Cavan v Meath

Pleased overall to stay in division 2, disappointed with the performance at times today, subs too late, too slow, what was Jack Brady goin to do so late in the game? Also Mackey who impressed me earlier, took far too much out of the ball, needs to bring the other forwards into the game, several times had players in better positions but didn't give it. Defence very vulnerable today only Meath kicked so many wides we'd à been hocked. Enjoy New York, work to do for championship.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 05/04/2015 19:12:04    1710906

The league campaqign can be summed up quite easily - 7 games and 1 goal.
We have poor forwards.
A lot of work to do BUT we retained Div 2 status so all is not lost.
We need to unearth a few scoring forwards. Our midfield were not great either today.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/04/2015 19:56:25    1710945

strange game today where it looked like both teams wobbled at the thought of Div1. After the first half where both teams squandered numerous chances, i was worried Meath would kick on, but in fairness to the lads we ended up going 3 points up with 10 mins or so left. The issue today was that Meath made their changes earlier and they seemed to have legs in the last 10 mins when we didn't. M Reilly and F Flanagan were great today i though..

We missed a lot today and then again so did Meath. Some posters mentioned that our build up play was slow. There were times today when we moved it quick and did get results. Some need to realize that players will turn back if there are no options available inside. Just like we had, Meath had numbers back and played as much a sweeper type system as we did.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 05/04/2015 20:18:46    1710970

Next years Division 2 is going to be some dog fight, five Ulster counties will be in it, Tyrone, Derry, Cavan, Armagh and Fermanagh, with Meath Laois and Galway also in it. So lots of local derbies for Cavan.

I'm not the biggest fan of Keating,(as I always felt he shot too often from stupid positions) but we really did miss his ball winning and score taking this season, if he can not be persuaded to rejoin the panel it is vital that someone to fill the ball winning role is unearthed very quickly, Cavan have a good midfield, as a team it gains a good percentage of possession, but without a big ball winner in the full forward line we are handicapped big time. All the top teams have ball winners in the forwards, Donaghy(Kerry), Murphy(Donegal), Cork, Mayo and especially Dublin have several each. One of the reasons why Tyrone have struggled in recent times is that they no longer have ball winners in the forwards, they wanted to use Sean Cavanagh at full forward but need him further outfield even more. Cavan have too many small forwards who lack the power to beat packed defenses so its vital size and strength is added in that department. We have some top quality defenders(one of the best fullbacks in the country), and we have good quality midfield options(finally have real size and ability there).

Cavan are a decent Division 2 side, finding those few extra quality players that will make us a decent Division 1 side is the next big hurdle

eduardo66 (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 05/04/2015 21:17:26    1711027

We are trying to play a style of football that we haven't got the players to play, our two inside forwards aren't big and strong enough to win the 50/50 ball, when we break from defence from a turn over, we get to the 40 yard line and the attack stops, slows down and becomes lateral , the players has no options inside to give the ball into and has to wait till the half forwards gets up which in turns allows the opponents defence to regroup. we either have to scrap this style or find ball winners for up front, on the bright side we are still in Div 2, so not a bad league ! Enjoy New York if any of ye are heading!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 05/04/2015 21:19:55    1711032

eduardo66

Agree about Keating, he was our best forward and on his day could be a handful for any full back, I felt the system did him no favours last year, what a shame he isn't there because I reckon if we liberalised the style (as we seem to be doing although it is painstakingly slow) he could be a real asset for us. Along with Givney who I felt the management never got the best out of, but he did show glimpses of potential.

I think we'll have a new man at the helm next year and that might whet the appetite of these fellas once again.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 05/04/2015 21:54:48    1711064

Hard luck yesterday. We could have won if we had taken a percentage of our scores. We need to improve a lot if we can compete with Monaghan.
On a positive note Martin Reilly is playing some football.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 06/04/2015 09:19:20    1711081

Agree, improvement is needed to challenge Monaghan - but I would expect us to improve given that it's Monaghan in the Ulster championship in Breffni. Could be a sell out!

We have some players in very good form, Martin Reilly as mentioned, McEnroe, Rory Dunne, McLoughlin, etc. Mackey can be unplayable on his day as can Martin Dunne. If we get the best out of these two in particular, I feel we will beat Monaghan. They've taken a bit of a beating from Dublin yesterday and may well do so again in the semi-final while we will have a good tour to NY under our belts.

Satisfied by our league campaign, looking forward to the Championship!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5015 - 06/04/2015 09:48:29    1711092

Yesterday showed that neither Meath nor Cavan are ready for Division 1. The number of wides and goal changes missed is evidence of same. However, it was a good league campaign for Cavan, competitive in all games. Let's hope that some of the home games are played on a Sunday next year!

As for the summer ahead there is some work to be done and the forwards coach has to earn his corn. A two man full forward line must have pace and power and must be receive quick ball. I hope the New York trip helps to improve the method of play. I for one want Tom Hayes in the full forward line and i think that Enda O'Reilly and Conor Madden should also be looked at even at this late stage. The pitches are getting firmer and guys should not be judged on the terrible conditions prevailing during the winter. How many games at the park during the year to date were played in terrible conditions?

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 06/04/2015 10:36:10    1711104

cavanman47

Agree, improvement is needed to challenge Monaghan - but I would expect us to improve given that it's Monaghan in the Ulster championship in Breffni. Could be a sell out!

We have some players in very good form, Martin Reilly as mentioned, McEnroe, Rory Dunne, McLoughlin, etc. Mackey can be unplayable on his day as can Martin Dunne. If we get the best out of these two in particular, I feel we will beat Monaghan. They've taken a bit of a beating from Dublin yesterday and may well do so again in the semi-final while we will have a good tour to NY under our belts.

Satisfied by our league campaign, looking forward to the Championship!
Do't be taken in lad with Monaghan's performance yesterday they will be thinking of only one thing and it's not their next match it's the first round of Ulster. They want to win back this trophy so yesterday's performance will be well and truly forgotten about.
As for our team and the names you mentioned some just are not good enough along with many others on the panel.
They will be well deflated after Meath beating them yesterday. I was hoping we might win that and get promotion despite me saying I would be happy with us staying in Division two but whats another year.
I was at the match yesterday and I had a small radio with me while listening to the two commentators on Northern sound jesus only for I was at the match I would have thought it was a fantastic match which it was not.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 06/04/2015 10:43:22    1711108

Hard luck yesterday to our lads. The effort was there but execution was poor, especially in front of the posts. I am concerned about the full forward line, I'm sure all supporters and management are too. All that aside, it is mission accomplished for this year in the league now next goal is to reach an ulster final.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 06/04/2015 10:50:22    1711110

Division 2 survival was the aim at the start of the league, anything after a bonus. The 2 home games against Kildare and Down could easily have been won, one only for poor discipline. It was a solid League campaign. Cavan had been playing Division 3 since 2008 so a step up in Division 2.

Turloc Mooney, Killian Clarke, when fully fit would give Cavan more strenght and power, as there is quite a few small players on the panel, but that's the way it is. No magic wand to make players bigger.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/04/2015 11:51:44    1711143

In defence of our full forward line, it is the delivery of ball to them that needs to be addressed firstly. We have full backs and half backs runnin forward to "get their scores" and Dunne Mc Dermott,and Fitzpatrick makin runs and gettin no ball or gettin last ditch ball or desperate passes when the lateral passers are done mickey mousin around with the ball (we all no the lateral passers also 'best soloers' on the team at this stage!). Several times yesterday our defenders were caught in front of goal , ball turned over and Meath set up fast attack cut through us like a knife through butter, they just could not finish and we had 2-3 defenders walkin back down the field lookin at them?????????? Why are management and selectors not able to see this yet everywhere in stand yesterday us ordinary Joe Soaps who know nothin could see it. So if we are to beat Monaghan defenders need to defend and forwards need ball to score. We have players who can defend and forwards who can score. Get the right players in the right places doin the right things at the right time, that's how we will beat Monaghan and win Ulster. My player of the league this year was Dara Mc Vitty, think he's had a good year so far. Lookin forward to the news from New York, would love to be travelling, anyone goin keep us posted.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 06/04/2015 12:06:44    1711154

Good defensive performance yesterday for the most part, Feargal Flanagan did very well as did Rory Dunne. It was difficult going forward and Meath had 14 players behind the ball at most stages during the second half. I thought Corr did well at midfield, McEnroe did fairly well for himself too.

I thought Martin Dunne was very disappointing yesterday. He should have had 1-4 on top of what he did score. And that's not setting the bar high, he did very well to engineer himself a yard of space to get a shot off on multiple occasions and then shot wide, from simple angles that you'd expect any club footballer to score from. I've been guilty of saying in the past that "on another day he'd score all of those" but these other days just don't seem to be coming for him.
Our forward play in general was very poor yesterday. It's the same failing that has been our ultimate downfall for the past few years, lack of real consistent quality from 13-15.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 06/04/2015 12:20:44    1711162

I will ask the question again... Why did Hyland pick Niall even though he had a broken bone in his foot...? And then replace him with a defender in a must win game...???

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 06/04/2015 12:21:59    1711163

there are some players on the panel that are getting very little if any game time. I wonder will these guys be still around after the New York trip ?.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/04/2015 13:07:29    1711204

Cavan have some good players comming through after 5/6 years of competitive U-21 teams but the whole lot is been wasted by the current management... Add to that the players who walked off the pannel and we should have a team well able to win Div.2... We have every bit as good a players as Roscommon if not better but are been hamstrung by bad tatics...all this talent been wasted..its a shame..!! These type of players dont comr round that often so why not make the best use of them...? A terrible terrible waste

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 06/04/2015 18:15:48    1711342

just a few observations after our league campaign has completed.

We would have needed to win by 6 points yesterday to gain promotion.

we scored ONE goal in the league. the lowest total of all 32 counties. (the average over all 4 div was 6.6, the average in Div 2 was 6.75)

our total score for was 88 points. the average scored over all 4 divisions was 102.5. the average for Div 2 was 106.5

so our average per game was 11 points. the average points per game in the division was 30.42. so we would really need to be scoring more than 15 points per game

our points conceded was 87. the lowest in the division. over the 4 divisions, only dublin, donegal,fermanagh Longford and Offally conceded less.

This would suggest that we just need to improve our scoring rate by about 4 points per game.
something to work on in New York.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/04/2015 19:13:30    1711362

Sean66, how is on the verge of being promoted to Division 1 , wasting talent?.

Roscommon have produced free scoring forwards,
Diarmuid Murtagh, Enda Smith, Donie Smith, to go along with Donie Shine and Senan Kilbride. They have probaly better forwards then Mayo, I don't know why you think the Cavan forwards are better.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/04/2015 19:38:08    1711376

Completely agree Foolsgold. We don't have anyone as good as Kilbride, Murtagh or Enda Smith (who is probably the pick of the 3, an absolute star in the making). And that statement wouldn't change if Keating was in the panel.
Whether that's due to the defensive focus the underage systems have adopted to compete in Ulster or whether it's just the way things panned out or a combination of both, well nobody can say for certain. Personally I think it's the way things panned out. Look at Tyrone and Donegal, players coming through in systems focussed on defence yet they still produced lads like McBrearty, Murphy, McCurry, Ronan O'Neill. We had years in Cavan there where we didn't have any great focus on defensive football, we didn't produce any top quality forwards apart from Johnston and even at that he was proven unable to get a place in the Kildare Championship team that wasn't exactly fantastic in attack.

Our strength lies in our defence and midfield, so we cut our cloth to suit. The lack of quality up front is an extremely irritating problem, but not every problem is someone's fault. It's just the way things are. Stay the course and hope that in time someone like Tom Hayes or Ryan Connolly or Conor Madden will prove to be the type of players we need to get us to the next level.
Blaming management is simply the mindless knee jerk reaction that certain Cavan supporters have been doing for as long as I can remember.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 06/04/2015 20:36:23    1711402