Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Ludovic_Giuly

MONEY - 4 Like(s)
You would have to laugh at the Rossies and the likes complaining about Dublins money and population. When they are trouncing Leitrim in the Connacht Championship they have a right good laugh in Roscommon and theres no mention then... that they have double the population we have or more money as well. Oh Leitrim are crap and the worst thing is we learned nothing about how good or bad we are from that game. Oh well lets move on to the next game. Then when they get the same tanking in the Supers 8's it not fair... My heart bleeds.

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 03/10/2019 15:40:02

Donegal Population Not Big Enough - 4 Like(s)
Shannonview this is embarrassing. Donegal are in no way to blame for this. Paul Brennan was not headhunted by Donegal. He went to Bundoran because his partners father was managing Bundoran. He comes from Kinlough which is only a mile or 2 from Bundoran. Theres also more to the story but I won't print it here. Ask some people involved in reffing in Leitrim and they might fill you in. Cut and dried this conversation should be over.

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 25/06/2019 12:29:24

Connacht Championship 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Every year Leitrim fans get hopefull the week before and think we'll run them tight. This will be the usual damp squib not worth watching. Roscommon will win by 12 or so without playing above themselves. As much as I hate to say it that Roscommon full forward line will destroy Leitrim. We're usually wiped out at midfield against most teams. I'm not sure I can even face the Hyde. I'd rather be in Mosul or Raqqa or North Korea than listening to yon crowd.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 12/06/2017 19:35:05

Leitrim's Allianz League campaign - 3 Like(s)
Is there anything to be said for another mass?

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 27/02/2017 15:33:53

Leitrim Inter-County 2020 - 2 Like(s)
Corncrake is back with multiple logins replying to himself I see.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 08/01/2020 14:53:47

Connacht Championship - 2 Like(s)
The league was nothing compared to that. We hate to say it but Roscommon were excellent, I think lets give them credit for what they did to us. The pace and power of Roscommon was like nothing in Division 4. Yes its a wakeup call. We will never likely be at Roscommons level. People need to accept that. We don't have any clubs capable of winning a club All-Ireland or teams capable of winning an underage Connacht title. Were we exceptional in the league? Plucky, wholehearted yes and very lucky. Limerick missed 3 goals against us. We gave the same chances to other teams in the league we gave Roscommon but the difference was they didn't punish us. Flat and lethargic against London. Lucky against Antrim, same in Aughrim Wicklow lost their CHF who was murdering us running through pretty much like Roscommon would a few months later. The writing was on the wall. We are a Division 4 team who will be fighting tooth and nail for survival next year in Div 3. The good news now. Can we win a qualifer game? Yes we can shock someone in Carrick. I believe we can draw a lot of teams who are nowhere as fit and fast and lethal as Roscommon. We might get away with some sloppy handpasses or silly sideline kicks. We might play a sweeper and mop up some of those runs. Our forwards will get more space than a tight tackling and often fouling Roscommon backline. It can get better and we'll have better days as Leitrim fans.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 14/05/2019 14:42:07

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
Well said LeitrimWay I think you have it all there in one better than I could post it.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 09/04/2019 12:35:10

Championship 2018 - 2 Like(s)
I see Leitrim a bit like the Titanic. She struck an iceberg in New York and shes floundering. Theres a few compartments leaking. The band is playing cheerfull music but there won't be enough lifeboats in Carrick on May 26th.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 08/05/2018 16:05:20

Admission To League Games Set To Increase - 2 Like(s)
These people are detached from reality. €20 is way too steep especially for Div 4 football on a cold Feb Sunday. €10 would be lots enough. I wouldn't mind 20 or 25 for championship. Whats the story with OAPs? I'd imagine they get some kind of reduction?

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 18/01/2019 15:32:18

Leitrim v Roscommon May 22nd - 2 Like(s)
There'll be a lot of fuss before this game of how it could be tight in Carrick, might be a greasy ball and Roscommons fright in NY. But reality is this will be a damp squib not worth looking at or paying 25 into. It'll be tight for 15-20 minutes then Roscommons scoring power will open up a 5 or 6 point lead and they'll just go through the motions and win by about 15 points plus. I looked at NY's team and the thing that struck me was they were all big physical men and able to kick scores from distance. Leitrim lateral handpass across the field, are afraid to shoot and then get turned over in possession very easily. I don't think you'll learn much out of this game before taking on Sligo. Leitrim posters would boost up the team if we were playing Dublin and claim we had an outside chance. Reality is we're the second worse team in Ireland. My only fear is it will another Armagh 2013 8 goal demolition job.

Ludovic_Giuly (Roscommon) - 20/05/2016 15:18:00

Why Is Kerry Called The Kingdom? - 1 Like(s)
From wikipedia: Kerry (Irish: Ciarraí or more anciently Ciarraighe) means the "people of Ciar" which was the name of the pre-Gaelic tribe who lived in part of the present county. The legendary founder of the tribe was Ciar, son of Fergus mac Róich.[5] In Old Irish "Ciar" meant black or dark brown, and the word continues in use in modern Irish as an adjective describing a dark complexion.[6] The suffix raighe, meaning people/tribe, is found in various -ry place names in Ireland, such as Osry-Osraighe Deer-People/Tribe. The county's nickname is the Kingdom. Of course Ireland was always full of Kingdoms. Leitrim and Cavan made up the Kingdom of Breifne which was ruled by the O'Rourkes in Leitrim. Cavans O'Reillys wanted the whole lot for themselves and got rowdy outside Ballinamore in 1256. They lost and the Kingdom was split more or less into the boundaries of today. But Cavan took the name for themselves. The Breifne county. Leitrim meanwhile sick and tired of their neighbours decided to be known as Lovely Leitrim instead.

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 22/08/2018 20:11:00

Cork vs Tipp (Hurling) - 1 Like(s)
Epic game. Some class scores, great stuff to watch. More games like that this summer hopefully. Also with Leitrim hurlers qualifying to play in Croke Park for the first time ever, in the Lory Meagher cup final, there could be another new superpower emerging in hurling :)

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 22/05/2017 12:48:25

Congrats Roscommon! - 1 Like(s)
Is it hard to get into Syria?

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 18/06/2019 17:09:14

Division 4 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Leitrims goose is cooked now. In fact the whole lot is burnt to a crisp. They're too young yet to make an assault on the summit of Div 4. They're attempting Everest with a walking stick and a hoodie and some Dr. Dre headphones when you need a lock of sherpa's, pronged boots, a hape of ropes and a good warm jacket.

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 27/02/2017 17:22:31

Struggling for Game Time Junior Club - 1 Like(s)
I feel for you Cankylunt (I see what you did there!!!) I went through the whole being dropped thing at Junior level and no matter how many goals I rattled the net with, come the final I was always a sub. Changed clubs and the same thing. I was of slight build and not very fast but I had a deadly accurate kick. I just accepted it and tried to enjoy the craic of the lads. For me scoring a good goal and going for a few pints after a Saturday evening match with the lads was better than any medal. One evening an ex-Leitrim player (legendary status in the county) was watching me kick points in training. I was landing them in quick succession from 30-40 metres out, messing, being all fancy like Ciaran McDonald Mayo a la 2006. He looked over and seemed impressed and mentioned to the Junior manager about giving me a run with the seniors to which the Junior manager looked over and laughed and said No, no, no not him! This manager had made a decision of never giving me a junior game under his tenure. He went thankfully and I got back playing afterwards. The ex-Leitrim player did in fact give me a run with the Seniors later. Didn't go to plan unfortunately, the pace was a bit too much!!!!! But I never forgot the chance he gave to me. It was a nice gesture compared to the other lad. Anyway my advice would be keep plugging away. You'll be retired long enough as someone else said. Its never too late to learn new skills. Get working on having 2 feet. Gets you out of some bother switching from one side to the other. Learn to handpass quickly with either hand. Stuff like that gives you a few extra seconds to make things easier. We can't all be Gooch Cooper or Bernard Brogan so just enjoy that you can be out and about playing. My mate had his leg crushed in an accident years ago and he spent months in hospital with the threat of his leg being amputated. To be able to walk in the rain was the only thing that he used to wish for. It was only a small thing but the doctors saved his leg and it did come true for him!

Ludovic_Giuly (National) - 18/07/2017 17:20:48

Leitrim Inter-County 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Mulligan deserves some respect though. He was a great servant and could have went off and plied his trade with some other county. Injuries wracked his career. Plus he would always have a word with fans after the game and thank people for coming out to support them. And we all know Leitrims support has dwindled a lot since the 90's and its only 500 or so die hards that follow them everywhere. You see the same few faces in Killmallock and Aughrim.

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - 19/12/2019 17:13:13