Kilkenny Forum

Popular Posts from ballydalane

Tomas O Se - the King of Yerra - 13 Like(s)
Tomas O Se in Saturday's Independent: "I notice Cork being quoted at 11/2 to beat Kerry in Killarney tomorrow, a huge price for a Munster final. They're odds that will be making Eamonn Fitzmaurice a little queasy because, no matter how poorly Cork are ever going, they'll always fancy themselves to give the Kingdom a serious rattle. "If I was a Kerry footballer today, I'd be very wary of this game. "They'll relish this crack at Kerry given bookies' odds that have them down as road-kill. That makes them dangerous." Now, even a football ignoramus from Kilkenny like myself could see that Cork and Kerry's respective form coming into today's match, and the fact it was in Killarney too, pointed to nothing other than a Kerry trashing being on the cards, so why does such an experienced and decorated ex-Kerry footballer such as O Se insist on insulting the intelligence of GAA fans by spinning the old "yerra twill be a hard fought match" line, when surely he must have known it would be anything but. If he was still playing or involved in the Kerry set-up, I could understand him plamásing the opposition, but he's a pundit now, he should have the cajones to say when he expects Kerry to win handy. Unless he actually thought Cork were seriously going to put it up to Kerry, in which case I won't be looking to Tomas for tips this year.....

ballydalane (National) - 02/07/2017 19:28:49

Underage GAA saddos - 13 Like(s)
Was at an under-8s tournament at the weekend. The game was 10-a-side. We had 11 players, and I noticed the other team only had 1 sub, so 11 players also. I asked the other team's coach if he wanted to play 11-a-side. He came back with some cock-and-bull excuse about 11-a-side being too crowded (it's under 8s, whether it's 10-a-side or 11-a-side doesn't make a blind bit of difference). So this wannabe would rather have a 7 year-old kid standing on the sideline wondering why he's not good enough to play, for the sake of an extra couple of yards space. Beyond pathetic.

Similar craic in Croke Park for the Easter week matches. We had 4 subs which we wanted to interchange throughout the game so every player would get equal playing time. No, some other fella insisted we could only bring the subs on at half-time because it would be "too confusing" otherwise. So under this guy's "rules", half the kids would only play one half while the rest would get to play the whole game - how would that be remotely fair?! So the 4 lads had to sit cold and shivering in the stand for twenty minutes (not the sideline mind you, that wasn't allowed either) watching their buddies playing.

What is it about underage sport that attracts these complete and utter arseholes? At that age the first priority should be participation and enjoyment, it shouldn't be for saddos on a power trip.

ballydalane (National) - 12/06/2017 22:53:14

Congratulations To Limerick - 10 Like(s)
Congrats Limerick, genuinely delighted for ye. PS who's the sad act giving all the thumbs down on this thread?

ballydalane (National) - 19/08/2018 21:59:14

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 7 Like(s)
Most stupid moment of the day was Larry Mccarthy not handing the Sam Maguire cup directly to Padraig Hampsey on the grounds of "covid", but then giving him the same fecking microphone he'd been talking into for the previous five minutes! (face-palm emoji) Ah here...

ballydalane (National) - 12/09/2021 21:41:01

Not So Super 8S.. - 7 Like(s)
But the GAA have done it arseways with the super 8s. Most tournaments in world sport do their round robin at the START of the competition (Champions League, Heineken Cup, World Cups​, all the Yank sports, even the hurling championship), then get into the knock out rounds which is where the real excitement usually happens. Everyone knows the group stages may have the odd exciting game, but their main purpose is to separate the strong teams from the weak teams before the knock out rounds. The mistake the GAA have made with this super 8s malarkey is that they've hyped it up as this major accomplishment for teams to aspire to, (even the name, "super" 8s), so when the group stages often peter out to their inevitable conclusion, fans are left with an acute sense of anti-climax. So while most sports (practically all, actually) design competitions to ESCAPE the group stages, the GAA have contrived to design a competition whereby the big "prize" is to QUALIFY for the group stages! Like I said earlier, completely arseways! I would say you couldn't make it up but the GAA obviously have!

ballydalane (National) - 20/07/2019 23:15:33

Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA? - 6 Like(s)
When is GoochAid happening anyway, is there a freephone number I can donate to?

ballydalane (National) - 10/10/2017 14:25:40

Brian Cody and sideline conduct - 6 Like(s)
I'd be more concerned with the conduct of Tyrone footballers, particularly baiting and sledging opponents, than anything Cody does. Every management team challenges referees and linesmen, when Cody does it people seem to get their knickers in a twist about it.

ballydalane (National) - 05/09/2016 21:00:59

Should The Fisted Goal Be Abolished.? - 6 Like(s)
A fisted goal from a high ball can be a thing of beauty, I'd keep that, but the current trend of more or less pushing the ball into an empty net is a load of boll*cks.

ballydalane (National) - 20/12/2020 16:58:46

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 6 Like(s)
Congrats to Tipp. By far the better team. We needed all hands on deck to make it a contest, once we were down to 14 it was game over, this Tipp team are wizards with extra space. Haven't seen a replay of the tackle but Richie has that in his locker. He was riled by getting a bloody nose earlier in the half (ps bloodying an opponent's nose through a faceguard, is that not a high tackle too?) Was so disappointed with how loose we were at the start of the second. We had half time to come up with a plan to batten down the hatches but instead we were like headless chickens. Our use of the ball was shocking, catching practice for the spare Tipp defenders. I've said it all championship that this was a mediocre Kilkenny team who did exceptionally well to get to the final, but we got found out today.

ballydalane (National) - 18/08/2019 19:37:44

Tyrone Team For Eurovision - 5 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  ""no points" are never awarded at eurovision. that is a common misconception. even the writers of Father Ted got that wrong. countries just award points ranging from 12 to 1 so only 12 countries get points ( or possibly only 10 or 9 as I think there is no 11 points or possibly no 9 points awarded). So no country is ever awarded "no points". You just end up with nothing by default."
Bet you're fun at parties.

ballydalane (National) - 09/07/2019 23:27:19

Attendances 2023 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Nearly 6,000 in Cusack Park for Westmeath vs Cavan, approx 2/3 of that from Cavan. Brilliant supporters."
Was there a discount?

ballydalane (National) - 13/02/2023 17:24:02

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 5 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Can I correct your spelling? It''s 'grammar' old boy, not 'grammer'."
You used an inverted comma instead of an apostrophe in "it's", tut tut.

ballydalane (National) - 03/07/2019 06:25:08

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "yes that is correct and Galway Minors said nothing about the Carlow ref but that it is still not right. If the minor game was close would the blatant penalty not given be a talking point. Also, a tackled Galway keeper "over carried" ball, free in. You need neutral refs."
Can someone tell me when or where did "neutral" evolve to mean neutral province? Did I miss something? Most of the Carlow (and Wexford) people I know (including friends and relatives) fecking hate Kilkenny, and haven't been too shy in sewing yesterday's defeat into me either. Like, would you consider a Mayo or Roscommon ref doing a Galway match as an inherent "advantage"? I doubt you would.

ballydalane (National) - 19/08/2019 02:28:15

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 5 Like(s)
Bottom line; there's 15 Dublinmen that the rest of the country haven't been able to beat in the last last 5 years. Kerry can't put out 15 men to beat them. Mayo can't put out 15 men to beat them. Tyrone can't put out 15 men to beat them. Donegal can't put out 15 men to beat them. Meath can't put out 15 men to beat them. Kildare can't put out 15 men to beat them. Blame " funding" all you want for your own shortcomings.

ballydalane (National) - 28/06/2019 23:50:00

Kilkenny fans booing/ironically cheering frees - 4 Like(s)

Replying To perfect10:  "what is with this?i noticed it a couple of years ago in wexford park for the first time,i noticed it in nowlan park,they were at it in wexford park earlier this year,then saturday night was the worst i had ever heard it. it seems that they think every referee is against them,every free against them is wrong,and eventually every referee is making up to them,hence the ironic cheers. it annoys the hell out of me,and ironically it comes from the county who has probably produced less referees than any other county.if the game is being refereed wrongly,where are all the kk referees to show how it is done? i have great respect for kilkenny fans most of the time,but they let themselves down with this nonsense. why do they keep doing this?or is it the world is against kilkenny is the mentality?"
To be fair Pinkie, notwithstanding Wexford deserving the win, several neutral posters on here were of the opinion that the ref rode us in Wexford Park. Now, if neutral posters are thinking it, it's hardly surprising if Kilkenny fans are thinking it too.

ballydalane (National) - 11/07/2017 09:53:12

12 week ban for Cody? - 4 Like(s)
How can a punishment be applied consistently when the "offence" was completely different? Individual incidents should be judged on their own merits, not a "one size fits all" approach to handing out punishments. Football lads seem intent on importing their tattle-tale culture ("squealers" we used to call them in school) into hurling. TSG football coverage is now about pundits and fans (remember, Des Cahill always introduces the controversial section with "we've received a lot of texts and emails asking us to look at some incidents from the match.....", so ordinary football fans are at this craic too) trying to get players from rival counties suspended - and they want the same thing for hurling. Beyond pathetic. The thing I would say about hurling fans (note, not football fans who "follow the hurling", but fans for whom hurling is the number 1 sport) is that we know when a line has been crossed when we see it. We can't define it exactly, but we know when a player or manager has gone too far and deserves punishment. You won't get many hurling men looking for Cody's suspension. I note most calling for his suspension on this thread are non-hurling men.

ballydalane (National) - 12/07/2017 12:53:14

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And Liam Miller - 4 Like(s)
The GAA should have made it a condition of the match going ahead that Duff plays the hurling match beforehand, I'd pay good money to see that but I'd say he'd only last 2 minutes.

ballydalane (National) - 30/07/2018 08:05:17

David Gough To Referee The Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Wrong decision again, the GAA very consistent with those. Hurling ref. Owens is from the Kilkenny metro area and shops and socialises there surely and refused to use hawkeye in 2015 final, GAA don't care. Refs must be from neutral area, nothing against Gough he is a good ref. I agree with Eamon Fitz on this one. Obviously, Dublin are the better side, but that is not important."
What in the name of jaysus is the "Kilkenny metro area"? Anyway, I wouldn't have the first clue where James Owens "shops and socialises" but I don't know if we'll ever reach the point where every GAA fan, player, manager and pundit gets it into their thick skulls that the ref does not have the power to arbitrarily invoke or ignore Hawkeye at their whim. If an umpire waves a point wide, or white flags a wide, Hawkeye will inform the ref.

ballydalane (National) - 14/08/2019 19:01:59

2021 Hurling Championship - 4 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yes, that wasn't very nice out of Mulcahy at all. No such rule exists for breaking a hurley like that. Congress better convene fast and lively before the league begins to introduce a rule to deal with it, or we might not have an ash stick left in the game."
No need. Aggressive fouls, rule 5.3, "to threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent" - yellow card offence. Deliberately stamping on an opponent's hurl to break it falls under "provocative gesture to an opponent" for me. Also, it shows absolutely zero class, which is one thing unfortunately JP can't buy.

ballydalane (National) - 24/08/2021 21:25:30

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 4 Like(s)
Holy cow, that was bad.

ballydalane (National) - 23/06/2019 18:00:30