Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from BarneyGrant

Dublin GAA thread - 9 Like(s)
Kildare only scored 6 points from play. That they were even close says more about how wasteful Dublin were than it does about them. How Ryan thought the ref who handed Kildare four handy close in frees that kept them in it was biased is best known to himself! Teams who play retro noughties blanket defence will always give average teams a close game, but will seldom if ever turn over a good one. And I'm not sure which category Dublin fall into!

BarneyGrant (National) - 30/04/2023 20:15:07

Replying To martinjoe:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0430/1380034-ryan-we-dont-get-fair-crack-of-the-whip-against-dubs/ Have to agree with Ryan here, when the game was in the melting pot Dublin were awarded close in free's that very few if any other ref would have deemed to be frees."
You were at the match were you?

BarneyGrant (National) - 30/04/2023 23:23:11

Anti GAA Agenda - 9 Like(s)

Replying To brisbane:  "Seems the Anti GAA crowd were losing it over the 40,000 attending the All-Ireland Field. Shame they were so vocal in opposing the number as it will stop any talk of increasing the Football attendance."
Fact is that RTE and the other even worse channel are full of presenters who hate GAA, along with lots of other things associated with the country. Let us never forget that one of them ran a poll to try and get the championships called off last year. Another one spent hours attacking clubs and their supporters over county finals. Apart from games, I neither watch nor contribute to either.

BarneyGrant (National) - 29/08/2021 14:51:15

Replying To Dr.Watson:  "Ha ha ha Conleths Park under reconstruction, so Kildare home games likely to be played in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Though no doubt GAA / Dubs will want it in "neutral" Croker."
Dublin have nothing to do with where matches are played. Your own county voted for all Dublin Leinster games to be in Croke Park up until a few years ago. Anyway, I'm sure he'll have another excuse ready. Chem trails or something ...

BarneyGrant (National) - 02/05/2023 14:50:52

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "Fair play to the man, whatever about his own tax status and your views on that, he doesn't have to give the GAA anything. We could badly do with it in Leitrim anyhow. Thoughts?"
He pays tax for whoever works for him here. He doesn't lived here and his business is not based here. Besides which he contributes way more to Irish society through his donations than how that money would be frittered away if it was in general revenue. That's my thoughts.

BarneyGrant (National) - 14/12/2023 12:34:19

Non-Gaa Forum - 8 Like(s)
I see South Africa hammered the All Blacks, If that was here, there'd be public holiday and RTÉ would have enough material for 50 years of anniversary programmes :-)

BarneyGrant (National) - 27/08/2023 09:26:45

World Cup Final Clashes With Club Semi Finals - 8 Like(s)
Poor planning on FIFA's part.

BarneyGrant (National) - 06/12/2022 19:26:36

Galway V Kerry All Ireland Final 2022 - 8 Like(s)
Good to see Padraig Joyce tell it like it is. Too many just keep stum.

BarneyGrant (National) - 24/07/2022 21:55:09

Replying To Breffni40:  "11 year old Ormo struggling to stay focused and in the zone following the Artane Boys Band in the East Clare Division 3 u-12 league final"
Excellent :-)

BarneyGrant (National) - 27/07/2023 16:42:12

Dublin GAA thread - 8 Like(s)
Crokes have Clough in a rematch, I think in Parnell. Then winners of Mullens of Carlow and Aidans of Wexford in semi if win that. Can't see anyone in Leinster beating Ballyhale but Crokes ought to be capable of reaching the final. Much more experience including at all levels intercounty than any of the three teams they might meet to get there.

BarneyGrant (National) - 25/10/2022 13:35:24

Replying To Joxer:  "He's had so many rants about everything it's hard to know who he's blaming. In Carlow last week he blamed the ref for doing them "no favours". He also blamed the officials in Carlow for not telling him that the throw-in would be delayed by 10m. He had the same moan about yesterday's game due to extra time in the earlier game. Most of his whinging yesterday was at the non-ref officials. His players were asked to put their gum shields in and stand back from the line. He thought that the Flynn ball wasn't out, how far away was he from that one compared to the official? He's clearly feeling the heat. The scoreboard doesn't lie at the end of the day. If you're 4 points up putting a car park in front of your goal against a misfiring opposition and you still manage to lose by 2 then you look in the mirror instead of blaming officials across the country. He has a point about familiarity but Croke Park has to be somewhere and perhaps raise that with his county board."
He gave a half hour press conference last year to blame the ref for letting Mayo beat them! Can you seriously imagine any other manager doing that? Look at how likes of Graham handled the club final defeat. Or Davy on Sunday, or anyone for that matter. Anyway, can't wait for a possible group game. They can have it on the Wolfe Tones pitch if he want's Don't poke the bear.

BarneyGrant (National) - 02/05/2023 14:05:48

That answers that! Smart move I reckon...

BarneyGrant (National) - 04/12/2022 14:39:40

Cluxton Back! - 8 Like(s)

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Just shows Dublin have nothing coming through when you see Cluxton and Dias recalled to the squad… So much for the myth of always having a great bench… A lot of very average footballers on that Dublin team at present"
Five years ago you were probably predicting Dublin would win 14 in a row because they had "conveyor belt" of lads who were professionals from under 14, driving a free SUV. Dublin have come back to the pack. None of the current contenders anything as good as Dublin 2015-2020. Nor as good as Kerry and Tyrone of the noughties. Any of 5/6 teams including ourselves could win it. No-one in Dublin thinks they are exceptional.

BarneyGrant (National) - 05/04/2023 10:42:13

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It will indeed and it's healthy to be sceptical. You can look at the overall picture as well though. Ciara was a world class junior runner. She came through with a lot of expectation, so the natural talent was there. She's not some unknown who popped up in her late 20s having done very little previously. Her improvement has also been gradual over the past 3 or 4 years. A commonwealth medal, then a European bronze and now a world class performance. It doesn't stand out as particularly unusual, but at the same time I'd never be surprised by any athlete going outside the approved shopping list."
Her improvement is incremental rather than spectacular. Apart from younger Kenyans and Ethiopians the best Europeans usually peak at a later age over the middle and longer distances, I believe?

BarneyGrant (National) - 24/08/2023 10:47:47

Replying To zinny:  "[quote=thelongridge:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Why do people get so obsessed about a bit of music before a game. Do you watch a game/go to a game for the sport activity played over 70/80/90 minutes or a lie there/watching the minute or so of a song played before. Which is more important? KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3127 - 23/07/2023 12:51:27 2496 Perhaps I'm overthink a bit but to me an National Anthem is more than a bit of music or a song played before a match, where and when it is played will be decided on our behalf, just an opinion I have."
Agreed Supersub. The Anthem is more than 'just a piece of music', as described in some quarters."]but nobody respects it enough at GAA grounds to allow it to be played out to the end without shouting and roaring or standing to attention to the end. So its not just another piece of music for 7 of the 9 lines but the last two it is? Either it is or it isn't and it should be respected to the end - if not don't play it."]Good point. Teams should be instructed as part of the protocol - which is strictly enforced on big days in other ways - not to break rank before the anthem finishes. If teams stay as they are, then the supporters will follow suit. Call me an old fogey but it annoys the bejaysus out of me to see people talking through it. Shows zero awareness of what we are about.

BarneyGrant (National) - 28/07/2023 13:22:22

Replying To KillingFields:  "numbers attending up over first few days and betting spending up as well. few winners but mainly in goodwood not galway tramore next week,,,, wont be great racing but usually good craic in waterford for the few days.."
Can't get excited over the racing this time of the year. Little interest in flat and jumping only really gets going when the clock goes back. Anything over jumps catch your eye in Galway?

BarneyGrant (National) - 08/08/2023 13:41:00

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Leinster semi finals in both codes in croke park so plenty of incentive for teams there, agree on Ballyhale if they are on their game can't see anyone in leinster touching them, nearly got caught by Mount Leinster Rangers and St Ryanaghs last year but I think their preparation for those games was effected by a stag, wedding and Covid."
They look a lot sharper this year. Breezed through Kilkenny, and sad to say i don't think any of the rest in Leinster are as good as the other three Kilkenny semi finalists, Not that convinced by Crokes as national contenders. Clough were well able for them last year and Dublin club record in Leinster apart from Cuala is pretty abysmal. Standard overall has been good but Cuala have come back to the field rather than any of the rest catching them. Advantage Crokes do have is the few weeks break and the benefit of experience. Considine could stake out a claim as Dublin full forward in place of Hayes if his form continues.

BarneyGrant (National) - 26/10/2022 16:30:03

Replying To Fionn:  "Wonderful achievement by Crokes winning the Double Double yesterday. Only Vinnies have bettered that with a Treble Double back in 1953, 1954 & 1955 apparently. Crokes Ladies also won the SFC, so a great year all round for that club. Very powerful indeed. A word on NF - they will be back next year, and after going for the Double themselves this year, will surely be strong contenders for that again next season. No far off at all tbh."
They left it behind them again. The point waved wide made no difference to the result but you would wonder did it make a difference to how the last ten minutes played out. Hayes well held all the game then turned up at the right time. Have to say, don't see him as Dublin's go to man in the forwards. I'd give Hetherton another shout or Considine. Burke was brilliant after a few early misses, Good championship overall and plenty for Donohoe to mull over for the next few months.

BarneyGrant (National) - 24/10/2022 16:15:00

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "If the Kildare V Dublin match is not played in Newbridge will it not be played in nowwhere?"
You'd have to fancy them in nowhere ....

BarneyGrant (National) - 02/05/2023 20:58:17

Dublin GAA thread - 7 Like(s)
Well. there's another game decided by that Cork lad, Didn't even black card the right man!

BarneyGrant (National) - 05/02/2022 19:29:01