Derry Forum

Popular Posts from Jazzyjeff

Tyrone Club Football - 4 Like(s)

Replying To countyman2022:  "Because I am from Ireland and live under Irish rule. Not another countries. Love the GAA it sgreat."
That's interesting. You can't actually argue with the superficial fact you elude too. Unfortunately for you Irish history is much more complex than two sentences spouted on an Internet forum. But then you probably already know that. Thankfully from my perspective I have always found the GAA a sport that doesn't see any borders and certainly not artificially created ones against the will of the people. Do you know what it was like in the North? A hurl or a GAA sports bag making you a target? Being careful where you went or what you said? Of course not. We are proud in the North of our GAA heritage. We love the game and no one will ever put that out of us.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 20/01/2023 19:55:43

Dublin GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Congrats to Dublin for a deserved victory. In a tight game I thought the Dubs edged it. I only wish Clifford had played like that in the semi-final against us!! Dublin had a good structure, very organised and hunted Kerry down all day. Fair play. Enjoy the celebrations.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 30/07/2023 22:31:05

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Let the footballers play football. Derry and Armagh's tactics were staggering at the weekend. Even Canavan was blown away with it and he's as biased towards any team from Ulster as they come."
Easy to say when you have Con O'Callaghan, Colm Basquel, Ciaran Kilkenny, James McCarthy, Paul Mannion, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Dean Rock etc etc. Dublin and Kerry have serious depth and some outrageous talent. Derry and Monaghan have some excellent players- two or three top class but are limited in other areas. It's a bit like the Irish soccer team. Everyone wanted them to play good football and that has worked out so well for them. You have to cut your cloth accordingly.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 03/07/2023 11:57:26

Championship Predictions Competition - W15 - AI Final!!! - 3 Like(s)
Never mind the predictions get this man a couple of tickets!!

Jazzyjeff (National) - 17/07/2023 13:38:14

Kerry V Derry - 3 Like(s)
Absolutely gutted on the way home from the game. A really sore one to take. The boys did themselves justice but we should not have lost that game.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 16/07/2023 19:02:24

2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well done them Dubs. Had to weather a defense first approach but eventually found the room, had a feeling before the game that if we didn't conceed a goal today that we'd win, Derry would score enough to win otherwise given how I thought they'd setup. I didn't see us scoring 4 though which was lovely. Nice to see the goals go in today and even better to see one not go in the other end. Dessie and co have a lot to do in the weeks ahead, but all in all, the league was a success for varying reasons. Congrats to the lads and well done to Derry on a successful campaign and a much deserved promotion into Div 1. Up the Dubs"
A very good performance by Dublin but we missed McKaigue badly as he usually goes man to man on the oppositions best player. O'Callaghan is a fantastic player but McKaigue would not have made it easy for him. All in all it was a disappointing day for us but for me the Dubs should be favourites for the All Ireland. Well done today deserved winners.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 02/04/2023 20:37:23

Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Fair play to Donegal for a thoroughly deserved victory. Derry will have a lot of introspection to do following that shocker of a performance but Donegal were absolutely superb. The goals were the killer and it looked to me something that was worked on massively, once the ball broke in midfield with Lynch stranded the sheer determination of the Donegal players to stream towards goal was striking. The decision to put Jason McGee on Conor Glass at kick outs was a masterstroke. Him and Rogers really struggled and it's not often that happens. Best of luck in the rest of the Ulster Championship.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 20/04/2024 20:06:42

RTE Football Team/Player Of The Year - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "That's true but the fact is that he only got 2 from play, Fitzy kept McManus to 2 from play in the semi also and has an excellent man marking record. Chances arevthat had Clifford popped a couple more over early then Dublin would have double marked him and put him out of the game. As it was they entrusted Fitzy to keep him quiet. Paidi O'Se used to say that if his marker didn't score then he (Paidi) had a great game, meaning that regardless of whether the forward missed 3 open goals, if you kept him quiet then you did your job. I think Fitzy gave Clifford the jitters yesterday and knocked his composure. Even when Clifford had a bit of space I think he expected Fitzy's hand to come around for the block because that's what he does. In contrast Mannion was zen like in his shooting, although still missed one or two that he'd normally bag."
Clifford had at least 3 scores you would have banked on him scoring. Fitz did well on him for sure but Clifford had the chances to rack up 6 or 7 from play.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 31/07/2023 16:30:16

Attendances 2024 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PattyONeill:  "Southern people don't have a emotional connection to their province anyway. With our history in Ulster and how we have always been unique means Ulster means more to us."
I don't think that is true at all.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 17/04/2024 13:22:15

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Ref has been shocking.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 15/07/2023 18:50:31

Dublin GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Good result but that wasn't the 'complete ' Derry outfit. Saving themselves a little and in fairness, they're in a position to do so. Enjoying the craic up here tonight, great people!"
Very impressed with Dublin last night, great control of the game but yes it wasn't the complete Derry by any stretch. Two All Stars missing in McKinless and Glass. Young player of the year missing in Ethan Doherty. Added to that no McEvoy, McGrogan, Conor Doherty, Cassidy and Lynch all didn't start either. If there is one team I would really want to avoid on route to an all Ireland final it's the Dubs. I can't see us getting past them later in the year. Everyone else I would be confident enough against. Glad you enjoyed your trip up. Derry is a great City and fair play to the Dublin supporters they were a credit to the team. Never any bother at all. Not like the soccer matches where nearly every other week something happens at the Brandywell. I live a stone throw from Celtic Park and the GAA fans are a different breed.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 03/03/2024 10:26:35

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 2 Like(s)
What a complete mess. The GAA were a disgrace passing the buck when they should have showed leadership. Glen obviously were very torn on what to do and opted for the objection. Personally I wouldn't have advocated that but they were well within their rights. Its now for the committee to decide how to proceed so knowing the GAA that will be as clear as mud.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 27/01/2023 18:50:42

All Ireland Hurling Format - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Onfor15:  "I think the format is largely exciting and in the main doesnt need much change but there are a couple of things which need to be addressed by changes to the format. Firstly, only the Joe McDonagh winners should be progressing to the preliminary quarter finals. It makes absolutely no sense that Offaly get further in the championship than Cork. The change I would make is that in stead of the Joe McDonagh runners up getting through, the two 4th place teams should play each other to see who makes up the other preliminary quarter final place. Alternatively the winner of the two 4th place teams could play the McDonagh runners up in a play off. That 4th place play off could take place this coming weekend and wouldn't delay the championship at all. The other change that needs to happen is if Kerry win the Joe McDonagh and get promoted they should be playing in the Munster championship. In this case Munster would have 6 teams and Leinster would have 5, with the bottom team in Munster getting relegated, and things returning to Leinster 6 and Munster 5 the following season."
Why would you try to 'fix' something that isn't broken. The Munster Hurling Championship gave us absolutely epic encounters mostly based on the fact that the teams were evenly matched and it was difficult to get through. One slip up meant no more room for error. Start adding in that the 4th place goes through or adding in teams that won't be as competitive dilutes the whole thing IMHO.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 30/05/2023 10:55:33

Tailteann Cup 2023 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  ""I think two tiers is enough, it is up to the likes of ourselves and a few teams in the bottom half of Division 4 to raise our standards, to get up to that level," Carlow veteran Darragh Foley said. "If you dilute it any more it will be very hard to keep lads motivated and bring youngsters through that want to play inter-county football. So I think two tiers is enough, as I say I just want to raise standards, to get up to the levels of your Meaths or the bottom of Division Two teams." Darragh is making a fair point. It is easy for some to suggest a third tier is needed. The players have to be on board and the majority of players seem to support the current two tier format."
I think this is very true. There will always be teams that are not going to win it, same with the Sam Maguire but the three games and greater exposure can only be a good thing for many counties. Otherwise what is there to play for after the league ends? Look at somewhere like Leitrim. Football mad. Yet barring a lucky draw that seems to occur once a decade they will have to beat Galway, Mayo or Roscommon to make a Provincial final. Then what maybe one win in the qualifiers before being put out. In the Tailteann they may make the semi finals with a good draw and would bring some crowd to Croker. Leitrim are just one example. There are others who are in the same boat. It is a really good competition with the incentives of Sam Maguire participation the year after if you win it, a team holiday and personal accolades with a team of the year all star type award. Not to mention an All Ireland winners medal. Let's give it a chance.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 12/05/2023 11:14:05

Dublin GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "It all feels very fitting that, what will probably be the end of alot of these Dunlin players career, will finish against Kerry, the team they beat to win their first All Ireland back in 2011 (Cluxton. Fitzy, James McCarthy, Dean Rock) . Wether it will have the same outcome with the Dubs lifting Sam we will see on Sunday, what I would say is that it feels like a closing of the book one way or the other. Feels like this one would mean the world to them if we were to win it and despite the 8 so far, there would be massive regret if we don't get over the line this weekend. I'm zen about it all personally. I think we will win but I've seen us win loads and my life has changed alot since our last one a few years ago with the birth of my first child so what I used to call important (winning all irelands and supporting the Dubs everywhere) is now far less important and for me this weekend it'll all be about enjoying the occasion."
Well said. Having kids changes your outlook on life so much. Years ago I would have been in a huff for a week if Derry were put out of Championship early. Now after the birth of my first a few years back I have become much more zen like yourself. These are occasions to enjoy. Breathe it in. Keeping your family with a roof over their heads and food on the table soon puts sport in its place.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 27/07/2023 14:12:15

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To CTGAA10:  "What a cracker in cork??both defences struggled but forwards on both sides looked lethal..cork will probably be more disappointed as they had great goal chances in first 15 mins but didn't take them.tynan again a real find for tipp..I also thought Dalton kept cork going when it didn't look great for them..can a cork person please explain why Kingston isn't a nailed on starter for them,I think he's a super forward..I hope some of the high late hits are highlighted as much as Limerick..I thought especially one from Ronan maher in first half..I'd also question a very obvious foul on tynan at a vital stage and the steps taken for o Flynn goal..that result means huge games left in Munster now..anothe match on Gaa go next Saturday,I was lucky to be able to see the match tonight because of the house I was in,won't be in that position next week.is it a double helping of football again on free to air next weekend??"
Not typically the biggest hurling fan but tuned in last night on GGAGo. What a spectacle it was and the second half was enthralling. It just flew by. I really enjoyed it. I would often keep an eye out for Antrim's results as they are Ulster's only real hurling representative that can have a go at the bigger sides. But last night was something else. I am going to try and watch as many of the remaining Munster Championship games as I can if last night is the benchmark(I had seen the Limerick highlights last week and thought I will tune in to the next game of hurling and boy was I glad I did).

Jazzyjeff (National) - 07/05/2023 11:49:47

Donegal GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I think Clare will see us as their best chance to win a game and get out of the group, especially in Ennis. I think we will lose all 3 games, much as it disgusts me to say it. We are a sinking ship currently, directionless."
Feels a little like Derry from 2016 onwards. Utterly directionless. Donegal need to be very careful they don't completely mess things up. Things could get a lot worse before they get better. I hope not because I like to see a strong Donegal.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 09/05/2023 18:37:52

1990S All-Ireland Senior B FC - 1 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "The Tommy Murphy Cup was set up to give the weaker counties a better chance of winning a bit of silver ware and it did but it failed to catch the imagination of some counties, so it was discontinued. The senior B championship was more worthwhile but was at times badly supported and never reached the heights that it should have, and it too was discontinued, but before it did CP brought in the back door system and in it's first year Galway won the All-Ireland SF final and thereafter every final was won by one of the stronger counties. All this is now being replaced by the Tailteann Cup, I wish it well, but it will do little if anything to help the weaker counties, long term loss for a short-term gain, in essence it simply won't or can't work with any degree of success."
I think Gaelic football has moved on so much in the last 10-15 years that a second tier competition was a real necessity. It needs to be promoted and given the respect it deserves. In many ways a soccer comparison is often made. If the Sam Maguire is the Champions League then the Tailteann is the Europa League. It should be seen as worth something. The gap now is so large that it would be impossible for a team like Fermanagh or Leitrim or Longford to win the Sam Maguire. To get big days out in Croke Park. The Tailteann gives that chance and also linking it to the Sam Maguire with automatic qualification for the winners was a very shrewd move. It definitely has potential.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 25/04/2023 17:01:24

Non-Gaa Forum - 1 Like(s)

Replying To 11jm11:  "People who think that some day in the future there will be a border poll and the vote for a United Ireland will win and the unionists will just wake up the following morning and accept it are delusional."
Of course they won't. Are you going to let that cow you after the centuries of hardship Ireland went through? When it comes to your own generation you shuffle off into the corner afraid of how others will react? No way. At the end of the day any change of constitutional status will be decided on by democratic means north and south. If Unionists will not accept that then it will be for the security apparatus to deal with it. That may even mean UN forces. We in the North will be at the coalface of any backlash and we are willing to vote for unity.

Jazzyjeff (National) - 08/05/2023 19:35:28

Non-Gaa Forum - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You are right. There is no chance of a poll being held, never mind voting in favour of unity in the foreseeable future. Anyone who thinks otherwise has both not read the GFA and the conditions for holding a poll; nor aware of the fact that the pro unity parties vote has not increased since 1998,"
Do you follow Northern politics and have you read much of the GFA?

Jazzyjeff (National) - 08/05/2023 19:36:36