Kilkenny Forum

Popular Posts from LottoPlus

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
I watched the game again yesterday. I don't know if our victory was that great. Tyrone forwards bluffed a few chances in front of Goal when there was 2 on 1 early in the second half and if one of them had been scored then I suspect that the result may have been different. When O Neill got Daly to drop into the pocket (I am saying O Neill because I think he is the Brains of the operation on the sideline) that finished the goal threat and then Galway starting running at the Tyrone (Another O Neill trait) team the result was only going one way. You could see the body language of the Tyrone team after they missed the couple of goals. Also Remember that Tyrone team were hammered by the Rossies in the Hyde and have beaten Donegal who will be my favourites along with Monaghan to head south. I suspect that Tyrone have their battles picked and a good result against Monaghan will leave them fairly safe. Though we are not out of the woods yet. Also Isnt Kevin Walshe doing wonders in Cork. Remember Kevin brought Galway out of the mess left by the previous management into the all Ireland semi Final. Thrilled for him.

LottoPlus (National) - 20/02/2023 16:45:43

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galway19:  "McLoughlin fielded a few in the second half and they did get on top in the second half but it was largely because ATU Sligo had no kickout plan and just belted them down the middle hoping to win a break. I'd say they got a right talking to at half time because they were miles off the pace. Kelly lost the ball countless times in the tackle and the forward line kept kicking the ball into the goalkeepers hands. Eventually Sligo ran out of steam but when you compare the quality of the two sides it was an inter county panel playing a club side. Would be very disappointed with the Galway lads outside of Liam O'Conghaile."
Honestly a lot of Galway lads are living off past reputations or even their brothers reputation. I agree outside O Conghaile and lesser O Currain the Galway lads were poor. One high-fielding midfielder is enough but you also need a play maker at midfield. You can have either McLoughlin or Kelly not both together. The amount of ball Kelly turned over in the tackle was awful. And he will probably start for Galway. I would actually have McLoughlin and Annaghdown's Kilcommons midfield (if he is back from injury) . Kilcommons, although only about 6 foot, at least he can kick pass the bloody ball and adds more line speed than Kelly who would rather fist pass the ball backwards that kick it forward. That saying McLoughlin has no line speed. Also plenty of place for Culhane as well up front. Also play Sweeney at 5 or no where, this role at 13 has does not suit him another anonymous performance. O Flaherty is another one I am disappointed with. In the FBD last week his man had 4 point at half time while O Flaherty was running around trying to score his own scores. Again last night he gave away a lot of ball but score 1 so he is ok. Reputations will only get you so far.

LottoPlus (National) - 18/01/2024 14:00:36

Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To galwayfball:  "Salthill have some neck on them. A shared facility would be great for city clubs. The current proposal is a joke and I'm shocked they are trying to get away with it. This will just lead to the already dominant city club become more dominant"
They have some neck. Going into St Michaels and Rahoon Newcastles catchment area. I read both clubs statements and I agree with them. Not alone are Salthill currently pulling from everywhere in the city and from the islands and beyond. This cash rich clubs is trying to ruin the neighbouring clubs. I have heard of flyers etc. been send around the Michaels and Rahoon areas getting people to sign petitions. They have history of this, killing Father Griffins club years ago. This will test the strength of the county board here. If they go ahead with these plan Galway county board need to kick them out of the Galway competitions. Clubs need to band together and refuse to play them in any competition. If they get away with this where does it end.

LottoPlus (National) - 13/03/2023 15:44:38

Replying To anotheralias:  "I'm slightly annoyed by these type of comments in relation to any player and I think its particularly unfair in this instance. I'm not sure how much Barry could offer us , and maybe Padraic Joyce saw something in training to back up up his decision . But a little bit of context . Barry McHugh played 2 half hours of football in a synthetic (i.e. not real) environment. He didn't play well. But did he play "awful"? Against Mayo he scored 0-2 ( 1 free + 1 play) out of a 1st half total of 0-5. Our entire full forward line that started v Donegal scored 0-0. Were they "awful" . No. They just had a poor day and, correctly so, will be given other chances."
I agree with you anotheralias. Firstly a person criticising an amateur player by name is a disgrace. Also Watching this year championship Barry McHugh was the most dangerous forward and opposition clubs usually picked their best back to mark him. That is the way I would judge a player not in a indoor synthetic pitch in January. There is a lot of players who have not played well in the league or FBD and have got second, third or even fourth chances and it is mainly from the two clubs who reached the county final. Are they the two best clubs in Galway, I dont know. I expect Corofin and MM to have serious say this year and our money backed city team will be a one year wonder.

LottoPlus (National) - 07/03/2023 11:13:36

Disappointed in County Board not sorting our the Craughwell issue. Clatinbridge and Athenry have tried to do the same with Clarinbridge being successful. If footballing club like Annaghdown Moycullen or spiddal etc banded Hurling I am sure that the county board would be all over them.

LottoPlus (National) - 06/11/2022 14:16:17

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "As an Annaghdown man, after seeing Kilcommins yesterday out in Kinvara there is no debate about his county credentials... or lack there of intercounty credentials."
As a Carnmore man (now) I was at the match yesterday and Kilcommons is your only hurler and he seems to be carrying your team. Unfit, no hurling what so ever, some of your players cannot even pick the ball. We are no good either as we only won by about 6 points. Do you train or just turn up an play? Finally You comment of the young lad smells of bitterness. He may be as well off transferring with clubmen like you,

LottoPlus (National) - 04/09/2023 16:11:49

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Interesting that he used the term 'different class'. Interesting, because many observers felt that Kilcommins never displayed the requisite level of class, across a range of hurling skillsets, to thrive or even survive at the highest level of intercounty. This was an intermediate grade club hurling game against Turloughmore''s B team, when 'Turloughmore man' made that evaluation."
Pope Benedict, your comments against the young lad is a bit unfair and actually nasty. Did he take a your place on a team some time or were you dropped by someone from an intermediate club and you are holding some bad feelings. I would say you were a fine hurler alright. I was not at the match so I can comment. was only talking to the Turloughmore man and he expressed his opinion. I think he would like to get the young lad to go to Turloughmore where his hurling can improve. He was way above everyone in that match. Which you would expect. But you know best, You are always right.

LottoPlus (National) - 29/08/2023 10:30:50

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "Shane Walsh is obviously a superb talent, but he was really very poor today. He had the game of his life last year in the All Ireland final, which is of course the stage on which to shine, but he has had more bad days than good for Galway and today was one of his worst. Plenty of time to improve but he needs to. We need him to. Comer, Sweeney, Kelly, McHugh all excellent. Cooke and Heaney… not so much."
I would have to disagree with your comment on Heaney. He is excellent and is well above Sweeney and Cooke etc anyday.

LottoPlus (National) - 24/04/2023 16:12:39

Replying To galway19:  "This is the way I would like to see us line out for the provincial semi final. Power Glynn Kelly McGrath McHugh Daly O'Flaherty Maher McDaid Cooke Heaney (if not fit then Sweeney comes in to perform same role) Tierney Walsh Comer Finnerty"
Sweeney is no Heaney. Chalk and cheese. Heaney is a unsung hero of Galway and a brilliant workhorse. I still don't know what Sweeney's role is in the Galway team. He is a very good club player and we have seen that many good clubs players never make the transition. and they are usually from stronger clubs. What I mean about that is take the likes of Lundy, Sice, Steed (Corofin) serious club players but did not make real impact in the county. It is because if one of them have a bad day then there was enough good players to fill the gap and their club would still win. These players weakness in county (like Sweeney) is that they dont have to be in top form all the time. The county player you need is a player that is a leader in his club team (Like Heaney, Comer, Walshe, Conroy, ) If they don't turn up for their club the club looses. You can see that even with Kelly from Moycullen he plays bad Moycullen loose. Same with John Daly. Search around the club seen and there are plenty of that sort of player (ex county underage) who when they play against the bigger clubs are double marked because the bigger club can afford to leave some of his less talented teammates free. That player will play fullback, Midfield, Centre Forward mark the best opposition player and generally play anywhere the team needs him. Sweeney et al just played at wing back and in fairness not many wing forwards at club level would have been able for him but county is different.

LottoPlus (National) - 03/04/2023 15:43:05

Galway Hurling thread - 1 Like(s)
Galway were awful yesterday. Walter Walshe is 32 old and not very fast yet he left the most overrated of Galway player for dead (that over rated players is Fintan Burke, All Burke can do id take sidelines ). Cillian Buckley is 31 and came on a made a massive difference. Blanchfield who is average at the best of time looked like a star yesterday. How often can Joe Cooney, Conor Cooney, Padraig Mannion, McInerney, play poorly and still get their place. We have moved no where with Shefflin. Giving this job to a novice like Shefflin was silly. He must go. Even Kilkenny people dont think he is a any good as a manager. The county board has blood on their hands. Hurling will die with this team in Galway unless Shefflin stops picking players because of past performances. Maybe I am wrong here but looking at the team there is only Darren Morrissey from 2017 minors, Evan Niland and Cooney from 2016, No one from the 2018 minors. Kilkenny stats will should 3-4 each year. Some very good hurlers being cast aside at 21 or 22 years old. O Neill did not work and neither did that Dinasour Shefflin, Maybe the senior players need to start looking at themselves and see if they are the problem. We let Anthony Cunningham and Mike O Donoghue go to other counties ffs. Cunningham fell out of favour with certain established players when he wanted them all to do trials maybe that needs to happen. No one should have a god given right to his place on the team. We may have to loose a few battles to win a war but i would give that team a enema and clear out a lot of so called established players.

LottoPlus (National) - 12/06/2023 11:23:11

Galway Football thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To brisbane:  "The Square D Gaa Tactics and Analysis #15 Kerry vs Mayo + Galway vs Tyrone https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOu7hU9s5C4 BARRY CULLINANE AND STEPHEN O'MEARA | Galway do enough against Tyrone https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXLZuiMQ3dg"
AH Jaysus Barry, knows a much about football as Ian Paisley or King Charles. Last year, it was hilarious, in the of the football championship he was picking 3-4 players from Claregalway on the team of the week every week when the top clubs were getting none. No one even knew the players were. You would think Claregalway were going to win the world and its mother :-) . He must have been getting free pints from Claregalway players every weekend.

LottoPlus (National) - 26/05/2023 13:20:03

Anyone hear Cyril Farrell on some podcast. "galway supporters are giving out that there are no young players coming through" and he soon added "they wont stay around if they are not getting matched".. He also mentioned that a lot of that team were around since Anthony Cunningham's and MOD's era so this is their last chance. What he seems to be saying is that Galway will need to start rebuilding big time next year and he doesn't know if Shefflin is the man for that.

LottoPlus (National) - 30/04/2024 15:42:43

Replying To 98galway:  "Galway championship team 2024: 1. Flaherty 2. McGrath 3. Kelly 4. Silke 5. Mchugh 6. Daly 7. Sweeney 8. Maher 9. McDaid 10. Tierney 11. Walsh 12. Cooke if available (Heaney if not) 13. Finnerty 14. Comer 15. Cunningham/Canney Thoughts on this team?"
Sorry, No Heaney, are you Mad. Galways most underrated player. Also no disrespect to Sweeney but Glynn is a way better footballer. And Joyce is very loyal to Gleeson and Flaherty does not have the long kick out skill set. I have watched a couple of University matches and O Connaire from Spiddal is a great prospect and Kilcommons and P. Kelly dominated the middle of the field in the two matches I saw for NUIG but probably not a midfield options for Galway. Both have more football that Maher but Maher is 6 foot 4 which makes a difference. O Flaherty needs to be given more time on the field, he will learn nothing on the bench. So Gleeson for Flaherty, Glynn in for Sweeney, Cooke in for Maher, Heaney in for Cooke. Cunningham is not at the level for county. And I don't know about Canney maybe a third midfielder in at 15 and bring him out the field. Maher and bring him out the field?

LottoPlus (National) - 02/01/2024 17:24:41

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "Is this to benefit Ballinasloe more so than Cappy? Arent Cappy relatively strong at underage, over the last few years? Probably makes sense for Ballinasloe to amalgamate with Cappy because their underage is amalgamated with Gabriels, but for the future (if it ever needed to happen at adult level), they'd prob be best suited to merge with Kiltormer? Hopefully wont ever need to happen and the mini-revival in Ballinasloe hurling encourages further growth."
I think this is a great Idea. Do a club amalgamation like Kerry do in Football. In football the Cliffords club used to be junior and they would not have been seen (well Paudie anyway) without them playing with an amalgamation club in senior. Hurling clubs have amalgamated before for their best. Mullagh Kiltormer in underage and probably not too far away for senior, Ahascragh Fohenagh, Tynagh Abbey Duniry. I think that we (Carnmore) should join with Annaghdown or Sylane. Sylane would me the better option as they have better hurlers. Annaghdown have 2 maybe that would make our team at the moment. I wonder would this be a good topic of conservation at our AGM, Carmore/Sylane join together. We could be called Carlane :-)

LottoPlus (National) - 17/11/2023 13:44:37

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "You are also an Annaghdown man Lotto. And a Kilkenny man. Your identity is known. And you know very little about hurling too it may be said."
Carnmore, well Carnmore now.

LottoPlus (National) - 07/11/2023 15:43:41

Anyone know the NUIG or GMIT (or whatever they are called now) Fitzgibbon panels.

LottoPlus (National) - 11/12/2023 12:15:00

Watching the match the referee was not giving the free initially to Heaney but he must have looked at the replay and then gave the free. We should be taking a look at what the rugby do in dangerous situations like that. Watch again on the video on big screen, and bring in linesmen and watch the replay for make a decision. The Goalie actually moved towards Heaney to make sure he took him out, In rugby that would be a straight red. And why were Galway not awarded a penalty (the rule of a certain goal) Does the GAA make up the own rules or use them when it suits them. Watching the Sunday game and the pundits were giving out about the mark Cavan got that was not a mark. The linesmen was 5 metres away and said nothing. (I dont think they are allowed, correct me if I am wrong, is the linesmens role just to say that there is a lineball) GAA players deserve more. Referees in county need to be professionals and trained properly. I have said this before everything has moved on in GAA except the refereeing standard. Getting very frustrating.

LottoPlus (National) - 03/04/2023 11:42:10

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Congratulations to the Galway panel, Henry and management on a job well done yesterday against Wexford. Please lay off all the negative stuff about Evan Niland and focus instead on his great skills, character and attributes. 7 points from play and 0-13 in total, underlines his great hurling abilities. The lad is and will continue to be, well able to handle himself physically on the pitch. Please stay positive and give encouragement to the team instead of nit-picking all the time. It can be very tiresome."
Lads, every chance that Galway will win Leinster as there is no Hurling in Leinster. Wexford are awful, so are Dublin, Antrim, So Really it will be a Galway Kilkenny Leinster final and unless Shefflin ***** himself like he did last year Galway will win Leinster.

LottoPlus (National) - 24/04/2023 16:15:32

Replying To Triffic:  "Is Evan Murphy injured or still on the panel? Surely worth a look at some stage if he's still there."
Are you serious.

LottoPlus (National) - 14/02/2023 15:52:23

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Turloughs old failings came back to bite. No out and out forward threat. Jamie Holland and Conor Walsh completely anonymous from play. Brendan Phelan was dominated by Fintan Burke. Never even came close to registering a goal threat until Conor Walsh in the 61st minute. Their goal came from a 21 yard free. Wont beat Toms unless you rattle the onion bag. Turlough saying the ref was bad and cost them ? Don't think so."
You are an Annaghdown man what do you know about hurling,

LottoPlus (National) - 31/10/2023 13:31:13