Galway v Cavan

kildare blue

Keep the heads boys and let's see where it takes us. A change had to be made in the full forward line you just can't keeping kicking it in and see it come straight back out!

Do you think putting Jack Brady and Mackey in the forward line will be a help, wake up and smell the roses, Cian has no match time and Jack Brady is way over rated. Galway will smother them.

Hard luck today mowbar and slasher. Brilliant negative post there Mowbar, very satisfying to know you can eat your words. Lots of mistakes today gifting Galway about 3 or 4 points but the effort was 110% and well done to Martin for responding so well to bring dropped. Dunne's 3 points from play were brilliant, 2 reminiscent of the winner against Fermanagh 2 yrs ago in Enniskillen. However Mackey was the key player, floating around pulling the strings. He was obviously told to forget about defending due to fitness problems. Excellent displays from mcloughlin, McEnroe and corr. Bit more decisiveness and we would have won by a lot more.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 15/03/2015 16:50:54    1702890

Have to say i didn't see that win coming but credit has to go to the lads. For those at the game, what style/type of football did we play today. It seems to me over the past number of games that we have tried different things. Some have worked some haven't.

After looking at Laois (who are a different team from when we played them) against Meath last night and Westmeath well beaten today we could well pick up some more points.

Personally being able to beat the likes of Galway on their own turf is a definite sign of progress. Strange things is that we seems to be better on the road than at home :)

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 15/03/2015 16:51:19    1702891

Great result today and well done to the team. Should be safe now.
We are still a Jeckyll & Hyde team though. Good one week and poor the next. No consistency and poor enough in the first half. Dunne very good today but missing in the last few games.
The players need to settle and try and kick on from here. We need to get that by beating Meath and Westmeath.
Good to see Baby Flint in a better mood too.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/03/2015 17:10:29    1702904

That's more like it today, well worth the trip in the end, although I was convinced at half time that we were in for more of the same. But fair play to the lads second half, different team to the lacklustre one we saw in the first half, credit the management. Thought Brendan Fitz changed the game for us, and Dunne had the beating of his man all day. Midfield still not winning their share of possession, but that'll put some breathing space between us and relegation.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/03/2015 17:10:32    1702906

Anyone know the situation with Flanagan's injury? Why was he carried off, I thought it was just cramp.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/03/2015 17:21:22    1702916

Are you sure you were at the game Ned. The wind was a bug factor from 1st to 2nd half. Bud fitz changed the game? He did very well but hardly changed the game. Galway were very poor tactically in 2nd half leave Bud & Dunne acres to run into. We missed a sitter for a goal and a penalty. A bit of confidence was all we were missing in 1st half as some lads passed the buck for shots.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 15/03/2015 17:30:01    1702922

Great result today, honestly didn't know what to expect especially with so many players missing injury, suspensions, walk outs. Funny how things change relegation one week possible promotion the next. Realistically this team does not need to get promoted another year in Div 2 will do them the world of good, on another note can I suggest Cavan play their games away, for the obvious reasons not sure if its psychological at this stage. Personally I think Breffni Park heavy ground does not suit them and its has shown in the results so far, I would nearly prefer ta play Monaghan in Clones in May , also well done to Martin Dunne on his return some excellent scores, hopefully that will be the last time he will step up to take a penalty couldn't believe he was taking it.

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 15/03/2015 17:46:39    1702936

Great win today. Any time that you take 2 points in Galway should be very satisfying. I don't subscribe to the voices saying we are unpredictable. Look at the table, there are no dominant teams in division 2 and if anything, it would seem to be the division with the closest teams in terms of standard. I think that we absolutely have to take some gambles and try out some new players and systems in the league. We should now secure division 2 status and that is key. After the low of the Kildare defeat, this was a great comeback. There is good heart in this team and despite what many claim here, we have a camp with faith in the management!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 15/03/2015 19:04:02    1702993

As i said yesterday knew these group of lads were more then capable of this win and to their credit are trying out new things during this league campaign enjoyed the game and was lovely to see supporters showing their appreciation of the lads who put in so much effort.A lot of negativity on here lately any chance of shall we say having a positive monday on this forum.Well done to players and management well worth the drive to galway

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 15/03/2015 19:13:27    1703006

fredflint

Are you sure you were at the game Ned. The wind was a bug factor from 1st to 2nd half. Bud fitz changed the game? He did very well but hardly changed the game. Galway were very poor tactically in 2nd half leave Bud & Dunne acres to run into. We missed a sitter for a goal and a penalty. A bit of confidence was all we were missing in 1st half as some lads passed the buck for shots.

Bud could win his own ball inside and showed very well for it, something we lacked in the first half. Breeze did play a huge role as it thwarted Galways efforts in the second half. Yes, Galway were a tad naive leaving it two vs two perhaps. We should have had a goal, pass juat a wee bit overhit but it didnt matter, those margins make all the difference though, it fell our way on the day, be greatful. We're growing in confidence in terms of taking players on which is good to see, still not enough players taking shots though. Mackey starting to show 2013 form at the right time.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/03/2015 19:23:32    1703015

Had someone tell me in the pub last night "I cant see Cavan beating Galway tomorrow" I replied " You certainly wont see them beating Galway if you stay at home" Well done to team and management, great second half performance and fair play to those of us who made the trip despite the nay sayers!!!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 15/03/2015 19:48:59    1703044

Ned - I am very happy with the result today and there is room for improvement too. I am the optimistic one remember! My point was I think you are overstating Buds introdcution. He showed well and used ball well and played his part but we were well on top the whole 2nd half. I thought Mackeys passing and cuteness was the reason we won along with some excellent score taking. Now where is Mowbar gone?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 15/03/2015 20:35:14    1703080

Mowbar.
I think Mowbar is correct, survival in division 2 will do for us.
Promotion this year would be to soon for this team.
Glad to eat my words but we must be relentless now and secure safety.
Well done lads, a bit of revenge for allireland u21 defeat.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 15/03/2015 20:41:58    1703089

Mackey did well but he's a good bit over-weight and needs games.
He's timing it well for the C/ship.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/03/2015 21:03:40    1703109

fredflint

Ned - I am very happy with the result today and there is room for improvement too. I am the optimistic one remember! My point was I think you are overstating Buds introdcution. He showed well and used ball well and played his part but we were well on top the whole 2nd half. I thought Mackeys passing and cuteness was the reason we won along with some excellent score taking. Now where is Mowbar gone?

You are the optimistic one Fred, and fair play t'ya for it, I wish I had that belief! Agree Mackey was sharp. He's showing glimpses of good form which is vital for Monaghan down the line. But I did think that the ball was sticking well inside when Brendan Fitz came on, it was great to see it, although Galway left two on two in there which was suicidal, well I'm not complaining. Would have been nice to score the goal, looked a dead cert, pass was just inches too far ahead. Cavan looked a different team in the second half, straight from the throw in we ran at them and McDermott kicked a good score which set the tempo for the second half. We did struggle with Galway's pace at times but by and large we coped in defence. I always felt that if we drew level Galway's heads would drop and the heart would be knocked out of them.

One more point should leave us safe. Anyone know the story with Killian Clarke?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/03/2015 21:13:58    1703122

Clarke out for the rest of the league with tore ham string, will be fit for championship.

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 16/03/2015 09:10:19    1703183

Ye were the better team yesterday lads, well done on the win.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 16/03/2015 11:21:24    1703272

Well done to all the panel and mgmt yesterday. I wasn't at it but great to hear the result. I knew Martin Dunne has the ability in the forward line to take scores. i said it on here. hopefully with Mackey back to match fitness we can up the quality of the supply. Pity to hear about Killian Clarke's injury but hopefully he will be right for Championship.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 16/03/2015 11:58:50    1703297

Goldrick,

Yesterday the supply inside was noticeably better with Mackey, he was swinging cross field passes onto lads chests, it cut Galway open a few times. Thought McEnroe got forward well and defended well, his physicality is badly needed. I'd like to see more players have a go when the chance opens up, we're too shy in front of the posts. Someone told me we're the only team not to have scored a goal this year? Has to be worked on.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 16/03/2015 12:50:49    1703330

Congratulations to team and management on the win . Great to see M Dunne respond so well . With all that has happened lately we were probably a little thread bare going to Salthill and it was good to see the reaction from the team . Also a big thumbs up to management . They were under a bit of pressure for this game and it would have been easy to throw in some U21s to give us a boost but they stuck to their principles . Don't think you would find too many counties in the country willing to do this .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/03/2015 13:08:33    1703342