Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from sligo joe

Chris Lawn Gesture - 9 Like(s)
Reading where Chris Lawn returned Jason Sherlock's "swapped" Dublin jersey to Jayo to mark the 25th anniversary of the final, what a nice gesture, well done Chris Lawn.

sligo joe (National) - 19/09/2020 20:43:24

Kerry V Tyrone. - 9 Like(s)

Replying To Ashrules:  "The type of incident where Clifford was targetted is in 99% of cases down to the manager and Tyrone under Harte have a track record of scummy stuff. And you can bullshit all you want about religion. Players are briefed on what to expect from referees so Referees need to be briefed on what to expect from teams. It would lead to more fairness if the next referee they meet is aware that they may be up to this and be ready to dish out appropriate punishment . As opposed to been caught off guard"
Don't agree, if referees approach a game with pre-conceived ideas about who might be guilty it will only lead to more errors and more simulation/diving. In the recent Dublin/Kerry league game Philly McMahon was yellow carded with David Clifford being the perceived victim of foul play. However the replay of the off the ball incident showed that Clifford was the player who was fouling, grabbing McMahon by the head from behind with no retaliation, drawing the comment from Marty Morrissey, "oh, well I think Philly McMahon has been more than a bit unlucky there". Maybe a case of Philly being penalised because of his "reputation" leading to a refereeing error. All teams, players and supporters deserve that each game is judged and refereed on it's merits on the day

sligo joe (National) - 12/02/2020 13:41:47

Clifford's Red Card - 8 Like(s)
Kieran Donaghy suggesting David Clifford needs to learn how to deal with provocation following his recent dismissal. The available video shows little if any provocation, though in fairness the forcefulness of Clifford's transgression is also unclear. However while there is no doubt he is the target of regular off the ball fouling, Clifford has often been the instigator of foul play himself, just as Donaghy did in his day, live by the sword, die by the sword.

sligo joe (National) - 02/09/2020 21:35:23

Will Offensive Mark Favour Some Counties - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Johnnyprophet:  "Will you stop with the goading of Kerry posters for god sake. I think we're all sick of it now."
Take your point, fair enough, but when Stephen O'Brien, comes out with such self-praising drivel it is hard to ignore, like and he continues on to say he's not sure which was his best inter-county season, wait for it, because they were all so good, really you could not make it up, hard to ignore an ego like this, so sorry for boring ye.

sligo joe (National) - 10/01/2020 21:40:47

Inter County Player Failed Drugs Test - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Bellewest:  "Paul Flynn's silence on this is deafening. No doubt but had a Dublin player tested positive he'd be his usual media savvy self today. Carlow, Division 4? No thanks says Paul. Too busy organising nonsensical FIFA gaming tournament. Beyond laughable."
The player involved has accepted the ban, said he does not wish to appeal, and furthermore asks that his privacy be respected and the matter be left as closed. Considering all of above what do you think it would be appropriate for Paul Flynn to say, should he counter the player's wishes, tell him he is wrong to accept the ban, ignore his wishes for privacy. I think I get the aroma of a small bitter anti-Dub personality lurking in Westmeath.

sligo joe (National) - 29/04/2020 20:02:34

Will Offensive Mark Favour Some Counties - 6 Like(s)
Stephen O'Brien quoted in the Times today, says the offensive mark will be no advantage to Kerry as their forwards are of such quality that when they get the ball they score anyhow. All-Ireland final replay Kerry, 25 attempts 10 wides, maybe Kerry should prioritise the mark, might bring their score to shot ratio closer to an acceptable "mark"???

sligo joe (National) - 10/01/2020 13:14:43

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To oneoff:  "While I agree the naturally gifted footballer thing is a myth. It's funny how Dublin posters seem to have no issues with it being said about "King Con" I'll ask again what's the obvious issue people here have with Clifford? Seeing as they're going to great lengths to dismiss him"
I can't find any post on this thread that "dismisses" David Clifford" or his ability, many posters don't agree that he is the best footballer in the country Right Now but virtually all have complimented his talent and potential. Ironically the antrim poster did dismiss Con O'Callaghan when he said his equal could be found on many teams, simply not true, and dismissive of a great young player.

sligo joe (National) - 07/11/2019 12:16:02

Sunday Game Football Team - 6 Like(s)

Replying To mick2007:  "I'm Actually not surprised that you can't grasp the point I'm trying to make.. no doubt your one of the 1000s I'd dubs that go to 1 game of football a year stand on the hill and sing your wee heart out "cmon you boys in blue" cluxo, dermo, Berno, Cono and go home and put the joints away til the following year...... when I was playing the mixer was called the middle of the field area.. it's an area where Fento wouldn't survive with the likes of tohill and darragh.. they would eat him without salt.. Next you'll be trying to tell us that Connolly is the greatest forward that ever played the game.. Fenton reminds me of Wayne Rooney in his 1st few years playing with England he was one of the greatest Strikers ever played the game and that was coming from knowledgable lads as well like yourself within soccer circles.......over hyped"
Certainly weakens your argument when you jump to conclusions about my one game a year on the hill status. Sure I go to the hill and cheer on the dubs, but I attend club and county games all over especially in the west where I live. My first All Ireland to attend was Down's win in 68 v Kerry where funny enough a 20 year old mid-fielder, Colm McAlarney playing a roving intelligent game (leaving Kerry mid-field including Mick O'Connell scratching their heads in the "mixer"). McAlarney's roving style earned him the moniker "Arkle" and he dominated many a mid-field with his athletic and footballing prowess through his career just as Fento is now.

sligo joe (National) - 22/05/2020 18:39:02

Cluxton Back! - 6 Like(s)

Replying To oneoff:  "During that time we heard plenty of Dublin posters on here big up Dublins "conveyor belt'' bur now that's view has changed. Why's that?"
Vast majority of Dubs enjoyed the unprecedented domination of the best gaelic football ever for what it was and knew it would pass, it was begrudgers like Colm O'Rourke whinging it would never end.

sligo joe (National) - 05/04/2023 13:46:35

Santa Claus - 6 Like(s)

Replying To essmac:  "Because of the total team approach Dublin has, difficult for average fans as a Dublin player rarely does anything truly memorable. I can hardly tell them apart, tbh. Clifford all day long."
Nothing memorable thankfully like Clifford kicking 4 wides, two almost unmissable frees and two handy chances from play against a poor Cork team, misses that left his team out of the championship.

sligo joe (National) - 13/12/2020 20:58:38

Ballymun Vs Kilmacud - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "In 2010 Ulster played Stade Francais in the Heineken Cup. TWO French players gouged the eyes of Stephen Ferris. David Attoub got a 70 week ban (16 month) while his Stade team mate Julien Dupuy got 24 weeks (6 months). In 1999 a Colomiers prop Richard Nones got a 2 year ban for gouging. Rugby deals with eye gouging the way it should be. Let's be honest here, Dublin club and county has a problem with eye gouging and both Dublin county and it's club teams have got off the hook because, let's be honest again, it's Dublin. The maximum the players booked in the Ballymun/Kilmacud would get in a review would be 2 games. This is scandalous. Does anyone think that if this was Tyrone, Armagh or even Meath they would get away with it? Not a chance."
Maybe Ulsterman you should change your username to "lets be honest" because that seems to be the basis of your argument, so lets be honest most posters from other counties are paranoid about the Dubs, and lets be honest most of these posters are biased against the Dubs, and lets be honest most posters are jealous of the Dubs. So Ulsterman you have no monopoly on honesty, get off your "lets be honest" moral high horse and make your arguments on their merits.

sligo joe (National) - 16/09/2020 12:10:36

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 5 Like(s)
Just a point, in all 9 all ireland wins by the lads they have never lost a game, no back door or defeats in groups or round Robins, some record, like that's Kerry's second loss this championship.

sligo joe (National) - 30/07/2023 18:53:43

Kildare Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To SallinsMan:  "No surprise but the "national media" has been incredibly disrespectful to Kildare this week. Everything from Dublin punishing us to them deciding just what they want to do to us. I even heard a less than knowledgeable sports presenter saying Kildare were undeserving of their spot and how Meath should be given another rattle. Modern players are beyond the "pinning the headlines on the dressing room door" crap but they do deserve respect. While the GAA (primarily) and the media (to some extent) are to blame for the current demise of competitive football across the country, the players pulling on the white jerseys are doing their very best to bring entertainment and competitiveness. In return for their efforts they get sneers and snide remarks. I would love nothing more than if Kildare were to win tomorrow. I'm under no illusions as to the likelihood of that but as long as the lads give of their best, I will stand with them. Let the media continue to ride the Croke Park / Dublin gravy train while it lasts. They're fitting bed fellows. Cill Dara Abú..."
Agree with a lot that you say but as a Dub myself your last comment is just what you are complaining about, disrespect.

sligo joe (National) - 01/08/2021 00:15:05

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ah FFS this has become ludicrous, what next making Sligo change back the all white jersey as the black one is offensive, Jesus wept, I read locally that one iconic club should consider chang8ng their name due to its affiliation to John Mitchels. If it causes offense , don't read or switch off and let us normal folk get on with our lives. We're turning into a bunch of snowflakes, christ.. seriously like."
Your reference to the Sligo jersey makes no sense at all. Regarding the "Mitchells" issue, I think the members of clubs who honoured his name by incorporating it into their club name may wish to reconsider now that they are aware of his association with slavery. I believe many GAA members, myself included would find the honouring of a supporter of slavery inappropriate. I think any name changes will be driven by the clubs themselves but I think they will happen. What has Sligo's colours of black/white or white/black got to do with it?

sligo joe (National) - 12/06/2020 19:27:50

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 5 Like(s)

Replying To countyman2022:  "Also, pretty funny that you think that it was OK for him to do that and not be punished. Just watched it back, disgusting. Apologies again for wrong take!"
I never said Diarmo's actions were OK or that he should not have been punished. I just think it's hilariously funny that we have a poster on a GAA forum that doesn't know the difference between a Dub and a Kerryman, or a linesman and a referee or the championship in 2017 and the championship way back in 2008, thanks for the laughs.

sligo joe (National) - 22/07/2023 10:55:25

Dublin GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "In fairness regarding the Croke park thing Glen Ryan was only saying what half the country are saying. I agree with your point about the whole siege mentality thing tho. The roscommon manager said something similar about them being "disrespected" or something to that effect before their game against us. As a motivational tool it's very boring and cliché at this stage and I'd say half of these managers own players probably don't even take it seriously any more."
Well Glenn complained after the Croke Park game which Kildare lost by 2 pts and which Kildare were leading all the way up to 65th min. He more than suggested that Dublin won because the game was in Croker. Then a few weeks later the Dubs wipe the floor with Kildare down in Nowlan Pk. So, whisper it, maybe Glenn was wrong and maybe Dublin won the game in Croker on merit because they pushed on in the last 20 minutes and would have done the same on any pitch.

sligo joe (National) - 09/06/2023 11:01:02

Santa Claus - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Wicklowman:  "I'd forego the player if the GAA would provide each club in Co Wicklow with a full time paid coach like Dublin have..... Now that would level the playing field and would be worth far more than 1 player"
Try answering the question asked, not hijacking the thread.

sligo joe (National) - 13/12/2020 09:20:36

Kildare Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To brianb:  "Its a two way street - if Dublin wanted to try and send quick 60/40 ball into the forward line they could have. They chose a more cautious and methodical approach. It worked - they scored 20 points. Both teams played sweepers and both teams crowed midfield."
Fair dues to the player that can kick 60/40 ball to a forward line with 13 or 14 defenders facing him! It was very clear from O'Connors pre-match comments that his priority was to avoid a heavy defeat rather than go after the game and fair dues, he achieved his priority. Considering how Kildare set up the only way that Dublin could lose this game was to be impatient and reckless with their shooting, why but why would they play into Kildare's hands and offer them chances of hitting on the break.

sligo joe (National) - 04/08/2021 17:23:28

Next Dublin Manager - 4 Like(s)
Back to topic, Dublin's next manager, I think Dessie's success or otherwise will hinge on how he introduces a few new players into the team and still keeps the team at or near the top. Players like Bugler, Archer, McGarry(forwards), Darren Gavin and O'Cofaigh-Byrne, mid-field, Murchan to nail down a half-back slot, Comerford has the makings of a top-class keeper, and maybe more game-time for the likes of Cormac Costello (still only 25), Luke Swan, only 17, too early for him this year but is some prospect, football or hurling. If Dessie can bring in the new blood and stay competitive, happy days for the Dubs, if he can gradually remould the team and win Sam 2020, the outlook is bleak for everyone else.

sligo joe (National) - 17/12/2019 15:53:47

Kildare Vs Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To brianb:  "I feel its a valid point to make when the discussion is around how Dublin have managed to put 16/17 Leinster titles back to back. Its not down to one group of very talented players."
Moving the goalposts Brian, gone from generation to group. You're dead right, one group of players could not win 16 Leinsters but one generation of players could and did!

sligo joe (National) - 05/08/2021 16:44:52