Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from CletusVanDamme

Connolly interfering with match official - 9 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well Jim Darragh is paid by the independent to give his opinions so I do believe he was right. And Darragh has been proved right imo."
Whats wrong with you? I hated when players targeted Paul Galvin when he playing, the same as I'm not a fan of that shite on other players including when we did it, and still do. You are a disgrace to Kerry GAA with comments like that. Any real football fan would wish this never happened, the season will be the lesser without the talents of Connolly. However, if a player does something stupid, provoked or otherwise, they still deserve to be sanctioned.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 04/06/2017 19:53:31

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "It's nothing to do with being from Meath. He's by far and away the undisputed best ref in Ireland, which to be fair isn't difficult when you see standard of refereeing generally (especially the likes of Maurice Keegan whose impartiality and integrity many many GAA people would question)."
Why did the far and away undisputed best referee in Ireland overrule his own handpicked umpire based on a player's word?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 18/08/2019 00:53:23

RTE trying to silence critcs of SKY etc. - 4 Like(s)
Second attempt at posting this. (Don't know what was the issue with the first attempt was) Yesterday I sat down to watch The Sunday Game expecting to watch 2 games and for some unexplained reason there is only 1 game. In Páirc Uí Chaoimh yesterday RTÉ had the cameras set up for the Waterford Wexford game, why oh why did they not show the Intermediate final also? They were showing "Junior", not the Junior Football Semi-Finals on that weekend but, Scharwanegger and DeVito's "Junior". (Not even the decent one by them. Twins BTW). RTÉ play the poor mouth saying SKY get all the big games, they don't make proper efforts to promote other games. RTÉ lust for what they don't have. TG4 (on a fraction of RTÉ Sport's budget) have invested in successfully promoting Ladies Football and Under 21s. RTÉ Sport is an embarrassing wreck. The Sunday Game (evening show) pads most of the show with highlights and analysis of the games I've seen that day on RTÉ and gives barely any coverage to the games I haven't. No one want to see a ten minute highlight reel of the game they already saw followed by a minute of highlights of games not shown live, this needs to be sorted out. After the first game of the football was played this year (Sligo v New York) and a couple of Leinster Hurling Round Robin games, RTÉ had their 'Start of the Championship' show on the following week. Lads, the season had started (and ended for some). Also show the New York game, 8pm on a Sunday evening with players from all over Ireland playing ball for New York, neutrals would watch for curiosity especially if someone from their own county was playing. The analysis is poor by the Sunday Game compared to Sky and rather than improve on this aspect the RTÉ pundits take potshots at Sky pundits. If it is a game not involving a Division 1 team, RTÉ pundits would rather discuss who will win the All-Ireland and ignore discussing the game in front of them in any meaningful way. RTÉ get your own house in order first before cutting the legs from your competition.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 24/07/2017 13:48:33

Louth's Burns banned for 12 weeks - 3 Like(s)
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0627/885998-burns-banned-for-12-weeks-for-kicking-ball-at-umpire/ Right call but Jesus how did it take so long? Do they put players who are out of the Championship on the long finger because why not? The game was last Saturday week. The CCCC needs a proper timetable, none of this behind closed doors business with different schedules for different counties.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 27/06/2017 18:58:30

Mayo v Derry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Mayo are really starting to feel the pinch with injuries at the minute. We started the Galway game minus three Allstars and lost another to a red card. Two more Allstars went off injured in club games at the weekend. We really don't have replacements of the same calibre and could be very vulnerable against Derry. On the plus side we are due one or two refereeing decisions going our way after all the ones that have gone against us over the years. Maybe we'll get a bit of well deserved luck for a change!"
Will you not just move on? Ah sure it's the referee's fault. If this is about 2014, grow up. If you are about it then please query how ye dumped Cork out of the Championship that year? It was the same referee who cost ye the Championship that year. Or how a Mayo player conned the referee to win a penalty v Fermanagh last year? Decisions happen, dwelling in the past is not going to do anyone any good. Kerry has benefited from poor decisions (example: our goal v Roscommon this year shouldn't have stood, and the Rossies were probably robbed of a draw or win in the league as a result) but we have also had poor decisions against us. In the last 5 years, what years did Mayo lose because they were simply not good enough?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 23/06/2017 11:46:13

Louth's Burns banned for 12 weeks - 2 Like(s)

Replying To colm1888:  "Did you see the 'incedent'??"
I did. I posted the YouTube link on it as well in a later post. It is 12 weeks ban. I would like to know why you don't think it's even a red card?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 27/06/2017 21:47:06

David Gough To Referee The Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheDub:  "My God the stupidity of some people the ref for the 2007 Leinster final was a member of the same club as Liam Kearns can people honestly not see the difference!!"
Could you please tell me the difference between 2007 and now? The referee David Gough and Dublin's selector Jason Sherlock both work in DCU. I blame the GAA for putting Gough in this position, he is in a no win situation. If Kerry played Mayo in the final, there would be no objection to Gough. Not only must justice be done; it must also be seen to be done.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 17/08/2019 10:43:56

Kieran Donaghy is Immune to refereees - 2 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Imagine the uproar if Lee Keegan or Diarmuid Connolly had their hands around the neck in the choke like hold on an opposition player? This man is immune to referees...did the Sunday game call him out? Yearrah"
A Mayo person starting a thread wanting Donaghy banned for a possible Kerry/Mayo clash. Surely not? I'd probably do the same if I had to rely on Ger Cafferkey to keep Star quiet. In all seriousness, if you do silly stuff on the pitch, whether provoked or not, you deserve to take your medicine.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 31/07/2017 12:09:05

GAA President - 2 Like(s)

Replying To gahfan:  "I think the President shouldn't be from Dublin"
That is harsh. It is wrong to paint all Dublin people with the same brush as the current president. A president should be impartial or at the very least act impartial. I wasn't surprised by Horan's comments straight after Laois beat Dublin in hurling where he viewed an appetite for a 6 team Leinster group (likely fueled by his fear of Dublin getting caught cold again losing to Laois a second time and being relegated) so expand it by one with no relegation. No discussion on the Munster set-up (should Munster also move to 6 to balance the round robins?, how does relegation/promotion work now?) As long as the president can act impartially I'm okay with where he/she is from.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 18/09/2019 11:17:18

Referee And All- Ireland - 1 Like(s)
Regarding the referee I'd have preferred if Hurson didn't get the job this year with his club connection with Tally. I would have expected Gough to get it and ironically I wanted Hurson to ref the 2019 final. But he didn't and now he is. The GAA however, need to stop putting their officials in situations that create issues. This needs to be reviewed. He is picked now and it would be alot to ask any official to say no to the biggest gig of their career. He deserves his day in the sun and hopefully Sunday week will be controversy free. Galway are fine with it, per Joyce's comments. It makes sense as in 2018 Paddy Tally was in the Galway backroom when Galway played Kildare in the Super 8s, and Seán Hurson reffed that. Funnily enough Dr. Cian O'Neill was involved with Kildare that day. If Hurson was fine in 2018, he's fine now. If Galway did complain now, it actually would only raise questions on the manner of their 2018 win v Kildare than next Sunday week. Joyce even volunteered their semi-final referee Brendan Cawley and Cian O'Neill are from different clubs in the same town in Kildare and there was no question of Cawley's integrity before or after the game. As a side note, people need to be mindful of comments that can be viewed as downgrading the Irishness of some of our Ulster brothers and sisters. Ye know exactly what ye are doing. Cuir deireadh leis.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 15/07/2022 18:10:11

Objects thrown at referee David Gough - 1 Like(s)

Replying To bennybunny:  "Yes is the answer to your question. I have reffed loads of games myself. I have reffed games involving my own club (challenge games and underage games) and never went out to screw the opposition over. Referees are humans. You are right. They make mistakes- of course they do. I like to trust that they are honest mistakes and the referee does not intentionally go out of his way to do a team out of it. Therefore, logically speaking it is an irrelevance where he is from. If he is a dishonest person, this is more relevant than where he is from also. A different issue. In terms of David Gough's performance yesterday, he was actually excellent. He got one or two calls wrong - would you have gotten every call right? Are you as fit as him? are you able to keep up with the play at that speed and make those decisions in a split second without the view of a TV camera? If you are, then no doubt you'll be reffing intercounty games soon as well - maybe they'll even put you forward for the final (Dublin v Mayo). Hopefully, after all your training etc nobody will hurl objects at you or accuse you of bias."
As your county is Cork I'm going to presume you referee in Cork as well, please correct me if I'm wrong. If your club is in the senior county championship, why wouldn't the Cork County Board simply ask you to referee their games? It is because the GAA want to not only be impartial but also appear to be impartial. Also are you actually comparing lack of referees available for underage games and challenge matches to the All-Ireland Championship? There is hardly a shortage of willing referees that would take up the All-Ireland semi final compared to under 10s club games in Mallow. Gough is from Meath, he lives and works in Dublin therefore he should be allowed to referee any pairing of all the other counties. He would have been free to referee Tipperary v Mayo semi final. This way the GAA is not opening themselves to accusations of bias and neither can the referee. This actually protects the referee. I never said that the referee was dishonest, I said subconsciously decisions 50/50 are more likely to go the way of the area you can connected with. Subconscious is not intending to deceive. Also, you honestly believe that my view is automatically not valid as I'm not a referee. That's a lazy excuse and you know it. If someone is singing and they can't sing or continously miss notes, then you aren't allowed to comment on that as you dont have a music recording contract. You are entitled to your opinion as am I.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 30/08/2016 17:38:42

Not releasing the ball - 1 Like(s)
It's annoying alright, but the player should not take matters into their own hands. The rules only allow to bring the ball forward once, and if the player keeps interfering a yellow. Maybe keep bringing the ball forward, and hand out yellows for each infraction after the ball is moved forward? Regarding the specific incident, Mayo were cruising, no need to behave in that manner so close to the Roscommon goal, there was no threat. Many would agree that the player deserved a thump in that instance but, it's for the referee to decide on the punishment not the players on the field.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 10/08/2017 11:51:32

Dublin people do not extend the hand Friendship - 1 Like(s)
I was on my own on the hill in 2007. After the game countless Dublin fans came up to me congratulating Kerry on the win. While I was walking out I was hit with a coin. By the time I raised my head the Dublin friends I recently met had turned around ready to lynch the lad who threw the coin. They were disgusted that a scumbag had done that. From my many experiences with the real Dublin fans (the majority) they are humble in victory like real gaa fans, there are a few who give a bad reputation but what county don't have them.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 18/08/2016 19:28:42

Why Are Kerry The Worst Supported County In Ireland ? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To eamonnmac:  "At a very poorly attended Semi Final of just over 30000 maybe there were 6000 Kerry Fans if that ? Should Kerry get 1/4 of Dublin Allocation for the Final ...with such low intrest in supporting every Kerry man with a remote intrest in the final will be in Croke Park ? I can't imagine any other team even Leitrim bring less supporters to an All Ireland Semi Final ?"
Nasty comment to be fair. Using your numbers 6,000 (which is laughable) it is about 4% of Kerry population. There was about 36,000 when Dublin travelled to neutral venue Croke Park v Roscommon in the Super 8s (smaller percentage of Dublin's population even allowing for all the fans to be supporting Dublin and that game was a double header). Should Dublin have their allocation reduced too? How this this thread get allowed on the board?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 16/08/2019 10:36:34

Louth's Burns banned for 12 weeks - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Clearly a good point. The severity of Connolly's punishment was dictated by the time of year he committed the offence. Burns gets done on a similar offence and will miss no inter-county games. In fairness though he'll probably miss some club championship. However if Brogan does the same thing in Dublin's final Championship game he's punishment, though technically the same, would in reality be an awful lot less severe than either Burns or Connolly as all he'd miss would be a couple of club League matches. How people think that time based suspensions are fair is beyond me. Minor physical interference with an official during Championship should warrant a 3/4 Championship game ban."
The rule carries a ban on training also. If we were to apply your match ban to Burns, then he would be unable to train with his club or county until after the 3rd or 4th League game next year. Is that fairer? I believe in match bans for infractions not involving officials. That's fair. Time bans are correct for more serious infractions. Burns was frustrated when he kicked the ball in the general direction of the umpire. He was looking in the same direction so he can't say he didn't see him. He didn't intend to hit the ball off the umpire but, any reasonable person would not blast a ball in the general direction of someone with their back turned to you and be aghast that you get punished. I've seen one poster in this thread blaming the umpire for not being in his natural position. The umpire moved closer to the scene to see if the ball went over the line. He was trying to do his job and was returning to his natural position when he got hit. Respect officials lads, is this too much to ask?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 28/06/2017 09:17:52

Connolly interfering with match official - 1 Like(s)
It's a fair result. The minimum ban is 12 weeks so anything more would be unjust. The toughest part will be when Connolly is banned from the Dublin and St Vincents training sessions for this period, coming back to a potential semi final (I believe) with no match sharpness would be a disaster for Dublin. Even then the question is will he have the ring rust gone by the final?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 06/06/2017 19:31:39

Super 8's Gonna Be Damp Squib - 1 Like(s)
In my opinion, the super 8s is not the direction the game should take. Tweaks to the championship structure should be to benefit the weaker counties to reach the level of the stronger, not copperfasten the stronger teams dominance. What division 4 team benefits from this? This stops the like of Tipperary who reached the semi final last year. The big dogs may get overturned once but not twice against weaker opposition. The magic of the competition will be gone. No Fermanagh 2004, no Wexford 2008, no Tipperary 2016. The magic ends at quarter final stage next year. Where will the upsets be at the business end?

CletusVanDamme (National) - 05/08/2017 23:02:48

Croke Park Hotel Bistro - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Morty:  "Sounds like you didn't get just desserts..."
Yeeeeaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!! Won't get fooled again Thank you Horatio Caine!

CletusVanDamme (National) - 05/08/2017 23:52:06

Louth's Burns banned for 12 weeks - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "And how many IC games will he miss in this 12 week ban ......but how many will DC miss with the same punishment....... Fair??"
Thankfully the GAA doesn't issue bans based on how well the player's club/county will fair in the current season. The rules are the rules, if you are unhappy with equality please put a motion to congress.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 27/06/2017 21:02:43

Giant Flags on Hill16 - 1 Like(s)
Can anyone clarify if these are the same lads who wanted to boycott the league matches this year after Mayo were given the same hill allocation as Dublin for the All Ireland replay? I can't really fault the GAA on this if they are being directed to do this by the city council/fire service. The safety of players and patrons is paramount. However, I'll be keeping an eye on the Aviva to see if the stadiums are treated equally.

CletusVanDamme (National) - 26/07/2017 21:59:17