Return of Seanie Johnston

B A H, DIP Jasus whats that

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 11/08/2013 18:52:46    1459000

How is the bounce on the pitch tonight sean?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 11/08/2013 19:56:45    1459079

Never mind Johnstone.McCabe is back.

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 12/08/2013 12:55:32    1459515

and McCabe will be a year more experienced come Ulster championship time next year, some strength in depth

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 12/08/2013 13:21:31    1459554

The fans have spoken...

"Overwhelming 57.2% said 'no, he's burnt his bridges', while 18% said 'Yes, even though he was in the wrong, he's too good' and 15.8% voted 'Yes, he did nothing wrong in the first place."

See more at: http://hoganstand.com/cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=198736#sthash.ne90Bpw8.dpuf

LET THAT BE THE END OF THIS

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 14/08/2013 10:03:25    1461092

so while everyone is against player power..we should let supporter power pick the team now?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 14/08/2013 11:23:37    1461203

Supporters arent picking the team. They are just saying that they dont want this fella back. If Seanie doesnt like that well he should have thought about the obvious outcome of his actions last year. I think what the majority of people have recognised is that it is not worth the risk to team morale to bring him back.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 14/08/2013 12:59:41    1461332

fredflint

Supporters arent picking the team. They are just saying that they dont want this fella back. If Seanie doesnt like that well he should have thought about the obvious outcome of his actions last year. I think what the majority of people have recognised is that it is not worth the risk to team morale to bring him back.

+1

Clearly management going against the obvious wishes of a majority of fans will cause upset on the terrace. We're the ones who voluntarily fund the GAA afterall. At present the majority of fans are happy with the management team and players alike. No need to fix it if it ain't broken.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 14/08/2013 13:39:09    1461378

Don't come back Seanie cos everyone here reckons Cavan have enough talent coming through from our u21s.... But our top scorer wasn't even on Hyland u21s . He actually walked off the u21 panel a few years ago! Bit he has talent.. Same as Seanie. Bit of class! And hyland or Andrews didn't teach either of them!!!

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 14/08/2013 18:21:03    1461590

Welcome back Seanie..you were dropped and wanted to play football..not your fault.hope all works out with the Gaels and Cavan

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 15/08/2013 09:53:56    1461760

I hear Kildare are looking for Martin Dunne.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 16/08/2013 18:03:20    1462757

gaelsutd
Welcome back Seanie..you were dropped and wanted to play football..not your fault.hope all works out with the Gaels and Cavan

Its amazing Cian Mackey was also left off the squad that time like loads of players right across the country and did you see what he did. He buckled down and forced his way back into the squad. Now after a fantastic season he is probably in line for an ALL - Star.

Gaeldutd I dident see you all season offer Cian and all the other Cavan lads who did their county proud, one bit of congratulations.
Makes me wonder who these apologists really are!!!!!!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 16/08/2013 20:19:12    1462831

sometimes things happen for a reason, Seanie,Big Gearoid , plus other players,and the present young squad,Cavan will,should, be a force next year in Ulster,first, mc kenna cup, then league, then Ulster, who knows after, imagine Seanie, Gearoid on the team this year,i personally feel, think, if he plays ok, he should have his chance in the team,let bygones, be bygones,and its up to him then,Terry Hyland is a good guy, he will know what to do.best wishes to Cavan for the future, its been a great year and things will only get better, Donegal now thats a big question at the minute..............

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 16/08/2013 20:40:45    1462837

would ye all shout the f*&£ up about him Jaysus

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 16/08/2013 21:14:53    1462856

Mike_Clitoris69

would ye all shout the f*&£ up about him Jaysus

Post of the year. Couldn't agree more.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 18/08/2013 09:10:58    1463136

He looks to have bulked up since his time with Kildare. I think that will stand to him in the cut-and-thrust of Ulster football.

Opinions? Guide? .. Clitty?

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 18/08/2013 19:42:30    1463522

he's bulked up since kildare? must have done nothing but eat and gym the past month

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 18/08/2013 20:19:00    1463546

another gem

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 19/08/2013 18:34:48    1464162

The fact that he bulked up didn't help his cause in Kildare. In fact, apart from the 20 mins against Wicklow when he scored 7 pts, he didn't make any significant contribution on the field for us, or Kildare, since. He played his best football while in DCU where he was a virtual professional. He couldn't cope with the close marking he got in Ulster and was easily managed and distracted by average defenders. While I have a lot of sympathy for SJ the person, on the way the whole thing was played out in public, he was more than happy to rub it in to us with his pointed free in Breffni. The way he looked for that opportunity burned the bridges for me. Let's be honest, as an exercise, it was a complete failure. He wasn't good enough for Kildare so how could he be good enough for us?

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 21/08/2013 08:21:22    1464778

ondforty

The fact that he bulked up didn't help his cause in Kildare. In fact, apart from the 20 mins against Wicklow when he scored 7 pts, he didn't make any significant contribution on the field for us, or Kildare, since. He played his best football while in DCU where he was a virtual professional. He couldn't cope with the close marking he got in Ulster and was easily managed and distracted by average defenders. While I have a lot of sympathy for SJ the person, on the way the whole thing was played out in public, he was more than happy to rub it in to us with his pointed free in Breffni. The way he looked for that opportunity burned the bridges for me. Let's be honest, as an exercise, it was a complete failure. He wasn't good enough for Kildare so how could he be good enough for us?

That point in Breffni is a particular bone of contention for many, but ,unless he confided in you personally you have no right to make such assumptions about his feelings or intentions. Even if he did feel like getting one over on his former team mates, club mates, friends, neighbors, family etc. surely he can be forgiven for making a cynical and misguided decision at such a stressful time? A time when underhanded journalists and other people involved are bending the truth, leaving friend and foe near impossible to tell apart? People can be very judgmental when it comes to others, while forgetting their own skeletons. Do you know exactly how you would react in such an embattled position? Did you ever think about this young mans well-being and how his quality of life has been affected? I have no ties to SJ, his family or his club but I believe in decency and compassion and in treating others how I would like to be treated. The shameful question of whether he is now good enough to play for Cavan should not even be dignified with a response. Players are not a units of productivity, nor pieces of equipments and it would be a terrible message for an amateur organisation at the centre of the community to send out to young people. We as a county have an opportunity to demonstrate that we have grown up off the field as well as on it, and that our organisation is strong and great because it is built on solid values.

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 21/08/2013 20:39:12    1465404