Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from gaelsboy

Move To National Forum Only Model - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Disgraceful, esp considering you gave posters absoultely no warning this was due to happen before the county forums were deleted sometime yesterday afternoon. Yesterday morning the Kerry forum was as active as ever. Everyday there are multiple posters on there like myself posting there. In fact it is far more active then the two county forums you have left operating. Most of the posters on the Kerry forum, like myself, have been posting on it for 8,9,10+ years. We kept it alive and going all that time. The fact you couldn't even have the decency to tell us in advance and let us say goodbye to each other or try and find another home is shocking. A lot of long time posters would have developed friendships etc over the years. I personally made the decision to leave the main forum at the start of 2021. Now the Kerry forum is gone I'll be moving on completely. So best of luck to (most) posters on here."
Well said. I'll likely be gone too, might look into setting up a reservoir dubs type website for Leitrim and see I can expand it for other counties

gaelsboy (National) - 30/09/2021 09:25:46

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
I think this is the first year in a lifetime we had a competitive team at this level, anyone expecting too much of these young lads is a fool, when you come from a county with a tradition of being beaten out the gate on your first day out and back to the club straight after you have a slim chance of getting to or winning a provincial final the first year you are competitive. Now we have see a glimpse of what these lads can do vs Sligo and Mayo, key thing is to keep the squad together for the remainder of the b championship (however long that may be) and keep developing the lads who are underage next year to kick on and come back stronger plus whoever comes up from minor next year. Shame on anyone calling this young lads overhyped or a disgrace, show us all your provincial medals you have won and then you can talk. This is essentially a development age grade

gaelsboy (National) - 18/04/2024 11:55:28

Nicky Rackard Semi Final - 3 Like(s)
Good luck to the hurlers Saturday, hardly a word all year about the hurlers especially with their success last year but hurling behind soccer and rugby in Leitrim for interest imo.

gaelsboy (National) - 11/11/2020 17:08:18

Replying To Honeyman2000:  "Usually the Leitrim geals pitch is ok just the game shud have never went ahead"
It will be the same craic this weekend. Why at least Senior and intermediate cannot be wrapped up by mid September is beyond me, scrap the Spring league if we have to , sure its Summer by the time it gets finished anyway

gaelsboy (National) - 27/09/2023 10:27:04

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "I would imagine there will be huge suspensions resulting from the fiasco with Ballinaglera last week. Whoever was right or wrong in the actual incident is arguably irrelevant now. You just simply cannot attack a referee under any circumstances and i'd imagine they will be dealt in such a manner. Mohill are the big surprise. There was huge surprise when they brought O'Hara back. Since then they've lost Oisin Madden and Jonathan Reynolds to emigration and Jordan Reynolds to a season ending injury which was misdiagnosed by the county (farcial) but bearing in mind they have a huge panel of players and a lot of underage success there is no way they should be tethering on the bring of relegation. I'd say there's a lot of hard questions being asked. No games this weekend apart from Ballinamore and the Willies this weekend for some reason. Talk is both teams are suffering with a lot of injuries currently. I went to the Fenagh Ballinamore game as a neutral and I was shocked by how poor they were. Tom Prior went off with a bad injury and they just crumbled. Mickey Graham the Cavan manager has taken them over since but i'm not sure how much he can do in two weeks. Would imagine it will be a tight game and the battle out around the middle between Moran and McGovern and Dolan and Pearce will decide it."
I seen that Mohill's second team conceded their game Sunday despite being at the top of the league and their 3rd team played their game scheduled for directly after and won well... why? was it to ensure their 3rd team were strong enough to win and get to top of div3? is this not a bit farcical? is there no implications for a team conceding when a lower graded team plays on same day? I guess not bar the standard fine. In Dublin, the higher graded team must always fulfill fixture first and see then if next graded team can fulfill, if higher team concedes and lower team fulfills, the lower team gets thrown out of that competition.

gaelsboy (National) - 05/07/2023 12:41:46

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Just because we got promoted alongside Derry and then drew with them in division 3 is irrelevant. It's like saying because Ireland we're unlucky to lose 1-0 to France that we are not far off them. Ireland still lost to Greece and are very poor. France have players littered all across the top sides and leagues in Europe and are producing top quality players. Our players are bit part players in second division sides. Derry have a top class club scene and several ulster club championship winners at all levels, Slaughtneil and Glen have competed in the All Ireland club finals. Their minors are the current all Ireland champs. That's where the crux of the issues lie- club scene and underage for us."
well said. the top club teams in Derry would beat us, even without their county players, same as Dublin and Kerry. Their conditioning would be better than us, never mind ability. invest in underage and aim to cut senior and inter numbers to 8 (eliminates teams/players doing the minimum to stay up and be made earn their status), then after a few years we may see an improvement

gaelsboy (National) - 17/07/2023 17:20:52

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
I think we have performed credibly this year, some questions were asked of Moran for sure, and he has answered some of them. Yes were dirt for the last 3rd of the league final but in a big top quality pitch like Croker Laois are more at home than we are and have the makings of a Div2 team if they can keep same squad/ get few more faces involved. They were basically promoted before playing us in first game so probably were not at full tilt. Yesterday was not much better but it was kinda a pointless game for us, reward would be a similar hiding from Galway that London got. Dunno what the current mgmt team cost but sure noone is doing it for free now. Agree resources are better put into underage up to U20 for the next 2/3 years so that hopefully by them we have a competitive team, it is a waste of time talking about lads who could make the team if they committed etc. the reality is half those lads are not around or just no interest, so forget about them

gaelsboy (National) - 08/04/2024 18:45:47

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Say for sake of argument the semi final pairings are Leitrim v Offaly and Cavan v Westmeath. I'd say you'd barely scrap 15,000 at that...in a stadium of 82,000 capacity. There will be more buzz from seagulls flying around it."
these counties dont have the population of Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc.. yet they will still bring a huge support despite this and that is realistic, sure why not play it in a public park pitch if that is the respect you think these footballers deserve? you know where you can go with yourself, small wonder some young lads wont commit to county when the likes of you belittle them

gaelsboy (National) - 02/06/2022 12:14:50

Replying To sparkie:  "Whats people toughts of the the u20 championship starting next week? Surely could g Have been played after the u20 loss to galway Lads expected to play thursday and saturday all league enters last few games along with an important championship"
it is 3-4 games tops. I think it can be wrapped up this time of year when pitches are good nick and lads are around for the summer, they're young and well able to play 2 games a week. Better for them than a training session, especially for lads that might not get a full game on a Saturday/ Sunday.

gaelsboy (National) - 16/06/2023 11:48:03

Leitrim Seniors 2021 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To the_creeler:  "You are wrong about that, Carrick have a provincial hurling title."
true, but if you look through the last few threads on this forum you will see no mention of hurling cos few are interested and we are talking about football, keep up

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - 01/06/2021 10:27:37

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Fair play to the U20s, a great result. When was the last time they beat Mayo?"
26 years. Would it be fair to say it is Moran's first big win for us? I know we had a v good win in 22 vs Antrim in TC but they are not really any good. Mayo are Mayo, and are AI contenders at every level they compete at, even if they do find a way to bottle it. Well done to all involved, by all accounts it was a comprehensive win and not stolen at the death, proves there is some light for the future if we can keep the best of these lads involved and playing.

gaelsboy (National) - 04/04/2024 10:09:08

Replying To Viking66:  "You are going well in div4 and have the makings of a good team. So other div4 fans are going to take an interest in you."
Exactly. We were high flying but now teams know we are there for the taking, so we gotta work extra hard now to get out of the division as any fear factor of us being better than the rest is gone

gaelsboy (National) - 24/02/2023 12:31:11

Tomorrow's game is a challenge, tipp and cavan promoted

gaelsboy (National) - 26/03/2022 20:48:51

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Mugatay:  "On a side note lads. What was the story with the young lads acting out on the train, drinking cans, getting sick in the jacks and then pulling the emergency cord a few times. My own Dad has stopped getting the train for fear of the likes of this and its hard to convince him otherwise when it makes the news. If any of you know any of them, please tell them to cop on or stay at home ta fk. https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligo/news/leitrim-gaa-fans-cautioned-by-gardai-after-anti-social-behaviour-on-sligo-train/a700465251.html Usually there is a good atmosphere and good chats to be had with fellow supporters on the train to games without fare-weather lads like this ruining a good day out. These aren't Leitrim Gaa fans"
As you said, they are fair weather fans that would have no interest in the game, just for the day out. Likes of them probably do not get too many days out of Leitrim and take it as an excuse to act the fool.

gaelsboy (National) - 03/04/2024 17:57:13

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Any reports of any challenge games? I have to admit I was worried after watching the performance against Galway. They didn't look up to the required levels of fitness, S&C etc."
heard nothing myself, it is gone a bit quiet here.

gaelsboy (National) - 20/01/2023 17:29:46

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "The progress Derry have made since 2019 is unbelievable. And we drew with them in 2020 in div 3. Crazy."
yeah but we are not a serious footballing county. We may have smaller population, resources etc but when you cannot get buy in from your best players you are never going to reach potential. Granted we are never going to be getting to AI semis but we could at least compete in Div 3 if we have everyone available and our house in order

gaelsboy (National) - 17/07/2023 10:18:27

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "As a man from a struggling first team in Leitrim, I do prefer and see first teams competing and winning their respective competitions rather than seeing a second team do so. However, as much as I would like to be selfish and agree with you, why should second teams be punished for having a string second team? This is more or less what you have in the current league structure. Fair that its competitive at the minute and a number of teams taken points off each other. But then you have to look at the hammerings some second teams are handing out in the reserve league 1. Mohill second team is a +101.. I repeat a +101 after 7 games, 2 of which were walk overs so technically 5 games. It's not fair on the weaker second teams and in my opinion would only turn players off from the said 'weaker' second teams and they might end up quitting football completely."
Mohill and Carrick will always have 2nd teams able to compete at junior A/intermediate level, big population but also they compete for and win senior titles regularly and that drives on the standards of lower teams, gets out lads that might not be bothered otherwise etc. I do not think there is much the county board can do about that.. force a quarter of each teams panel to move out and join eslin or leitrim gaels? kinda is what it is.

gaelsboy (National) - 21/07/2023 18:45:51

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Barrowsider:  "There should be a separate c championship for division 4 teams in reality most of us in the basement have as much chance of winning the A as the B which is zero."
Nah, that is the AI junior competition really and that was a micky mouse as larger counties still had it sewn up by being able to field senior standard players so they were right to make it an overseas competition. And as already stated above, you wont improve without the chance to play better teams and challenge yourself as well as no fun/interest in playing the same 7/8 teams every year. honestly think this current state needs 5/10 years to see whether it works, people are always gonna complain when their team is not winning, i personally would rather look internally rather than blaming the powers that be all the time

gaelsboy (National) - 28/04/2022 13:41:04

Replying To somewouldargue:  "Another disappointing u20 defeat, we could have levelled it and were looking the best side in the second half, same old story I think county board need a long hard look at themselves and their recruiting policy for coaches at underage level, our young fellas are being ill served at the minute imo with coaching."
agreed, they lost in in the last 10 mins. Were looking good until then.

gaelsboy (National) - 04/04/2023 21:15:32

All Ireland Club Semi Finals. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eoinog:  "Careful what you wish for. It's either TNaG or no one."
Excellent game despite the conditions, Glen better team but where was the Crokes keeper for Glen's goal

gaelsboy (National) - 07/01/2024 17:16:19