Kilkenny Forum

Popular Posts from KK4Life

Kilkenny football - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "looks amateurish? Excuse me but hurling is the sport where lads just drive the ball up into the air and hope for the best. Very rarely you actually see a good pass in hurling just lad been chased down coming out of defense and he hoofs it long a big roar from the crowd as two lads run after it absolutely no skill level. And its been a while since i seen 16points between the sides in any football match. Pathetic stuff"
Yeah there is no skill whatsoever in hitting a small ball with a stick!! I suppose evading tackles, hitting a ball 80 metres into space for a forward to get the ball into his hand in a split second and score from the sideline. Absolutely no skill there. You are certainly right compared to the skill levels in some football matches, where the corner back hand passes the ball to the wing back who looks up, see's open space and turns around to hand pass to the wing forward who is 10 yards behind him. He gets tackled so he passes to the corner back who feels sorry for the goalie and passes the ball back 20 yards to the goalie who then spreads the ball 10 yards to the other corner back and we are off again!! You may not believe it but I appreciate good football but to say that there is no skill attached to hurling (I am guessing you mean in comparison to football. Apologies if I presume wrong). In football, you can get away with a lower skill level if say you are a fast and tight-marking corner back (being a good man-marker is a skill in itself by the way), whereas in hurling, you are going nowhere if you don't have a skill level to match an opponent.

KK4Life (National) - 25/04/2017 11:23:16

Are We Too Critical Of Referees - 2 Like(s)
Anyone that is very critical of referees need to be in that position. In relation to Sean Cleere on Sunday and I'm not his biggest fan by any means. He used to drive me mad reffing underage matches I played in and took a lot of abuse from players (happy to say I never got involved in it) but I always felt he treated both teams the same. But on Sunday I felt he did quite well considering the speed of the match. He wasn't solely responsible for the big calls. 1. The hawk-eye incident - when an umpire calls for hawk-eye, the ref has to wait for the review to take place. This could take about 30 seconds but there is a break in play so it is accepted. Yet on Sunday, Hogan caught, cleared, foul, quick free, goal. Another poster said it took 32 seconds from catch to goal. Hawk-eye take a certain amount of time. Imagine if he got a little signal as Tipp were attacking to say we need to review the catch, he stops the game, goes back and it wasn't a point. That would be fair more unjust on Tipp. 2. Tipps other disallowed goal - I think he had blown for this as the ball was on the way in. If you watch back closely, before Morris had picked the ball, Liam Ryan was standing with his arms out complaining about the decision. Perhaps he could have waited for the ball to land but Wexford had Tipp outnumbered and he thought it was inside the box so I can understand him blowing. He correctly consulted with the umpires who correctly told him the foul was outside the box. 3. Conor McDonald's second goal - He was following up play, the goal was scored and he asked the question of his umpires. They could not say it was a square ball so he had to give the goal. He can't be out the pitch and standing on the box at the same time. I think his biggest mistake was not giving Wexford a penalty when Ronan Maher pulled down McDonald. We can talk all we want about technology but this is pointless unless the exact same technology is in place to cover every inch of every county ground. it can't just be in Croke Park. This is the issue with hawk-eye. If that match was in Nowlan Park or any other ground (other than Thurles) Tipp would have got a goal. Then the debate arises regarding club grounds, if technology is in Nowlan Park and a county quarter final is played there and technology is used to call a decision that puts a team through but another quarter final is in a club ground and a similar incident is missed resulting in a club being knocked out, it isn't right either. I think we should all aspire to definitive fairness but in the current circumstances, the best we can ask for is equity.

KK4Life (National) - 30/07/2019 11:51:14

Limerick V Kilkenny - 1 Like(s)

Replying To conordee:  "Re the line ball that went no further than 7-8 metres , there is no rule regarding distance travelled , only that players must be 13m away at the taking of it. Galway tried a trick play in Sunday's minor game by tapping it a small distance as the second player walked over pretending to go and take the sideline. However the ref blew it back for no apparent reason."
Sorry, I may not have been very clear in my previous comment. The ball was struck the 7 or 8 metres direct to a player. I've probably hit more sidelines that went less than 13m than went more!!!

KK4Life (National) - 31/07/2019 11:40:02

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Did you not see the reaction of the crowd in the Cusack and Davin Stands. We went crazy. Brian Geary ran the length of the sideline with the linesman who had to have seen it. That same linesman insisted on Diarmuid Byrnes moving a long range free back 2 feet earlier in the game."
The ref signaled for Byrnes to move the free back. The linesman merely directed him where to return to. He still took it 5 yards too far forward. The Limerick player was being treated behind the 65 yard line and he took the free from in front. He even placed the ball for the free while the player was being treated. This happened perfectly in line with me so had a great view of it. Incidents happen throughout matches that official don't pick up on, some result in scores, some don't. For example Hugh Lawlor and Gillane were running for a ball under the Cusack Stand in the second half. Whilst running, Gillane threw Lawlor's hurl back over his shoulder. Fortunately for Kilkenny, the ball ran out over the sideline but if it hadn't, it could have been very costly. How much technology do we want in the game. The excitement of the games is helped by the speed it is played at. Having technology to check too many things would take the intensity out of games while decisions are reviewed. Now, quite possibly, I would have a different opinion if the shoe was on the other foot but I am just wary of it. The Luimerick penalty would have been reviewed and that might have gone either way, both men were fouling. Lawlor put his right arm, which he holds his hurl with around Gillane. Gillane had his hurl. Different frees would get reviewed and the match would lose any flow. I acknowledge that it should have been a 65 but if that incident occurred 5 minutes in, it would probably never have been highlighted. We have all had the benefit of TV replays to determine that it was a 65. I didn't notice the deflection in real time. None of us had the view that the officials had. Just looked at it again there. I think the linesman was actually in a bad position. He was flat in line with Buckley. From his position, so flat, i'm not sure he could see a deviation in the ball direction , whereas if he was at an angle he would see it better. It doesn't make the decision correct but in real time from his position. The umpire did what all umpires do and stood beside his friend at the other side of the goal. If he was positioned on his side, he would have seen it.

KK4Life (National) - 29/07/2019 11:58:40

Replying To someday:  "I think you're a fair poster for what it's worth it was no way near a penalty if the last 5 yrs are taking into consideration. Of course every county has them but I never heard moaning and whinging as i did last Sat plus thurles last yr. I was trying to be fair saying we got away with this or that but the kk boys around me anyway couldn't see anything other than what favoured kk. By the way the better team won on the day but beidh la eile ann"
Every county does have them. I suppose those who crow the loudest are always heard the most. We're all blinded by our own team though. They do little wrong in our eyes. Then the fans in the stand have tunnel vision which is increased by the intensity and excitement of the match. And by intensity I don't mean the argument of Leinster intensity and Munster free flowing hurling, I just mean the speed and non-stop go of the match by both sides. We don't see our own supporters as whinging because most of the time we agree with them, rightly or wrongly. I saw Kilkenny supporters giving out during the match on Sunday but just a few. They were complaining that Limerick were getting frees for nothing. I disagreed with them on the basis that I thought a lot of Limerick's frees were frees but I agreed in some ways because I felt Kilkenny just weren't getting frees for very similar instances. Then coming out of the match I heard some Limerick supporters giving out stink about the sideline / 65 (fair enough) and that all the frees that Kilkenny got but Limerick didn't. Kilkenny got 2 scoreable fress in the second half (scored one early and missed a late one). Itdefies logic that 35 minutes hurling at that intensity and physicality could only concede 2 fouls. I'm sure the vast majority of Limerick fans walked out of Croke Park saying ye were beaten by the better team on the day but we didn't hear them. Likewise, the majority of Kilkenny fans walked out saying, 'we were the better team, we could easily have lost, we go again the next day' but again, we weren't heard saying that.

KK4Life (National) - 30/07/2019 11:11:27