Kilkenny Forum

Popular Posts from Defaulter1831

Kerry V Dublin - 11 Like(s)
Is it ok for a Leinster man to support Dublin?! I'm not anti Kerry and would be happy for them if they won. It's just I feel an affinity for Dublin in that I feel they are very like our hurling team in the 2000s. Everyone wants them to lose and their excellence is being diluted a bit as people just want to moan about them. I've said it Up The Dubs!!

Defaulter1831 (National) - 26/08/2019 11:24:38

HS Readers' Football Team Of The Year - Goalkeeper - 6 Like(s)

Replying To lilylanger:  "Cluxton."
Very poor under the high ball, for me it's Patton all the way ;) By the way are you from Kildare (a lily) or just living there? Are you a langer, from Cork, or just a langer? Or are you a Dublinphile, from Dublin? Is your missus from Dublin and wears the trousers? As a Kildare person offering your congratulations to one of your biggest rivals should suffice, something wrong with the fawning and sycophantic behaviour you're displaying across the threads if you're genuinely from Kildare.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 16/09/2019 18:35:53

"Just Not Enough Good Men" - Brolly on Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Nasty little article from Joe Brolly to day on Mayo footballers today in the Sindo. They 'had the players but not the men' etc. He's an odious little man. Easiest thing to dois put the boot in when someone is down. https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-mayo-had-players-but-not-the-men-to-win-allireland-38392692.html

Defaulter1831 (National) - 11/08/2019 13:45:02

It Will Be Five Years Since Kilkenny Won Liam - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "So what goes on after these 'provincials'? seems to me we had the same counites playing each other week in week out there for a while till somehow it's gets whittled down to a final, anyway batter away with your sticks, I'm out."
Oh you're out now. Brave little fella with comprehensional problems.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 03/09/2019 15:20:15

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "In all fairness Pauric Maher's reaction to the little flick was pathetic for one who goes in to be such a titan. Barrett greatly exaggerated his 'hit'. It looks like team policy to me. This is a public forum for giving your opinion. Just because you're in the minority doesn't make you wrong. There's wholesale begrudgery of Kilkenny because of their success over the past 20 years. many of the 'majority' make comments based on anti Kilkenny feeling and puff up the majority. The 'sad' majority in many cases. Tommy Walsh bounds up after the dirtiest stroke I ever saw pulled on an inter county pitch in 2009. Richie Hogan does the same when he gets a harder shoulder to the head v Tipp than any contact Barrett got. Tipp 2019, nah, not for me. ROLLING, EXAGGERATING. They are turning hurling into soccer. Tipp 2010, 2016, 2001, 1991 and any other year I remember manly, principled teams. Not divers."
I agree wholeheartedly with your posts. Congratulations to Tipperary on their all-ireland win, it was probably inevitable even if Kilkenny had 15 men. But this is not the Tipperary of yore. They are looking to get players sent off in this years championship. It's a sad trend to see entering our great game. It looks planned and systematic. I never begruddged Tipp an all ireland when they beat us. However i can only luke warmly congratulate Tipperary colleagues and friends over this win. 2010 it was not.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 23/08/2019 15:34:14

It Will Be Five Years Since Kilkenny Won Liam - 4 Like(s)
Talk about creating a thread for the sake of it. This year is 20 years since Meath won Sam. Should we create a thread?

Defaulter1831 (National) - 03/09/2019 14:26:49

O'Callaghan V Clifford - 4 Like(s)
Just read Eamonn Sweeney's back page Independent article on Clifford and O'Callaghan. He compares them Messi and Ronaldo, not in direct comparison but lists traits the two gaelic lads have like the two soccer players. Fair enough. However he goes on to say that in terms of strength Con is like Messi and Cliffors Ronaldo. Is he for real.Does he not know how strong Con is? He then goes on to say Con has great athletic ability and pace but Clifford doesn't. Give me a break, has he not seen Cliffords pace in that minor goal v Galway from halfway a few years back. Earlier in the year he said Kilkenny (the hurling team) had lost their 'Kilkennyness' and were 3rd or 4th in Leinster and going nowhere. After beating Cork and Limerick there wasn't a word out of him. He was a journalist I often read but he's turned into a waffler and bluffer of the highest order. Anyone who criticises his viewpoint is 'a clown on social media' now too. Bizarre stuff. Good look to the two young men today.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 01/09/2019 12:14:03

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 3 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "A bit like yourself Mr Multiple County man?? I wouldn't be surprised if you're posting as a Dub in here too. Or perhaps you are the one and only ....ta dah....Leg End!!!!!!"
Yerrah it's been great fun winding you up! You posted that the Dubs perform fellatio on the GAA recently to get more money? Beidh an Riocht ar ais... Is treise dúchas ná oiliúint.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 17/09/2019 21:51:14

It Will Be 21 Years Since Meath Won Sam - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's September, I thought the silly season was over?"
A bit rich coming from you trolling on a hurling thread today.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 03/09/2019 19:51:03

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To midlands:  "I phoned a Tipp friend last night to congratulate him on their Under 20 win. We spoke about the reaction to the senior final. He doesn't do social media so I gave him a brief summary to the effect that the overwhelming majority of the Kilkenny lads are dead sound with no begrudgery, lots of complimentary posts from the likes of Galway, Limerick, Waterford and Wexford but some very nasty stuff from a guy from Laois, in particular, with talk of Tipp's win leaving "a sour taste". His reaction? "If Laois people are getting a sour taste then our victory tastes all the sweeter". Maybe it's time to stop flogging a dead horse and move on."
I've a right to reply. I'm hardly going to leave the last word with you and your phonecall to your Tipp mate. Always the last resort when someone starts the 'I say the argument is over' routine. By the way for a Westmeath man you a lot about Tipp..even how many months an U20 player is overage. Nasty stuff?? Does the truth hurt? Is everything meant to be sunshine and rainbows and you can't express an opinion? Tipp players are making a meal out of any situation where a player can be sent off. Nasty stuff. Nasty stuff would be on a whole different level, talking about someone's life outside sport etc. Bar saying Paidi Maher and Barrett tend to dive, and it seems like policy, I said nothing 'nasty'. If you can't stand the heat in the kitchen, get out. And you mentioned this to your friend from Tipp on a phonecall!

Defaulter1831 (National) - 26/08/2019 10:27:22

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)
There's a very valid reason people have double accounts on various fora. If, over the course of years, you divulge bits about yourself, where you're from, age, club, family etc you're basically supplying the internet with a lot of information about you. People can check you out on twitter, facebook and so on who are strangers. Why would you make every bit of info about yourself available to strangers. If on boards.ie you become friendly with certain posters you can PM them and share email details if you want to say who you are. So it can be handy to muddy the waters with an extra alias.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 18/09/2019 12:26:53

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Adler:  "Martin McHugh speaks way too fast and never finishes his sentenc..............."
Joe Brolly rambles on and takes two minutes to make a basic point.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 03/09/2019 19:53:16

Mayo V Dublin - 1 Like(s)
I hope Mayo can get another big performance out of themselves. It would be a shame to see an aging Mayo take a bad beating, considering how bravely they've performed all decade. Dublin are a great team. Of the 2 Kerry football teams, Wexford football team and Kilkenny hurlers they look the best equipped to become the first five in a row team. Will their be a twist in the tail next Saturday or in the final.. Hard to see it. Then again, in sport anything is possible. Don't think Diarmuid Connolly will start but probably be on the bench. As a neutral i'm glad he's back on the Dublin panel.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 05/08/2019 20:39:11

When Michael Met Davy - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Maroonatic:  "What an amazing young fella Michael O'Brien is. An incredibly heartwarming story. Dream Big"
Do you know if Michael's eye sight problem is degenerative? He has such a feel for sport it's quite amazing if he never saw. Great young man indeed.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 05/08/2019 21:41:30

It Will Be 21 Years Since Meath Won Sam - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Truth hurts, obviously you can't handle it."
What 'truth' might that be? Your little rant that you don't understand the hurling championship structure? Your bitterness towards hurling? I can't do anything about the latter but I'll go through the former as it seems you're still having difficulty getting your head around it. I'm a patient man. Each team in the provinces of Leinster and Munster play each other once in a round robin system. The top two teams in each province play in the provincial final. The top 3 are in the All Ireland series, that's 6 teams plus the 2 Joe McDonagh Cup finalists. The Joe McDonagh is a tier directly below the Liam McCarthy teams. Joe McDonagh is a former GAA president who died a few years ago. I won't say at what stage of the all Ireland series provincial winners, losers, 3rd place teams and Joe McDonagh teams enter as it'll confuse you. I know you probably got a parent or older sibling to explain the Super 8s to you. I think that's enough for now. We wouldn't want to overload your brain, that's a highly probable scenario.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 04/09/2019 01:41:54

Kerry V Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Got the papers this morning and a agog with the overwhelming credit given to Kerry for there display yesterday. Yes they fought hard, but it seems to me that people are missing some very simple facts. 1. Kerry played dublin for almost 45 mins with 15 vs 14. 2.Until the sending off (which i taught was the right call) this game was moving along to its predictable end. 3. Even playing with an extra man the Kerry defence struggled with the dublin attack. And Kerry did not have the nerve to go after the dublin kickouts. 4. With most of the Kerry lads playing at the top of there game and a number of dublin lads underperforming Kerry could not win. 5. Even with a so called star studded forward line Kerry could not create the scored to put dublin to bed. 6. And the Kerry lads were the beneficiaries of some very generous refereeing by Mr Gough. The term "missed the boat" comes to mind you would have to think that Dublin will improve by 20 % and as it stands currently Kerry have not got the scope for that improvement. Replays can be an anti climax and I have a feeling this is what will happen."
Point 4 is rubbish. Clifford missed scores he never does. Geaney didn't play well. O'Brien has more in him. Kerry's kick outs were poor enough overall, 2 went over the sideline. Kerry young lads first Senior AI. Kerry have a good record in replays. Both Kerry and Dublin have equal scope for improvement. Fenton in midfield can only improve. Kilkenny, Mannion and Scully, James McCarthy have more in them etc. You can look at that match which ever way you want to suit who you want to win, but the fact is whoever will learn the most from the first day and improve the most will win. Dublin in 2016 were expected to easily beat Mayo in the replay. They won because of Hennelly's meltdown really. I feel the Kerry keeper could have this in him too... Are Dublin showing a little lack of hunger with the length they are on the road? Did the elevation of Connolly do something to the over all morale. Look no one knows..

Defaulter1831 (National) - 03/09/2019 12:53:22

Dublin Results 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Serious congrats to Dublin that 10 minutes after half time was 'shock and awe' Gaelic Football. Mayo died with their boots on. Pity they didn't get their AI 2012-2017. Mayo will rebuild as they always do.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 10/08/2019 22:07:47

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 1 Like(s)

Replying To midlands:  "If you check back you'll see it wasn't me that knew by how many months a Tipp guy was overage. I don't know guys' actual birthdays but my old match programmes tell me when they played minor. Of course you and everyone else has a right to reply and I never said "the argument is over". It just doesn't seem to be going anywhere except round and round and nobody is likely to change their views at this stage."
Fair enough about the player's age, apologies I looked back through the thread. It's just you're painting all Kilkenny posters as happy enough. I'm not and I never begrudged any Tipp team an all ireland. I agree with that Laois poster's point of view. As I said in a previous post this all ireland was not like 2016 or 2010. Tipp would have won anyway by 7 or so points i feel. But I feel the point about Tipp players going down quickly is quite true. Over and out on the argument here,you're right it is time to move on.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 26/08/2019 10:53:17

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 1 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "apologies...threw things at Dublin fans."
You think you'd be off enjoying the 5 in a row rather than policing the internet! Yerra I wasn't mad at all, just tired and forgot to change accounts. Multiple accounts is great craic to wind up idiots like you.

Defaulter1831 (National) - 17/09/2019 21:44:34

Kerry V Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BlueBeret:  "Only a foolish person would compare winning 5 or 6 Minor titles in a row to Senior titles. Minor teams must change on an ongoing basis due to the small rule pertaining to players being under a given age on a given date. I would very much doubt if any Minor team has ever even won 2 titles in a row. Lots of counties and clubs have won multiple titles in a row but the teams are always changing."
Laois won 2 in a row 1996-97 that I remember. Derry did too i think in the 1980s?

Defaulter1831 (National) - 11/08/2019 22:28:44