Roscommon v Cavan

Tough start for us to the league with two tough away games inside a week . Important we get something from at least one of these games .
I'm not very confident for the Roscommon match , think they will be too strong for us but very important we put it up to them .
Prediction - a decent performance but Roscommon to win

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 27/01/2015 13:25:05    1686870

Does anybody know what players have being dropped off the panel ?

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 27/01/2015 14:44:44    1686928

Handy win for the Rossies unfortunately.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/01/2015 14:51:46    1686939

Would have to agree,tough match for us but I can't see us leaking goals like Galway.
Draw would be a great result but unlikely.
Gearoid and Killian at midfield is pretty strong.
Hope it doesn't end up like last years match.
Best of luck to the lads anyway.
Prediction Roscommon .

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 27/01/2015 14:56:49    1686944

The Rossies have become something of a bogey team for us recently. You have to tip your cap to their underage development and they are a template of how it can be phased into a senior setup. They will win connaught this year I think. As for Sunday, cant see us taking anything from this one. Sorry tp be negative!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 27/01/2015 15:21:01    1686963

If we had Mackey available our forward line would look more impressive. Don't agree with the notion we need a target man. Just someone to win their own ball. Doesn't have to be a six footer if ball played in right. I'd play our u21s too. What difference is another underage title going to make at this stage.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 27/01/2015 15:22:10    1686964

It is worth remembering that when Ros started on their underage renaissance they took some spectacular hammerings at senior level in Connacht. It was not all plain sailing, some people would do well to remember that.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 27/01/2015 16:09:21    1687004

I have a gut feeling that we will win in Roscommon...our record in league matches with them is very good...its the knock-out games where we have fallen flat against them... Ye must remember they were only a 3rd div team like ourselves last year so they cant be that much better than us.. Ithey might be a tad complacent after beating Mayo and Galway reciently and we will surely deliver a better performance after last weeks dissapointment...?

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 27/01/2015 17:05:57    1687060

Roscommon will be tough, but so what, Cavan are tough too. I KNOW we can beat them, we have good players, seemingly they are putting in the work, belief in their own ability and a hunger to win plus a go forward style of play will do for me . A Cavan win would be a great start to what hopefully be a great year.

realisticpaddy (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 27/01/2015 17:32:53    1687082

Can't see us winning this one. Roscommon are too strong up front, some super young talent around the team, they're flaking everyone at underage. Gearoid and Killian at midfield is a battle we should win, but that's as good as it gets in my view. Roscommon will be super confident after having beaten two good teams recently. I just can't see where our scores will come from, and whats more I can see us reverting to type to halt what is a very good attack.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 27/01/2015 18:16:18    1687102

I would tip Roscommon to finish top of the division so I think this is going to be a tough opener for us, especially without our under-21s. and without Mackey,Keating and Givney. forget about last years meeting in the league proper, it was a dead rubber.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/01/2015 18:24:21    1687107

s goldrick

I would tip Roscommon to finish top of the division so I think this is going to be a tough opener for us, especially without our under-21s. and without Mackey,Keating and Givney. forget about last years meeting in the league proper, it was a dead rubber.

For the last couple of years we have talked about been without our under 21s. There should be enough of them come through by now. How many of the current u-21 would have a chance of starting. Argue and possibly Hayes are the only two that come to mind.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 28/01/2015 10:34:48    1687280

evano11

For the last couple of years we have talked about been without our under 21s. There should be enough of them come through by now. How many of the current u-21 would have a chance of starting. Argue and possibly Hayes are the only two that come to mind.

maybe young Faulkner or Conor Madden too. but Yes I see what you are saying. although those 4 guys would definitely strenthen the panel.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/01/2015 14:36:56    1687395

It's a pity that we play Roscommon first because they are a very good side. In fairness though, they've had the hold over us at all levels for a few years and we have to realise that our U21s moved into what was an abysmal senior team whereas Roscommon's were graduating to a side that won Connaught in 2010. As others have said, I'd expect them to win the Division. My only hope is that we'll put up a decent perfromance by playing like we did against Monaghan and Tyrone in the first half of each game. My selection would be:

James Farrelly
Jason McLoughlin
Rory Dunne
Josh Hayes
Mark McKeever
Damien O'Reilly
Fergal Flanagan
Gearoid McKiernan
Killian Clarke
Martin Reilly
Mickey Lyng
Dara McVeety
Niall McDermott
Martin Dunne
Ronan Flanagan

I mean no offence to him but I think Jack Brady needs a few months off. My heart sank when I saw him coming on last Saturday evening. He's been given a chance and just isn't doing it. There are a few players left out like Paul Smith and Murray on the fringes and then other likes Hayes/Argue/Mackey/McEnroe are missing through U21s and injuries.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/01/2015 16:30:40    1687442

BreffniGuide

I mean no offence to him but I think Jack Brady needs a few months off. My heart sank when I saw him coming on last Saturday evening. He's been given a chance and just isn't doing it. There are a few players left out like Paul Smith and Murray on the fringes and then other likes Hayes/Argue/Mackey/McEnroe are missing through U21s and injuries.

Bang out of order to start criticising players. How the hell is it Brady's fault if we're not winning or even scoring in games? In fact if I were him I'd have walked away from the setup after the Roscommon game last year, himself and Keating were on their own marking 6 ros players for the entire game and yet are somehow expected to win a ball in front of several sweepers and score. Anyone with a brain could see it. Keating walked after that, and I'm very surprised Brady didn't either because it was a travesty of a setup to expect them to do anything in that situation, 2 vs 6. I'd hate to be a forward on this Cavan team, not even James O'Donoghue would get a score in there.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 28/01/2015 21:31:50    1687565

I don't want to turn this thread into a discussion on one player but can you name one senior Cavan game where Jack has performed to expectation? I've been to the majority of games in the last 12 months and can't.

I think there is talent there but it's not working out for him at the minute so I'd give him a break from it.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/01/2015 10:30:01    1687615

Breffniguide, I thought he done well in Newry when they pulled him out to half forward. I don't think he is a corner forward (even with Ramor in the championship). However he is a good tackler, never gives up, good kick and hand passer, and maybe better suited as a half forward. I slated him last year but seeing what he brings to the half forward he brings something to the table like Lyng only with more pace

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 29/01/2015 10:54:36    1687632

Jack Brady played well against my own county, Fermanagh, in the 2nd game between us in 2013 in Breffni. It is clear he is talented, but from the games I have seen him he has largely not delivered upon the potential shown at U21 level. Personally I think he might be better in the half forward line where he can get his hands on the ball a bit easier, as he can be quite creative.

With regards a 'ball winner' in the FF line, I would agree with a previous poster that Mackey could be the best option (if he is fit, or whatever is going on there is sorted.)

I've seen plenty of Lyng over the years and I really don't see what he offers, far too ponderous and slow on the ball. Even for Cavan Gaels against Slaughtneill this year he really neutralised attacks by soloing on the spot and looking for the 'perfect' pass instead of moving the ball on quickly to a runner or just delivering into the space early. In the modern game players filter back at pace and the inability to transfer the ball quickly reduces the space forwards have to work with and runners have to break into (a quick ball isn't always on but it should be the first option explored.)

Punjab (Fermanagh) - Posts: 28 - 29/01/2015 11:30:11    1687649

Unfortunately due to work and family commitments I don't get to go to many matches and this weekends match is one I'll miss.
I felt last year that a lot of the team were fed up with the brand of football were playing and weren't giving of their best.
We lost players to the US and this year we've lost 3 more.
Seemingly were trying to move the ball "faster" from defence and kick passing a little more.
Hopefully we'll put in a good performance on Sunday.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 29/01/2015 12:29:09    1687680

If we dont perform well in the National League and have a good run in the Championship, then we need to look at the current set up to see where we are going wrong.
Serious changes are needed within the current ACFL and Club Championship - the current set up does not help the players on the County Panel nor the non County players. Theres too much of a gap between games, the league and championship is too dragged out.
If you look back at the times when there was regular ACFL games every weekend and the Championship was held over a number of weeks rather than months, Cavan Football was at its best.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/01/2015 12:53:55    1687691