Kilkenny Forum

Popular Posts from Heftydickonem

Eoin Murphy's Tackle - Wexford V Kilkenny - 5 Like(s)
Some whinging from the Wexford crowd (and Tipp posters, peculiarly) since the match about this, it happens the whole time but now that a Wexford player almost died (apparently) its something that needs addressing urgently. Not a peep about TJ Reid being split open with a jab of the hurl to the face that when completely unpunished though, strange

Heftydickonem (National) - 19/06/2019 09:38:04

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I'll tell you whats sad to see in the game. Lads that cant take their punishment. When you elbow someone in the head now God's name do you expect to get off. And it's crazy the delusion from some ex players and some of the stuff said in the media."
I tell you what's sad, there is a high profile controversial incident that has rightly or wrongly been discussed for five days now and you still haven't the wherewithal to realise that no one was elbowed in the head.

Heftydickonem (National) - 23/08/2019 17:27:29

Limerick V Kilkenny - 3 Like(s)
Hard to feel sorry for any team that indulges in that adjusting contact lenses cheating to slow play down

Heftydickonem (National) - 28/07/2019 13:49:42

Galway V Limerick - 3 Like(s)

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "I'd agree and disagree .Hegarty was neither clumsy nor attempting to hook he was trying to get a belt in like lots of players do in fairness.As you mentioned earlier he got away with a good bit of fouling today Gillane did give the goalie a clip but to me it was nothing and definitely didnt merit the reaction it got . Sure he even managed to puck out the ball first if I remember correctly. Id be far more impressed if he ran out and gave him one back"
The most striking thing about the Gillane incident, besides how much of a meal of it was made by Murphy, was the utter stupidity of Gillane. He was very lucky that it wasn't seen, once you give a ref a desicion to make these days and involves use of the hurl, your prospects aren't good.

Heftydickonem (National) - 29/11/2020 20:57:53

Limerick against Waterford. All Ireland Hurling Final 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why would it annoy Tipp People. We have beaten Tipp by at least six points in three of the last four championship matches we played them in and five times in the last eight years. However overall it is the Media and people who are generally not from Limerick who go on 'about how good are'. Every time Shefflin, Daly and Cusack get their pusses on TV they are on about 'how good Limerick are' and then go on about strategies on how 'to stop' them. When Kilkenny were winning all round them I never heard pundits devoting hours of viewing time 'on how to stop the Cats'. You make a big issue of the three Championship matches Limerick lost last year. Lets unpack that. Cork beat us last May. For some reason Cork have beaten Limerick, Clare Tipp and Waterford during the past ten years in the month of May/June only to collapse against each of them when they got to Croke Park. This was the only year where it really was important to win the first game and they fell to Waterford. So no huge surprise there. As regards the Round Robin Tipp game that we lost, Kiely left off four of his players and the match on in Thurles. I think he was wrong to do that but there you go. However they beat Clare, Waterford and Tipp (MF) by an average of seventeen points. Kilkenny did surprise us but how often have good KK teams been caught out like that. Offally, '94, '95 and 98 (AIF) and Wexford '94 all come to mind and of course ye got caught by Galway 05 and Cork in '13 by two teams that did sweet SFA after."
I won't be replying to PatOLogical, I do wonder about him but to address your post, firstly can you not see how the claim that Limerick should be going for 3 in a row may annoy people from the county that actually won the last years championship, winning more games than Limerick in doing so? I know for a fact it does. Me stating that I like Tipp people being annoyed by it was obviously tongue in cheek My general point was, which in no way belittles the Limerick team, is that its not often you hear claims that a team that lost three matches in the championship and didn't even make the final, should have won the championship. If Limerick had beaten Kilkenny, they faced a team that most would regard were better than KK,, and who knows, Tipp may learned from KK in the semi, who knows what would have happened on the day.. To give an example using my own county, you never hear people claiming the great Kilkenny team should have won 7 in a row, even though they reached the final of the one championship that they didn't win in that interval, were plagued with injuries and came up against a team who put in the performance of a lifetime, and then actually went on to win the next two, so it's unusual to hear it said about a team that has won one so far. "When Kilkenny were winning all round them I never heard pundits devoting hours of viewing time 'on how to stop the Cats'" of course they did! Every team, every analyst in the country did exactly that. This Limerick team has potential to win more titles, and if they do, you'll notice that the longer the winning goes on the more biased the commentary becomes, the more unreasonable people become in discussing any controversial incident, the harder it is to get breaks from refs and it soon seems like everyone is out to get you. You'll also notice that the media hype the team up the moon and when the team eventually loses, they claim that hype got to them. That is the nature of sport.

Heftydickonem (National) - 01/12/2020 21:28:37

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "You can have a physical game and also clamp down on dangerous play That isnt political correctness and going down that line of thought is trumpian at its best and is what really needs to be clamped out. Yes there is some jealousy towards Kilkenny but there is no doubt they get away with a huge amount and should be penalised in some areas of game much more than they are"
I simply cannot believe in 2019 that there are people who think Kilkenny get away with more than any other team. There was perhaps something to it when they were at the height of the powers up to 2014 but that is simply not the case anymore. Name any incident, and type of offence that illustrates your point that Kilkenny get away with a lot. It's especially surprising coming from a Limerick man considering how robustly Limerick play the game and seem to pride themselves on it.

Heftydickonem (National) - 23/08/2019 18:33:36

Galway V Limerick - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "Here's my 5 cents and maybe that is all it is worth you will probably say. There is too much inconsistency. Not advocating for cards because many are ridiculous but most if not all times that would be a card of some form. We have seen that and referred to as in control of your stick. Hogan and to a lesser extent Barrett can testify to that. Can we agree on that? The Galway keeper should have been dealt with for bringing the game in to disrepute as he got no more than a friendly tap. Acting like he was speared. He needed to be more focused on where he hits the ball out as he caused Galway to lose the game. He is a great stopper but in too games we saw he is a lose cannon and cost Galway both finals. The increase of tackles around the neck bothered me and I started to take a closer look. What I noticed a lot of them is the players feel the hand coming in, duck under it or lift it knowing they will get a free. Some are just out right dangerous play."
"The increase of tackles around the neck bothered me and I started to take a closer look. What I noticed a lot of them is the players feel the hand coming in, duck under it or lift it knowing they will get a free. Some are just out right dangerous play" Once Willie Barrett et al decided to crack down on high tackles (i am far from convinced about exactly how much of an issue they were in the first place, lots of talk about potential for injury but not a lot of actual injuries that i am aware of) when they felt like it, this was the inevitable end result. Players will exploit what they can unfortunately

Heftydickonem (National) - 29/11/2020 21:03:41

Eoin Murphy's Tackle - Wexford V Kilkenny - 2 Like(s)

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I would also add that Damien Reck got split open by Conor Whelan and there wasn't a word about it. A Kilkenny supporter complaining about whinging, which is what they specialise in at every referee every day they go out, is deeply ironic also."
All the whinging since the game has been from Wexford supporters, ye even had a man sent off for whinging FFS. Your manager is the biggest whinger in the game. Ironic really when the discussion on here after the Kilkenny Galway game and in the build up to the Kilkenny Wexford game included many posts from Wexford supporters about Kilkenny supporters complaining about the ref

Heftydickonem (National) - 19/06/2019 10:32:32

Kilkenny V Galway - 2 Like(s)
Galway posters think that they are now going to win the All-Ireland after being a minute from yet another implosion against a 13 man very average Kilkenny team

Heftydickonem (National) - 12/06/2019 20:49:27

'The People's Game' - 1 Like(s)

Replying To CeachtPeile:  "That is chronic. Surely you'd be selling what's unique and different to anyone coming to Ireland. That number of rugby images is ludicrous and shows the bias of those commissioning the video."
Sorry If I missed it, but can someone please provide a link to this latest video?

Heftydickonem (National) - 20/03/2018 10:48:30

Leinster SHC Final Wexford V Kilkenny - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "So apart from our shooting and decision making, we were the better team? Wexford the better team. Better drilled and better organised (and that manifests itself on the field through lower wide counts and better decision making). Richie Hogan only coming on in injury time was stupid. He's surely fit enough for ten minutes and he couldn't have been any worse than most of the forwards who were out there (TJ and Mullen excepted)."
I stand by my statement that Kilkenny blew that game. Wexford are playing with a purpose, are well drilled, tactically they got it right and such efficient shooting is usually a sign of a team putting in an optimal performance. Kilkenny are disjointed, seem to be tactically inept, don't seem to be playing to their potential (at least up front) and unusually, yesterday they made some shocking decisions. Despite all this Kilkenny could have won. Reid's two incidents of over elaboration and Murphy's 'lobbed-in' frees alone are a four point swing, then 12 wides on top.

Heftydickonem (National) - 01/07/2019 11:17:21

Daithi Burke Challenge - 1 Like(s)
I'm a bit torn on this one. You don't want your full back taking any prisoners and I don't want hurling getting too sanitized, but as these types of tackles go it was edging towards the more extreme end of the scale in my opinion (but nowhere near Clinton Hennessy on Bonor Maher for example), Burke could have little complaint if he walked. Overall, I'm happy enough that he only got a yellow, but maybe I'd feel stronger if the offence occurred in a more tight game at a later stage in the championship!

Heftydickonem (National) - 31/05/2018 10:54:22

Limerick V Kilkenny - 1 Like(s)
I wouldn't say that Kilkenny have huge momentum now, they have put in one decent performance which while giving Kilkenny supporters more hope than was there previously, would need to be backed up by at least another one good performance to indicate that some consistency has been found Kilkenny were much improved against Cork, but our distribution is still much below that of Limerick and Limerick are bigger, better conditioned and have a number of different playing strategies that they can employ team whereas Kilkenny are still a bit disjointed and aren't as well drilled in my opinion. A big positive for Kilkenny is the spread of scorers has improved with subs making an impact. It will take planning and something different from Kilkenny to beat Limerick I think, but at the very least I expect Kilkenny to give a good account of themselves. While the Q-Final last year could have gone either way, Limerick look to be better than last year (unless the Munster hype has mislead again) and we saw how quickly Limerick dismantled Kilkenny in the league

Heftydickonem (National) - 16/07/2019 13:51:10

Dublin V Kilkenny Leinster Semi Final - 1 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Well, that says it all about what you have to offer."
You didn't like me pointing out that Dublin players have tried to trip players in on goal with their hurls in both of their games so far so resorted to calling me a WUM. Have you nothing else? Can you debate a point ?

Heftydickonem (National) - 02/11/2020 10:56:48

Dublin V Kilkenny Leinster Semi Final - 1 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Dublin were poor alright and didn't deserve it but ya,Kk wouldn't engage in anything like that or throwing a stick sure. Lovely lads altogether. Don't be talking sh1te now if you're going to be posting."
Two games in a row now a Dublin has cynically tried to trip players in on goal using their hurls, something rarely seen in the game before. not nice to see. I'll let the forum mod decide what i can and cannot post, not you.

Heftydickonem (National) - 01/11/2020 19:23:25

Eoin Murphy's Tackle - Wexford V Kilkenny - 1 Like(s)

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Liam Ryan turned to give a fair shoulder, if Mullen didn't get the memo he will learn fast! I agree O'Hanlon was a bad tackle but a red card? Come off it. It almost cost us the match and our place in the championship. If a full-back came out like a goalkeeper does, (I am not referring to Murphy any more as I think it is something keepers get away with) and collided with a player like that, there would be hell to pay."
I don't see why the tackle potentially costing Wexford the match should come into an assessment of the tackle itself. In my opinion, ignoring O'Hanlon's antics through out the game and taking the 'tackle' in isolation, while it was a cheap shot I think a yellow was enough I did think Liam Ryan could easily have been blown for charging, but I'm glad he wasn't and I'd hate to see that as it would be further evidence of the sanitisation of the game.

Heftydickonem (National) - 20/06/2019 17:32:50

Kilkenny V Galway - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "TJ wasted most of that time himself, spending 2mins or so placing the ball for his free. I thought KK were 2 points up at time, the carry on of him, and not two points down. Why didn't he clip it over quickly, instead of wasting 2mins at it."
Well that's a clueless post and not what happened at all

Heftydickonem (National) - 12/06/2019 15:38:48

Limerick against Waterford. All Ireland Hurling Final 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks For the reply and there is a lot in what you say. However as regards Tipp. They know people, and not all Limerick people by a long shot, are saying we should be going for three in a row. I have heard this said by prominent hurling men from Galway, Wexford, Carlow and indeed from your own county (not all KK men share those most tender feelings that you possess towards Tipp folk) that Limerick threw away a three in a row. I know that was presumptuous of them and I would never say it myself, but there you go. However in three different competitions since then we have clobbered them and then beat the team that beat them last Sunday. Why the Hell did they not come out and give us at least one good flaking and shut up the doubting Thomaseens once and for all. As regards Tipp, how is it that despite the fact that they won three All Irelands in the past ten years that so few Pundits, and I dont think you can deny this, spent so little time plotting their downfall, and furthermore why these pundits were speaking of Limerick, through last Spring and all the year long, as if they and not Tipp were the current Champions. What I am saying is that in 2019 a lot of people from different backgrounds felt that this team was in some way less worthy champions that the previous ones in '16 or 10. The Final was a clear cut win but three incidents played a big part in the decisiveness of Tipps victory, (1) Fennelly was almost clean through on goal early in the game and preparing to pull the trigger when John McGrath, a corner forward, came of nowhere to hook him, secondly Murphy left in a soft goal,- how seldom he does that - from Noel O'Meara who is a fine hurler but not a noted goal scorer and thirdly of course the sending off. Tipp, fair play to them, may have won it anyway but those three incidents so early in the game were fortunate from their viewpoint. I take your point about the Media. For the past few days it seems some commentators are in apparent shock that Waterford have qualified for this final. I am sure those who take a real interest do not share their amazement. Limerick played five matches in the League last spring and to me Waterford were easily the best team they played. From '12 to sixteen Waterford and Limerick played some titanic matches at under age level with Limerick narrowly winning in two replayed Munster Finals and Waterford won Minor and U21 All Irelands. I contend that but for injuries and a suspension, plus Jamie Barron being sick all week before the match, that Waterford and not Galway would have won the '17 All Ireland. It should also that they took out both Cork and Kilkenny on the way to that final. Their form over last two years is being highlighted in the Championship but no team could have won matches with the injury list they had in 18 and last year they played well against Clare, Tipp and Cork. They also reached the League Final in Spring '19 beating Galway, in Nowlan Park, with fourteen men and performed quite well in the final against Limerick. I am surprised so called experts of the games seem totally unaware of these background details."
I think you make fair points there concerning Tipp's recent record vs Limerick, and that influencing peoples' opinion on whether Limerick should have won the All-Ireland or not and the discourse around Limerick through the winter and into this year. However even as a Kilkenny man, I would never refer to Tipp 2019 as "in some way less worthy champions" to be honest, and I don't think the hook by McGrath or the goal by O'Meara can be used as evidence that they were fortunate, to me they are evidence that Tipp were on their game and doing what it takes to win. I 100% agree with you concerning the media and Waterford, some of the pre-match analysis left a lot to be desired, it's almost like they set a team up for a fall sometimes and then they express their shock when it does happen (of course this is not what happens, but I think you know what I mean) Anyway, I think the thread should get back to discussing the final in two weeks, it's a awful shame that the Waterford and Limerick fans cannot attend, I'm expecting something special

Heftydickonem (National) - 02/12/2020 13:07:51

Dublin Knock Galway Out! - 1 Like(s)

Replying To WildPundit:  "Kilkenny were found out too keep TJ quite and you have them in your pocket. Lucky goal kept ye in the championship mind you just be glad it ain't your crew sent packing tonight. If Wexford had half bothered to play a forward line they would have beaten ye. Don't get your point about my post been nonsense everyone else including KK beat Carlow handy enough but Galway didn't and I think that was more Carlow been up for it than Galway been poor. They did beat ye afterall and I don't think that was a lucky win to be honest."
Huh, Kilkenny didn't lose despite Reid not having an influence, probably should have won if Leahy etc. had their eye in and what was the lucky goal you mention?

Heftydickonem (National) - 15/06/2019 22:34:57

Kilkenny V Waterford - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "TJ Reid is one of the best Kilkenny players I seen, I rate him ahead of Shefflin without hesitation, one little thing for such a great player, he won a number of frees this evening by he himself, grabbing his marker and pulling him in on top himself and of course all go to ground the referee (whom I thought gave Kilkenny a few very questionable frees) gives the free to the forward...he does it very discreetly but he has too much skill to be at that lark...people will say "more luck to him, clever play" its not fair play in my and most people minds....he cut a very dejected figure this evening, and off the top of my head not knowing his age, have a hunch he might be pondering his future.."
That "number of frees" that you refer to Reid winning by dragging the man down with him is 1. He personally got a couple of soft frees in the game but only one where he could be accused of doing what you described, which i remarked at the time, is not something he normally does. Going on as if that is a regular thing that somehow taints his achievements is nonsense.

Heftydickonem (National) - 29/11/2020 09:58:54