Anything they say or do is likely going to be recorded. I would say that morale is quite low in the force. Dealing with scumbags like what we saw last night is like trying to keep the tide out. What's the deterrent? Social welfare cuts indefinitely for those charged?"
They have plenty of opportunities. Don't fall for the narrative that they're disadvantaged. They have everything handed to them. They're s**m. They want to live like this. Generations of them. The bleeding hearts will blame everyone else but the reality is that they're just s**mbags. Always have been. Always will. Far right s**m know that these thugs are itching for a chance to cause mayhem and they light the fuse. Loads of fine people from the north inner city there of course but there's a high proportion of scrotes. Again, that's their choice.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 24/11/2023 10:23:08

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "If you watched Leitrim it is very obvious they aren't fit enough to be able to compete with a half decent team. Some of them just aren't athletic enough."
You realise you can't be saying that. There are sacred cows that need to be defended at all costs and criticism, even if its constructive, is not welcome on this forum.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 22/04/2023 17:36:45

Donal O'Gs Comments On Football In General And The TC In Particular - 3 Like(s)
"Good hurling people" believed the hype from the ad campaign that made them out to be Cú Chulainns. They can't understand why the game isn't played all over the world and yet they'll look down their noses at counties that aren't traditional hurling counties. Donal óg experienced that snobbery himself when there was consternation that he passed to a team mate instead of just lamping it as far as he could. There's a reason why it's only taken seriously in a few places. There's no point blaming rugby or Gaelic football.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 16/05/2023 15:41:40

Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "Perfectly illustrated by the fact that the majority of the Irish people swallowed the lie that a Brazilian was the first to intervene in the attack on Dublin. I'd bet you were more than happy to see that little lie being pedalled. I'd bet you were also only to happy to see the terror attack being effectively deleted from the airwaves while our politicians instead decided to shift the attention onto their own citizens.. Seems to me the reason the "right wing media" are being given so much stick here is for revealing too many facts about the attacker."
It's windy out so be careful you're tinfoil hat isn't blown off. The 5G rays will corrupt your mind.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 10/12/2023 12:13:18

Lack Of Ambition. - 2 Like(s)
Excellent appointment and backroom team.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - 20/11/2019 14:10:44

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Sligo under 20s in the connacht final. Sure we just don't have the numbers......

ThePowerhouse (National) - 12/04/2023 20:36:30

Non-Gaa Forum - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "An awful day. I was out and about during the evening and the absolute madness and thuggery that enveloped the area was incredible. I'd have a strong connection to the school in question and just hope that everyone is alright. Something like this has, unfortunately, been coming. There are a cohort of far right anti-immigrant racist thugs stirring up hatred both online and in communities across the country. They are known to the Gardaí but there has been nothing done about them. They have attacked and burned out buildings already and nothing was done about them. They were outside the Dáil harassing TDs and still nothing was done, we just had the media making out that there was no difference between them and other protest groups! Maybe the Gardaí, media and politicians will take the threat that the far right pose in Ireland seriously. The wanton criminality cannot solely be blamed on the far right though, but they have been the ones who have exploited it here in this case. It should not be forgotten that it was an immigrant that intervened to protect the children on Parnell Sq yesterday afternoon and that it was mainly Irish born thugs who wrecked the city last night. The were doctors and nurses heading into the Mater and Rotunda in groups as they are afraid to travel individually. The North Inner City gets a worse reputation than it usually deserves in my opinion, and of course as long term posters know I am biased, last night doesn't change that for me but it certainly makes the argument much more difficult to make to some people. It's all so sad and I'm an extremely angry man this morning."
I'd take a bunch of unvetted immigrants a lot quicker than a bunch of thugs from that area. No interest in anything other than crime. Time for the bleeding hearts to pull their necks in. Giving scrotes everything they want and expecting them to become functioning members of society doesn't work. They have every opportunity they want.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 24/11/2023 12:49:42

Was Joey Barton Correct When He Said Woman Should Not Discuss Mens Sport - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "He's completely wrong. Plenty of women have a strong interest in sport. Plenty of the existing players being booked to these shows are uninformed or un-engaging. Live sports coverage increasingly accounts for the non-streaming content that is being produced by media outlets and is being engaged by the general public and has the largest budgets. You'd be limiting the number of meaningful broadcasting roles available to women to a ridiculous degree. Joey Barton should almost never be listened to. Wait until someone with half a brain brings this up as a real issue before debating it."
Agreed. It's like saying Sonia O Sullivan shouldn't comment on mens athletics. Katie Taylor on boxing? Just a lot of insecure sexists.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 08/12/2023 13:25:16

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "The main reason is Leitrim people in general aren't very interested in hurling. A lot of us are very passionate about Leitrim football even without having had much success. It's our main sport, our only sport."
And unless it's at the very top level, hurling is a hard watch. Bunches of lads hacking at the ball on the ground. I'd genuinely watch junior c football than that.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 24/11/2023 15:04:48

Replying To bananapublican:  "This result while hard to take isn't the shock it seems to be in some people's eyes. NY have been doing superb work getting away from the old import a few stars model from years ago and their first win was inevitable, unfortunately against us. Our goal chances and missed points chances put pay to what should have been a win but these things happen. This is what makes sport so compelling. There are no foregone conclusions as much as some people would have you believe but our 94 success, Leicester winning the Prem League and Connacht winning that year also means that the underdog will have their day and rather than sulk about it or finger point, ask yourself could you have done more to prevent it,be it play,coach or an administration role. If the answer is yes then I am afraid you have no business coming on a forum slagging off those who put themselves in the line of fire because if abuse such as a smile in a photo (split second) can target you for abuse, then why would any player or coach bother especially for our county. Now for the Roy Keane judgement on everything we must forget that it is sport, I ask you to go back to your clubs and apply the high standards you seek and from there everyone will prosper. Only one thing if everyone ends up doing everything right, chances are with our population our county will even win less than they already do. Just on the team photo issue, I watched Ruari Canavan for Tyrone march behind the band in Pairc Sean last year before All Ireland U20 final having the craic with his team mates, walked backwards for most of it. Played well after but that puts pay to the smile means not playing well theory."
Nobody is shocked at this result. That's my point. If people know anything about football they wouldn't be shocked either. Alarm bells were ringing throughout the league and nothing done about it. Hence this result. What I take from people defending the performance is that unless you're a player (and a very good one at that) a coach, an administrator or all of the above then you're are not allowed criticise. Oh and apparently you've to live in the county as well. Presumably the lads from 94 would meet some of the criteria? I reckon more than a few of them would agree with my analysis of it.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 13/04/2023 10:17:55

Next Leitrim Manager. - 2 Like(s)
If we manage to get a good manager I guarantee the first thing they will be looking to sort will be S&C and fitness. They haven't been up to the mark the last couple of years. You can have brilliant players but if they're not at the required fitness level they'll be swallowed up. Its the one area that we can definitely improve and its an absolute requirement. Having good players is never guaranteed but at the very least the ones you put out should be strong enough and fit enough.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - 02/08/2021 11:15:08

Non-Gaa Forum - 2 Like(s)
So it's the lack of housing that caused the riots and the looting? That's a stretch but sure we'll give that a lash. Me Ma got a free gaff so I'll just say I'm angry that I won't get one. Unemployment? Oh yeah, can't fall back on that one. Hang on, I've to start at the bottom like everyone else? Work long hours? Get a qualification? Can't be having that! Lack of education? Yeah I know I have any amount of schools and colleges on my doorstep and I won't have to worry about accommodation or fees but still.... Covid? Yeah we can blame that. I don't know if I got it and I definitely didnt wear a mask but maybe I can say thats why I was wearing one the other night. The Guards? We can always blame them! They don't reach out enough to marginalised people like me. Why can't they be nicer to me? They are always trying to ruin my fun? Who else can I blame? Not to worry, there'll be plenty of geniuses along to tell me that none of this is my fault. I'll just sit here laughing at them.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 28/11/2023 12:24:30

Replying To Square_B:  "You don't think it's odd? 2 captains & a vice captain?"
Good name for a podcast. The real leader is Mark Plunkett. Does his talking on the pitch.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 19/01/2024 16:42:24

The only green shoots of hope from the Croke Park debacle was the honesty of Mickey Graham in admitting that Laois were complacent in Portlaoise. It was nice to see some of us having a day out but if you're idea of a good day out is spending it around the North inner city then you need to get out more often. We could do with a hell of a lot more honesty and, let's be honest, we got lucky in getting promoted. What's seldom is wonderful and for once luck was on our side in terms of other results. Should we have been dependent on others? No, particularly three years into this "project". If we're honest we will struggle badly in Division 3. We should be ready for it at this stage but we're not. Do I blame this current panel or anyone playing the last 15 years? No. Their performances in that time are symptomatic of how the show has been run. Do I place all the blame on Andy Moran, Benny Guckian, Shane Ward etc etc. No I don't. They worked with what they got. I will repeat this ad nauseam. It will not get better until we fix what's causing it. Our club structures are 30 years behind where they should be. We have stood still whilst almost everyone else continuously evolved. Five years is a long time in terms of the evolution of football. We're still doing the same stuff from 20 or 30 years ago and expecting different results. That won't prevent people reminding of us of when we'd play Kildare in the early 90s and were able to compete with them and therefore we'll be able to compete now. It'll be right up there with reminiscing about playing Monaghan in Cloone.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 02/04/2024 10:57:37

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To williesboy:  "Absolute disaster of a year all round. Think it's time for a change and I don't think I'm harsh saying that. There hasn't been any improved at all and that's the main concern I have. Don't be coming at me with the usual nonsense of who would I give the job too etc but someone else should be given the chance"
Apparantley it's all part of the project. Any second now we'll have the various pearl clutchers coming along defending this. They'll be horrified at any criticism of the "project". We have gone backwards. I'd venture that a lot of the enablers haven't been to a club game in a long time and certainly not an under age game. Fix the club scene for a start. From under age all the way up. It's not working. Improvements at club level will be by accident rather than design on the part of the County Board. They should be driving this but there's too much cute whorism and reluctance to cause offence. We're a mild mannered bunch of people. Ordinarily that's a wonderful trait but in this instance it's our downfall. We cannot be happy with how things are. Of course that's not all Andy Morans fault. He's learning the hard way that our problems run deep. Lots of talent but it's diluted at club level. Fellas think they're world beaters at club level because they're given plenty of time and space. Fix it or it's going to get a hell of a lot worse.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 04/06/2023 17:28:33

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 1 Like(s)
Wonderful generosity.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 14/12/2023 12:49:38

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To somewouldargue:  "Sligo has a bigger population than Roscommon remember and they only now have the same amount of titles as we have at this level in the near 50 years of the comp."
Roscommon and Sligo have virtually the same population. There are approximately 20,000 people in Sligo Town. There's a much stronger soccer tradition in the town than Gaa. Rugby isn't far behind either. St. Mary's had one lad listed to start last night and two subs. My point is that Sligo are making the most of what they have. Their performances bear that out. We're not. We can't even optimise the number of players that we do have.

ThePowerhouse (National) - 20/04/2023 12:44:46