Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Square_B

John Costello Comments - 6 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dublin clubs already fundraise massively to pay for GPOs, as well as all the other costs associated with running their clubs. A cut in funding from the GAA for GPOs means either clubs fundraise more to make up the shortfall or there are less GPOs. I don't really see what's so ridiculous about his comments to be honest."
Isn't it great that clubs are able to fundraise enough to funds GPO's for every club in the county... meanwhile here in Leitrim we fundraise to keep the dressing room lights on. I think I'll have to take out my small violin for John Costello's annual moan...

Square_B (National) - 06/12/2022 21:26:01

GAA Grounds Unavailable - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "We seem to be gone down a new road where concerts now have priority over our championships in availability of the playing grounds. Clare v Cork and the Munster semi football final will not be played in Pairc Ui Chaoimh. We have come along ways since Waterford were not allowed name a ground when Walsh Park was deemed unfit. Cork should not be allowed name a pitch and the advantage should go to Clare. It is also giving the middle finger to Cork supporters who contributed to putting the stadium there and now are told to travel to a game they should be enjoying at home."
The problem is Cork GAA who conpletely underbudgeted the cost of Pairc Ui Chaoimh... and here we are. That's the real scandal. If 100 concerts are needed to pay us all back so be it... the GAA can ill afford to bail out counties who go off and waste money on pet projects.

Square_B (National) - 01/02/2022 15:06:41

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Of course he supports the immigrants sure isn't he one himself in Dublin but with his attitude I'm not surprised. By the way where exactly did you do the poll that told you most of the residents are happy about the concerts surely you have evidence to back up your statements"
Looks like you don't know the meaning of 'an immigrant'... scarlet for ya..... What's wrong with immigrants anyhow? I hope you're not another gombeen like Barney? BTW... Google is your friend .... https://www.q102.ie/news/q102-news/croke-park-residents-lodge-objections-to-brooks-gigs/ - 86 objections received by DCC. You're clearly in the minority. So as I've said... move somewhere else if it pains you and your family. You don't get to hold the area to ransom over nonsence like this.

Square_B (National) - 18/12/2021 21:33:51

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Well you need to take a stroll around Croke Park and educate yourself and you might just note that there is a lot of social housing in the area both flats and houses so in many cases people don't have the option of moving or is the fact that they are social housing mean that these people should be just grateful that they have a home and put up with whatever the GAA decide to inflict on them."
Indeed there is lots of social houses and lots of private ones as well.... and lots of happy residents in the locality as well. If your home happens to be social well be grateful that the state is providing a subsidised home, subsidised by taxpayers. The real problem we have in this country is the likes of you and others complaining about nonsense like this ... nothing but NIMBY'S.... thankfully the local council cuts through all that bull. As I've said, move on somewhere else if it causes you so much grief, there will be lots of people who find it perfectly fine.

Square_B (National) - 18/12/2021 19:55:11

Leitrim GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I would hope Leitrim aren't paying big money for the Andy Moran PR trip over there. Spending valuable resources for a big name manger is a waste of time. Better off investing in a full time skills coach to spend a day a week in every club or school in the county. Leitrim are competitive once in a generation and have historically won a provincial once per average human lifespan. Andy Moran won't change that. However, if the county board looked at the census results in the county and identified where and when the next large batch of kids are. They could target rehire resources there to produce a "golden generation" and target a minor/U20/senior provincial title with them. Pouring away money trying to beat Galway and Mayo with a big name manger is folly."
I'd completely agree. Wrong man for Leitrim. The man I wanted obviously couldn't be persuaded to take on another county job so soon (Padraig Davis). A more modest appointment who has a clear track record and lots of respect in Leitrim having won county titles with Mohill. Moran has done absolutely nothing in management to warrent a county job. I mean he barely even managed a club team... and his own at that! I only hope for his own management career that 2023 is more fruitful. We can ill afford to be throwing away money on 'name' management teams. As you say, we need to concentrate resources & time at club & underage level and work from there as it's pointless otherwise. Aside of that I still believe we have a current team that is capable of operating in Division 3 at least but look we'll probably waste that opportunity as well.

Square_B (National) - 08/05/2022 22:01:10

National League Fitxtures 2023 - 5 Like(s)
Honest to god what are the GAA at? I know they don't give much of a **** about counties like ourselves but no fixtures published with c2 months to go is a complete joke. Some of us want to book flights to Ruislip!

Square_B (National) - 02/12/2022 09:59:43

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 4 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Croke Park got plenty of government funding as did a lot of GAA and other sports grounds. Every taxpayer, even people with no interest in sports, are indirectly funding sports. They need to take into account the thoughts of those living near Croke Park. McKenna and his merry men and women didn't do that the last time Garth Brooks concerts were planned but mismanaged for Croke Park. It's the biggest stadium and easily accessible from public transport. But it's not the only venue in Ireland. Maybe they should have used Cork, Limerick, Galway and other sports arenas besides and including Croke Park for Brooks. It would mean more dates but less upheaval for Croke Park area residents and spread the wealth around the country. Too late for Brooks but worth considering later. McKenna seems happy to put out the lámh for concert promoters and little work for him to fill Croke Park. But not bothered for years of playoffs and Super 8 games to incentivise people into Croker for half full games. Very cosy. His remarks on Sky Sports weren't a good look for those that think he represents the GAA. He doesn't represent the GAA's views though, he represents Croke Park's business view."
Croke Park is under utilised as it is. It's the only stadium in the country with 80k + seats. Nearly half the country live in Dublin. Why in the name of god would any artist want to play anywhere else if they didnt have to? You're obviously aware that any artist doesn't just show up and walk on stage. They're business people as well. Hauling around a set and support staff around Ireland makes no economic sense when the punters will come to you regardless. Whatever you think, the reality is that Peter McKenna is there to maximise commercial income for the GAA... to pay for the white elephant down in Cork and center of excellence up and down the country. Unless of course you'd rather players run round in fields of muck or have poor facilities & resources like our friends over in the FAI? The residents have had no concerts at Croke Park for the last 3 years and a reduced schedule since Covid hit. They have a nice shiny new community & handball center, a full time liasion officer, first dips at tickets for concerts, other money invested in the community, Garda and stewarding resources for every game & concert. What more do they want? The issues are largely exaggerated by the few... and it is noticeable this time round that they was very little resistance despite all the blathering about the hundreds of objections that would be received against... 86 in the end. The rest were for the concerts (40). No big fanfare like last time. 150 people attended the meeting in September which discussed all this and from reports it was fairly mild compared to the nonsense in 2014. Most of the things that people complained about can be worked through with local community engagement. And anyone who still doesn't like what they see can always move if it's too much. I know lots of peaceful places down West that would suit.

Square_B (National) - 21/12/2021 09:30:33

Move To National Forum Only Model - 4 Like(s)
A perfectly good conversation was being held on the Leitrim forum about the next manager ... and all of a sudden all's gone.... can't even go back to review the posts... a daft decision to remove the county forums WITHOUT NOTICE!

Square_B (National) - 30/09/2021 10:17:06

Roscommon GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Rossie2022:  "But we are being told it's a GAA-wide issue, so therefore why not discommode every adult player and club in the country? And yes, refs have been hit / assaulted in other counties. Or is it a case that "I fully agree with protest when it doesn't affect my county"…?"
Classic whataboutery... referees aren't being assaulted in every county every day of the week... this happened in YOUR county and the referees in YOUR county have took a stand to what happened. Own it.

Square_B (National) - 03/09/2022 18:58:55

John Costello Comments - 4 Like(s)

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Or maybe you can take out your small violin and do some busking to raise a few euro to pay the light bill up there in Leitrim !"
Good man John smashing contribution... Sometimes I do wonder do we all belong to the same organisation at all... the forefathers of the GAA certainly wouldn't have wanted to see the organisation turn into "the haves and have nots". Lads like you wouldn't last a minute at a small rural club.... you'd be running out the door with your tail between your legs. The real backbone of the GAA is those clubs who literally raise funds to keep the lights on.

Square_B (National) - 08/12/2022 09:57:07

We're Ready For An Inter County Transfer System. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "I don't think it would be as difficult as you're making out. We don't have a scouting system now but I'll still bet that there are people involved in coaching whod be able to tell you about an emerging talent in another county that many others might not know about. Backroom teams are so bloated with gurus nowadays that it'd be as good a position as any to have. How many transfers per year? Sure look there'd have to be a process put in place, and yes there'd probably have to be a limit to the number of transfers a player or county can make. So what? That's no reason to just totally dismiss the idea. And Matty Forde isn't a good example. For starters Leitrims inability to offer their footballers anything other than the odd connacht upset against sligo means that while they aren't losing footballers to Dublin or Cork, they probably are losing many of them footballers to apathy. Counties like Leitrim wouldn't be able to attract the best players but if they're smart enough, bringing in good players from other connacht counties, who aren't getting inter County football at home could help improve them."
Oh but according to you our best players will play elsewhere while we import other players not good enough for their own county. Right I see.... You're a typical 'big county' fellow talking through your backside. You haven't a clue what you're talking about.

Square_B (National) - 07/08/2022 15:40:41

Replying To Liffeylad:  "It's very easy to present the facts to suit your agenda. Objections were raised by residents associations which would represent hundreds of people therefore to say there was only 86 objections is a misrepresentation. If the actions of one of your neighbours was disrupting your life would you simply sell up and move or would you approach them and let them know you weren't happy?"
You mean the same residents association that went around getting fake signatures the last time this was an issue? The same resident association that purport to 'represent' the community even though they have no known resentatives bar a Facebook page no one knows who is responsible for? As I've said, you can complain all you like.... bottom line is that 86 objections were received... clearly in the minority. Croke Park is the 'neighbour' of thousands of people. Thankfully you, don't get to dictate who should be offended or not.

Square_B (National) - 19/12/2021 21:36:22

Replying To Liffeylad:  "If you're not name calling you're altering the facts in an attempt to prove your point. It was alleged there was fake signatures but it was never proven but hey don't let the truth get in the way of you trying to make a point. I asked you a question - if your neighbours were obstructing you from going about your daily life, would you approach them and object or would you just sell up and move."
Maybe you can't read I don't know.... The 'facts' are that 86 objections were received. Simple as. You can deny reality all you like. Anyone can purport to represent a community or submit an objection on their behalf. The Croke Park residents association have form in that regard. Who are they anyhow?!!! You're trying to compare apples with oranges to try and argue your nonsensical stance. As I've said, Croke Park are the neighbours of thousands of people, there's thousands of people who go about their daily business without hassle... knew what they were buying into and so forth. You may have some disruption but Croke Park certainly ain't 'obstructing' your life.... and if it bothers you so much, move somewhere else. I'm sick to the back teeth of people like you halting progress at every turn.

Square_B (National) - 20/12/2021 13:02:24

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 3 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "# Square B, The minority of people you are referring to numbers at least 1000 this number does not include business people so with that in mind they are very much entitled to voice their objections and take it from there. Because you yourself are very much in the minority you are not at all entitled to stop the progress those people are making however slowly in trying to live out their lives in the comfort of their own homes with the very minimum of disruption, inconveniencs, etc, etc, etc, and unnecessary noise levels."
Even if we're to believe your figure of one thousand (what's your source for this?), it's very clear it's a minority in the local area. Not sure what you're trying to say in your next point... it doesn't make much sence to be honest however as I've said thank god we have a planning process that cuts through all the bull and adjudicates on issues like this. People are free to move out of the area if it doesnt suit their lives. Croke Park isn't going to be moving anywhere anytime soon. Whilst being a 'good' neighbour is very important, it's not at the detriment of the wishes of the minority.

Square_B (National) - 03/12/2021 16:34:18

Anti GAA Agenda - 3 Like(s)

Replying To brisbane:  "Damien Duff moaning again about the GAA. Demanding the 50million for casement park be giving for soccer development. Wasn't long ago he was calling the GAA a bunch of dinosaurs lol. Bitter fella"
He'd want to look to his own organisation before criticising others. It's not as if the FAI are afraid to go cap in hand to the Government for funding. At least we have a pot to **** in and can sign our own cheques which is more than the FAI can claim to have.

Square_B (National) - 22/02/2024 10:44:09

Connacht FBD 2022 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Rossie2020:  "Hahah your best moment since 94 was being hammered in a div 4 final, wouldn't ye only dream about winning Connachts, playing in AI qfs and regularly playing div 1 football…"
Didn't take long for the point to be proven... modest as ever...

Square_B (National) - 14/01/2022 15:42:34

Replying To Saynothing:  "BarneyGrant, your last paragraph sums it up. Get the GAA season over to free up more time. All these ideas about player welfare and breaks in season are made with other things in mind."
You do realise that the money earned from these concerts fund the GAA or do you think the money magically appears from somewhere? Are you suggesting that the GAA should not utilise the asset it has? Not sure what player welfare has to do with this.... these games are outside the championship season... are you suggesting that the championship should be extended or something? The overall GAA season is practically all year round so I'm not sure what you're really talking about to be honest. You'd be probably better 'Talk to Joe' let's be honest because you'd make as much sense.

Square_B (National) - 03/12/2021 19:32:20

Replying To Liffeylad:  "Stopping traffic from outside the area would certainly help would stop people coming into the area when events are taking place and abandoning cars anywhere they see a space because the Garda manning barriers certainly doesn't work. I can never understand why people insist on driving to Croke Park. Nobody drives to Annfield or Old Trafford. All this talk about just move if you don't like it. As I have stated previously my mother is 86 has alzheimers born and bred in Ballybough inherited the house from her mother. Where do you suggest we move her to. Suppose we could just sell up and put her in a nursing home and that would be one less resident to be considered"
There's more residents in Ballybough than you and your mother to consider. And as sad as it is that she has alzheimers, that really doesn't have anything to do with how Croke Park conduct their affairs. In an ideal world the area should be closed to traffic but If the cars 'abandoned' are legally parked what's the issue? The clampers will deal with the rest as they regularly do. As I've said there's more people living in this city than the residents around Croke Park and they exclusively are not entitled to halt progress. The reality is that people are free to go where they want if they want to avoid activity around Croke Park; your mother included. You don't live in a dictatorship where the needs of one person trumps that of the wider community.

Square_B (National) - 04/12/2021 09:55:47

Replying To supersub15:  "Croke Park has slowly gone from strength to strength over the years in every sense of the word and that's good, but, - - CP is the professional hub of the gaa, it's now a hybrid organisation am I correct in saying it has its own financial advisors, legal team, own business advisors, insurance advisors, professionals to cover every eventually and obstacle it may meet day by day.? My conflict of interest is not with the Gaelic Athletic Association; rather it is with Croke Park. I was taken aback when I read, "You are only a tax payer when you are employed." How very incorrect that statement is, in my mind, tax payers are made up of, people who are employed,but also people who pay road tax, a TV license, Pay for parking, vat, property tax, and, making a purchase from Ticket Master for Croke Park concerts includes a tax, the list goes on, and on. There's a couple of pro Concert mugs here who wouldn't know the difference between a Backing Band and an elastic band, between a Microphone and a mobil phone, jumping on the pro band wagon is not doing you lot any good, you wouldn't even make a bad chorus circus group. CP officials / negotiators over time put together the sky deal, before we knew a thing it was signed off rolled out and installed, there was a lot of people not too happy about the sky deal but it still went through. Likewise residents of CP are not too happy with the manner in which the CP concert agreement with its residents was scrapped and the rest is history as they say. It's reasonable to assume should the legally binding agreement not have been broken in the manner that it was, a more acceptable conclusion would have been reached? It's my understanding no one knows what a reasonable amount of concerts would add up to, an agreement may not be found, but a solution will be, as they say in the music business, "The show must go on" and it will, does Croke Park want an open ended agreement only, it would appear that way."
Another lovely masterpiece of gibberish. Let me repeat. This 'written agreement' you keep referring to is not worth the paper it's wrote on. If it's 'legally binding' then the residents associations should head to court and see how they get on in front of a judge. Croke Park already has An Bord Pleanala approval to host 3 concerts WITHOUT planning permission per annum. This is in place from the 90's. Anything else must receive planning approval from DCC... which they have applied for and have been granted. The concerts are going ahead this time. End of story. So much nonsense over 5 concerts spread out over 2 weekends. I see now another faceless group have come to the fore 'purporting' to represent 1500 households and 200 businesses.... the 'District 7 Community Alliance'... apparently they're happy now https://www.thesun.ie/tvandshowbiz/music/7986416/garth-brooks-residents-croke-park-latest/ The whole lot is some joke over 5 concerts.

Square_B (National) - 21/12/2021 13:16:25

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Freethinker:  "Well said Galway 9801. Some posters are just using this forum as a debating rostrum, forgetting that in most civilised debates you get one shot at making your point, so they keep on at it like a dog with a bone. Then, if they feel they are not getting their "point" across they can get a bit personal. The vast majority of supporters of our games welcome Mr McManus's wonderful gesture. There will always be begrudgers but I get the feeling that not all those putting up differing arguments on here actually fall into this "begrudgery" category. This thing of counties with large numbers of clubs versus smaller counties is, to me, just something that is as it is. I would imagine that if the benefactor had to have somebody calculate the number of clubs in the country and allocate the funds accordingly, some clubs in the lesser populated counties would feel aggrieved. I know that one of the smaller rural clubs in my own county would be a tad annoyed if they were put on a par with say Crokes in Dublin. The parable of the labourer in the vineyard comes to mind."
This is a forum for discussion. I'm sorry that you don't understand that. I'll call out whatever point I want to call out, particularly the ones that are nonsensical to start with.

Square_B (National) - 18/12/2023 13:33:07