Clare Forum

Popular Posts from Clareman

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 6 Like(s)
I think Limerick will beat Cork well and win Munster again. Then its between yourselves, Galway and Tipp for the big one. There has been a lot of rubbish written lately about the state of the game, frees, fouling etc but the irony is that if the game was 15v15 'traditional' I think Limerick would still win. Right now ye have a great balance between hurling, power and athleticism. And a fantastic coaching team. The squad depth is very good and they have the ability to win 4 or 5 All Irelands. I would say that last thought is what is making a lot of the pundits and experts from the traditional counties a bit nervous, thus all the moaning. It was the same with Clare in the 90s and Galway in the 80s. As long as Limerick keep their eye on the ball they will be around for a long time yet. I am a Clare man obviously and the rivalry between us is intense at times but I think this Limerick team, mgmt group and the board deserve huge credit for getting themselves into such fantastic shape. Hats off to them. Compared to the shambles in my own county off the field and the list of good hurlers not making themselves available to Lohan really rams it home how far off we have fallen.

Clareman (Limerick) - 11/06/2021 09:03:35

Try Hurling 'Super 10' (incl Prov Championships) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 73forever:  "Best Format I think for Hurling was the 2012 HDC proposal - 3 Groups of 5 teams- all rounb robins - each team has 2 home and 2 away games Group A(Cork, Tipp, Limerick, Clare, Waterford) - Munster Group B(Kilkenny, Wexford, Dublin, Galway, Offaly) - Leinster Group C(Laois, Westmeath, Carlow, Kerry, Antrim) - Other Two 2 in Group A and B meeting in 'Munster' and 'Leinster' Finals 3rd Place in Group A & B and Top 2 in Group C play off for quarter final spot against provincial runners up - provincial winners into semi final Bottom team in Group C releagted and Christy Ring winners promoted. Simple - provides a good amount of games, each game means something"
Yep I thought the same. My only change would be that the bottom team in B played top in C in playoff so likes of Laois or Carlow etc got a cracking at playing in leinster as a reward for a good year. Offaly nearly in group B based on traditional alone. No dig at Offaly just an observation based on last few years form.

Clareman (National) - 10/03/2017 11:13:37

Well Done Limerick - 2 Like(s)
A mighty win and well deserved. Ye won a great championship, enjoy the celebrations!!!!

Clareman (Limerick) - 20/08/2018 11:32:26

Meath V Clare - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Something awful wrong with a system when either of these teams get in super 8's ahead of the likes Galway, Armagh or Cavan, but thems the breaks i suppose."
Clare have drawn with Armagh and Cavan in their last 2 league encounters and lost to Armagh in a very tight game last year int he qualifiers. Those teams are not that much better than Meath or Clare. Bar the top 6 or 7, there is very little between about the next 10 or 12 in mine opinion.

Clareman (National) - 08/07/2019 15:55:01

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Lads Clare were 7/8 points better on the day. My take on Limerick is that ye have some superb young players but no game plan. I was expecting Kinnerk to bring something new to the table but it was the same brainless stuff of crazy wides and hitting aimless ball into nowhere. Bugler was dropped because of this for us. Ye have massive potential but ye need to establish what yer game plan is? Clare have a plan (im not too found of it) but at least they have one and they stick to it. Limerick won great ball in the air yesterday but did f all with it. That is where the inquest should focus on.

Clareman (Limerick) - 05/06/2017 21:09:05

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "A win on Sunday and we're out of Munster unless Tipp beat us by 15 points And Clare beat Cork by 15 points as well-unlikely that both will happen. I'd take a 1 point win now on Sunday if offered to us.Clare fans and pundits in the media seemed to think they should have won the AI last year and that they have our number-I know most Limerick fans resent these comments and I'm pretty sure the players and management also resent them and I would be very confident of a big Limerick performance on Sunday and hopefully it will be enough to get us the win."
That is nonsense, no one thinks that bar a few idiots. Limerick won a great All Ireland last year. In the pubs in Ennis last Sunday it was the tipp lads saying they couldn't wait to play limerick who were 'lucky' Sheedy wasn't in charge last year. It's yer neighbours on yer east flank that begrudged ye, not Clare. I was delighted Limerick won. Clare do have serious problems though with regard to puck outs and they wasted the whole league and never tried anything new. Conlon on the 40 is one option but this mgmt are quiet conservative so I think Cleary to 6 and browne to 4 with Morey losing out will be the only change. Personally I would move Kelly into the corner and let him roam like Podge does, Podge is better off the bench. Id also start shanagher. Limerick are an excellent side and will be very hard to beat in the GG. However, if Clare cant rise themselves for this one then this mgmt and perhaps a few of the players can forget about it. Its that big a game for Clare. Last Sunday was an embarrassment. Hopefully a cracking game. The Munster championship needs one!

Clareman (Limerick) - 05/06/2019 13:46:43

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Nash, hayes and casey have potential to be serious forwards, lynch i think is better as a playmaker. I would drop dowling, bar frees, i dont ever remember him scoring from play against clare in about 5 games? Also, yer midfield is not top notch, galvin ran the game for most of the second half and he was only in third gear. I must say I was wrong about hickey, i thought he would be a weak link but he was super. Held kelly well and also won good ball in the air and didnt lash it away like hannon and some of the other backs did. Its not individuals in general though that is the issue, its the way the team plays. I know this because we had the same sort of nonsense last 3 years. Limerick have more raw material in terms of aerial power than Clare to compete with the best, what lets ye down is a lack of scoring power inside and a dodgy full back line. A round robin Munster championship next year will bring yer team on a ton.

Clareman (Limerick) - 06/06/2017 13:15:35

Loughnanes views on Kilkennys U21 team - 1 Like(s)
Loughnane is far from a hurler on the ditch! He managed a team to 2 all irelands that had won none in 81 years. He was Clare's first ever all star. He played on a fantastic clare team that won 2 NHLs and was unlucky to lose 2 very tight munster finals to a cork team that won 3 in row. He hurled until 1986 for clare and was unlucky to lose another tight munster final to guess who, cork, who won the AI that year. He finally won a county medal with Feakle in 87 even tho he tuned down opportunities to hurl with bigger clubs . You can disagree with him, but do not say he didnt have stellar career. Do Ciaran Carey, Tony Browne, Ken McGrath not have 'stellar' careers so? Poor comment

Clareman (National) - 14/09/2017 15:00:34

Munster MFC Cork 5-28 Waterford 0-03 (40 Point Win) - 1 Like(s)

Replying To daytona11:  "Strange argument considering we already have a tiered structure in hurling. If Clare, just like Offaly, can't compete with the top tiered counties at any age group they will be relegated. Their results will ensure that. The tiered structure in hurling been by and large successful and no reason why football can't replicate it."
Well said Daytona. If we are not good enough we will go down. Hurling has been graded for years so i dont understand the person saying we are someway protected?? Personally, with a relative who was on the panel and seeing his demeanor after it, I think underage grading at inter county is the way to go. He was demoralized. Grading should be easy, especially after results at u15, 16 etc, you can see what teams are capable off. With minor at u17 now ( which i think is a bad idea) counties with small picks will end up playing a lot of 16 year olds and in some cases 15 year old's as they wont turn 16 until later in the year. Very hard for them to compete against Cork, Limerick, Tipp, Galway and KK. Now I know people will say KK have small population but they dont play football and do they even field underage football teams? Its all hurling. West Clare is all football, with a good few lads hurling with clubs like Kilmaley, Ballyea, Inagh Kilnamona etc but we wouldnt hve the same numbers as the bigger teams. What happened to Clare and Waterford might be a once off but I doubt it and i would be open to grading if warranted.

Clareman (National) - 23/07/2021 14:48:32

Clare Hurlers 2019 - 1 Like(s)
The performance on Sunday was horrendous and not acceptable but please bear in mind Clare are missing David Reidy, Jamie Shanahan, Conor McGrath, Oisin O Brien, Aaron Cunningham, Rory Hayes, Gearoid O Connell and Ian Galvin through injury or other reasons. Conor Ryan and Darach Honan also had to retire early and some of the key leaders from 2013 also retired ( Colin Ryan, Bugler, Donnellan,) all too early in my opinion. We do not have the depth of other top counties and I think this needs to be taken into consideration. The next manager might be a lot more lucky with the depth of the squad if the first 8 lads were all available. Perhaps Ian Galvin will be back for sunday, but our bench looks very light.

Clareman (Clare) - 13/06/2019 16:13:40

Sham of a NHL or what? - 1 Like(s)
Why do we need 1/4 finals? why not have 8 team division 1 with top 4 into semis and bottom 2 relegated. the current format doesnt work in the league, but i think it would work for championship, ie round robin for munster and leinster. I also think Derek McGrath's suggestion of linking league and championship is worth a look but it would probably mean the end of the provincials and nt sure the appetite is there for that, esp in Munster.

Clareman (National) - 27/03/2017 13:17:04

Clare Hurlers 2020 - 1 Like(s)
There is a tiny tiny minority of people who engage in this type of abuse and they need to be called out. Nobody deserves it. However, the genuine concerns of Clare GAA people about how the games are been run in the county is being lost in all this noise. Look at the large number of Clare hurling people employed with other counties because they are shut out of the running of the games in their home county. Its maddening and also very sad! I am a loyal Clare hurling fan going back to the late 1980s. I going to 99% of games. I could count on 1 hand the amount of times I've heard people throw personal abuse at coaches, either Clare coaches or opposition. I think genuine Clare fans are being tarnished and I think the stunt last Friday on tv to whip up this is something I will never forgive. Some of the worst abuse I have ever heard came from a certain Clare manager to his waterford counterpart dueing the 2016 League Final. Maybe that needs to be called out. Has anyone ever asked David O Halloran or Nicky O Connell about personal abuse, bullying and poor treatment? The rift that started in Clare goes back to that disgraceful episode in 2015 which ended the careers pretty much of good hurlers and decent lads. I laugh when Limerick posters say we lucky to have Fitz yet when he is linked with them they go mad. I am actually fed up of all this bull. The true supporters know what is going on. Up The Banner. Larger than any individual or another.

Clareman (Clare) - 14/01/2021 11:26:00

Clare Senior Hurlers 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Also, on Limerick, i think they are a coming force and they have a great chance in next few years of landing the big one. They have some issues to fix, like all teams do, but overall there is a a good group of players there. I like the cut of their half back line, and if they can find a partner for lynch in the middle, plus they have Casey n Dempsey to come in, thats a serious team and they have a bench. Also, well coached. I have to say i thought both managers post game n the players spoke well. No sore loser or gloating. A fine game and fair play to Limerick. I hope they win the league now. Ennis in June will be a great day out!

Clareman (Clare) - 20/03/2018 14:04:30

Clare Football Panel 2015 - 1 Like(s)
if we can get mcgrath, tubs and cthal mac fit thats serious firepower to have and hopefully go a few rounds in the qualifiers, playing football in the middle of the summer will bring the team on further, if you look at div 3 next year, kildare and tipp will stand out as maybe the teams to beat with possibly westmeath but i think clare can have a right good crack at promotion as they now have had a year at that level. Need to improve on away form tho, tis very poor.

Clareman (Clare) - 17/06/2015 14:54:31

Clare Senior Hurling Championship - 1 Like(s)
My God you are touchy, Limerick well able to throw it over the fence to Clare after 2013, but how dare we say anything back! I was at the final last year, delighted Limerick won, the more non tradtional big 3 teams the better i say, but I am entitled to my opinion. I go to a lot of games with lads who are from Limerick, be it county, club, colleges, underage, and they also think Limericks weakest line is the FB line. Limerick coughed up big scores last year but were still able to win, thats a great place to be! Its just an opinion Oldtourman, take a chill pill.

Clareman (Clare) - 07/03/2019 08:40:04

Just a shocking bad decision. I am 30 years plus going to hurling matches and it is the single worse call I have ever see. It totally distorted and ruined a good even game. I wouldn't mind if it was contentious, but the unfairness of it clearly rattled Clare, especially the younger players. The other calls in the game are 50/50, you get some, you dont. That is hurling, no issue with that but the pen and sin bin was a total utter farce and to do it without consulting with his officials smacks of arrogance. In short, a total utter disgrace and I am loath to ever go over the top post games but that was the pits.

Clareman (Clare) - 05/07/2021 16:54:25

I do think its fair to say Shanagher has not improved as a hurler. He still cannot hit off his right side and gets hooked too easy. He has work to do. I think maybe an impact player for him if im honest. He is a serious weapon but maybe from bench. Just my opinion. In a perfect world the Clare front 6 for me are McCarthy, Reidy, Duggan, Conlan SOD and Kelly free to go where he wants. Malone and Galvin midfield. Colm will be better next year. On the puckouts, I think Clare have to drop off to flood the middle which allows them to sit deep. However, they over do it at times and their shooting becomes ragged. I would have pushed up on Cork a lot more at the start. They only have Harnedy as a ball winner and it might have stopped them starting well. Its all easy to say now though post game. One thing I will say is that Lohan and his team seem to learn from their mistakes. The team is better balanced than last eyar, we are more solid in the fb line, we work harder and we work more as a team. Quilligan bar one error has had a great year in goals. Id back them to improve the team again next year. We need to sort out half back line tho. Ryan was brilliant but 6 and 7 still need to nailed down.

Clareman (Clare) - 26/07/2021 15:49:51

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Not feeling very positive at all for the limerick match. We are down a lot of players. No conlon, duggan or colm galvin available. Seems that ian galvin, jamie shanahan, mikey o'malley, rory hayes, conor mcgrath are not involved either. All of them wouldn't have been involved but ian galvin and shanahan would have a lot to offer. My team for the first round would be; 1Touhy 2Corry 3Cleary 4Browne 5Malone 6O'Connor 7O'Halloran 8McInerney 9Kelly 10A.McCarthy 11Fitzgerald 12D.Ryan 13O'Donnell 14Shanagher 15Reidy"
I'd say you have the personnel pretty spot on, maybe Malone to 10 and McCarthy to 7. He had a good league at 7 and Limerick half forward line are very strong in the air. I would also suggest Ryan maybe to 5 but we are robbing peter to pay Paul. Reidy to 11 and Cunningham to 15 maybe as well perhaps. Podge also gone now, I don't think he would have started though. Ian Galvin not involved either. It could get ugly but I hope we get some fire back. The spirit in the park last year against Cork when the chips were down is what is needed. Limerick are my favourites for the All Ireland. Very strong 24/5 man squad. Tipp probably have a slicker 15 but don't have the depth even if Bonar is back and some u21s come through.

Clareman (Clare) - 07/10/2020 13:29:57

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 1 Like(s)
on a side note, i think munster and leinster should be round robin, with top 2 into final. home and away every 2nd year like 6 nations. Id rather player limerick in a packed ennis or limerick, or Waterford in a packed walsh park than ah half empty stadium in thurles. more games the better. just my 2 cents.

Clareman (Limerick) - 14/10/2016 09:50:08

The Laois Rising. - 1 Like(s)
Fair play to Laois, delighted for them. The more counties at a high level the better. They have a good minor team coming as well.

Clareman (National) - 08/07/2019 16:03:39