Cavan Vs Meath. Rd 5. - 27 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "For me this COULD BE a defining game. Win and we have cork at home and should we win that then an all out crack at Donegal for promotion. I'll be honest win lose or draw that game should it come to pass would sign improvement and a successful enough year.
Flip side we get beat and lose to cork then we could be dragged back into relegation territory depending on louth and Fermanagh results. A nightmare scenario.
Now likelihood is neither situation might happen leaving us where we are. That would be same as you have been for past near on 20years." Has there ever been a more deluded individual than yourself on this forum??? Just asking for a friend.....Meath lose, and it's daggers at dawn for the manager. Meath win a game and it's promotion to Division 1 on the cards... I mean, come on, you have to be the biggest spoofer of all time? or else the biggest wind up merchant? Which is it?
bloodandbandage (Meath) - 03/03/2024 19:11:35
Leinster Football Championship - 6 Like(s)
Let's call a spade a spade - RD set up this thread so he could talk about Meath as his excitement hits epic heights. However, a blind man could have predicted it descending into farce. Dublin will win Leinster - this is a given - they are miles ahead of everyone. I watched Meath struggle to put away a woeful Cork team in PUR this year. Can't see them making the super 8's.
bloodandbandage (National) - 15/04/2019 09:14:37
RTE TV Coverage - 4 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "Division one Meath against the winner of both competition they in this year second rate?? Stick to whack it anywhere, cause you know nothing about the real gaa game :)" 'Whack it anywhere', Your head ? might knock some sense into you....
bloodandbandage (National) - 01/05/2019 14:57:56
Pairc Ui Chaoimh And That Twenty Five Million Overspend - 3 Like(s)
Replying To perfect10: "i could have seen the sense of putting a stadium of this magnitude in portlaoise for example,it is accessible by half the country by road/rail,is in the middle of the country,and could take the pressure off bigger games being played in croke park.
as wexford and clare showed last year,nobody wants to go near this white elephant in the corner of the country.
wexford and clare would have attracted 35-40k in thurles,once people saw cork they said no thanks.
i think this is a sentiment the gaa will pay heavily for in the years to come.
what a dreadful piece of planning which if cork gaa clubs arent paying for,the rest of us are ponying up for." you really have a bee in your bonnet when it comes to anything Cork. I've read plenty of your posts on previous Cork related threads, and they're all negative. Did a Cork lady do a number on you by any chance ?
bloodandbandage (National) - 07/01/2019 16:27:04
All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For? - 3 Like(s)
I'd like to see Dublin win the 5 in a row. Phenomenal team, with a brilliant manager. I suppose the fact that my wife and kids are Dubs is also a contributing factor!
bloodandbandage (National) - 28/08/2019 16:09:46
Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Seanfanbocht: "Best of luck indeed.
Hopefully a decent Ros crowd to encourage the lads.
Cork won't have 100 there.
Both sides haven't been setting the World on fire but whoever wins tomorrow will have a decent season.
Losers will have some soul searching and changes over the closed County season." BTW, If your lads win I wish ye all the best going forward. Rossie fans have been great anytime our paths have crossed. PUC '23 comes to mind!
bloodandbandage (National) - 13/06/2025 15:58:59
Leinster Hurling Championship - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Cockney_Cat: "A team like Clare? Clare won 1 game out of 4 in Munster, and that was the last game against a Limerick team that had already qualified for the Munster final." Ah stop lad will ya. You can't defend the indefensible. Leinster hurling is dead...And you know it. Still fancy ye to do a number on Limerick though
bloodandbandage (National) - 08/06/2025 18:48:19
Meath V Cork - 2 Like(s)
Replying To nobull456: "Jones out is a major loss indeed ,but we have no control over that for this match. We have all the control over dealing with the easily identifiable weaknesses in the Louth match If that is not clearly dealt with that would be concerning if we are trying to show continuous progress. ,Maybe i am wrong but i think we can beat Cork in Navan if team believes they can having dealt with those issues" You might not be wrong. We are wondering what Cork team will turn up. If it's the team that ran Kerry close, and probably should have won, then I think we have a great chance, if our performance is not up to that level then Meath will win. I was at the LF (herself is from Navan) and could only see one winner at HT, but somehow Meath allowed Louth dictate the second half and your midfield seem to fall apart.
I actually couldn't believe that Meath stood off Louth so much in those last remaining minutes. Maybe they were tired, but I expect you to be a different proposition in Navan on Saturday
bloodandbandage (Meath) - 20/05/2025 13:06:14
Top 6 forwards. - 2 Like(s)
Cillian O'Connor ? Your having a laugh..
bloodandbandage (National) - 20/07/2017 09:52:43
Wexford Hurling thread 2024 - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Viking66: "I knew when I heard the team selected that we didn't really want to win that game. And that was confirmed for me when I saw what way we set up, with a pretty orthodox 3 inside and 15 on 15 which left alot of space around the middle for Cork to exploit. What was a little concerning was the amount of space we gave Cork, our lads who were touch tight all year were a couple yards off their men, and weren't throwing themselves into blocking and tackling like they have all year. Maybe they were told not to get injured. I think Keith and the management team wanted to see how lads fared out in different positions with an eye on who our starting championship team will be. It was telling to see Niall Murphy, CBD, Richie, not on the pitch, except a late cameo from Niall. Conor Foley did OK in midfield, as did Shane, but I think come championship we will need Shane back in the corner or maybe wingback. Thought Eoin Ryan, Damien Reck and Matthew O Hanlon played pretty well, and it was great to see Mogie, Dwyer and Mac back looking fit! Dooleys sharpness is a little off still, but there's still a good few weeks to go before the Dublin game. Conor Hearne was our best player, along with Mark Fanning, while Kevin had his 1st off day of the year. Well done to Darragh Carley on his 1st Senior start! After that game I'd go with this team for Dublin based on this years League and last years Championship-
Fanning
Dooley, Jippo, Murphy
O'Hanlon, D. Reck, S. Reck
Hearne, O'Keefe
K. Foley, Chin, Mogie
Rory, Casey, Lawlor
Subs- Duggan, Mac, Devitt, Dwyer, Dunbar, Jacko, C. Foley, Patsy, CBD, C. Byrne, Tucker, which should provide cover for every line and position.
Shane Reck to pick up Donal Burke. Obviously we are likely to have injuries so lads will be promoted from the bench, and other lads will be promoted to the bench as the championship goes on.
Important things learnt/gained for the League-
-We have a fullback if Jippo gets injured.
-We have good trustable cover on the bench for players in every line.
-We have other lads not in the 26 who would be able subs in the event of injuries down the line. In other words Rossi is building a good squad.
Interestingly only 7 outfielders of the above team to face Dublin started that Cork game this afternoon. Half a team. And of the other 7 who started 4 wouldn't even make the bench for the Dublin game, as I can only pick 26. Some hard choices for Rossi to make in the coming weeks!" So Wexford didn't want to win this one? Ah stop...No more waffle please. This is the type of blinkered nonsense that gives fans (only a small few) a false sense of security. Wexford were just blown away on the day, and had no response to Corks' aggressiveness and sharpness.
Of course it's great for Wexford that it's happened now, and gives them plenty to work on for championship, but to suggest they had no interested in winning, in front of their home fans, is pure and utter nonsense..
bloodandbandage (National) - 19/03/2024 08:26:17
All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Viking66: "They were nearly knocked out only because they were at half pace." Complete nonsense. You clearly weren't at the game, and from what I've read of your posts to date, it's fairly obvious you don't have much time for Cork.
It's funny reading some of the Leinster posters (mainly Wexford) telling us all how Limerick were only half cocked during their Munster campaign, as if that's the only explanation plausible for both KK and Galway being well beaten, and the Munster games being close. They may have started Munster slowly, yes, but I'd say from the second half of the Tipp match onwards they found their mojo.
Anyway, huge congrats to Limerick, I've always admired them as a hurling county and wouldn't begrudge them any success.
bloodandbandage (National) - 25/07/2023 13:00:47
All Ireland Winners Speeches - 2 Like(s)
Peter Canavan 2003! What a speech....
bloodandbandage (National) - 31/07/2023 13:34:23
All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh - 1 Like(s)
Saw this on a WhatsApp message over the weekend.
AI Junior club champs - Arva (Cavan)
AI Intermediate club champs - Cullyhanna (Armagh)
AI Senior club champs - Glen (Derry)
Sigerson cup champs - Ulster University
Hogan cup champs - Omagh CBS
NFL Div 1 champs - Derry
NFL Div 2 champs - Donegal
Tailteann cup champs - Down
AI minor champs - Derry
AI U20 champs - Tyrone
AI Senior champs - Armagh
I think it's safe to say that Ulster football is in a good place!!!
bloodandbandage (National) - 30/07/2024 08:40:20
All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 - 1 Like(s)
Replying To BarneyGrant: "Every match has a life of its own. I don't think people realise how nervous Cork people are after such an unprecedented gap. Dublin footballers were same before 2011.
Few will be taking Dublin for granted - certainly not Ryan and the team i would imagine - but they are favourites for obvious reasons. 1/7 is a silly price of course.
Looking forward to it immensely. Form over the past number of years and previous meetings would favour Cork but hurling of all games can produce all sorts of twists and turns and expect we will see more of them tomorrow.
Two huge games and hopefully they live up to expectation regardless of which of the four reach the final." I agree with you 100% and the odds quoted for this match are just pure nonsense. This Dublin team have the power and pace to match Cork all over the field, and I expect this to be a right tough battle and not as free flowing as some would think
Harnedy is a huge loss for us, as he's guaranteed to score 3 or 4 points per game. He's also a brilliant target man for Collins; however, Dalton is an able replacement, and his long-range free talking will be a huge asset. I do worry about Hetherton (saw him up close at the Wexford match and he's a beast of a man!) coming on as Eoin has struggled with lads of his physique, but we'll just have to see how that pans out.
I really hope that we get a good clean game with no red cards, etc. And if we lose, I'll be shouting for the Dubs all the way in the final. Was at the Dublin/Limerick match, and the outpouring of joy at the end was amazing.
Fancy KK to beat Tipp in the other semi.
bloodandbandage (National) - 04/07/2025 14:41:51
Irish At The Paris Olympics - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Doylerwex: "A broken clock is right twice a day.
I've represented Ireland in 3 internationals as a boxer. I've boxed on the same card as Andy Lee and Katie Taylor as a youth and trained in the high performance unit with Billy Walsh and Eddie Bolger as a youth.
Olympic boxing was taken away from it's own governing body and given to a special task force run by the IOC because of corruption.
I'd be surprised if it's not taken off the Olympic schedule altogether after this.
Just a side note the old scoring system was much more difficult to cheat.
10 point rounds are far more subjective than scoring punch on the white of the glove." Fair play Doyler. A brilliant achievement to represent your country. I better watch what I say in the future about the Wexford hurlers or I might get the head boxed off me!
bloodandbandage (National) - 02/08/2024 14:34:57
All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Doylerwex: "This all Ireland is corks to lose.
Dublin are the heroes of this championship already and took all the attention (and rightly so). Fair play to them standing with the big 3.
Kilkenny waiting in the long grass very quietly. If anyone makes a mistake they're primed to pounce." How can it be Cork's to lose? There are four teams left and each one of them will fancy their chances. If I remember correctly, you stated it was Limerick's to lose after the Munster final and look how that panned out.
bloodandbandage (National) - 04/07/2025 09:19:48
Roscommon GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Replying To dave1988: "Which stand would you recommend for tomorrow?" The South Stand is usually my preference, plus the upper tier gives you a nice view across the city
bloodandbandage (National) - 23/06/2023 11:25:07
Donal O'Gs Comments On Football In General And The TC In Particular - 1 Like(s)
Replying To royaldunne: "I agree. It's a minority sport that has little appeal outside a small number of counties. Yet corporations are expected to bow down to it." Nonsense. Go to any Munster final (can't speak for Leinster) and there are people from all over the country in attendance.
bloodandbandage (National) - 18/05/2023 10:11:15
Leinster Hurling Championship 2024 - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Fionn: "Limerick wont be stopped - 5 in a Row, imo, is a foregone conclusion." Oh right, sure might as well cancel the rest of the season then....
bloodandbandage (National) - 13/06/2024 23:18:26
Leinster Hurling Championship - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Viking66: "Why? We were 3rd last year in Leinster and were level with Clare, who finished second in Munster on head to head from 1st place, into the second half until they had an extra man. And we were playing our 2nd game in 6 days. Clare had had a fortnight off and were way fresher than we were. They also had a fully fit panel while we were missing key lads injured.
I was also at the Dublin Cork game, and had that gone on for another few minutes Dublin mightve won. They were also missing Cian Sullivan who was one of their best forwards when we played them. There certainly wasn't a gulf between them." A lad give it a rest. You keep referencing this Cork v Dublin game as a barometer when comparing Munster v Leinster. Cork were shocking that day and still won. I understand you're a passionate Wexford man, but most of your posts are riddled with excuses as to why Wexford were poor, or didn't win, etc. etc.
Every team has hard luck stories, and every team has injuries - the good teams deal with it and don't use it as an excuse.
I'll be in Parnell Park this Saturday, and can't wait to see how good your team really are...
bloodandbandage (National) - 22/04/2025 08:39:58